Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 07/01/26 (hereinafter Response) has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1-3 have been amended, claims 4-5 and 8-9 have been cancelled, and claim 10 is new. Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Based on the amendments to the claims the claim objections raised in the non-final office action mailed 4/1/26 (hereinafter Office Action) are withdrawn. However, based on the amendments a new objection is now raised.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“between the down to and the seat tube” should be and is interpreted as “between the down [[to]]tube and the seat tube”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1 which embodies the embodiment of fig. 3 as explicitly stated in ¶1 of Applicant’s remarks included in the Response did not originally include the claimed abutment arrangement. In fact, [0017] of Applicant’s PG PUB explicitly states that it does not include the abutment arrangement, therefore dependent claim 3 is interpreted as reciting new matter.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “the resilient member of the support structure” renders the claim indefinite because the term “the support structure lacks antecedent basis. Did applicant mean “the support arrangement”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102013107623 A1 to PÜMER.
Regarding claim 1, PÜMER discloses a frame arrangement for a bicycle (Fig. 1) that is supported in technical driving terms by an electric motor (3) (Fig. 1 & [0017]), the frame arrangement comprising:
a frame (1) that has at least one seat tube (17), a down tube (12) and a top tube (11) (Figs. 2-3 & [0017]),
a rear structure (2) that is connected to the seat tube (17) and that has a resilient member (4) (Fig. 2 & [0017]),
the down tube (12) and the seat tube (17) being connected to each other by the top tube (11) and by a support arrangement (15) (Figs. 1-6 & [0008], [0017] and [0024] disclose the DT and ST are connected to the support arrangement 15),
retention means (A,153,155,42) for the electric motor (3) being provided in a region of the support arrangement (15), the electric motor (3) including at least one housing (15), the housing (15) of the electric motor (3) exclusively forming the support arrangement (15) between the down tube (12) and the seat tube (17) and the housing (15) being connected to the seat tube (17) and the down tube (12) via the retention means (A,153,155,42), the housing (15) of the electric motor (3) comprising retention means (42) for the resilient member (4) of the rear structure (2), and the resilient member (4) is operatively connected to the retention means (42) on the housing (15) of the electric motor (3) (Annotated Fig. 4 and Figs. 2, 5, and 6 & [0008], [0017], and [0024] disclose that the carrier is connected to the seat tube, the downtube, the rear
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated)]shock and the motor.).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, PÜMER further discloses wherein the support arrangement (15) has an abutment arrangement (B) that extends above the electric motor (3) (Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 1, PÜMER further discloses wherein a side (153) of the housing (15) facing away from the top tube (11) adjoins a side (121), of the down tube (12) facing away from the top tube (11) (Annotated Fig. 4 and Fig. 2, 5, and 6).
Regarding claim 7, PÜMER further discloses an electric bicycle (Fig. 1) having the frame arrangement of claim 1 (Fig. 1 & [0001] and [0017]. See also above rejection of claim 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170313381 A1 to Mano.
Regarding claim 10, Mano discloses a frame arrangement for a bicycle (10) that is supported in technical driving terms by an electric motor (20) (Fig. 1 & [0043] disclose the motor 20 is attached to the frame 12 via the bracket 125. Further under a broadest reasonable interpretation the bicycle cannot be ridden without the motor because the cranks and pedals are inserted through the motor 20 and thus in a technical driving sense the motor supports the bicycle), the frame arrangement comprising:
a frame (12) that has at least one seat tube (124), a down tube (123) and a top tube (122),
a rear structure (30) that is connected to the seat tube (124) and that has a resilient member (304), the down tube (123) and the seat tube (124) being connected to each other by the top tube (122) and by a support arrangement (125) (Figs. 1 and 6 & [0035], [0044], and [0050]-[0051]),
retention means (62) for the electric motor (20) being provided in a region of the support arrangement (125), the electric motor (20) including at least one housing (21), the housing (21) of the electric motor (20) forming a portion of the support arrangement (125) between the down tube (123) and the seat tube (124), and the housing (21) being connected to the seat tube (124) and the down tube (123) via the retention means (62) (Figs. 1, 6, and 8 & [0059]-[0060] and [0133]-[0134]),
the support arrangement (125) having an abutment arrangement (1252) that extends above the electric motor (20) (Figs. 1-2 and 7 & [0106]), and
the abutment arrangement (1252) comprising retention means (1253) for the resilient member (304) of the support structure (125), the resilient member (304) being connected operatively to the abutment arrangement 91252) via the retention means (1253) (Fig. 9 & [0055] and [0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PÜMER in view of Mano.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, PÜMER does not appear to disclose that the housing of the electric motor is a metal housing.
Mono teaches that it was old and well known in the art of electric bike, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the housing (21) of the electric motor (20) is a metal housing (Fig. 1 & [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of electric bikes before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric bike disclosed by PÜMER to incorporate for the housing of the electric motor is a metal housing as taught by Mono in order to provide a lightweight durable and rigid housing for the bike, as would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611