DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025), Yoakim et al. US 2011/0041702 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘702) and Yoakim et al. US 2006/0110507 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘507”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bosetti et al. discloses a capsule (capsule 1) comprising a cup shaped body and a cover (covering element 11) for closing the cup shaped body wherein the cup shaped body is made of a biodegradable material (‘731, Paragraph [0036]). The cup shaped body comprises a bottom wall (bottom wall 3), a lateral wall (sidewall 2), and an annular flange (flange 14) for the cover (covering element 11) to seal thereon (‘731, Paragraph [0045]). The lateral wall (sidewall 2) and the annular flange (flange 14) is connected by a connecting wall (connection portion 2b) of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall (connection portion 2b) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall (sidewall 2) (‘731, FIG. 1A) (‘731, Paragraphs [0053]-[0056]). The protruding part cooperates with an edge (abutment surface 18) of a capsule enclosing member (piston 100) of a beverage preparation device (‘731, FIG. 2A) (‘731, Paragraphs [0051] and [0060]).
Bosetti et al. discloses the capsule being made entirely of compostable material (‘731, Paragraph [0036]). However, Bosetti et al. is silent regarding the compostable material to be cellulose pulp.
Orler discloses a capsule (cartridge 112) comprising a cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) made of compostable cellulose pulp (‘413, FIG. 2) (‘413, Paragraph [0044]) wherein the capsule (cartridge 112) further comprises a cover (cover 204) for closing the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) and the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) comprises a bottom wall (bottom 212), a lateral wall (side 208), and an annular flange (rim 218) for the cover (cover 204) to seal thereon (‘413, Paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Both Bosetti et al. and Orler are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules used in a beverage preparation device. Both beverage capsules of Bosetti et al. and Orler are made of compostable materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the compostable beverage capsule of Bosetti et al. and make the cup shaped body out of a compostable cellulose pulp as taught by Orler since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Orler teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to construct the cup shaped body of the beverage capsule out of biodegradable cellulose pulp.
Further regarding Claim 1, Orler discloses the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) comprising a cellulose pulp (‘413, Paragraph [0044]). However, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler is silent regarding the protruding part being integral with both the lateral wall and the annular flange of the capsule.
Yoakim et al. ‘702 discloses a capsule comprising a cup shaped body comprising an annular flange (rim) comprising a sealing means forming at least one integral protrusion or lip extending form the annular flange (rim) or which an added seal element such as soft plastic, foam or fibers is added which sealing means is integral with the body of the capsule, i.e. made of the same biodegradable material (‘702, Paragraph [0043]) wherein the body is made of polymer material or cellulose based material of paper or cardboard or natural fibers (‘702, Paragraph [0055]).
Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses a capsule (capsule 1) comprising a cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) and a cover (foil member 5) for closing the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) wherein the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) comprises a bottom wall (top wall 17), a lateral wall (sidewall 7), and an annular flange (flange like rim 6) for the cover (foil member 5) to seal thereon wherein the lateral wall (sidewall 7) and the annular flange (flange like rim 6) is connected by a connecting wall (sealing member 8) of the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) (‘507, Paragraph [0066]) wherein the connecting wall (sealing member 8) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall (sidewall 7), the at least a protruding part cooperates with an edge (circumferential wall 25) of a capsule enclosing member (enclosing member 9) of a beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraph [0058]) wherein the protruding part is integral with both the lateral wall (sidewall 7) and the annular flange (flange like rim 6) of the capsule (capsule 1) (‘507, FIGS. 6-7) (‘507, Paragraphs [0068]-[0069]) wherein the protruding part is made with the same material as the capsule (‘507, Paragraph [0073]).
Modified Bosetti et al., Yoakim et al. ‘702, and Yoakim et al. ‘507 are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protruding part of the connecting wall that connects to the lateral wall and construct the protruding part to be integral with both the lateral wall and the annular flange as taught by Yoakim et al. ‘702 and Yoakim et al. ‘507 since the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice in view of In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP § 2144.04.V.C.). Yoakim et al. ‘702 and Yoakim et al. ‘507 teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to integrally construct protruding parts with the lateral wall and the annular flange.
Further regarding Claim 1, Bosetti et al. discloses the protruding part of the connecting wall (connecting portion 2b) being deformable (‘731, Paragraph [0060]) and to be capable of flexing (‘731, Paragraph [0064]). However, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler is silent regarding the density of the at least a protruding part of the connecting wall being less than the density of the tubular lateral wall.
Yoakim et al. discloses a capsule (capsule 1) comprising a cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) and a cover (foil member 5) for closing the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) wherein the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) comprises a bottom wall (top wall 17), a lateral wall (sidewall 7), and an annular flange (flange like rim 6) for the cover (foil member 5) to seal thereon wherein the lateral wall (sidewall 7) and the annular flange (flange like rim 6) is connected by a connecting wall (sealing member 8) of the cup shaped body (cup like base body 4) (‘507, Paragraph [0066]) wherein the connecting wall (sealing member 8) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall (sidewall 7), the at least a protruding part cooperates with an edge (circumferential wall 25) of a capsule enclosing member (enclosing member 9) of a beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraph [0058]) wherein the protruding part is integral with both the tubular lateral wall (sidewall 7) and the annular flange (flange like rim 6) of the capsule (capsule 1) (‘507, FIGS. 6-7) (‘507, Paragraphs [0068]-[0069]) wherein the protruding part is made with the same material as the capsule (‘507, Paragraph [0073]) and the connecting wall (sealing member) has a sudden increase of the diameter of the lateral wall (sidewall 7) (‘507, FIG. 11) (‘507,. Paragraph [0091]) wherein the protruding part (sealing member 8) can have other shapes such as a film applied to the capsule or an O-ring (‘507, Paragraph [0087]). Yoakim et al. further discloses the protruding part of the connecting wall (sealing member 8) being more resilient than the material of the lateral wall base body (‘507, Paragraph [0085]), which indicates that the more resilient connecting wall material is less dense than that of the capsule body. Applicant discloses the density of the protruding part being less than the maximum density of the lateral wall so as to increase the deformability of the protruding part and improve the leak tightness during preparation of the beverage (Specification, Page 3, lines 11-15).
Both modified Bosetti et al. and Yoakim et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. and construct the protruding part to have less density, i.e. be more resilient and have a lower hardness, than that of the maximum density of the lateral wall as taught by Yoakim et al. in order to allow the connecting wall to sufficiently deform under closure forces applied by the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraph [0091]).
Further regarding Claim 1, the limitations “for the preparation of a beverage in a beverage preparation device,” “for closing the cup shaped body,” “for the cover to seal thereon,” and “said at least a protruding part cooperating with an edge of a capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device for improving leak tightness during the preparation of the beverage” are seen to be recitations regarding the intended use of the “capsule.” In this regard, applicant’s attention is invited to MPEP § 2114.I. and MPEP § 2114.II. which states features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possess the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971). Additionally, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does in view of Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed in view of Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Furthermore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Nevertheless, Bosetti et al. discloses the capsule being used to prepare a beverage in a beverage preparation device (‘731, Paragraph [0002]), the cover closing the cup shaped body and sealing thereon (‘731, Paragraph [0022]), , and the at least a protruding part cooperating with an edge of a capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘731, FIG. 2A) (‘731, Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bosetti et al. discloses at least a protruding part (connecting portion 2b) having a greater thickness than the maximum thickness of the lateral wall (main portion 2a) (‘731, FIG. 1B) (‘731, Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding Claim 6, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler and Yoakim et al. is silent regarding the difference between the density D1 of the lateral wall of the cup shaped body and the density D2 of the protruding part of the connecting wall comprising a value between 0.1% of D1 and 20% of D1, i.e. 1%D1 ≤(D1-D2)≤ 20%D1. However, differences in the relative densities between that of the lateral wall and the protruding part of the connecting wall will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such difference between the maximum density D1 of the lateral wall of the cup shaped body and the density D2 of the protruding part of the connecting wall is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. and construct the protruding part to have less density, i.e. be more resilient and have a lower hardness, than that of the maximum density of the lateral wall as taught by Yoakim et al. in order to allow the connecting wall to sufficiently deform under closure forces applied by the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraph [0091]).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Doglioni Majer US 2015/0208852.
Regarding Claim 5, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler is silent regarding the at least a protruding part of the connecting wall having a round shape.
Doglioni Majer discloses a capsule comprising a cup shaped body and a cover for closing the cup shaped body wherein the cup shaped body comprises a bottom wall, a lateral wall (lateral wall 2), and an annular flange (flange like rim 4) of the cover to seal thereon wherein the lateral wall and the annular flange (flange like rim 4) are connected by a connecting wall (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall (lateral wall 2) (‘852, FIG. 10) (‘852, Paragraph [0103]) wherein at least a protruding part cooperates with an edge (pressing edge 10) of a capsule enclosing member of a beverage preparation device (‘852, FIG. 3) wherein the protruding part (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) is integral with both the lateral wall (lateral wall 2) and the annular flange (flange like rim 4) of the capsule (‘852, Paragraph [0018]) wherein the protruding part (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) has a round/elliptical shape, i.e. a shape corresponding to that of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device and to adapt to the indentations of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]).
Both modified Bosseti et al. and Doglioni Majer are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules used in a beverage preparation device to make a beverage. Both beverage capsules of modified Bosseti et al. and Doglioni Majer contain a cup shaped body having a connecting wall protruding outward with respect to a lateral wall. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosseti et al. and construct the protruding part of the connecting wall to have a round shape as taught by Doglioni Majer in order to adapt to the indentations of the edge of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]). Furthermore, the configuration of the claimed protruding part of the connecting wall is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed protruding part of the connecting wall was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). Doglioni Majer teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to construct the connecting wall with a protruding part having a rounded shape.
Regarding Claim 8, Doglioni Majer discloses at least the protruding part of the connecting wall (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) having a rounded shape externally and a flat shape inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cup shaped body internally (‘852, FIG. 10) (‘852, Paragraph [0103]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosseti et al. and construct the protruding part of the connecting wall to have a round shape externally as taught by Doglioni Majer in order to adapt to the indentations of the edge of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]). Furthermore, the configuration of the claimed protruding part of the connecting wall is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed protruding part of the connecting wall was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). Doglioni Majer teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to construct the connecting wall with a protruding part having a rounded shape externally and a flat shape inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cup shaped body internally.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Doglioni Majer US 2015/0208852 and Mariller US 2011/0297005.
Regarding Claim 7, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler is silent regarding the inner surface being inclined in a direction seen in longitudinal section forming an angle with the direction of inclination of the lateral wall of the cup shaped body which angle is between 100° and 150°.
Doglioni Majer discloses a capsule comprising a cup shaped body and a cover for closing the cup shaped body wherein the cup shaped body comprises a bottom wall, a lateral wall (lateral wall 2), and an annular flange (flange like rim 4) of the cover to seal thereon wherein the lateral wall and the annular flange (flange like rim 4) are connected by a connecting wall (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall (lateral wall 2) (‘852, FIG. 10) (‘852, Paragraph [0103]) wherein at least a protruding part cooperates with an edge (pressing edge 10) of a capsule enclosing member of a beverage preparation device (‘852, FIG. 3) wherein the protruding part (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) is integral with both the lateral wall (lateral wall 2) and the annular flange (flange like rim 4) of the capsule (‘852, Paragraph [0018]) wherein the protruding part (plurality of ridges or protruding elements 24) has a round/elliptical shape, i.e. a shape corresponding to that of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device and to adapt to the indentations of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]).
Mariller discloses a capsule (capsule 1b) comprising a cup shaped body and a cover for closing the cup shaped body wherein the cup shaped body comprises a bottom wall, a lateral wall (sidewall 2b), and an annular flange (rim 3b) for the cover to seal thereon wherein the lateral wall (sidewall 2b) and the annular flange (rim 3b) are connected by a connecting wall (gutter 4b) of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall (gutter 4b) comprises at least a part protruding outward with respect to the lateral wall and at least a protruding part cooperating with an edge of a capsule enclosing member (5b) of a beverage preparation device (‘005, FIG. 1B) (‘005, Paragraphs [0085]-[0093]) wherein one or more extra thicknesses placed in the bottom portion of the sidewall is used to make it easier to center the capsule in the capsule cage (‘005, Paragraph [0019]) wherein the protruding part is integral with the lateral wall and the annular flange (‘005, Paragraph [0031]).
Modified Bosetti et al., Doglioni Majer, and Mariller are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules used in beverage preparation devices to make a beverage. Although Doglioni Majer and Mariller does not teach the claimed angle of inclination with respect to the lateral wall of between 100° and 150°, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the inner surface of the connecting wall of the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. to the claimed angle of inclination relative to the lateral wall since Doglioni Majer teaches adapting to the indentations of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]) and since Mariller teaches one or more extra thicknesses placed in the bottom portion of the sidewall is used to make it easier to center the capsule in the capsule cage (‘005, Paragraph [0019]). This would be done irrespective of the particular angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall. Differences in the angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Knack US 2015/0203607 and Marcinkowski US 2017/0355515.
Regarding Claim 9, Orler discloses the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) being made of cellulose pulp comprising cellulose fibers (‘413, Paragraph [0044]). Orler also discloses an oxygen barrier liner (liner 700) attached at the inner surface of the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) (‘413, FIG. 7) (‘413, Paragraph [0075]) made of cellulose pulp (‘413, Paragraph [0044]). The oxygen barrier liner (liner 904) is made of a home compostable polymer (‘413, Paragraphs [0081]-[0082] and [0100]).
However, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler is silent regarding the cellulose fibers being in a percentage ranging from 80% to 100% by weight.
Knack discloses a capsule (coffee pad) containing a crosslinked polyethylene fiber or a mixture of polymer fibers or heat sealable filter paper (‘243, Paragraph [0044]) wherein the heat sealable filter paper contains natural fibers derived from cellulose in a weight percentage of from about 60% to about 85% and synthetic fibers derived from wood pulp in an amount of 15% to 40% (‘607, Paragraph [0041]), which overlaps the claimed cellulose fibers in a percentage ranging from 80% to 100%.
Both modified Bosetti et al. and Knack are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. and incorporate cellulose fibers in the claimed percentage as taught by Knack since where the claimed cellulose fiber concentration ranges overlaps cellulose fiber concentration ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
Further regarding Claim 9, Orler also discloses an oxygen barrier liner (liner 700) attached at the inner surface of the cup shaped body (cartridge body 200) (‘413, FIG. 7) (‘413, Paragraph [0075]) made of cellulose pulp (‘413, Paragraph [0044]). The oxygen barrier liner (liner 904) is made of a home compostable polymer (‘413, Paragraphs [0081]-[0082] and [0100]). However, Bosetti et al. modified with Orler and Knack is silent regarding the oxygen barrier liner being made of a polymer.
Marcinkowski discloses a capsule comprising a cup shaped body (cup 12) made of compostable cellulose fiber (‘515, Paragraph [0017]) and a liner including a polymer material and/or compostable polymers or paper made from a material impervious to moisture and gases (‘515, Paragraph [0025]).
Both modified Bosetti et al. and Marcinkowski are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. and construct the oxygen barrier liner out of a compostable polymer as taught by Marcinkowski since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Marcinkowski teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to construct a liner of the beverage capsule out of a compostable polymer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025) as applied to claim 1 above as further evidenced by Okamoto et al. US 2017/0107034.
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations “wherein said capsule is a single use coffee capsule” are intended use limitations and as such are rejected for the same reasons regarding intended use enumerated in the rejections of Claim 1 provided above. Nevertheless, Bosetti et al. discloses the capsule being made entirely of compostable materials (‘731, Paragraph [0036]) wherein the capsule is a coffee capsule (‘731, Paragraphs [0009] and [0043]). Okamoto et al. provides evidence that it was known in the food and beverage container art that coffee capsules (container cup 60 of single use coffee pods) (‘034, Paragraph [0064]) made from compostable paper (‘034, Paragraph [0063]) are capable of being single use coffee capsules (‘034, Paragraph [0064]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025), Yoakim et al. US 2011/0041702 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘702) and Yoakim et al. US 2006/0110507 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘507”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Heiberger US 2011/0114595.
Regarding Claim 12, Bosetti discloses the cup shaped body having revolutionary symmetry (main body comprises an axially symmetrical sidewall with respect to the central axis) (‘731, Paragraphs [0018] and [0041]). Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses the protruding part (sealing member 8) having other shapes such as an O-ring (‘507, Paragraph [0087]). However, Bosetti modified with Orler, Yoakim et al. ‘702, and Yoakim et al. ‘507 is silent regarding the protruding part/sealing member formed in O-ring shape being convex.
Heiberger discloses a beverage container (‘595, Paragraph [0038]) comprising an o-ring having a convex geometry (‘595, Paragraph [0047]).
Both modified Bosetti and Heiberger are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage containers. Modified Bosetti teaches the protruding part/sealing member being other shapes such as an O-ring via Yoakim et al. ‘507 (‘507, Paragraph [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the shape of the protruding part/sealing member having any shape such as an O-ring of modified Bosetti to be an O-ring having a convex shape as taught by Heiberger since the configuration of the claimed protruding part/sealing member is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed protruding part/sealing member was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the shape of the protruding part/sealing member of the capsule of modified Bosetti based upon the dimensions of the beverage preparation device in which the capsule is inserted to provide a good seal between the capsule and the beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraphs [0082]-[0083]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosetti et al. US 2021/0107731 in view of Orler US 2020/0253413 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2025), Yoakim et al. US 2011/0041702 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘702) and Yoakim et al. US 2006/0110507 (herein referred to as “Yoakim et al. ‘507”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Kay US 2018/0148251.
Regarding Claim 12, Bosetti discloses the cup shaped body having revolutionary symmetry (main body comprises an axially symmetrical sidewall with respect to the central axis) (‘731, Paragraphs [0018] and [0041]). Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses the protruding part (sealing member 8) having other shapes (‘507, Paragraph [0087]). However, Bosetti modified with Orler, Yoakim et al. ‘702, and Yoakim et al. ‘507 is silent regarding the protruding part/sealing member shape being convex.
Kay a capsule comprising a cup shaped body comprising a bottom wall, a tubular lateral wall, and an annular flange wherein the tubular lateral wall and the annular flange are connected by a connecting wall of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall comprises at least a part protruding outward (annular recess 13) with respect to the tubular lateral wall wherein the protruding part (sealing rib 28) is convex (‘251, FIG. 2) (‘251, Paragraphs [0023]-[0024]).
Both modified Bosetti and Kay are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Modified Bosetti teaches the protruding part/sealing member being other shapes via Yoakim et al. ‘507 (‘507, Paragraph [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the shape of the protruding part/sealing member having any shape of modified Bosetti to be a convex shape as taught by Kay since the configuration of the claimed protruding part/sealing member is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed protruding part/sealing member was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the shape of the protruding part/sealing member of the capsule of modified Bosetti based upon the dimensions of the beverage preparation device in which the capsule is inserted to provide a good seal between the capsule and the beverage preparation device (‘251, Paragraphs [0009]-[0010]).
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous Claim Objections have been withdraw in view of the amendments.
Examiner notes that the previous indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 with respect to the previous obviousness rejections under 35 USC 103(a) to Bosetti et al. in view of Orler, Yoakim et al. ‘702, and Yoakim et al. ‘507 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations of previous Claims 2-3 (which have been canceled herein). The secondary references of Yoakim et al. ‘702 and Yoakim et al. ‘507 were previously relied upon to render obvious the limitations of Claims 2-3 (which have been canceled herein and which limitations are incorporated into amended Claim 1).
Applicant argues on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that Yoakim et al. ‘507 does not teach or suggest that the protruding part can be less dense while also being an integral part of the capsule made of the same material as the capsule. Applicant contends that Yoakim et al. ‘507 does not teach the density of the material of the protruding part and the word “density” is not used anywhere in Yoakim et al. ‘507 and that the only teaching regarding density Examiner cited is in applicant’s specification and hindsight reasoning is allegedly improperly applied. Applicant contends that the specification cannot be used to provide a motivation to make a protruding part that is less dense in order to make it more resilient. Applicant asserts that Examiner’s position that the protruding part of Yoakim et al. ‘507 must inherently be less dense that the capsule body because it is more resilient is not accurate and contends that other factors besides density can make a material more resilient, e.g. some materials are more resilient than other materials while also being denser than other materials and the shape of a material can make it more resilient without changing the density of the material. Applicant continues that Paragraph [0067] of Yoakim et al. describes the protruding part of sealing member 8 as being more resilient explaining that the resilient property is provided by the material used or the geometric shape of the sealing member and that Paragraph [0070] of Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses the sealing member being made of a resilient material such as elastomer, silicone, or others.
Examiner argues applicant admits that Paragraph [0067] of Yoakim et al. teaches the shape of a material and the type of material can make it more resilient. The claims do not specify any particular shape from which the claimed protruding part is made. Claim 1 recites the protruding part is made of cellulose pulp and the density of the protruding part is less than the density of the tubular lateral wall. Yoakim et al. ‘702 discloses the body being made of polymer material or cellulose based material of paper or cardboard or natural fibers (‘702, Paragraph [0055]). Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses the protruding part is made with the same material as the capsule (‘507, Paragraph [0073]). Modified Bosetti et al., Yoakim et al. ‘702, and Yoakim et al. ‘507 are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protruding part of the connecting wall that connects to the lateral wall and construct the protruding part to be integral with both the lateral wall and the annular flange as taught by Yoakim et al. ‘702 and Yoakim et al. ‘507 since the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice in view of In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP § 2144.04.V.C.). Yoakim et al. ‘702 and Yoakim et al. ‘507 teaches that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to integrally construct protruding parts with the lateral wall and the annular flange. Applicant makes no comments with respect to Yoakim et al. ‘702 that is also being relied upon in the rejection. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, Examiner maintains that Yoakim et al. ‘507 discloses the protruding part of the connecting wall (sealing member 8) being more resilient than the material of the lateral wall base body (‘507, Paragraph [0085]), which indicates that the more resilient connecting wall material is less dense than that of the capsule body. Applicant discloses the density of the protruding part being less than the maximum density of the lateral wall so as to increase the deformability of the protruding part and improve the leak tightness during preparation of the beverage (Specification, Page 3, lines 11-15). Both modified Bosetti et al. and Yoakim et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the beverage capsule of modified Bosetti et al. and construct the protruding part to have less density, i.e. be more resilient and have a lower hardness, than that of the maximum density of the lateral wall as taught by Yoakim et al. in order to allow the connecting wall to sufficiently deform under closure forces applied by the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘507, Paragraph [0091]). Furthermore, Bonacci US 2011/0186450 discloses a capsule comprising a flange like rim portion and a second portion of a sealing member differing in hardness to produce a resilient rim portion designed for compensating eventual irregularities in a matching sealing surface of a beverage production device (‘450, Paragraph [0020]). Although Yoakim et al. ‘507 does not explicitly use the term “density,” applicant discloses density being related to stiffness and hardness (Specification, Page 10, lines 8-12). Bonacci discloses resilience and hardness are correlated to one another. Therefore, resilience and density are correlated to one another via density property. Furthermore, the resilience disclosed in Yoakim et al. ‘507 correspond to stiffness of a material, which stiffness is related to density as disclosed by applicant’s specification. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 10 of the Remarks with respect to Claim 7 that adding extra thickness to the sidewall as taught by Mariller would not necessarily make the interior surface of the sidewall angle outward as recited in Claim 7.
Examiner argues Doglioni Majer teaches adapting to the indentations of the edge (pressing edge 10) of the capsule enclosing member of the beverage preparation device (‘852, Paragraph [0103]) and since Mariller teaches one or more extra thicknesses placed in the bottom portion of the sidewall is used to make it easier to center the capsule in the capsule cage (‘005, Paragraph [0019]). This would be done irrespective of the particular angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall. Differences in the angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such angle of inclination of the inner surface of the connecting wall relative to the lateral wall is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bonacci US 2011/0186450 discloses a capsule comprising a flange like rim portion and a second portion of a sealing member differing in hardness to produce a resilient rim portion designed for compensating eventual irregularities in a matching sealing surface of a beverage production device (‘450, Paragraph [0020]).
Perentes et al. US 2014/0305315 discloses a capsule comprising an annular engagement portion of different geometric shapes and/or hardness to provide resilience to the capsule body to enable an adjustment of the sealing properties thereof (‘315, Paragraph [0055]).
Held US 2020/0231375 discloses a capsule comprising a cup shaped body comprising a bottom wall, a tubular lateral wall, and an annular flange wherein the tubular lateral wall and the annular flange are connected by a connecting wall of the cup shaped body wherein the connecting wall comprises at least a part protruding outward (annular recess 13) with respect to the tubular lateral wall wherein the protruding part (annular recess 13) is convex (‘375, FIG. 2C) (‘375, Paragraph [0108]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792