DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 88-97) in the reply filed on 03/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 98-107 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not written on a separate sheet and in narrative form (i.e., short sentences within a single paragraph). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “90” in Figure 90. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 88-97 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 88, line 13, the limitation “gantry framing” appears to be misspelled and should be amended to - -gantry frame - - for a better consistency and to prevent any potential antecedent basis issues.
In claim 97, line 3, the limitation “scaping” should be amended to - - escaping - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one mechanical arm assembly comprising at least one dismantling member” in claim 1, “at least one decontaminating member” in claim 2.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the above limitations:
The at least one dismantling member may be a circular saw, a reciprocating saw, an oxy acetylene torch and a shear cutter (paragraph [0010]).
The at least one decontaminating member could be a shot blaster, a spray nozzle or a suction nozzle (paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doll (US 20110274232 A1).
As applied to claim 88, Doll teaches a system for decommissioning a nuclear power station (paragraphs [0019] and [0020]) comprising a structure defining a chamber (chamber 80/82, paragraph [0039]) for receiving the steam generator (intended use limitation); at least one support member within the chamber (tracks 30) for supporting the steam generator (intended use limitation); a mechanical assembly within the chamber for dismantling the steam generator (intended use limitation), the mechanical assembly comprising at least one mechanical arm assembly within the chamber (10, 10’) operable for dismantling the steam generator (intended use limitation), each mechanical arm assembly comprising at least one dismantling member (tool held in 18C, paragraph [0042]) moveable into contact with the steam generator to remove a segment of the steam generator (intended use limitation) and each mechanical arm assembly (10, 10’) is operable to dismantle the steam generator into a plurality of segments (intended use limitation); a gantry frame (frame for traveling unit 12, Fig. 1b) comprising at least two vertical frame members (the member shown as rectangles in Fig. 1b) for mounting each mechanical arm assembly, each vertical frame member having a bottom end moveable along the ground (bottom of unit 12 moves along horizonal surface on track 30, Fig. 1b) and a top end opposite the bottom end; and at least one gantry guide (pinion drive gear 20 with a plurality of gear teeth) within the chamber for movable mounting the bottom end of at least one of the at least two vertical frame members of the gantry frame and for directing the movement of the gantry frame (Figs. 1-4).
The limitations of are “for receiving the steam generator, for supporting the steam generator, for dismantling the steam generator, operable for dismantling the steam generator, moveable into contact with the steam generator to remove a segment of the steam generator, to dismantle the steam generator into a plurality of segments” are considered to be intended use limitations. Although the recitations have been fully considered, it carries limited patentable weight. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the apparatus of Doll meets all of the structural limitations, as claimed, and is capable of performing the limitations above.
Claim(s) 88, 90 and 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hyun et al. (US 20210210236A1, hereinafter “Hyun”).
As applied to claim 88, Hyun teaches a system for dismantling a nuclear reactor (title) a structure defining a chamber (chamber 102, paragraph [0069]) for receiving the steam generator (intended use limitation); at least one support member within the chamber (134/135) for supporting the steam generator (intended use limitation); a mechanical assembly within the chamber for dismantling the steam generator (intended use limitation), the mechanical assembly comprising at least one mechanical arm assembly within the chamber (110) operable for dismantling the steam generator (intended use limitation), each mechanical arm assembly comprising at least one dismantling member (111, 112) moveable into contact with the steam generator to remove a segment of the steam generator (intended use limitation) and each mechanical arm assembly (111, 112) is operable to dismantle the steam generator into a plurality of segments (intended use limitation); a gantry framing (121) comprising at least two vertical frame members for mounting each mechanical arm assembly, each vertical frame member having a bottom end moveable along the ground and a top end opposite the bottom end; and at least one gantry guide (rails 122, paragraph [0107]) within the chamber for movable mounting the bottom end of at least one of the at least two vertical frame members of the gantry frame and for directing the movement of the gantry frame.
The limitations of are “for receiving the steam generator, for supporting the steam generator, for dismantling the steam generator, operable for dismantling the steam generator, moveable into contact with the steam generator to remove a segment of the steam generator, to dismantle the steam generator into a plurality of segments” are considered to be intended use limitations. Although the recitations have been fully considered, it carries limited patentable weight. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the apparatus of Hyun meets all of the structural limitations, as claimed, and is capable of performing the limitations above.
As applied to claim 90, Hyun teaches the invention cited including wherein each gantry guide (122) runs adjacent to the steam generator in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the steam generator to remove contaminants from the steam generator (intended use limitation).
As applied to claim 95, Hyun teaches the invention cited including further comprising a storage bin (142, Fig. 4) within the chamber for storing a plurality of finished segments from the plurality of segments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 89 and 91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (US 20210210236A1, hereinafter “Hyun”) in view of Germond et al. (FR 2579314A1, hereinafter “Germond”).
As applied to claim 89, Hyun teaches the invention cited including the at least one mechanical arm assembly but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one mechanical arm assembly further comprises at least one decontaminating member operable to remove contaminants from the steam generator (intended use limitation).
Germond teaches a system for providing repair and maintenance of steam generators of nuclear power stations wherein a mechanical arm assembly comprises decontaminating member (sandblasting nozzle 41 on tool carriage 34 in water box 10, Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ a decontaminating member to the mechanical arm assembly of Hyun, as taught by Germond, as an effective means of decontaminating and cleaning the chamber from any radioactive pollutant.
As applied to claim 91, Hyun teaches the invention cited including the gantry frame with vertical frame member but does not explicitly teach wherein the gantry frame further comprises at least one elevator system moveable along the longitudinal axis of each vertical frame member for moving the at least one mechanical arm assembly.
Germond teaches a system for providing repair and maintenance of steam generators of nuclear power stations including a gantry frame comprising a pair of elevators (944, 944) with each used to move along the longitudinal axis of each of the vertical frames (940, 940, Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ at least one elevator in the gantry frame of Hyun, as taught by Germond, as an effective means of facilitating the movement along the vertical direction to access different elevations.
Claim(s) 91-94, 96 and 97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (US 20210210236A1, hereinafter “Hyun”) in view of Heim et al. (US 20150228364A1, hereinafter “Heim”).
As applied to claims 91-93, Hyun teaches the invention cited including the gantry frame with vertical frame member but does not explicitly teach wherein the gantry frame further comprises at least one elevator system moveable along the longitudinal axis of each vertical frame member for moving the at least one mechanical arm assembly (as in claim 91), that gantry frame further comprises a carrier assembly slidably mounted on the at least one horizontal frame member of the gantry frame (as in claim 92), and that the carrier assembly further comprises a segment carrier extendable from the carrier assembly to the steam generator for collecting each of the plurality of segments as the mechanical arm assembly dismantles the steam generator (intended use limitation, as in claim 93).
Heim teaches a system for dismantling a nuclear reactor including a remotely controlled heavy manipulator operatively coupled to support structure and located in a contamination control enclosure, and a control station located in a non-contaminated portion of a workspace (paragraph [0008]). The remotely controlled heavy manipulator (also referred to as an "excavator arm") is supported by a bridge and trolley system. A structural support system positions the bridge and trolley system at an appropriate elevation to allow dismantling of the associated nuclear reactor. The bridge moves on the structural support along a particular axis. The trolley moves on the bridge along an axis substantially perpendicular to the axis of movement of the bridge. The heavy manipulator is mounted on the trolley using a slewing bearing that permits the heavy manipulator to swing from side-to-side. The heavy manipulator can interface with various tools (a suite of tools), such as a hydraulic hammer, bucket and thumb, clamshell bucket, scrapper, hydraulic shear, dust suppression/contamination fixing spray equipment, and thermal cutting equipment. The described systems also include a gantry crane that moves a lifting fixture capable of supporting a waste sack into which waste materials and other demolition materials are loaded. Particular embodiments use waste containers deployed on rails to move waste sacks and other demolition materials (paragraph [0059]). The dismantling operations are performed inside a contamination control enclosure to prevent the spread of contaminated particles to the facility and the surrounding environment. The contamination control enclosure is supported by a structural frame that is part of the overall structural support system. The contamination control enclosure has a negative pressure provided by a filtered air mover system, which also maintains airflow in a particular direction to control dust and prevent the spread of contamination (paragraph [0060]). An elevator 104 provides access to multiple balconies positioned along the sides of bioshield 102 (read on claimed “elevator in claim 91, paragraph [0063], Fig. 1). FIG. 29 shows exemplary aspects of an excavator arm 2902 (reads on claimed “carrier assembly” as in claim 92), according to one embodiment. In this embodiment, excavator arm 2902 is mounted to a gantry trolley and bridge. In a particular embodiment, the gantry trolley and bridge use the same runway girders as gantry-mounted arm 2802. Excavator arm 2902 is mounted in a manner that permits movement as the bridge moves on the runway girders, movement on the trolley, rotating on an axis centered on the bridge (swing), tipping down into the bioshield (hoist), rotating the excavator arm along its long axis (tilt), telescoping in and out to reach material (extend/retract which reads on claimed “segment carrier extendable” in claim 93), vertical movement of tools at the end of the arm (open/close), and lateral movement of the tool at the end of the arm (powertilt, paragraphs [0095] to [0103], Figs. 29 and 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ at least one elevator in the gantry frame of Hyun, as taught by Haim, as an effective means of facilitating the movement along the vertical direction to access different elevations.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ a carrier assembly and a segment carrier extendable from the career assembly into the system of Hyun, as taught by Haim, as an effective means of allowing the access to any desired location of the steam generator for collecting the appropriate components during the dismantling process.
As applied to claim 94, Hyun teaches the invention cited with the exception of explicitly teaching a secondary workstation within the chamber for performing a secondary dismantling process to be performed on at least one of the plurality of segments.
Heim teaches a secondary dismantling process wherein during removal of the graphite, if other in-core materials are encountered that need size reduction, the excavator arm is reconfigured to include a shear attachment or similar tool. For example, a hydraulic shear is capable of shearing 2'' x 2'' square steel bars (e.g., bars similar to control rods) and reducing the size of control rods, tie rods, structural members and other components. The in-core materials are then reduced in size and the excavator arm is reconfigured with the bucket attachment and the size-reduced in-core materials are removed with the graphite blocks (paragraph [0126]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ in the system of Hyun, a secondary workstation to perform secondary dismantling steps, as taught by Haim, as an effective means of facilitating the complete dismantling of the whole steam generator in a controlled environment without exposing any personnel to contaminated and hazardous materials.
As applied to claim 96, Hyun teaches the invention cited with the exception of explicitly teaching a debris control curtain within the chamber for separating the chamber into two compartments, the two compartments comprising a dirty side wherein dismantling of the steam generator takes place, and a clean side opposite the dirty side.
Heim teaches in FIG. 21 aspects of an exemplary contamination control enclosure 2102, according to one embodiment. In a particular embodiment, contamination control enclosure 2102 is a plastic walled containment that encompasses the entire work volume of the dismantling structure. In a particular embodiment, contamination control enclosure 2102 is fabricated from polyester-reinforced PVC (polyvinyl chloride). Contamination control enclosure 2102 includes portions that surround the work area that houses the excavator and the crane, and areas where containers are loaded with waste material. One or more airlocks are provided to allow entry and exit of waste containers and equipment while maintaining a barrier between the contaminated work areas and the non-contaminated work areas (paragraph [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ a curtain to divide up the clean and dirty portions of the chamber of Hyun, as taught by Haim, as an effective means of protecting clean side of the chamber from being contaminated from the pollutant escaping the contaminated side of the chamber.
As applied to claim 97, Hyun teaches the invention cited with the exception of explicitly teaching an air handling unit within the chamber for maintaining a negative air pressure within the dirty side to prevent contaminated air from escaping to the clean side.
Heim teaches a negative pressure unit in the contamination control enclosure prior to creating access to the bioshield (paragraph [0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ an air handling unit for maintaining negative pressure in the chamber of Hyun, as taught by Haim, as an effective means of protecting clean side of the chamber from being contaminated from the pollutant escaping the contaminated side of the chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boone et al. (WO 9608675) teaches a remotely operated managed maintenance robotic system used in a nuclear facility (abstract, Figs. 1-2).
Davis-Johnston et al. (GB 2586045A) teaches a surveying and dismantling system (abstract, Fig. 1).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 05/16/2026