Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GR20220100075, filed on 01/27/2022 and parent Application No. PCT/US2022/080422, filed on 11/23/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are found in claims 24 and 25:
“means for defining one or more groups of antennas” and
“means for sending, to a network entity of a wireless network, data” and
“means for receiving configuration data” and
“means for, based on the configuration data, sending or receiving reference signals” in claim 24
“means for sending, to the network entity, information” in claim 25
Structure for these limitations may be found in the specification as originally filed: Fig. 10 example of UE, Fig. 11 example of base station, Fig. 12 example of computer system, as well as claims 15 and 16, provide a detailed example wireless network node with components such as a memory, wireless communication interface, antennas, and processors for communication that can carry out the various actions of claims 24-25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Regarding independent claim 28, the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it recites transitory signals. Claim 28 recites "A computer-readable apparatus comprising a storage medium, the storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions configured to, when executed by one or more processors…". The specification clarifies the meaning of the computer-readable apparatus on page 18, paragraph 0165: "A set of these instructions and/or code might be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, such as the storage device(s) 1225 described above. In some cases, the storage medium might be incorporated within a computer system, such as computer system 1200. In other embodiments, the storage medium might be separate from a computer system (e.g., a removable medium, such as an optical disc), and/or provided in an installation package, such that the storage medium can be used to program, configure, and/or adapt a general purpose computer with the instructions/code stored thereon. These instructions might take the form of executable code, which is executable by the computer system 1200 and/or might take the form of source and/or installable code, which, upon compilation and/or installation on the computer system 1200 (e.g., using any of a variety of generally available compilers, installation programs, compression/decompression utilities, etc.), then takes the form of executable code." The specification further discloses on pg. 18, paragraph 0167: “Additionally or alternatively, the machine-readable media might be used to store and/or carry such instructions/code. In many implementations, a computer-readable medium is a physical and/or tangible storage medium. Such a medium may take many forms, including but not limited to, non-volatile media and volatile media.” Therefore, because the BRI of the claim covers both subject matter that falls within a statutory category (e.g., non-volatile media, non-transitory computer readable storage media), as well as subject matter that does not (e.g., storage media not specified to be non-transitory), the claim as a whole is not to a statutory category and thus fails the first criterion for eligibility. See MPEP 2106(II). Claims 29 and 30 are rejected for being dependent on claim 28 and also do not narrow the scope of claim 28 to direct the claimed invention to eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12, 14-17, 19-20, 23-25, 27-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20200413366 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses
A method for supporting positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network, the method comprising (see pg. 1, paragraph 0002, “The disclosure relates to methods and devices in wireless communication systems, and in particular to a method and a device supporting positioning”; Fig. 1, UE 201):
defining one or more groups of antennas associated with a wireless network node (see Fig. 10, antenna groups with various beam directions and RF chains; pg. 10, paragraph 0271, “one antenna port is formed by antennas in a positive integer number of antenna group(s) through antenna virtualization superposition; one antenna group includes a positive integer number of antenna(s)”), each of the one or more groups of antennas grouped according to at least a phase-based parameter correlated with an electromagnetic characteristic of a plurality of antennas (see Fig. 10, phase shifters; pg. 10, paragraph 0271, beamforming vectors corresponding to antenna groups; pg. 10, paragraph 0273, beam directions correspond to beamforming vectors and antenna ports);
sending, to a network entity of the wireless network, data identifying the defined one or more groups of antennas (see Fig. 5, S20 second node N2 transmits second information signal, S10 first node N1 receives second information signal; see pg. 2, paragraph 0052, “In one embodiment, the second information includes partial or all IEs in an E-CID MEASUREMENT INITIATION REQUEST.”);
receiving configuration data from the network entity, the configuration data identifying at least one group of antennas of the one or more groups of antennas (see Fig. 5, S31 target node N3 receives signals; pg. 7, paragraph 0194, “A target terminal N3 receives Q1 first-type radio signal(s), and obtains Q1 piece(s) of channel information according to the received Q1 first-type radio signal(s) respectively in S31, and transmits a first radio signal in S32.”); and
based on the configuration data, sending or receiving reference signals with the wireless network node using the identified at least one group of antennas of the one or more groups of antennas, the reference signals configured to be used in the positioning of the UE (see pg. 8, paragraph 0213, “the first node N1 is a base station, and the Q1 first-type radio signals are all PRSs.”; pg. 8, paragraph 0216, “the first node N1 is a base station, and the Q1 first-type radio signals are all PRSs.”; Fig. 5, F2 S2 determining position of a target terminal).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the network entity, information relating to a capability of the wireless network node, the capability indicative of whether the wireless network node is configured to support usage of multiple groups of the plurality of antennas grouped according to at least the phase-based parameter (see Abstract, “the first information includes a first Identifier (ID) and Q1 piece(s) of channel information, and the first information is used for indicating Q1 geographic position(s); the Q1 piece(s) of channel information is(are) based on a channel measurement(s) performed by a target node for the Q1 spatial parameter group(s) respectively”; Fig. 5, all three nodes can communicate with each other).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless network node comprises a base station, the UE, or a peer UE different from the UE (see pg. 8, paragraphs 0213-0216, the network node can be a base station or a UE).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the sending or receiving of the reference signals is further based on a request from the network entity (see pg. 2, paragraph 0052, “In one embodiment, the second information includes partial or all IEs in an E-CID MEASUREMENT INITIATION REQUEST.”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the reference signals comprise an uplink reference signal or a downlink reference signal, the uplink reference signal comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS), the downlink reference signal comprising a positioning reference signal (PRS) (see pg. 8, paragraph 0216, “the Q1 first-type radio signals are all PRSs.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the network entity comprises a base station or a location management function (LMF) (see pg. 2, paragraph 0057, “In one embodiment, the second node is a Location Management Function (LMF).”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the positioning of the UE comprises either (i) performing an angle of departure (AoD) measurement based at least on the reference signals sent with the wireless network node using the identified at least one group of antennas, or (ii) performing an angle of arrival (AoA) measurement based at least on the reference signals received with the wireless network node using the identified at least one group of antennas (see pg. 8, paragraph 0236, “In one embodiment, each of the Q1 piece(s) of channel information includes an Angle of Arriving (AoA)”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more groups of antennas comprises a subset of the plurality of antennas (see pg. 10, paragraph 0272, “In one embodiment, the Q1 first-type radio signal(s) is(are) transmitted by Q1 antenna port group(s) respectively, any one of the Q1 antenna port group(s) includes a positive integer number of antenna port(s), different antenna ports in one antenna port group are formed by same antennas, and different antenna ports in one same antenna port group correspond to different beamforming vectors.”).
Regarding claim 15, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied. Zhang further discloses
A wireless network node comprising (see Fig. 4, example diagram of communication nodes; Figs. 10-12 example communication device and nodes):
at least one wireless communication interface (see pg. 2, paragraph 0051, “In one embodiment, the second information is transmitted through an air interface.”);
memory (see Fig. 4, memory 460 and memory 476);
a plurality of antennas (see Fig. 10); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the at least one wireless communication interface and the memory (see Fig. 10, baseband processor), and configured to:
Regarding claims 16-17, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 2-3 are applied.
Regarding claims 19-20, the same cited sections and rationale from claims 7-8 are applied.
Regarding claim 23, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 12 are applied.
Regarding claim 24, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 15 are applied.
Regarding claim 25, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 16 are applied.
Regarding claim 27, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 12 are applied.
Regarding claim 28, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 15 are applied.
Regarding claim 30, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 12 are applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200413366 A1) in view of Thurfjell (US 20160212738 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Thurfjell discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein:
each of the one or more groups of antennas is located within the wireless network node such that a distance between two antennas within a group of antennas is defined (see Fig. 2; pg. 4, paragraph 0058, “the distance d between the antennas is half a wavelength, which corresponds to a path difference of ¼ wavelengths (i.e. 90 degrees) from the 5 antennas to the UE”); and
the positioning of the UE is based at least on (i) the distance, and (ii) phases associated with the reference signals (see Fig. 4, S1 reference signal phase differences and S4 determining a position of a device).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Thurfjell into the invention of Zhang. Both Zhang and Thurfjell are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose UE positioning methods with a plurality of antennas. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1; however, Zhang fails to disclose a defined distance between two antennas within a group of antennas, and the positioning of a UE being based on that distance. This feature is disclosed by Thurfjell where the distance between antennas can be specified as half a wavelength, which leads to a difference of wavelengths from each antenna, and the phase differences of signals can be used to determine the position of a wireless device. The combination of Zhang and Thurfjell would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve positioning accuracy by having set distances, and therefore wavelengths, for each antenna, leading to a wider direction range.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses
The method of claim 4, further comprising determining an angle of departure (AoD) or an angle of arrival (AoA) based on a difference between the phases associated with the reference signals;
wherein the positioning of the UE is further based on the AoD or the AoA (see pg. 8, paragraph 0236, “In one embodiment, each of the Q1 piece(s) of channel information includes an Angle of Arriving (AoA)”).
Regarding claim 9, Thurfjell discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic characteristic comprises: a phase noise, a relative phase, a phase bias, or a phase error margin, or a combination thereof (see pg. 3, paragraph 0045, “Preferably, the antenna elements of each correlated antenna pair should have calibrated phases, or the phase errors between the antenna elements should be known”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Thurfjell into the invention of Zhang. Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 1, including grouping antennas together based on a phase based parameter; however, Zhang fails to disclose grouping antennas together based on a specific phase based parameter such as phase noise, relative phase, phase bias, or phase error margin. This feature is disclosed by Thurfjell where the phase errors between antenna elements can be known. The combination of Zhang and Thurfjell would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to group antennas together based on phase error to minimize signal error or preemptively correct for known phase errors, improving signal transmission and reception.
Regarding claim 18, the same cited sections and rationale from claims 4 and 5 are applied.
Regarding claim 21, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 9 are applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Allowance of claims 10-11, 13, 22, 26, and 29 is indicated because:
None of the prior art of record teach or suggest the subject matter of dependent claims 10-11, 13, 22, 26, and 29. The prior art of record does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach all of the additional limitations of the claimed invention, as best understood within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, such as in claim 10 (and similarly claims 22, 26, and 29) a group of antennas comprising phase-noise groups, as well as in claim 13, choosing an antenna group based on a reliability factor determined by a machine learning algorithm.
Accordingly, claims 10, 13, 22, 26, and 29 are deemed to have allowable subject matter. Claim 11 could also be considered allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependence on allowable claims.
Claims 10-11, 13, 22, 26, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Dwivedi et al. (US 20220006589 A1); A system and method for providing phase noise-based signal design for positioning in a communication system. In one embodiment, an apparatus is configured to receive configuration parameters for a reference signal based on a level of phase noise for the reference signal estimated by a user equipment, apply the configuration parameters to the reference signal to obtain a modified reference signal, and transmit the modified reference signal to the user equipment to enable a position of the user equipment to be determined.
Garin et al. (US 20140308976 A1); Disclosed are systems, apparatus, devices, methods, media, products, and other implementations, including a method that includes determining, at a first wireless device comprising multiple transmit antennas, at least one signal transmission characteristic according to at least one pre-determined varying transmission characteristic determination process. The at least one transmission characteristic includes, for example, a transmit antenna selected from the multiple transmit antennas, a beam characteristic, a cyclic delay diversity parameter, and/or any combination thereof. The method also includes transmitting from the first wireless device to a second wireless device a signal using the at least one signal transmission characteristic determined according to the at least one pre-determined varying transmission characteristic determination process. The transmitted signal is configured to facilitate position determination of the second wireless device upon deriving at the second wireless device a reconstructed value of the at least one signal transmission characteristic determined at the first wireless device.
Conclusion
/ISABELLA AMEYALI EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648