DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a display control unit that controls the display of images to be displayed on the display unit in claims 1-6, a sensor member that changes position in response to contact with an object to be measured in claims 5-6.
Regarding claim 2, although the limitation “when the rotation button is touched, the display control unit performs at least one of the controls of (i) maintaining the display direction of the icon image in the second area, (ii) changing the display direction of the icon image in the second area, and (iii) changing the design of the icon image in the second area” uses conjunctive word “and”, the limitation is interpreted as at least one of the conditions (i), (ii) or (iii) as illustrated in fig. 5, fig. 8 and fig. 6. If the limitations in claim 2 as recited are interpreted in a strictly conjunctive way as in the SuperGuide Corp. v. DirectTV Enters., Inc., 358 F. 3d 870, 69 U.S.P.Q2d 1865 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the limitations will be mutually incompatible as only one possible display design can be displayed as shown in fig. 5, fig. 6 and fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the display direction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the extending direction" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the extending direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the display direction" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the extension direction" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulussen et al. (US 2015/0302555, hereinafter Paulussen), and further in view of Silva et al. (US 2021/0327228, hereinafter Silva).
Regarding claim 1, Paulussen teaches a display device (display 101, fig. 1) for displaying (fig. 1 and fig. 2 shows the display 101 displays displayed information 102 containing a first display content 121 (values related to ACPR device 100)), comprising:
a display unit with a touch panel (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1 [0057]: Accordingly, in an embodiment at least an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive meaning that the area is capable of detecting a finger touch and generating a signal in response to the finger touch) having a first area (display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area) for displaying (fig. 1 shows a first display content 121 (values related to ACPR device 100) displayed on display 101; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0058]: In an embodiment the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying display content such as the information 102) and a second area (display area comprising finger touch buttons 122-124 is functionally analogous to the second area) for displaying a plurality of icons ([0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0057]: In other configurations of the ACPR device 100, the orientation button 103 and/or other buttons 104, 105 are configured as buttons on a touch screen, i.e. “finger touch buttons”; [0058]: in an embodiment the touch sensitive area is configured to display at least part of the second display content 122 so that the second display content 122 is displayed at a touch sensitive area configured as the orientation button; [0059]: Accordingly, in a configuration of the ACPR device wherein an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive and wherein the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying information 102, any of the rotatable display contents 122-124 associated with a given button 103-105 may also include the orientation button 103-105 itself in the form of a touch sensitive area so that at least part of the display contents 122-124 is common with the touch sensitive area. Accordingly, mechanical buttons located adjacent to the display may not be required); and
a display control unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a hardware component such as a processor; processor included in ACPR device 100, [0062]) that controls the display of images to be displayed on the display unit (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1; [0062]: the processing of display data, e.g. information 102, and/or data from buttons 103-105 is performed by the ACPR device, i.e. by some processor included in the ACPR device 100. The processing of display data may include rotation of display content 121-124, translation of display content and/or other processing of display data. Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button), wherein
wherein the display control unit (processor) performs the control of (i) displaying, on the display unit (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1), a first image (displayed information 102 as shown in fig. 1) including values (first display content 121, fig. 1) in the first area (display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0058]: In an embodiment the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying display content such as the information 102) and an icon image of a rotation button ([0015]: the second display content, e.g. text or a symbol for the orientation button; [0045]: The second display content 122 is associated with the orientation button, here in the form of symbol showing the rotation function of the button 103) in the second area (area comprising finger touch buttons 122-124 is functionally analogous to the second area; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0057]: In other configurations of the ACPR device 100, the orientation button 103 and/or other buttons 104, 105 are configured as buttons on a touch screen, i.e. “finger touch buttons”; [0059]: Accordingly, in a configuration of the ACPR device wherein an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive and wherein the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying information 102, any of the rotatable display contents 122-124 associated with a given button 103-105 may also include the orientation button 103-105 itself in the form of a touch sensitive area so that at least part of the display contents 122-124 is common with the touch sensitive area. Accordingly, mechanical buttons located adjacent to the display may not be required); and (ii) when the rotation button is touched (touching the finger touch orientation button 103; [0007]: an orientation button for changing the orientation of the displayed information), drawing a second image (displayed information 102 as shown in fig. 2) including a representation of the values (first display content 121, fig. 2) corresponding to a state in which the (first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1) are rotated in the first region ([0038]: FIG. 2 shows a situation where the information or display content 102 in the same display 101 has a second orientation; [0042]: The ACPR device further comprises an orientation button 103 for changing the orientation of the displayed information 102. The orientation button 103 may be located so that it has the same or substantially the same location in at least one dimension relative to the displayed information 102 or relative to other characteristics displayed in the display 101 whether the information 102 is displayed in the first orientation or the second orientation; [0060]: For example, the second display content 122 in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 may also include the orientation button 103 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the third display content 123 may also include the second button 104 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the fourth display content 124 may also include the third button 105 in the form of a touch sensitive area; [0062]: Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button).
Paulussen does not explicitly teach the values displayed on the display device are measurement values.
Silva teaches the values displayed on the display device (display 908, fig. 9) are measurement values ([0082]: The processor 904 is configured to cause the display 910 to present a variety of information to a user. The display 910 may display sensor readouts 922 presenting values for the set of measurements obtained from the sensor devices 902. The values presented by the sensor readouts 922 may indicate a single measurement taken at an instant in time or a representative measurement indicative of multiple measurements taken over a period of time, such as an average or a mean of multiple measurements. The sensor readouts 922 may indicate, for example, one or more values selected from a voltage amplitude, a current amplitude, frequency, and power. The measurement system 900 may be configured to display values measured for other electrical characteristics via measurements obtained using the terminal(s) 918 in some embodiments. The processor 904 may also be configured to cause the display 908 to display a waveform representative of an electrical characteristic over time of an element under test; [0095]: The method 1000 may include displaying 1016, in connection with controlling 1014 the operating mode of the display 908, measurement information regarding the set of measurements. The measurement information displayed may include numerical values representative of the set of measurements (e.g., a measured voltage level, a measured resistance level) or a waveform representative of measurements obtained over time of a notch characteristic). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Silva’s knowledge of using a display for displaying measurement values obtained by measuring an element using external probes as taught and modify the display device of Paulussen because such a device improves a user’s experience by presenting a variety of information to the user including the measured values for electrical characteristics via measurements obtained using terminals ([0082]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Paulussen and Silva teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein when the rotation button is touched ([0062]: Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button), the display control unit performs at least one of the controls of (i) maintaining the display direction of the icon image in the second area, (ii) changing the display direction of the icon image in the second area (Paulussen - fig. 2 shows the display direction of rotation symbol 122 has changed as compared to display direction of rotation symbol 122 in fig. 1; Paulussen - [0015]: the second display content, e.g. text or a symbol for the orientation button, may be rotated about a different rotation point than the rotation point of the first display content; Paulussen - [0045]: The second display content 122 is associated with the orientation button, here in the form of symbol showing the rotation function of the button 103. The display is configured to rotate the first display content 121 about a first point 125 in a plane of the display and the second display content about a second point 126 in the plane of the display; Paulussen – [0046]: If the second point 126 is located within an area of the second display content 122, e.g. in the geometric center of the display content 122, the second display content 122 remains at the same location relative to the orientation button 103 whether the second display content is displayed in the first or second orientation as seen by comparing FIG. 1 with FIG. 2), and (iii) changing the design of the icon image in the second area.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Paulussen and Silva teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a connection terminal (Silva- input terminals 110a, 11b and 110c as shown in fig. 1) for a cable (), wherein the display control unit (Paulussen - processor, [0062]; Silva – processor, [0082]) displays in the first area (Paulussen - display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area) a measurement value (Paulussen - fig. 1 shows a first display content 121 (values related to ACPR device 100) displayed on display 101; Silva – measurement values, [0082], [0095]) obtained from an external measuring instrument connected via the cable (sensor devices 114 and 116 as shown in fig. 1 are inherently connected to device 100 using a cable; Paulussen - display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area; Paulussen - [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; Paulussen - [0058]: In an embodiment the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying display content such as the information 102; Silva – [0035]: The measurement device 100 includes multiple input terminals 110a, 110b, 110c (collectively input terminals 110) for electrical connection of sensors or probes to measure electrical parameters of an element under test (“EUT”) 112. A first sensor device 114 and a second sensor device 116 respectively include plugs 118 and 120. The plugs 118 and 120 are selectively insertable into and removable from individual ones of the input terminals 110 of the measurement device 100 … The first and second sensor devices 114 and 116 shown in FIG. 1 are test leads or probes with electrically conductive tips for electrical measurement, but the first and second sensor devices 114 and 116 may be any devices that are configured to provide electrical signals to the internal circuitry 122 for measurement of electrical characteristics of the EUT 112; Silva – [0038]: The first and second sensor devices 114 and 116 further include a first test probe 124 and a second test probe 126, respectively; Silva – [0042]: The internal circuitry 122 receives the first measurement via one or more terminals of the input terminals 110 connected to the first test probe 124 and receives the second measurement via one or more other terminals of the input terminals 110 connected to the second test probe 126; Silva - [0082]: The processor 904 is configured to cause the display 910 to present a variety of information to a user. The display 910 may display sensor readouts 922 presenting values for the set of measurements obtained from the sensor devices 902. The values presented by the sensor readouts 922 may indicate a single measurement taken at an instant in time or a representative measurement indicative of multiple measurements taken over a period of time, such as an average or a mean of multiple measurements. The sensor readouts 922 may indicate, for example, one or more values selected from a voltage amplitude, a current amplitude, frequency, and power. The measurement system 900 may be configured to display values measured for other electrical characteristics via measurements obtained using the terminal(s) 918 in some embodiments. The processor 904 may also be configured to cause the display 908 to display a waveform representative of an electrical characteristic over time of an element under test).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Paulussen and Silva teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display unit is formed in a rectangular shape (Paulussen - fig. 1 shows display 101 is a rectangular shape; Silva – display 104 in fig. 1 is a rectangular shape), the second area is an area extending to the (Paulussen – as shown in fig. 1 and fig. 2, area comprising the finger touch buttons 122-124 is an area extending to the longer side of the display unit), and the plurality of icons are arranged along the extending direction of the second area (Paulussen – as shown in fig. 1 and fig. 2, area comprising the finger touch buttons 122-124 is an area extending to the longer side of the display unit and displays the finger touch buttons 122-124 in an area along the longer direction of display 101). However, it would have been prima facie obvious for the second area to extend along the short side of the rectangular display and arrange the icons along the short side of the display. Whether the second area extends along the longer side or the shorter side of the rectangular display and whether arranging the icons along the longer side or shorter side of the display is solely a matter of aesthetic design choice, and would not be sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2017/0356731, hereinafter Matsumoto), and further in view of Paulussen.
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches a measuring instrument (measuring means for the indicator (dial gauge) 400, fig. 8), comprising:
a display device (fig. 8 shows a display part similar to display part 145 of fig. 1) for displaying measurement values ([0049]: The digital display part 145 is configured to digitally display the measurement data);
a connection terminal (pin jack 150, 160, fig. 8) for a cable ([0064]: As shown in FIG. 1, the pin plug 230 is inserted into the pin jack 150; [0071]: Although the case where the pin plug 230 is integrated with the wireless communication device 210 is illustrated in FIG. 1 or 3, the micrometer 100 may be connected to the external device via a cable 261 extending from the pin plug 230 as illustrated in FIG. 4); and
a sensor member (spindle, fig. 8) that changes position in response to contact with an object to be measured ([0094]: a spindle provided in the body portion to axially move back and forth, and an encoder (linear encoder) for detecting a displacement of the spindle), wherein
the connection terminal is formed on a first side of the display unit (fig. 8 shows the pin jacks 150 and 160 are formed on the upper side of the display unit), and
the sensor member is formed on a second side of the display unit opposite the first side of the display unit (fig 8 shows the spindle is formed on the lower side of the display unit, and is therefore inherently the opposite side).
Matsumoto does not explicitly teach a display device comprising: a display unit with a touch panel having a first area for displaying measurement values and a second area for displaying a plurality of icons; and a display control unit that controls the display of images to be displayed on the display unit, wherein the display control unit performs the controls of (i) displaying, on the display unit, a first image including the measurement values in the first area and an icon image of a rotation button in the second area, and (ii) when the rotation button is touched, drawing a second image including a representation of the measurement values corresponding to a state in which the measurement values in the first image are rotated in the first region.
Paulussen teaches a display device (display 101, fig. 1) for displaying measurement values (fig. 1 and fig. 2 shows the display 101 displays displayed information 102 containing a first display content 121 (values related to ACPR device 100)), comprising:
a display unit with a touch panel (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1 [0057]: Accordingly, in an embodiment at least an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive meaning that the area is capable of detecting a finger touch and generating a signal in response to the finger touch) having a first area (display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area) for displaying measurement values (fig. 1 shows a first display content 121 (values related to ACPR device 100) displayed on display 101; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0058]: In an embodiment the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying display content such as the information 102) and a second area (display area comprising finger touch buttons 122-124 is functionally analogous to the second area) for displaying a plurality of icons ([0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0057]: In other configurations of the ACPR device 100, the orientation button 103 and/or other buttons 104, 105 are configured as buttons on a touch screen, i.e. “finger touch buttons”; [0058]: in an embodiment the touch sensitive area is configured to display at least part of the second display content 122 so that the second display content 122 is displayed at a touch sensitive area configured as the orientation button; [0059]: Accordingly, in a configuration of the ACPR device wherein an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive and wherein the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying information 102, any of the rotatable display contents 122-124 associated with a given button 103-105 may also include the orientation button 103-105 itself in the form of a touch sensitive area so that at least part of the display contents 122-124 is common with the touch sensitive area. Accordingly, mechanical buttons located adjacent to the display may not be required); and
a display control unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a hardware component such as a processor; processor included in ACPR device 100, [0062]) that controls the display of images to be displayed on the display unit (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1; [0062]: the processing of display data, e.g. information 102, and/or data from buttons 103-105 is performed by the ACPR device, i.e. by some processor included in the ACPR device 100. The processing of display data may include rotation of display content 121-124, translation of display content and/or other processing of display data. Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button), wherein
wherein the display control unit (processor) performs the control of (i) displaying, on the display unit (display 101 with a touch screen, fig. 1), a first image (displayed information 102 as shown in fig. 1) including values (first display content 121, fig. 1) in the first area (display area displaying the first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1 is functionally analogous to the first area; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0058]: In an embodiment the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying display content such as the information 102) and an icon image of a rotation button ([0015]: the second display content, e.g. text or a symbol for the orientation button; [0045]: The second display content 122 is associated with the orientation button, here in the form of symbol showing the rotation function of the button 103) in the second area (area comprising finger touch buttons 122-124 is functionally analogous to the second area; [0045]: the rotatable information 102, which may include all or part of the displayed information, may comprise first display content 121 and second display content 122; [0057]: In other configurations of the ACPR device 100, the orientation button 103 and/or other buttons 104, 105 are configured as buttons on a touch screen, i.e. “finger touch buttons”; [0059]: Accordingly, in a configuration of the ACPR device wherein an area of the display 101 is touch sensitive and wherein the touch sensitive area is capable of displaying information 102, any of the rotatable display contents 122-124 associated with a given button 103-105 may also include the orientation button 103-105 itself in the form of a touch sensitive area so that at least part of the display contents 122-124 is common with the touch sensitive area. Accordingly, mechanical buttons located adjacent to the display may not be required); and (ii) when the rotation button is touched (touching the finger touch orientation button 103; [0007]: an orientation button for changing the orientation of the displayed information), drawing a second image (displayed information 102 as shown in fig. 2) including a representation of the values (first display content 121, fig. 2) corresponding to a state in which the measurement values in the first image (first display content 121 as shown in fig. 1) are rotated in the first region ([0038]: FIG. 2 shows a situation where the information or display content 102 in the same display 101 has a second orientation; [0042]: The ACPR device further comprises an orientation button 103 for changing the orientation of the displayed information 102. The orientation button 103 may be located so that it has the same or substantially the same location in at least one dimension relative to the displayed information 102 or relative to other characteristics displayed in the display 101 whether the information 102 is displayed in the first orientation or the second orientation; [0060]: For example, the second display content 122 in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 may also include the orientation button 103 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the third display content 123 may also include the second button 104 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the fourth display content 124 may also include the third button 105 in the form of a touch sensitive area; [0062]: Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Paulussen’s knowledge of using rotation button on the touch screen display to change the direction of the displayed content as taught and modify the display Matsumoto’s device because such a system reduces manufacturing cost and increases the display area by reducing the need of mechanical buttons located adjacent to the display ([0059]), and also further achieves improved user friendliness of the device ([0006]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto, in view of Paulussen, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2013/023802, hereinafter Hayashi).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsumoto and Paulussen teaches the measuring instrument according to claim 5, wherein in a state in which the extending direction of the sensor member is a vertical direction and the display direction is of the first area and the second area are both the vertical direction (Matsumoto – fig. 8 shows the direction of the measuring instrument comprising spindle and the digital display part is vertical direction; since the display direction as a whole is vertical, the individual areas of the display will also be inherently oriented vertically); touches the rotation button (button 122, fig. 1), the display control unit changes the display direction of the first area to the vertical direction (if the user touches button 122 once, the orientation of the displayed content will be changed from a vertical orientation to horizontal orientation; Paulussen - touching the finger touch orientation button 103; Paulussen - [0007]: an orientation button for changing the orientation of the displayed information; Paulussen – [0010]: Generally, the ACPR device may be configured via the orientation button so that the orientation button has the same location relative to the displayed information along a vertical dimension and/or along a horizontal dimension both when the information has the first orientation and the second orientation. The first orientation may refer to e.g. zero degrees and the second orientation may refer to any of 90, 180, 270 or other degrees of rotation; Paulussen - [0038]: FIG. 2 shows a situation where the information or display content 102 in the same display 101 has a second orientation; Paulussen - [0042]: The ACPR device further comprises an orientation button 103 for changing the orientation of the displayed information 102. The orientation button 103 may be located so that it has the same or substantially the same location in at least one dimension relative to the displayed information 102 or relative to other characteristics displayed in the display 101 whether the information 102 is displayed in the first orientation or the second orientation; Paulussen – [0055]: the rotatable information 102 may be rotated by 0, 90, 180 and 270 degrees; Paulussen - [0060]: For example, the second display content 122 in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 may also include the orientation button 103 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the third display content 123 may also include the second button 104 in the form of a touch sensitive area, and/or the fourth display content 124 may also include the third button 105 in the form of a touch sensitive area; Paulussen - [0062]: Furthermore, the processing of data from buttons 103-105 may include receiving data from a button generated by a mechanical button or a “finger touch button”, invoking an action in response to receiving such data, e.g. invoking a rotation of display information 102, and/or other processing such as changing a function associated with a button).
The combination of Matsumoto and Paulussen does not explicitly teach the measuring instrument, wherein in a state in which the extending direction of the sensor member is a vertical direction and the display direction is of the first area and the second area are both the vertical direction, when a user changes the orientation of the device so that the extension direction of the sensor member is a horizontal direction, thereby changing the display direction of the first and second areas to the horizontal direction.
Hayashi teaches the measuring instrument, wherein in a state in which the extending direction of the sensor member is a vertical direction (spindle 120 as shown in fig. 1 is in a vertical orientation) and the display direction is of the first area (as shown in fig. 1, central area of the display unit 130 displaying the measurement result 141 is functionally analogous to the first area; fig. 1 shows the measurement results 141 is displayed in a vertical direction; [0068]: In the touch panel display unit 130, a measurement result 141 is displayed in the center in a large size; [0069]: The main display screen is used when a measurement operation is performed, in which a measurement result 141 is displayed in the center) and the second area are both the vertical direction (as shown in fig. 1, lower section of the display unit 130 displaying the plurality of icons is functionally analogous to the second area; fig. 1 shows the plurality of icons are displayed in a vertical direction; [0068]: In addition, icons 142, 143 and 144 are also displayed; [0069]: In this example, three icons 142, 143 and 144 are displayed in the lower section of the display area. That is, an ON/OFF icon 142 for a power supply operation, a MODE icon 143 for a mode selection, and an ORIGIN icon 144 for zero-setting are displayed), when a user changes the orientation of the device (fig. 2; [0067]: For example, as shown in FIG. 2, there are situations where it is desirable to use the dial gauge 100 while orienting the dial gauge 100 itself in the horizontal direction) so that the extension direction of the sensor member is a horizontal direction (spindle 120 as shown in fig. 2 is in a horizontal orientation), thereby changing the display direction of the first and second areas to the horizontal direction (fig. 2 shows the display direction of the area display the measurement result and the area displaying the plurality of icons is changed from vertical direction to horizontal direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Hayashi’s knowledge of using the measurement device in either the vertical or horizontal orientation as taught and modify the system of Matsumoto and Paulussen because such a system provides improved usability and viewability (abstract).
/JWALANT AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612