DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 15-17 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim to foreign priority of Chinese application CN202111333504.1 filed 11/11/2021. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/130811 filed 11/09/2022.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “the control currently displayed” but “the control” should be more clearly recited as “the target control” as referenced in parent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit” of claim 15 which is interpreted as a processor performing the corresponding claimed function
“display unit” of claim 15 which is interpreted as a processor performing the corresponding claimed function
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 17 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed to signals per se. The claim recites a “computer-readable storage medium” which encompasses transitory signals. While Applicant’s disclosure provides non-transitory examples of machine-readable storage mediums ([0075]), the Specification does not define the computer-readable storage medium as non-transitory or otherwise set forth a clear disavowal of the claimed computer-readable storage medium being transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pham (US 2018/0083898 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pham teaches a display control method, comprising:
determining a target control associated with a target trigger rule in response to at least one trigger rule being hit, wherein the target trigger rule is the hit trigger rule (FIG. 2 and [0067-0075] and blocks 416-420 of FIG. 4 and [0119-0137]: sticker suggestion module 212 works in tandem with at least response suggestion generator 216 to determine a target control/a message sticker associated with a target trigger rule. A trigger rule is hit when response suggestion generator 216 determines a response suggestion as being relevant and the response suggestions is ranked at a certain level by the sticker suggestion module 212; FIG. 10 and [0193-0199]: for example, a target control “Show location”/element 1010 is determined in response to at least one trigger rule being hit. Note that a target control may be any one of elements 1010, 1012, or 1014); and
displaying the target control in an input box of a chat interface or an associated area of the input box, wherein the target control is configured to perform a corresponding function after being triggered (block 420 of FIG. 4 and [0137], FIG. 10 and [0195-0199], and FIG. 11 and [0200]: target control is displayed in an associated area of the input box. For example, target control “Show location”/element 1010 is displayed in an area above the input box. Selection of element 1010 causes execution of a corresponding function, as seen in FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Pham further teaches the display method according to claim 1, wherein in response to at least one trigger rule being hit comprises:
in response to the at least one trigger rule being hit by received information; or
in response to the at least one trigger rule being hit by a detected operation; or
in response to the at least one trigger rule being hit by historical information from an associated user of the chat interface (FIG. 2 and [0067-0075] and blocks 416-420 of FIG. 4 and [0119-0137]; FIG. 10 and [0193-0195]: for example, the at least one trigger rule is hit by historical information from an associated user of the chat interface).
Regarding claim 3, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target control comprises at least one of the following:
a time zone information control, an information reply control, a page jump control, an information forwarding control, a target type information display control, or an application control (FIG. 10 and [0193-0199], FIG. 11 and [0200]: the target control comprises a target type information display control. For example, element 1010 comprises control for displaying an image showing a map indicating the location of the first user device, as evident in FIG. 11. As another example, element 1012 comprises control for displaying a formatted card with information about XYZ Coffee).
Regarding claim 4, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the trigger rule comprises at least one of a priority of an associated control, an appearance rule of the associated control, and a hiding rule of the associated control ([0180]: “the type of response may be selected or prioritized based on context”; blocks 416-420 of FIG. 4 and [0119-0137]: an associated control is suggested based on its priority, or ranking).
Regarding claim 5, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
determining, based on a priority of the target control, a display position of the target control in the input box or the associated area ([0075], FIG. 4 and [0128-0129], [0134-0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein if no trigger rule is hit, a suggested control is displayed in the input box of the chat interface or the associated area of the input box, wherein the suggested control is determined based on a behavior of a current user ([0057]: for example, based on behavior indicated by a current user’s prior activity via earlier messages in the conversation, a suggested control may be displayed to reflect a playful or a formal response).
Regarding claim 7, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
if at least two target controls are mutually exclusive, a control that needs to be displayed is determined from the mutually exclusive target controls based on the control currently displayed in the input box or the associated area of the input box ([0075], FIG. 4 and [0128-0129], [0134-0137], FIG. 10 and [0193-0199]: a particular number of top-ranked message stickers/target controls are to be displayed. A control that is top-ranked is determined based on a control displayed in the associated area. For example, a control may be message 1006).
Regarding claim 8, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the trigger rule and the control associated with the trigger rule are customizable ([0057], [0061]: trigger rule and associated control are customizable).
Regarding claim 14, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the target control has displayed content, and the displayed content comprises at least one of a text and an icon ([0035-0037], FIG. 10 and [0195]: a target control has displayed content comprising at least text).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites a display control apparatus (FIG. 12 and [0255-0256]), comprising operations corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, the claims recite an electronic device, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory is configured to store program code, and the at least one processor is configured to call the program code stored in the at least one memory to perform operations (FIG. 12 and [0255-0256]) comprising those corresponding to claims 1-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites a computer-readable storage medium configured to store program code that, when executed by a processor (FIG. 12 and [0255-0256]), causes the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2018/0083898 A1), in view of Gordon et al. (US 10440169 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Pham teaches the method according to claim 8.
Pham does not explicitly teach wherein user types comprise a first type of user and a second type of user belonging to the first type of user; and a user with a first permission in the first type of user is able to set whether the second type of user is permitted to customize the trigger rule and the control associated with the trigger rule.
Gordon teaches wherein user types comprise a first type of user and a second type of user belonging to the first type of user; and a user with a first permission in the first type of user is able to set whether the second type of user is permitted to customize the trigger rule and the control associated with the trigger rule (FIG. 17 and Col. 51, line 50 to Col. 54, line 46: a first type of user may be all users which interact with online instruction database 1702, and a second type of user may be a user receiving an instruction from another user via the online instruction database 1702. A user with a first permission, or designated permission level, in the first type of user is able to set whether the second type of user is permitted to customize the trigger rule and the control associated with the trigger rule, as illustrated in instruction interface 1712 by the receiving user’s ability to modify the instruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pham by incorporating the teachings of Gordon so as to include wherein user types comprise a first type of user and a second type of user belonging to the first type of user; and a user with a first permission in the first type of user is able to set whether the second type of user is permitted to customize the trigger rule and the control associated with the trigger rule. Doing so would allow other users to benefit from applicable, custom trigger rules and their associated controls. In this way, individual users do not need to manually set instructions, anew, themselves. Rather, a user with permission, and thus authorized, may send a preset instruction to another user for use and/or customization of its trigger rule and associated control, increasing efficacy and convenience for the receiving user.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2018/0083898 A1), in view of Choi (US 2017/0308292 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Pham does not explicitly teach further comprising: in response to customization of at least one control as a fixed control, fixedly displaying the fixed control in the input box of the chat interface or the associated area of the input box.
Choi teaches in response to customization of at least one control as a fixed control,
fixedly displaying the fixed control in the input box of the chat interface or the associated area of the input box (FIGS. 4B-D and [0093-0103]: as seen in FIG. 4C, selection of suggested query 406 customizes the control as a fixed control. This causes the fixed control to be fixedly displayed in the associated area of the input box as seen in FIG. 4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pham by incorporating the teachings of Choi so as to include further comprising: in response to customization of at least one control as a fixed control, fixedly displaying the fixed control in the input box of the chat interface or the associated area of the input box. Doing so would allow the user to remember a particular, important context of the conversation to guide the user in continuing the conversation.
Regarding claim 13, Pham further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein n controls are displayable in the input box or the associated area ([0075]: “A particular number of the top ranking message sticker suggestions can be sent via the server interface 210 to one or more user devices 204 and/or 208 to be displayed or otherwise output on the user devices.”).
Pham does not explicitly teach if a number of target controls exceeds n, (n-1) target controls and an extended control are displayed in the input box or the associated area, wherein the extended control is configured to: after being triggered, display a target control that is not displayed in the input box or the associated area.
Choi teaches if a number of target controls exceeds n, (n-1) target controls and an extended control are displayed in the input box or the associated area, wherein the extended control is configured to: after being triggered, display a target control that is not displayed in the input box or the associated area (FIGS. 4B-D and [0093-0103]: as seen in FIG. 4B, n = 2 control are displayable in the associated area. If a number of target controls exceeds 2, then 1 target control “Burrito Land” and an extended control succeeding “Burrito Land” is displayed as seen in FIG. 4D. After the extended control is triggered within the carousel, by the user swiping left for example, a target control to the right of “Burrito Land” is displayed in the associated area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pham by incorporating the teachings of Choi so as to include if a number of target controls exceeds n, (n-1) target controls and an extended control are displayed in the input box or the associated area, wherein the extended control is configured to: after being triggered, display a target control that is not displayed in the input box or the associated area. Doing so would allow the user to access a greater number of target controls in case the initially presented target controls are unsatisfactory. In this way, the user would be more likely to access the most applicable target control for a more efficient or impactful conversation.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2019/0124019 A1: recommending responses based on historical message data
US 2017/0187654 A1: candidate response options based on context
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171