DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 11-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, Species A-2, and B-2 and B-3 , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/24/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, A-1, and B-1, claims 1-3 and 5-9 in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the first electrode layer” which lacks antecedent basis. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Floedl (DE 4030713 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Floedl discloses a photoelectric conversion module comprising (see Fig. 2 and [0001]-[0015] and claims 1-7):
a first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2 [0013]);
a second photoelectric conversion element (10, see Fig. 2 [0013]); and
a connector (1, see Fig. 2 [0013]), wherein the first photoelectric conversion element and the second photoelectric conversion element are arranged side by side so as to partially overlap each other (see Fig. 2),
the connector is connected to the first photoelectric conversion element (11) at a first connection portion (4, see Fig. 2 [0013]),
the connector is connected to the second photoelectric conversion (10, see Fig. 2) element at a second connection portion (6, see Fig. 2 [0013]) away from the first connection portion (4, see Fig. 2), and
the second connection portion of the connector (6) is provided in a region that does not contribute to photoelectric conversion (provided at underside of second photoelectric conversion) in the second photoelectric conversion element as viewed in a thickness direction.
Regarding claim 2, Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Floedl discloses wherein the first connection portion is provided in a region between the first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2) and the second photoelectric conversion element (10, see Fig. 2), and the second connection portion (6) is provided at a position not overlapping the first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2) as viewed in the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 3, Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Floedl discloses wherein the first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2) includes a collector electrode (2), and the connector (1) is connected to a connection pad (5) provided on the collector electrode (2).
Regarding claim 5, Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Floedl discloses wherein the second photoelectric conversion element includes a conductive substrate (11, semiconducting substrate of solar cell), and the connector (4) is connected to a connection pad (5 and 2) provided on the conductive substrate (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floedl (DE 4030713 A1, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above in view of Lee (US 2019/0081185 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Floedl does not disclose the second photoelectric conversion element (10, see Fig. 2) includes a collector electrode including: a plurality of substantially linear first portions.
Lee discloses an overlapped shingled photovoltaic cell arrangement (10) wherein the rear electrode of photoelectric conversion element comprises a multiple linear portions (44a, see Fig. 4 and Fig. 3 [0022][0044]) and the grid is connected to connection bus (44b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the front electrode of Floedl to include a multiple linear portions to a connection bus as disclosed by Lee because it is an effective conductive structure for photovoltaic solar cells which are arranged in a shingled manner.
Modified Floedl now discloses the second photoelectric conversion element (10, see Fig. 2) a first portion of a collector electrode (multiple linear portions, through modification above) and a second portion of a collector electrode (pad portion, see Fig. 2, 3) and the second connection portion (6) of the connector is provided at a position overlapping the second portion (see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floedl (DE 4030713 A1, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above in view of Fessehatzion (US 20200028013 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Floedl does not disclose wherein the connector includes an insulator between the first connection portion and the second connection portion.
Fessehatzion discloses a first connection portion and a second connection which can be placed on shingled overlapped solar cells which are separated by an interconnection section which includes coatings 16 and 14 above and below the interconnection section ([0023][0033]) and these layer act to further insulate ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the connector of Floedl to include top and bottom insulation layers as disclosed by Fessehatzion because it will electrically insulate and protect the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 8, modified Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, modified Floedl discloses that the first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2) includes:
a first electrode layer (2);
a second electrode layer (3); and
a photoelectric conversion layer (11) between the first electrode layer (2) and the second electrode layer (3), and the insulator covers (note modification above, insulator is on top and bottom surfaces of 1 except for sections which contact 5 and 7) at least one end portion of the first electrode layer (2) of the first photoelectric conversion element (11) and the photoelectric conversion layer of the first photoelectric conversion element, said end portion being located in a region between the first connection portion (4) and the second connection portion (6) when viewed from the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 9, modified Floedl discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Floedl discloses wherein the first photoelectric conversion element (11, see Fig. 2) includes a conductive substrate (11, semiconductive substrate) connected to the first electrode layer (2) of the first photoelectric conversion element, and the insulator (note modification above, insulator is on top and bottom surfaces of 1 except for sections which contact 5 and 7) covers an end portion of the conductive substrate of the first photoelectric conversion element, the end portion being located in a region between the first connection portion (4) and the second connection portion (6) as viewed in the thickness direction.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 and 5-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/697,072. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recited substantially the same photoelectric conversion module.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726