DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/26/2026.
2. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, and 17-22 are pending. All the pending claims are examined and rejected.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Ahuja does not disclose that the predefined graphical images comprise any "emojis." An image is not the same as an emoji.
The examiner disagrees because Ahuja discloses predefined graphical images comprise emojis. [0050] When User A is ready to send a message, User A activates the send icon 4014. In some embodiments, whatever text, emoji and/or predefined graphical image is input into input field 4010 is sent as a single image referred to as a merged message, to the server system 106, which sends the merged message image to the device of User B. FIG. 4A also shows user activation (or selection) 4016 of the image icon 4008. Also see [0049]
Furthermore, the applicant argues that Ahuja does not disclose that the area in which the predefined graphical images are displayed includes both (i) a first region displaying "personalized" predefined graphical images related to a current service scenario of a plurality of service scenarios associated with an application and (ii) a second region displaying predefined graphical images common to the plurality of service scenarios associated with the application.
The examiner disagrees. As shown in several figures Ahuja discloses several interactive regions including regions 4018 displaying predefined graphical images comprising graphical icons/images and emojis. Ahuja also discloses personalized interactive regions comprising regions 4010 and 4013, etc. [0051] In some embodiments, User A can select the keyboard-changing icon 4012 to display one or more graphical input streams (e.g., keyboards) to enter text or emojis in the message input area 4010. Thus region 4010 is for displaying personalized emojis as shown in Figs. 4B, etc. Ahuja also discloses a second region 4018 displaying several images including one or more emojis applicable for plurality of service scenarios.
The applicant also argues that Judovsky does not disclose that selection panel includes both (i) a first region displaying "personalized emojis for weather conditions and (ii) a second region displaying emojis common to the plurality of service scenarios associated with the application. More specifically, Judovsky does not disclose that the selection panel includes a second region that displays emojis common to all of the collections in the collection library bar.
The examiner disagrees because Judovsky discloses both panels or regions. Thar is, personalized panel region comprising personalized weather emoji and a common panel comprising several emojis not yet selected. [0060] in particular, FIG. 19 shows a screenshot of a mobile messaging device 1900 with a status bar 1905, a communication panel 1910, and a digital keyboard. The digital keyboard includes an application taskbar 1915, a collection library bar 1920 of related groups of linkable emoji, and a selection panel 1925. Above the collection library bar 1920 is the selection panel 1925 of available linkable emoji [0061]The collection library bar 2020 designates recently used linkable emoji, which are shown in the selection panel 2025. In accordance with one embodiment, a real-time message with multiple embedded linkable emoji is shown in communication panel 2010. [0060 The digital keyboard includes an application taskbar 1915, a collection library bar 1920 of related groups of linkable emoji, and a selection panel 1925. Above the collection library bar 1920 is the selection panel 1925 of available linkable emoji.
Thus, as illustrated in at least in Figs. 19 and 20, Judovsky discloses personal emoji associated with a weather and emoji common for the plurality of services scenarios are also illustrated and disclosed.
Thus, the rejection is maintained and it is FINAL
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahuja et al (US 20160291822 A1).
Ahuja et al (“Ahuja”) generally describes messaging, and more particularly sending non-standardized predefined graphical images embedded in line with text-based messages through various applications.
As per claim 1, Ahuja discloses an emoji processing method (e.g., see flowcharts of figs. 6a-6c) applied to a service system comprising a plurality of different service scenarios, the emoji processing method comprising:
receiving an evocation operation on an emoji panel in a current service scenario of a plurality of service scenarios associated with an application ([0050] FIG. 4A also shows user activation (or selection) 4016 of the image icon 4008 in a messaging application ); and
displaying the emoji panel in response to the evocation operation on the emoji panel, wherein the emoji panel comprises a first region displaying at least one personalized emoji related to the current service scenario, and wherein the emoji panel comprises a second region displaying at least one emoji common to the plurality of service scenarios associated with the application [0052] FIG. 4B illustrates that in response to activation 4016 by User A of the image icon 4008, a selection interface for selecting one or more predefined graphical images for the text input field 4010 is displayed. [0065] While FIG. 4O illustrates an English-language keyboard, it shall be understood that in some embodiments keyboard 4006 represents an input stream for text or characters of another language, or Unicode-based emojis).
As per claim 3, Ahuja further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the evocation operation on the emoji panel in the current service scenario comprises: receiving a trigger operation on an emoji button for evoking the emoji panel in the current service scenario ([0053] FIG. 4B shows user activation 4016 of the predefined graphical image 4017-A. In response to detecting User A's selection of image 4017-A, image 4017-A or a representation of image 4017-A is inserted into input field 4010).
As per claim 4, Ahuja further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining the current service scenario before displaying the emoji panel in response to the evocation operation on the emoji panel (Examiner’s Note; as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4F, the current service scenario is a messaging conversation between a user of the device 4001 (e.g. client device 102-1) (hereinafter “User A” for convenience) and a user of another client device (e.g., client device 102-2) (hereinafter “User B” for convenience). ) ; and
determining the emoji panel corresponding to the current service scenario based on the current service scenario (the message exchanges between user A and user B are identified or determined, accordingly the user A responded to the user B with text and emoji , that is, “Sunds fun! and happy face emoji, Figs. 4A-4F) .
As per claim 5, Ahuja further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the current service scenario comprises: determining the current service scenario based on entry information of an emoji button, wherein the entry information comprises at least one of a position or an identifier of the emoji button in the service scenario ([0053] FIG. 4B illustrates contents in input field 4010. In this example, User A already entered the text “Sounds fun!” in FIG. 4A while keyboard 4006 was displayed in user interface 4000-A. FIG. 4B shows user activation 4016 of the predefined graphical image 4017-A. In response to detecting User A's selection of image 4017-A, image 4017-A or a representation of image 4017-A is inserted into input field 4010).
As per claim 6, Ahuja further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 1, wherein the current service scenario is a service scenario of cloud document or a service scenario of video conference( [0070] FIG. 4T illustrates an exemplary user interface 4000-T, displayed in response to detection of user selection of application 4026-1, in FIG. 4S. In this embodiment, application 4026-1 is a social networking application that allows users to publish posts (e.g., posts on a news feed. [0070] FIG. 4T illustrates an exemplary user interface 4000-T, displayed in response to detection of user selection of application 4026-1, in FIG. 4S. In this embodiment, application 4026-1 is a social networking application that allows users to publish posts (e.g., posts on a news feed). ALSO SEE [0079]).
As per electronic device claims 13, and 17-20, these claims include limitations similar to that of method claims 1, 3--6, respectively, thus the electronic device claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the above method claims.
As per storage medium claim 14, the claim includes limitations similar to that of method claim 1, thus the storage medium claim is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
5. Claims 1, 7-11, 13, 14, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Judovsky et al (US 20200380199 A1 ).
Judovsky et al (“Judovsky”) relates to clickable instant messaging. More particularly, to systems and methods for providing hyperlinked icons, images, and emoji in a real-time messaging environment, such as text messaging.
As per claim 1, Judovsky discloses an emoji processing method applied to a service system comprising a plurality of different service scenarios of a plurality of service scenarios associated with an application ([0002] Judovsky discloses clickable instant messaging. More particularly, to systems and methods for providing hyperlinked icons, images, and emoji in a real-time messaging environment, such as text messaging), the emoji processing method comprising:
receiving an evocation operation on an emoji panel in a current service scenario of a plurality of service scenarios associated with an application; (Examiner’s note, as illustrated in at least Fig. 19, for example one of weather related emoji sunny or sun is selected or highlighted to be incorporated/ linked to the current message shown in the Messaging application shown in a communication panel 1910 ); and
displaying the emoji panel in response to the evocation operation on the emoji panel, wherein the emoji panel comprises a first region displaying at least one personalized emojirelated to the current service scenario, and wherein the emoji panel comprises a second region displaying at least one emoji common to the plurality of service scenarios associated with the application ([0035] FIG. 19 illustrates a screenshot of a mobile messaging device with a library of related linkable weather emoji accessed to prepare a real-time message with an embedded linkable emoji in accordance with one embodiment. ([0060] the collection library bar 1920 and selection panel 1925 may both be accessed to prepare a real-time message shown in communication panel 1910. Accordingly, a message with an embedded linkable emoji is shown in accordance with one embodiment). [0061] the collection library bar 2020 designates recently used linkable emoji, which are shown in the selection panel 2025. In accordance with one embodiment, a real-time message with multiple embedded linkable emoji is shown in communication panel 2010).
As per claim 7, Judovsky further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a custom emoji uploaded by an administrator ([0056] Upon authorization of the user and approval of the messaging administrators, one embodiment allows the local linkable emoji to be uploaded to the emoji datastore 300A for general distribution.); and
updating emoji panels corresponding to all users within an organization to which the administrator belongs based on the custom emoji and the organization ([0074] Upon receiving authorization, routine 1100 associates the at least one link with the new emoji in the datastore in execution block 1145. In one embodiment, the same link may be associated with many different emoji, in which case associating/updating includes adding the new emoji to the list of related emoji in the datastore. [0075] Accordingly, upon receiving a copy of the linkable emoji, an administrator may authorize addition of the linkable emoji to the shared datastore).
As per claim 8, Judovsky further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 7, wherein: the emoji processing method further comprises:
Obtaining at least one application scenario for the custom emoji ([0035] FIG. 19 illustrates a screenshot of a mobile messaging device with a library of related linkable weather emoji accessed to prepare a real-time message with an embedded linkable emoji and
the updating the emoji panel corresponding to the all users within the organization to which the administrator belongs based on the custom emoji and the organization ([0056] In one embodiment, the client device 400 may identify and/or create new emoji and subsequently link the emoji to content. Upon authorization of the user and approval of the messaging administrators, one embodiment allows the local linkable emoji to be uploaded to the emoji datastore 300A for general distribution. Moreover, in one embodiment, the shared image library 305B and content link library 315B on the user device 400 may be periodically updated by the messaging server 200). comprises:
updating the emoji panel corresponding to the at least one application scenario of the all users within the organization to which the administrator belongs based on the custom emoji and the organization ([0074] Depending on the embodiment, authorization to change the emoji may be obtained from an administrator of the datastore. In one embodiment, authorization may be obtained from a user for local emoji, as an administrator for portions of the local datastore, but a system administrator needs to approve changes to shared emoji. Also see (0067] and FIG. 7).
As per claim 9, Judovsky further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 8, wherein the obtaining at least application scenario for the custom emoji comprises:
receiving the at least one application scenario selected by the administrator for the custom emoji ([0075] as shown in FIG. 3, the shared datastore includes portions on the client device and messaging server. Accordingly, upon receiving a copy of the linkable emoji, an administrator may authorize addition of the linkable emoji to the shared datastore), wherein the at least one application scenario comprises one or more service scenarios; or
determining the at least one application scenario matched with the custom emoji ([0071] When an embedded message is sent, routine 800 begins a recursion in start loop block 815 to check the message against each emoji in the datastore. In query block 820, routine 800 checks for a match between characters in the message and the stored emoji text pattern. If a match is found, routine 800 swaps the matching emoji with the detected text pattern in execution block 825. In one embodiment, routine 800 inserts the identified emoji into the message. One embodiment parses a message after detection into text portions and emoji portions. Also see [0058]).
As per claim 10, Judovsky further discloses that the emoji processing method according to claim 9, further comprising: displaying an emoji configuration panel that displays an emoji upload entry and at least one service scenario option in response to the administrator triggering an emoji configuration control before receiving the at least one application scenario selected by the administrator for the custom emoji ([0060] As the weather collection is designated in the collection library bar 1920, available linkable emoji for weather conditions are shown. The collection library bar 1920 and selection panel 1925 may both be accessed to prepare a real-time message shown in communication panel 1910. Accordingly, a message with an embedded linkable emoji is shown in accordance with one embodiment. Also see Fig. 19. [0061] Similarly as shown in Fig. 20, The collection library bar 2020 designates recently used linkable emoji, which are shown in the selection panel 2025. In accordance with one embodiment, a real-time message with multiple embedded linkable emoji is shown in communication panel 2010). Examiner’s Note, examiner reads collection library bar as emoji configuration panel)
As per claim 11, Judovsky further discloses that the emoji processing method according to any one of claim 1, wherein
at least part of emojis comprised in emoji panels that correspond to different service scenarios represent the same meanings; or different emoji(s) represent different meanings in different service scenarios to which the emoji(s) correspond; or same emoji(s) represents different meanings in different service scenarios to which the emoji(s) correspond ([0062] in one embodiment, emoji are suggested to the user based on the context of the message. Another embodiment allows the user to designate what type of link is associated with a particular emoji image. For example, a user may prefer purchase links to information links.
As per electronic device claims 13, and 21-22, these claims include limitations similar to that of method claims 1, and 7-8, respectively, thus the electronic device claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the above method claims.
As per storage medium claim 14, the claim includes limitations similar to that of method claim 1, thus the storage medium claim is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174