Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 4 of claim 1, the phrase “unstable II-type pure methane hydrate” is indefinite because the claim does not specify any objective structural, compositional, thermodynamic, or temporal criterion by which the instability of the structure II methane hydrate is determined. The claim does not define whether “unstable” refers to metastability, kinetic instability, thermodynamic instability, a measurable lifetime, a dissociation rate, or a phase equilibrium condition, nor does it provide any test or parameter by which one of ordinary skill in the art could ascertain whether a given hydrate falls within the scope of this term.
Additionally, in line 5 of claim 1, the phrase “quickly transforming” is a relative and subjective term that lacks an objective boundary. The claim does not specify any time interval, rate of transformation, or measurable criterion that would distinguish a “quick” transformation from a non-quick transformation. As a result, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida et al. “Two-step formation of methane–propane mixed gas hydrates in a batch-type reactor,” AIChE Journal, Vol. 50, pp. 518–523, 2004.
Uchida discloses a method for forming gas hydrates from methane and propane in a batch-type reactor under controlled temperature and pressure conditions. Uchida further discloses that a structure II hydrate containing methane forms initially and subsequently transforms into a structure I methane hydrate, as confirmed by X-ray diffraction and Raman spectroscopy (see Uchida, Abstract; Results and Discussion; Figs. 2–5). The process is conducted at a temperature of approximately 274.0 ± 0.1 K and pressures of about 5–7 MPa. The initially formed structure II hydrate is inherently unstable, as evidenced by its inevitable transformation into a structure I methane hydrate under continued operation at substantially the same conditions. Formation of such unstable structure II methane hydrate therefore necessarily and inevitably occurs when practicing Uchida even though such intermediate is not expressly labeled as such. Recognition of this inherent feature by Uchida et al. is not required.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Uchida does not teach the temperature as claimed. However, temperature is a results-effective variable in hydrate formation processes, and Uchida teaches hydrate formation behavior as a function of temperature and pressure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Uchida by adjusting the operating temperature slightly upward from approximately 274 K to within the claimed range while maintaining pressures within the hydrate region to obtain the same hydrate transformation behavior.
With respect to claim 2, Uchida expressly discloses the use of propane as the hydrate-forming additive.
Regarding claim 3, Uchida et al. do not explicitly disclose a numerical volume ratio of thermodynamic additive to water. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Uchida by selecting a particular additive-to-water volume ratio within the claimed range of (15–24):(76–85) would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable in hydrate formation processes.
With respect to claim 6, Uchida expressly discloses that gas hydrates are applicable to natural gas storage and transportation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baek et al. “Enhanced methane hydrate formation with cyclopentane hydrate seeds” (Applied Energy 202, 32–41, 2017).
Uchida does not teach the use of cyclopentane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute cyclopentane for propane in the method of Uchida because both compounds are well-known structure-II hydrate formers that stabilize large hydrate cages and are used as thermodynamic additives to control hydrate crystal structure. Baek teaches that cyclopentane forms structure-II hydrates and promotes methane hydrate formation via crystal structure regulation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that substituting cyclopentane for propane would predictably result in structure-II hydrate formation and subsequent methane hydrate formation under comparable temperature and pressure conditions, while offering practical advantages in handling and process control. Accordingly, the substitution represents no more than a predictable variation.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771