April 1, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, line 10, “a weather resistant covers” is unclear and confusing language. The word “a” suggests there is a single structure being described. However, the word “covers” is plural. Should the word “covers” be - - cover - - instead? On line 10, “weather resistant cover” lacks antecedent basis.
The aforementioned problem renders the claims vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO KENJI (JP 2009120079 A) in view of Schwintek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,034,270 B2).
ONO KENJI teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a ventilated seat cushion cover; a seat cushion ; an air flow distribution system including air ducts 9, 10, 11 and air exits inside the seat cushion to direct an airstream directed toward the seat occupant (see the specification where it reads “The seat cushion duct 10 has a large number of conditioned air outlets on the seat surface side of the seat cushion 1. The seat back duct 11 has a large number of conditioned air outlets on the seat surface side of the seat back 2.”); at least one one-way valve in the air exits directing the airstream toward the seat occupant (see the specification where it reads “However, a backflow prevention valve (one-way valve) that allows only the flow to the seat side may be provided. In this case, electrical valve control is not required because backflow is prevented by mechanical valve operation.”); a blower 18,19,20 including an airflow intake moved by a high flow rate, high pressure blower motor (not shown but is inherent since motors are needed to operate the fans); ONO KENJI further comprises a heating system including a low-cost resistance heater placed in the airstream within the air flow distribution ducts that are in communication with the blower but does not teach weather resistant covers over the air ducts.
However, Schwintek et al. teach the concept of using a weather resistant cover 51 over air ducts 50, the weather resistant cover 51 including hydrophobic material over the air exits 50. Schwintek et al. also teaches that the cover can be made of a hydrophobic 3D spacer mesh material (See the specification at column 4, lines 4-6 where it reads “The port 50 may have a covering that is formed of a hydrophobic mesh material 51 to reduce an amount of water entering the port 50.”). As for claim 3, Schwintek et al. also includes both a cooling and heating system to be old (see the Abstract where it reads “A heating and cooling module is disposed at least partially within the cover support. The seat assembly further comprises a first air inlet in communication with the heating and cooling module. The first air inlet communicates air from a first port in the seat cover to the heating and cooling module.” as well as throughout the specification where the heating system is described). It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ventilated seat assembly, to include weather resistant covers over the air ducts, as taught by Schwintek et al., since the weather resistant covers would reduce the amount of water entering the air ducts and prevent the air ducts from the harmful effects of wear and tear and various weather elements.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO KENJI (JP 2009120079 A) in view of Schwintek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,034,270 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kozlowski (U.S. Patent No. 10,632,878 B2).
ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al. teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach a desiccant container added to the air flow distribution ducts to dry the airstream passing within.
However, Kozlowski teaches the concept of adding desiccant container 150 to air flow distribution ducts to dry the airstream passing within. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ventilated seat assembly, as taught by ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al., to include a desiccant container, as taught by Kozlowski, since it would pull fresh ambient air into the air desiccant container 150. Ambient air passes through the desiccant container 150.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO KENJI (JP 2009120079 A) in view of Schwintek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,034,270 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GUNDERSON MAURICE EDWARD PHILLIPS et al. (DE 112015005666 T5)
ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al. teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach an inline thermoelectric device upstream from the blower motor, wherein heated and cooled air pass there over, thereby heating and cooling conditioning the airstream which will eventually reach the seat occupant. However, GUNDERSON MAURICE EDWARD PHILLIPS et al. teaches the use of an inline thermoelectric device 320 upstream from a blower motor, wherein heated and cooled air pass there over, thereby heating and cooling conditioning the airstream which will eventually reach the seat occupant. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ventilated seat assembly, as taught by ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al., to include an inline thermoelectric device, as taught by GUNDERSON MAURICE EDWARD PHILLIPS et al., since the inline thermoelectric device is a solid-state component in which it is a solid-state design with no moving parts, which offers reliability and precision that mechanical systems cannot.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO KENJI (JP 2009120079 A) in view of Schwintek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,034,270 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0144844 A1)
ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al. teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach an inline thermoelectric device upstream from the blower motor, wherein heated and cooled air pass there over, thereby heating and cooling conditioning the airstream which will eventually reach the seat occupant. However, Park et al. teaches the use of an inline thermoelectric device 200 upstream from a blower motor, wherein heated and cooled air pass there over, thereby heating and cooling conditioning the airstream which will eventually reach the seat occupant. As far for Claim 6, Park et al. also teach a splash guard 300 to allow for airflow to the blower intake while deflecting splash. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ventilated seat assembly, as taught by ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al., to include an inline thermoelectric device, as taught by Park et al., since the inline thermoelectric device is a solid-state component in which it is a solid-state design with no moving parts, which offers reliability and precision that mechanical systems cannot.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO KENJI (JP 2009120079 A) in view of Schwintek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,034,270 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ANDROULAKIS IOANNIS et al. (WO 2016100697 A1)
ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al. teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach a float valve mechanism that blocks ingress of liquids by the floating of a low-density member into a sealing position of the blower intake. However, ANDROULAKIS IOANNIS et al. teaches the use of a float valve mechanism that blocks ingress of liquids by the floating of a low density member into a sealing position of the blower intake (see the paragraph [0081] where it reads “The fluid level sensor may be a float valve sensor…..”). It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ventilated seat assembly, as taught by ONO KENJI in view of Schwintek et al., to include a float valve mechanism that blocks ingress of liquids by the floating of a low density member into a sealing position of the blower intake, as taught by ANDROULAKIS IOANNIS et al., since it could be used with a fluid level sensor which could be used to detect a lack of fluid in the bus and to protect the pump from damage by running dry and since it would monitor actual fluid levels and make a diagnostic decision based on change in fluid levels over time if there is a slow leak.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636