DETAILED ACTION
This office action is response to an amendment filed on 07/20/2026.
Response to Amendment
No claim has been amended or added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant respectfully argues on pages 12-15 in the remarks that current prior art does not teach claimed limitation “determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, wherein an aggregation level of the target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set.” Therefore, this case should be allowed. In response, examiner disagrees with the applicant. The examiner’s interpretation of this claimed limitation is a terminal device determines if there is an overlapping between a to be detected control channel unit and a targeted control channel unit, and setting up the aggregation level of the targeted control channel unit lower than the aggregation level of the to be detected control channel unit. PENG’s teaching in page 1, paragraph “Technical field”, device is equated to a terminal device, page 7, step 201, paragraph 1, one or more control continuous control channel unit is read as control channel, his teaching on page 7, step 201, last paragraph about using the control channel to be detected based on a target aggregation level is interpreted as targeted control channel, his teaching on page 7, step 201, paragraph 3 about using control resource set are equated to units for control channel unit and to-be-detected control channel unit, having aggregation level (4, 8 and 16) for private search space and having aggregation level (4, 8 and 16) for public search space explicitly teaches having overlap between the control resource unit of control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, his teaching page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph about determining the control channel unit for each PDCCH using the formula described on page 8 based on the aggregation level explicitly teaches determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, his teaching on page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph about using different aggregation levels for calculating PHCCH aggregation level “L” (for occupied control channel unit (CCE) is interpreted as a calculated aggregated level of a target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by PENG et al.(hereinafter, “PENG”; CN112333121). (For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of CN112333121, the English translation and the original copy describe the same innovation. The filing date of CN112333121 is Feb/05/2021; therefore, it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2)).
In response to claim 1 and 11,
PENG teaches a control method for a terminal device, comprising: determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set (page 1, paragraph “Technical field”, device is equated to a terminal device, page 7, step 201, paragraph 1, one or more control continuous control channel unit is read as control channel, page 7, step 201, last paragraph, the control channel to be detected based on a target aggregation level is interpreted as targeted control channel, page 7, step 201, paragraph 3, control resource set are equated to units for control channel unit and to-be-detected control channel unit, having aggregation level (4, 8 and 16) for private search space and having aggregation level (4, 8 and 16) for public search space explicitly teaches having overlap between the control resource unit of control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph, determining the control channel unit for each PDCCH using the formula described on page 8 based on the aggregation level explicitly teaches determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set),
wherein an aggregation level of the target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set (page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph, using different aggregation levels for calculating PHCCH aggregation level “L” (for occupied control channel unit (CCE) is interpreted as a calculated aggregated level of a target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set); and
there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set (page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph, using different aggregation levels for calculating PHCCH aggregation level “L” (for occupied control channel unit (CCE) is interpreted as performing or not performing in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set), and
that an energy of the target control channel unit set is not higher than a predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set (page 8, step 202, third paragraph, the power parameter of demodulated reference signal for the target control channel unit is equated to an energy of the target control channel unit set, having the target control channel unit as part of one or more continuous channel unit is interpreted as the power parameter also can be the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, page 9, step 203,reference signal threshold is interpreted as a predetermined energy threshold of the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, determining the power parameter based on a reference signal threshold explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claims 3 and 13,
PENG teaches wherein, after determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, the method further comprising: taking, in the case that there is no overlapping control channel unit between the to- be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set, the to-be- detected control channel unit set as the target control channel unit set (page 7, last paragraph to page 8, second paragraph, using different aggregation levels for calculating PHCCH aggregation level “L” (for occupied control channel unit (CCE) is interpreted as performing or not performing in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set);
performing energy detection on the target control channel unit set (page 9, step 203,determining the power parameter is equated to performing energy detection for the target control channel unit set); and
decoding, in the case that the energy of the target control channel unit set is higher than a predetermined energy threshold, the target control channel unit set (page 8, step 202, third paragraph, the power parameter of demodulated reference signal for the target control channel unit is equated to an energy of the target control channel unit set, having the target control channel unit as part of one or more continuous channel unit is interpreted as the power parameter also can be the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, page 9, step 203,reference signal threshold is interpreted as a predetermined energy threshold of the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, determining the power parameter is equated to performing energy detection, determining the necessity for decoding for power parameter is read as using decoding).
In response to claims 4 and 14,
PENG teaches wherein, after determining that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set, the method further comprising: performing, in the case that the energy of the target control channel unit set is higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set (page 8, step 202, third paragraph, the power parameter of demodulated reference signal for the target control channel unit is equated to an energy of the target control channel unit set, having the target control channel unit as part of one or more continuous channel unit is interpreted as the power parameter also can be the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, page 9, step 203,reference signal threshold is interpreted as a predetermined energy threshold of the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, determining the power parameter based on a reference signal threshold explicitly teaches this limitation); and
decoding, in the case that an energy of the to-be-detected control channel unit set is higher than the predetermined energy threshold, the to-be-detected control channel unit set (page 8, step 202, third paragraph, the power parameter of demodulated reference signal for the target control channel unit is equated to an energy of the target control channel unit set, having the target control channel unit as part of one or more continuous channel unit is interpreted as the power parameter also can be the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, page 9, step 203,reference signal threshold is interpreted as a predetermined energy threshold of the energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set, determining the power parameter is equated to performing energy detection, determining the necessity for decoding for power parameter is read as using decoding, determining the power parameter based on a reference signal threshold explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 10,
PENG teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory, a computer program stored on the memory and executable by the processor, and a data bus for implementing connection communication between the processor and the memory, wherein the computer program when executed by the processor implements the steps of the control method for terminal device, the control method comprising (page 1, paragraph “Technical field”, device is equated to a terminal device, using a device explicitly teaches using the device with a processor, a memory and a computer program stored on the memory and executable by the processor, and a data bus for implementing this claimed functionalities):
determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be- detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, wherein an aggregation level of the target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set; and there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set, and that an energy of the target control channel unit set is not higher than a predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set (these limitations are identical to claim 1, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-9, 12 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claims 2 and 12, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, before determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be- detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, the method further comprising: determining a target control channel unit set based on an aggregation level of each control channel unit set, wherein the aggregation level of the target control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of other sets of control channel units; performing energy detection on the target control channel unit set, and decoding, in the case that the energy of the target control channel unit set is higher than the predetermined energy threshold, the target control channel unit set; and there being no need to perform, in the case that the target control channel unit set is decoded successfully, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 5 and 15, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, the target control channel unit set comprises a first control channel unit set and a second control channel unit set, an aggregation level of the first control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the second control channel unit set, the aggregation level of the second control channel unit set is lower than the aggregation level of the to-be-detected control channel unit set, the method further comprising: determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be- detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set and/or the second control channel unit set; and there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set and an energy of the first control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set; or there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the second control channel unit set and an energy of the second control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set; or there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit both between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set, and between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the second control channel unit set respectively, and each of the energy of the first control channel unit set and the energy of the second control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 6 and 16, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, before determining a target control channel unit set based on an aggregation level of each control channel unit set, the method further comprising: acquiring a configuration parameter of a control resource set corresponding to a predetermined search space, and determining a set of aggregation levels corresponding to the predetermined search space; and determining one or more sets of control channel units at each aggregation level based on the configuration parameter and the set of aggregation levels.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 7 and 17, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, before determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be- detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set, the method further comprising: determining a candidate time-frequency position corresponding to one or more sets of control channel units at each aggregation level; sorting the one or more sets of control channel units at each aggregation level based on the candidate time-frequency position and the aggregation level, to obtain a sorting result; and detecting the one or more sets of control channel units at each aggregation level sequentially based on the sorting result.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claims 8 and 18, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between a to-be-detected control channel unit set and a target control channel unit set comprising: determining whether a signal strength of the terminal device exceeds a predetermined signal strength threshold; and determining, in the case that the signal strength of the terminal device is detected to exceed the predetermined signal strength threshold, whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the target control channel unit set.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 9 and 19 are objected because these claims depend on claim 8 and 18.
As for dependent claim 20, this claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein, the target control channel unit set comprises a first control channel unit set and a second control channel unit set, an aggregation level of the first control channel unit set is lower than an aggregation level of the second control channel unit set, the aggregation level of the second control channel unit set is lower than the aggregation level of the to-be- detected control channel unit set, the method further comprising: determining whether there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be- detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set and/or the second control channel unit set; and there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set and an energy of the first control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set; or there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the second control channel unit set and an energy of the second control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set; or there being no need to perform, in the case that there is an overlapping control channel unit both between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the first control channel unit set, and between the to-be-detected control channel unit set and the second control channel unit set respectively, and each of the energy of the first control channel unit set and the energy of the second control channel unit set is not higher than the predetermined energy threshold, energy detection on the to-be-detected control channel unit set.”
The closet prior art in the record PENG et al.(CN112333121) teaches on pages 7-9 about determining a target control channel units overlapping and a DMRS for the targeted control channel unit based on power parameter based on aggregation level of types of PDCCHs, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466