Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 26 February 2026 acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Schnidrig device does not include a canister that is capable of holding wound material. This is not found persuasive because the recitation of the holding material is a recitation intended use. The lack of unity requirement requires stated that Schnidrig device recites the canister (8, which is a container that holds material) and an electric component (30). In this case, Groups I-III do not make a contribution over Schnidrig since the technical features are recited in Schnidrig.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) being anticipated by Locke (US 2011/0288511).
Regarding claim 1, Locke discloses a modular therapy device (306), comprising:
a carrier (310, [0070]);
an electronic component (many components including 352, 378, 336, 353, 355, figure 7, [0070]) fixedly coupled to the carrier; and
a clinical body (308, [0070]) comprising a fluid driver (356 and 358, [0071]) and a canister (364 part of the “canister unit” 308) fluidly coupled to the clinical body (figure 7), the canister defining an internal cavity (364 cavity) configured to receive a volume of fluid therein ([0071]), the clinical body detachably coupled to the carrier ([0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Locke discloses wherein the electronic component is one of a plurality of electronic components including a control board (352) and a motor (353) electrically coupled to the control board ([0070], figure 7), the clinical body comprising a flow manifold (354) and the fluid driver (356 and 358) disposed within the flow manifold, the fluid driver detachably coupled to the motor ([0072], through 386 and 388).
Regarding claim 4, Locke discloses wherein the clinical body further comprises a fluid driver subassembly (354) including a flow manifold (384, working with 357, 388, 380 and 396) and the fluid driver (356 and 358) disposed within the flow manifold, wherein the canister is detachably coupled to the fluid driver subassembly ([0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Locke discloses wherein the clinical body further comprises a housing (354 houses both diaphragms) defining a first pressure chamber (chamber with 356) and a second pressure chamber (chamber with 358) that is fluidly isolated from the first pressure chamber ([0070-0071]), wherein the fluid driver is disposed within the first pressure chamber (both chambers have diaphragm), the electronic component comprising a pressure sensor that is detachably coupled to the second pressure chamber ([0054], the device includes the user interface driver or control that includes a sensor, [0072] device is detachable from each other).
Regarding claim 11, Locke discloses wherein the carrier and electrical component are disposable as waste electric and electronic equipment (WEEE) waste, and the clinical body is disposable as clinical waste independent from the WEEE waste (both the devices are made of electronic material and it follows naturally that the waste would be characterized as electric and electronic equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Hanson (US 2012/0172803).
Regarding claim 3, Locke does not disclose wherein the carrier is slidably engaged with the clinical body.
Hanson discloses a delivery system wherein the carrier is slidably engaged with the clinical body ([0013]).
Hanson provides a slidable carrier that attaches to the other part of the device to engage the two portions (abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Locke by substituting the engagement of Locke with the sliding portions in Hanson in order to engage the two portions of the device. The substitution would not hinder the prior art device from operating as both are functionally equivalent.
Regarding claim 10, Locke discloses wherein the clinical body further comprises a plurality of fluid ports (357 and 388) and a negative pressure port (326) fluidly coupled to the canister but fails to disclose including a pressure sensing port configured to be fluidly coupled to a pressure sensor.
Hanson discloses a delivery system with a pressure sensing port (530) configured to be fluidly coupled to a pressure sensor ([0227]).
Hanson provides a sensor in order to sense the attachment of the portions of the device ([0227]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Locke with the device of Hanson in order to detect when the device is detected.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke.
Regarding claim 6, Locke discloses wherein the clinical body further comprises a housing (354) defining a flow manifold (384, working with 357, 388, 380 and 396), wherein the fluid driver disposed within the housing (figure 7), but does not disclose wherein the canister is detachably coupled to the housing.
However, it has previously been held that making a structure removable is not novel if it was desirable to make the device removable (MPEP 2144.04VC). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Locke by making the canister removable from housing in order to separate the reservoir and remove fluid to prevent the fluid from overflowing.
Regarding claim 7, Locke discloses wherein the electronic component includes power subsystem (378), wherein the modular therapy device further comprises a base subassembly having a control board (352) that is coupled to the power subsystem, and wherein the carrier is detachably coupled to the base subassembly ([0072]).
Locke does not disclose in this embodiment a motor but discloses in another embodiment that the pump is a motor drive pump ([0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the embodiments of Locke to have a motor that is attached to the motor driven pump i.e., at the power subsystem in order to power the pump.
Regarding claim 8, Locke further comprising an expandable module (104, [0038]) detachably coupled to the base subassembly, the carrier, and the clinical body ([0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Locke discloses wherein the electronic component is includes power subsystem (378) and wherein the fluid driver is a pump (356 and 358) configured to be detachably coupled to the motor ([0072]).
Locke does not disclose in this embodiment a motor but discloses in another embodiment that the pump is a motor drive pump ([0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the embodiments of Locke to have a motor that is attached to the motor driven pump i.e., at the power subsystem in order to power the pump.
Conclusion
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781