Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbey (US5309746) “Abbey”, in view of Hama (JP05337582) “Hama”.
Regarding claim 1, Abbey discloses a measuring unit (28) for measuring residual curvatures (“residual stresses”) on straightened straightening good (12) in the form of wires or tubes (“tube”), which straightening good (12) has passed through a straightening system (20) having two series-connected settable roller straighteners (Fig. 5; 42, 44) with differently oriented straightening planes (Column 4; Lines 10-12, and 42; horizontal 44; vertical), comprising: a measuring device (28) for receiving a respective rod-shaped section (26), which has been severed from the straightening good (12), of the straightening good that has passed through the straightening system in a measuring position (Fig. 1) and for determining measurement data (Fig. 8) that represent a residual curvature (“residual stresses”) of the straightened straightening good.
Abbey does not disclose a straightening plane-specific measurement that allows an unambiguous assignment.
Hama teaches a straightening plane-specific measurement (4 and 5) that allows an unambiguous assignment (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hama’s straightening plane-specific measurement that allows an unambiguous assignment in Abbey’s measuring unit to more accurately correct curvature of tube material in multiple planes.
Regarding claim 2, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized by apparatuses (164, 166) for fixing the rod-shaped section at a first fixation point (Fig. 1; 164 contact point) and at a second fixation point (Fig. 1; 166 contact point) located at a distance from the first fixation point, such that, for each of the fixation points, only a vertical position and a horizontal position (164 and 166 support 26) of the rod-shaped straightening good is predefined, such that a section of the rod-shaped straightening good that is located between the fixation points is free from forces aside from gravity (Fig. 1; space between 164); apparatuses (180) for measuring a position of the straightening good in a measuring plane (Fig. 1; 180) located between the first and the second fixation point; apparatuses (28) for determining the residual curvature (“residual stresses”) using position data (Fig. 8 and “signals indicative of position”) for the position of the straightening good at the first fixation point, at the second fixation point and in the measuring plane.
Regarding claim 3, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the measuring unit has a cutting apparatus (24) for severing rod-shaped sections (26) of pre-definable length (Column 1; lines 38-41) from the straightening good that has passed through the straightening system, wherein the cutting apparatus (24) is preferably mounted, together with the measuring device, at or on a common frame (48).
Regarding claim 4, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the measuring unit is configured such that the straightening good is able to be measured in that rotational position (Column 2; lines 26-27) in which it passed through the straightening system.
Regarding claim 5, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized by anti-twist apparatuses (176 and 178) that are configured such that a rotational position (Column 2; lines 26-27) of a severed rod-shaped section provided for the measurement remains unchanged about its longitudinal axis between the straightening and the measurement, such that the straightening good is able to be measured in that rotational position in which it passed through the straightening system (Column 7; lines 7-25).
Regarding claim 6, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized by a control unit (194) that is configured, in an operating mode (Column 8; lines 16-30), such that the cutting apparatus and the measuring device are controlled in a coordinated manner such that a front end section of the straightened straightening good is conveyed to a measuring position in the measuring device by way of a controlled advancement (Column 2; lines 10-17), the straightening good is then secured against twisting by way of anti-twist apparatuses (176, 178) of the measuring unit, in particular is clamped in the horizontal direction, and the cutting apparatus is then actuated (Column 10; lines 36-37) in order to sever the rod-shaped section to be measured from the rest of the straightening good.
Regarding claim 7, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the measuring unit has a rotational position adjustment auxiliary apparatus (176, 178) that is configured, in functional interaction with a rotational position marking (14) on the rod-shaped section that is suitable for identifying the rotational position of the rod-shaped section, to ensure that the rod-shaped section is able to be received in the measuring unit such that the rod-shaped section is able to be measured in a defined rotational position that has a known relationship with the rotational position in which the straightening good passed through the straightening system (Column 7; lines 7-17), wherein the rotational position adjustment auxiliary apparatus preferably has at least one rotational position detection apparatus (178) that is configured to detect the rotational position marking (14) on the rod-shaped section, wherein the rotational position detection apparatus is preferably selected from the following group: a camera for optically detecting the rotational position marking; a mechanical marking counter-element for making mechanical contact with the rotational position marking, wherein the marking counter-element preferably has a section having a counter-structure complementary to the rotational position marking such that the desired rotational position of the rod-shaped section is able to be set by the contacting (Column 7; lines 18-25).
Regarding claim 8, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the measuring device, on an input side, has a first clamping device (164) and a second clamping device (166) at a distance therefrom in the longitudinal direction, wherein components (180) of a measuring system are arranged in a region between the clamping devices, which measuring system defines a measuring plane oriented transverse, in particular perpendicular, to the longitudinal direction and is designed to ascertain the position (Column 7; lines 30-49) of the set-down rod-shaped section in the measuring plane, wherein preferably each of the clamping devices has a support roller (roller of 164 and 166) mounted with a horizontal axis of rotation and two transverse positioning elements able to be adjusted by way of a drive, in particular transverse positioning rollers or transverse positioning blocks, such that an inserted rod-shaped section is able to be fixed at a fixation point defined in each case in the vertical direction and in the horizontal direction (Column 7).
Regarding claim 9, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 8, characterized in that a distance (Column 1; lines 36-40), measured parallel to the longitudinal direction, between the clamping devices is continuously adjustable (Column 1; lines 36-40), wherein preferably the clamping devices are mounted on carriages (52) that run on guide rails (80) that are attached to the top of a horizontally oriented baseplate (48) of the measuring system, and/or components of the measuring device are attached to a carrier (82) that is mounted on a carriage (52) that is able to be moved on the guide rails (80) that also guide the clamping devices.
Regarding claim 10, Abbey discloses the measuring unit as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the measuring system is an optical (30, 32) measuring system for ascertaining the position of the rod-shaped section in a measuring plane (Column 3; lines 42-49) located between the clamping devices, wherein the measuring system preferably has a first laser unit (30) and a second laser unit (32) that produce a respective laser light curtain running in the measuring plane in measuring directions oriented transverse, in particular perpendicular to one another (“horizontal and vertical scanner units 30 and 32”), wherein a sensor unit having photosensitive sensors (38) for detecting a shadow (40) cast by that part of the rod-shaped section entering through the measuring plane is arranged in each case opposite a laser unit (Column 3; lines 52-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbey.
Regarding claim 11, Abbey discloses a measuring method for measuring residual curvatures (“residual stress”) on straightened straightening good (12) in the form of wires or tubes (“tube”), which straightening good (12) has passed through a straightening system (20) having two series-connected roller straighteners (42, 44) with differently oriented straightening planes (“horizontal and vertical”), in which a rod-shaped section (26) of pre-definable length is severed from the straightened straightening good (12) that has passed through the straightening system (20) by way of a cutting apparatus (24), and the rod-shaped section (26) is measured by way of a measuring apparatus (28) that comprises a measuring device (28) for receiving a respective rod-shaped section (26) severed from the straightening good (26) in a measuring position and apparatuses (28) for determining measurement data that represent a residual curvature (“residual stresses”) of the straightened straightening good (26), characterized by a straightening plane-specific measurement, in which curvature components determined on the basis of the measurement data (Column 8; lines 20-30) are assigned to the different straightening planes of the roller straighteners.
Regarding claim 12, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 11, characterized in that a rotational position (“angular orientation”) of the straightening good remains unchanged (Column 6; lines 40-55) about its longitudinal axis between the straightening and the measurement (Column 6; lines 40-55), such that the straightening good is measured in that rotational position (“angular orientation”) in which it passed through the straightening system.
Regarding claim 13, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 11, characterized in that, in order to measure a rod-shaped section of the straightening good, a front end section (leading end of 26) of the straightened straightening good is first of all conveyed to a measuring position in the measuring device by way of a controlled advancement (“advances through a series of rollers”), the straightening good is then prevented from self-rotation by way of anti-twist protection (176, 178), in particular by being clamped in the horizontal direction, and in that the rod-shaped section to be measured is then severed (“cut”) from the rest of the straightening good.
Regarding claim 14, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 11, characterized by the following steps: producing a rotational position marking (14) suitable for identifying the rotational position (Column 7; lines 22-25) of the rod-shaped section (26) on the rod-shaped section; transporting the rod-shaped section provided with the rotational position marking to the measuring unit (28); arranging the rod-shaped section provided with the rotational position marking (14) in the measuring position of the measuring unit with a defined rotational position (Column 7; lines 22-25), which has a known relationship with the rotational position in which the straightening good passed through the straightening system (20), wherein the defined rotational position is set using a rotational position adjustment auxiliary apparatus (176, 178) of the measuring unit that is configured, in interaction with the rotational position marking (14) on the rod- shaped section (26), to ensure that the rod-shaped section is arranged in the defined rotational position (Column 7; lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 15, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 14, characterized in that producing the rotational position marking (14) comprises one of the following measures: producing a notch or another recessed structure (“weld seam”) on the circumference of the straightening good; producing a bent section at the end of the straightening good; producing a chamfer at the end of the straightening good; producing a color marking (185) or laser marking; removing one side of part of an insulating layer; applying a marking element that has been produced separately, preferably by way of 3D printing, and has a matching shape to the rod-shaped section, in particular by plugging, clipping or gluing, gluing a preferably self-adhesive sticker to or on a side surface of the rod-shaped section.
Regarding claim 16, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 11, characterized in that measuring the straightened straightening good comprises the following steps: fixing the straightened straightening good at a first fixation point (164) and at a second fixation point (166) located at a distance from the first fixation point (Fig 1; 164), such that, for each of the fixation points, a vertical position and a horizontal position (Column 4; lines 7-15) of the straightening good is predefined and a section of the straightening good that is located between the fixation points is free from forces aside from gravity (space between 164 and 166); measuring a position of the straightening good in a measuring plane (180) located between the first and the second fixation point; determining the residual curvature using position data (“signal”) for the position of the straightening good at the first fixation point (164), at the second fixation point (166) and in the measuring plane.
Regarding claim 17, Abbey discloses the measuring method as claimed in claim 11, characterized in that an optical measuring system (30, 32) is used for the measurement, which optical measuring system preferably produces two mutually perpendicular laser light curtains (40) located in the measuring plane by way of laser radiation (34) and performs detection by way of opposing light-sensitive sensors (38), as a result of which the position of the straightening good in the measuring plane is able to be ascertained (Column 3; lines 52-65) with high precision in two directions by way of shadow (40) projection.
Regarding claim 18, Abbey discloses a method for setting up a straightening system (20) for straightening passing straightening good (12) in the form of wires or tubes (“tube”), in particular for use in a forming machine (“forming apparatus”) for producing straight or bent shaped parts (26) from the straightening good, wherein the straightening system (20) has two series-connected settable roller straighteners (42, 44) with differently oriented straightening planes (Column 4; lines 3-11), a rod-shaped section (12) of pre-definable length is severed from the straightened straightening good that has passed through the straightening system (20) by way of a cutting apparatus (24), the rod-shaped section is measured by way of a measuring apparatus (180) that comprises a measuring device (180) for receiving a respective rod-shaped section (26) severed from the straightening good in a measuring position and apparatuses for determining measurement data (“signals”) that represent a residual curvature (“residual stresses”) of the straightened straightening good, and the straightening geometry of at least one roller straightener is modified (Column 8; lines 48-60) on the basis of the measurement data such that a residual curvature of a subsequently straightened section of the straightening good is improved by changing the straightening geometry (Column 8; lines 58-61) with regard to a target residual curvature.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855