Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Both claim 5 and claim 16 include the phrase "the sub-faces comprise...". However, there is no introduction of an element "sub-faces" in any claims from which these two depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 20250248225 A1) hereinafter referred to as "Wu".
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a display panel, comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2, element 2; ¶: [0060]); a first electrode layer, disposed on one side of the substrate, and comprising a plurality of first electrodes that are spaced apart (Fig. 2, element 3; ¶:[0060]); a pixel definition layer, disposed on one side of the first electrode layer away from the substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings corresponding to the first electrodes and a first opening located between adjacent pixel openings (Fig. 2, element PDL; ¶: [0061]); an isolation structure, disposed between the substrate and the pixel definition layer, and arranged corresponding to the first opening, wherein isolation structure comprises a first isolation layer (Fig. 3A, element UDC3; ¶: [0063]) and a second isolation layer (Fig. 3A, element UDC2; ¶: [0063]) stacked on each other, the second isolation layer is located between the substrate and the first isolation layer, the first isolation layer comprises a first sub-opening corresponding to the first opening, the second isolation layer comprises a second sub-opening corresponding to the first sub-opening, a minimum opening area of the second sub-opening is greater than a minimum opening area of the first sub-opening, and the second sub-opening communicates with the first opening through the first sub-opening; a first light-emitting layer, disposed on one side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate and interrupted at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 42; ¶: [0084]); a charge generation layer, disposed on one side of the first light-emitting layer away from the pixel definition layer, and interrupted at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 44; ¶: [0061]); a second light-emitting layer, disposed on one side of the charge generation layer away from the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 3A, element 46; ¶: [0084]); and a second electrode layer, disposed on one side of the second light-emitting layer away from the substrate, and continuously arranged at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 5; ¶: [0075]), wherein an opening area of the first sub-opening on one side away from the substrate is greater than an opening area on one side near the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the second light-emitting layer being continuously arranged at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 5; ¶: [0103]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches an angle between an inner wall of the first sub-opening and a first direction being less than 90 degrees, the first direction being from a center of the first sub-opening towards the inner wall of the first sub-opening, and the first direction being parallel to the substrate (Fig. 3A, element α1).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the inner wall of the first sub-opening comprising multiple sub-faces, and an angle between the sub-face farther from the center of the first sub-opening and the first direction being smaller than an angle between the sub-face closer to the center of the first sub-opening and the first direction (Fig. 3A, element 45).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the isolation structure further comprising a third isolation layer, and the third isolation layer being disposed between the second isolation layer and the substrate and being stacked with the second isolation layer (Fig. 3A element UDC1; ¶: [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches a display device, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a substrate (Fig. 2, element 2; ¶: [0060]); a first electrode layer, disposed on one side of the substrate, and comprising a plurality of first electrodes that are spaced apart (Fig. 2, element 3; ¶:[0060]); a pixel definition layer, disposed on one side of the first electrode layer away from the substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings corresponding to the first electrodes and a first opening located between adjacent pixel openings (Fig. 2, element PDL; ¶: [0061]); an isolation structure, disposed between the substrate and the pixel definition layer, and arranged corresponding to the first opening, wherein isolation structure comprises a first isolation layer (Fig. 3A, element UDC3; ¶: [0063]) and a second isolation layer (Fig. 3A, element UDC2; ¶: [0063]) stacked on each other, the second isolation layer is located between the substrate and the first isolation layer, the first isolation layer comprises a first sub-opening corresponding to the first opening, the second isolation layer comprises a second sub-opening corresponding to the first sub-opening, a minimum opening area of the second sub-opening is greater than a minimum opening area of the first sub-opening, and the second sub-opening communicates with the first opening through the first sub-opening; a first light-emitting layer, disposed on one side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate and interrupted at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 42; ¶: [0084]); a charge generation layer, disposed on one side of the first light-emitting layer away from the pixel definition layer, and interrupted at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 44; ¶: [0061]); a second light-emitting layer, disposed on one side of the charge generation layer away from the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 3A, element 46; ¶: [0084]); and a second electrode layer, disposed on one side of the second light-emitting layer away from the substrate, and continuously arranged at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 5; ¶: [0075]), wherein an opening area of the first sub-opening on one side away from the substrate is greater than an opening area on one side near the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the second light-emitting layer being continuously arranged at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, element 5; ¶: [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches an angle between an inner wall of the first sub-opening and a first direction being less than 90 degrees, the first direction being from a center of the first sub-opening towards the inner wall of the first sub-opening, and the first direction being parallel to the substrate (Fig. 3A, element α1).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the inner wall of the first sub-opening comprising multiple sub faces, and an angle between the sub-face farther from the center of the first sub-opening and the first direction being smaller than an angle between the sub-face closer to the center of the first sub-opening and the first direction (Fig. 3A, element 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Harikrishna Mohan et al. (US 20240023382 A1) hereinafter referred to as "Mohan".
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the display panel according to claim 3 and further teaches a first sub-face that is close to the center of the first sub-opening and a second sub-face that is away from the center of the first sub-opening, with the first sub-face connecting to the second sub-face (Fig. 3A element 45). However, Wu does not teach the first light-emitting layer comprising a first recess located at one side of the first sub-face near the center of the first sub-opening, and a second recess located at a junction where the first sub-face and the second sub-face connect.
Mohan teaches the first light-emitting layer comprising a first recess located at one side of the first sub-face near the center of the first sub-opening, and a second recess located at a junction where the first sub-face and the second sub-face connect (Fig. 10, element 102, 202; ¶: [0077-0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple recesses in order to disrupt the conductive leakage paths in the organic light-emitting diode layers to prevent leakage current from passing through the organic light-emitting diode layers. (¶: [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Mohan teach the display panel according to claim 5. Wu further teaches the charge generation layer comprising a first sub-part located within the first sub-opening, a second sub-part located on one side of the inner wall of the first sub-opening away from the substrate, and a third sub-part located on one side of the second sub-part that is away from the center of the first sub-opening; the first sub-part and the second sub-part being spaced apart at the first recess; and the second sub-part and the third sub-part being connected, or the second sub-part and the third sub-part being spaced apart at the second recess (Fig. 3A, element 441, 443; ¶: [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu in view of Mohan teach the display panel according to claim 5. However, Wu does not teach the second light-emitting layer comprising a third recess and a fourth recess, the third recess being aligned with the first recess along a second direction, the fourth recess being aligned with the second recess along the second direction, and the second direction being from the substrate towards the pixel definition layer.
Mohan teaches the second light-emitting layer comprising a third recess and a fourth recess, the third recess being aligned with the first recess along a second direction, the fourth recess being aligned with the second recess along the second direction, and the second direction being from the substrate towards the pixel definition layer (Fig. 10 element 102, 202; ¶:[0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple recesses in order to disrupt the conductive leakage paths in the organic light-emitting diode layers to prevent leakage current from passing through the organic light-emitting diode layers. (¶: [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu in view of Mohan teach the display panel according to claim 7. Wu does not teach the second electrode layer continuously covering both the third recess and the fourth recess.
Mohan teaches the second electrode layer continuously covering both the third recess and the fourth recess (Fig. 10 element 54; ¶: [0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second electrode layer continuously cover both recesses in order to optimize the display to have discontinuities in high conductivity light emitting diodes while having a continuous electrode layer going across the display (¶: [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the display panel according to claim 3. Wu does not teach the angle between the inner wall of the first sub-opening and the first direction being greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees.
Mohan teaches the angle between the inner wall of the first sub-opening and the first direction being greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees (Fig. 7 element 118; ¶: [0056]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the angles in order to control the discontinuities of the light emitting diode layers (¶: [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the display device according to claim 14. Wu further teaches the sub-faces comprising a first sub-face that is close to the center of the first sub-opening and a second sub-face that is away from the center of the first sub-opening, with the first sub-face connecting to the second sub-face (Fig. 3A element 45). However, Wu does not teach the first light-emitting layer comprising a first recess located at one side of the first sub-face near the center of the first sub-opening, and a second recess located at a junction where the first sub-face and the second sub-face connect.
Mohan teaches the first light-emitting layer comprising a first recess located at one side of the first sub-face near the center of the first sub-opening, and a second recess located at a junction where the first sub-face and the second sub-face connect (Fig. 10, element 102, 202; ¶: [0077-0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple recesses in order to disrupt the conductive leakage paths in the organic light-emitting diode layers to prevent leakage current from passing through the organic light-emitting diode layers. (¶: [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu in view of Mohan teaches the display device according to claim 16. Wu further teaches the charge generation layer comprising a first sub-part located within the first sub-opening, a second sub-part located on one side of the inner wall of the first sub-opening away from the substrate, and a third sub-part located on one side of the second sub-part that is away from the center of the first sub-opening; the first sub-part and the second sub-part being spaced apart at the first recess; and the second sub-part and the third sub-part being connected, or the second sub-part and the third sub-part being spaced apart at the second recess. (Fig. 3A, element 441, 443; ¶: [0070]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu in view of Mohan teaches the display device according to claim 16. However, Wu does not teach the second light-emitting layer comprising a third recess and a fourth recess, the third recess being aligned with the first recess along a second direction, the fourth recess being aligned with the second recess along the second direction, and the second direction being from the substrate towards the pixel definition layer.
Mohan teaches the second light-emitting layer comprising a third recess and a fourth recess, the third recess being aligned with the first recess along a second direction, the fourth recess being aligned with the second recess along the second direction, and the second direction being from the substrate towards the pixel definition layer (Fig. 10 element 102, 202; ¶:[0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple recesses in order to disrupt the conductive leakage paths in the organic light-emitting diode layers to prevent leakage current from passing through the organic light-emitting diode layers. (¶: [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu in view of Mohan teaches the display device according to claim 18. Wu does not teach the second electrode layer continuously covering both the third recess and the fourth recess.
Mohan teaches the second electrode layer continuously covering both the third recess and the fourth recess (Fig. 10 element 54; ¶: [0079]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second electrode layer continuously cover both recesses in order to optimize the display to have discontinuities in high conductivity light emitting diodes while having a continuous electrode layer going across the display (¶: [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches the display device according to claim 14. Wu does not teach the angle between the inner wall of the first sub-opening and the first direction being greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees.
Mohan teaches the angle between the inner wall of the first sub-opening and the first direction being greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees (Fig. 7 element 118; ¶: [0056]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the angles in order to control the discontinuities of the light emitting diode layers (¶: [0056]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of KIM et al. (US 20240260410 A1) hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, but does not teach a total thickness of the first isolation layer and the second isolation layer being greater than or equal to a total thickness of the first light-emitting layer and the charge generation layer, and less than or equal to a total thickness of the first light-emitting layer, the charge generation layer, and the second light-emitting layer.
Kim teaches a total thickness of the first isolation layer and the second isolation layer being greater than or equal to a total thickness of the first light-emitting layer and the charge generation layer, and less than or equal to a total thickness of the first light-emitting layer, the charge generation layer, and the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 8 element 115, 130; ¶: [0165]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to minimize the lateral leakage current. (¶: [112]).
Conclusion
/I.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899