DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 10-13, 15-17 and 18 are amended and claims 19-20 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the objections of claims 13 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 13 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the 112 rejections of claims 13 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections of claims 13 and 14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses in at least figure 2, a near-eye display apparatus (image
display device 100 fig. 2), comprising:
at least one first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2),
wherein the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) extends along (the first display
element 10a extends in the X direction fig. 2) a first direction (X direction fig. 2) and the first display (first
display element 10a fig. 2) unit is configured to form (first display element 10a emits first imaging light
IL1 in order to form a first virtual image IM 1 fig. 2) a first image (first virtual image IM 1 fig. 2) at an
imaging position (the first virtual image IM 1 is at a distance D1 fig. 2);
at least one second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2),
wherein the second display (second display element 10b fig. 2) unit extends (second display
element 10b extents in the Z direction fig. 2) along a second direction (Z direction fig. 2) and the second
display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) is configured to form (second display element 10b emits
second imaging light IL2 in order to form a second virtual image IM2 fig. 2) a second image (second
virtual image IM2 fig. 2);
the first direction (X direction fig. 2) is different from (the X direction is different from the Z
direction fig. 2) the second direction (Z direction fig. 2);
an optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2),
wherein at least a portion of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member
20 fig. 2) is located on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the
first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) of outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first
display element 10a fig. 2) and on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical
path of the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) of outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the
second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2), the optical path adjustment structure
(combining optical member 20 fig. 2) is configured to transmit (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted
through combining optical member 20 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light
IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) in a direction toward (the first
imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 1) the
imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), and reflect (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected by the
combining optical member 20 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from
the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second imaging
light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the distance D1 id in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position
(distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2).
Yokoyama does not disclose, a second image at the imaging position;
the first image and the second image are seamlessly spliced at the imaging position to directly form a display image,
wherein the first image and the second image have the same imaging distance at the imaging position.
However Wu discloses in at least figure 1, a second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1);
the first image (the first display screen 1 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042]) and the second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) are seamlessly spliced (when the second display image and the first display image are imaged at the location of the human eye, the image observed by the human eye, formed by stitching the second display image and the first display image together, is continuous and has no seams paragraph [n0047] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1) to directly form a display image (a complete image is formed by splicing the first display image and the second display image for the user to view paragraph [n0042] of translation),
wherein the first image (the first display screen 1 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) and the second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) have the same imaging distance (the first display image of the first display screen 1 can be imaged on the eye box after being transmitted through the biconvex lens 2 paragraph [n0044] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to combine the first and second images to be displayed as taught by Wu with the
image display device of Yokoyama. The biconvex lens 2 is used to reflect the second outgoing light reflected by the reflector 4, so that the second display image of the second display screen 3 and the first display image form a continuous image (paragraph [n0047]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical
member 20 fig. 2) comprises at least one semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror
21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second
image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2), the semi-transmissive and
reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display
element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) is
located on an optical path (the half mirror 21 is located on the optical path of the first image light IL1
emitted from the first display element 10A fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging
light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10A fig. 2) and on an optical path (the half
mirror 21 is located on the optical path of the second image light IL2 emitted from the second display
element 10b fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the
second display unit (second display element 10B fig. 2), the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region
(the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and
reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) is configured to
transmit (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted through half mirror 21 fig. 2) at least a portion of the
outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) in a
direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the
z direction fig. 1) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), and reflect (the second imaging light IL2 is
reflected by the half mirror 21 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2)
from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second
imaging light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2) the imaging
position (distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
4 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical
member 20 fig. 2) further comprises at least one reflective region (reflective region as shown below in
fig. 2), the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on a side (reflective
side as shown below in fig. 2) of the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is
transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second
image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2), the reflective region (reflective region
as shown below in fig. 2) is located on the optical path (the reflective region is located on the optical
path of second imaging light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B as shown below in fig. 2) of at
least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2) from the second display unit (second
display element 10B fig. 2), and the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) is
configured to reflect (the reflective region reflects the second imaging light 112 in the Z direction as
shown below in fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the
second display unit (second display element 10B fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second imaging light
IL2 is reflected in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position
(distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
5 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical
member 20 fig. 2) further comprises at least one transmissive region (transmissive region as shown
below in fig. 2), the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on a side
(transmissive side as shown below in fig. 2) of the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half
mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to
second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) away from (the transmissive
region is on the other side of the reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) the reflective region
(reflective region as shown below in fig. 2), the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below
in fig. 2) is located on the optical path (the transmissive region is located on the optical path of first
imaging light IL1 emitted from first display element 10A as shown below in fig. 2) of at least a portion of
the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10A fig.
2), and the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2) is configured to transmit
(the transmissive region transmits the first imaging light IL1 in the Z direction as shown below in fig. 2) at
least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display
element 10A fig. 2) in the direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is reflected in the Z direction and
the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining
optical member 20 fig. 2) extends along a third direction (the combining optical member 20 is a cube
shaped prism member and therefore extends in the Y direction fig. 2) and the third direction (Y direction
fig. 2) is different from (the Y direction is different form the X and Z directions fig. 2) both the first
direction (X direction fig. 2) and the second direction (Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein both the first display unit (first display element 10a fig.
2) and the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) comprise at least one of an organic
light emitting diode display unit (the first display unit can be an organic EL display panel paragraph
[0023] and the second display element 10B includes a display device identical to the first display
element 10A paragraph [0024]), a quantum dot light emitting diode display unit (not required by claim),
a micro light emitting diode display unit (not required by claim), and a liquid crystal display unit (the first
display unit can be a liquid crystal display panel paragraph [0023] and the second display element 10B
includes a display device identical to the first display element 10A paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, a wearable device (HMO 500 fig. 3), comprising the near-eye
display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 3) according to any one of claims 1 to 17 (see claim 1
rejection above).
Regarding claim 18, Yokoyama discloses in at least figure 2, a display method (display mode in
the virtual image display device 100 paragraph [0033) of a near-eye display apparatus (image display
device 100 fig. 2),
wherein the near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2) comprises at least one
first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2), at least one second display unit (second display
element 10b fig. 2), and an optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2), an
extension direction (the first display element 10a extents in the X direction fig. 2) of the first display unit
(first display element 10a fig. 2) is different from (the X direction is different from the Z direction fig. 2)
an extension direction (second display element 10b extents in the Z direction fig. 2) of the second
display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2);
at least a portion of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2)
is located on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the first
imaging light IL1 fig. 2) of outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first
display element 10a fig. 2) and on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical
path of the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) of outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the
second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2);
the display method (display mode in the virtual image display device 100 paragraph [0033) of
the near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2) comprises:
transmitting at least a portion (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted through combining
optical member 20 fig. 2) of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit
(first display element 10a fig. 2) through the light path adjustment structure (combining optical member
20 fig. 2) to emit in a direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and
the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 1) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), so that the outgoing
light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) forms (first
display element 10a emits first imaging light IL1 in order to form a first virtual image IM 1 fig. 2) a first
image (first virtual image IM 1 fig. 2) at the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2);
reflecting at least a portion (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected by the combining optical
member 20 fig. 2) of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second
display element 10b fig. 2) through the light path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20
fig. 2) to emit in the direction toward (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the
distance D1 id in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), so that the outgoing light
(the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2)
forms (second display element 10b emits second imaging light IL2 in order to form a second virtual
image IM2 fig. 2) a second image (second virtual image IM2 fig. 2).
Yokoyama does not disclose, a second image at the imaging position;
the first image and the second image are seamlessly spliced at the imaging position to directly form a display image,
wherein the first image and the second image have the same imaging distance at the imaging position.
However Wu discloses in at least figure 1, a second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1);
the first image (the first display screen 1 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042]) and the second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) are seamlessly spliced (when the second display image and the first display image are imaged at the location of the human eye, the image observed by the human eye, formed by stitching the second display image and the first display image together, is continuous and has no seams paragraph [n0047] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1) to directly form a display image (a complete image is formed by splicing the first display image and the second display image for the user to view paragraph [n0042] of translation),
wherein the first image (the first display screen 1 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) and the second image (the second display screen 3 serves as an image source for displaying an image paragraph [n0042] of translation) have the same imaging distance (the first display image of the first display screen 1 can be imaged on the eye box after being transmitted through the biconvex lens 2 paragraph [n0044] of translation) at the imaging position (eye box 5 fig. 1).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to combine the first and second images to be displayed as taught by Wu with the
image display device of Yokoyama. The biconvex lens 2 is used to reflect the second outgoing light reflected by the reflector 4, so that the second display image of the second display screen 3 and the first display image form a continuous image (paragraph [n0047]).
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in
further view of Jacobs et al. (US 20200329230 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
1.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the first image has a first border area close to the second image adjacent thereto, the second image has a second border area close to the first image adjacent thereto, there is an overlapping area between the first border area and the second border area, and an image displayed in the overlapping area by the first border area is the same as an image displayed in the overlapping area by the second border area.
However Jacobs discloses in at least figure 18B, wherein the first image (picture A fig. 18B) has a
first border area (first border area as shown below in fig. 18B) close to (the first border area is the border area closest to picture B as shown below in fig. 18B) the second image (picture B fig. 18B) adjacent thereto (pictures A and B are adjacent fig. 18B), the second image (picture B fig. 18B) has a second border area (second border area as shown below in fig. 18B) close to (the second border area is the border area closest to picture A as shown below in fig. 18B) the first image (picture A fig. 18B) adjacent thereto (pictures A and Bare adjacent fig. 18B), there is an overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18) between the first border area (first border area as shown below in fig. 18B) and the second border area (second border area as shown below in fig. 18B), and an image
displayed (blend A/B fig. 18B) in the overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18B) by
the first border area (first border area as shown below in fig. 18B) is the same (the blend A/Bis the same at the first border area and the second border area as shown below in fig. 18B) as an image displayed (blend A/B fig. 18B) in the overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18B) by the second border area (second border area as shown below in fig. 18B).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to combine overlapping first and second images as taught by Jacobs with the image
display device of Yokoyama. The combined overlapping pictures can produce the appearance of
movement paragraph [0332]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
2 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining
optical member 20 fig. 2) extends along a third direction (the combining optical member 20 is a cube
shaped prism member and therefore extends in the Y direction fig. 2) and the third direction (Y direction
fig. 2) is different from (the Y direction is different form the X and Z directions fig. 2) both the first
direction (X direction fig. 2) and the second direction (Z direction fig. 2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in
further view of Browne (US 11448881 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
1.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the first image has a first edge close to the second image
adjacent thereto, the second image has a second edge close to the first image adjacent thereto, and the first edge is adjacent to the second edge so that the first image and the second image are seamlessly spliced.
However Browne discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the first image (digital image 220a fig. 2)
has a first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 2) close to (the first edge is closest to the second image
220b as shown below in fig. 2) the second image (digital image 220b fig. 2) adjacent thereto (the digital
images 220a and 220b are adjacent fig. 2), the second image (digital image 220b fig. 2) has a second
edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 2) close to (the second edge is closest to the first digital image
220a as shown below in fig. 2) the first image (digital image 220a fig. 2) adjacent thereto (the digital
images 220a and 220b are adjacent fig. 2), and the first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 2) is
adjacent to (the first and second edges are adjacent as shown below in fig. 2) the second edge (second
edge as shown below in fig. 2) so that the first image (digital image 220a fig. 2) and the second image (digital image 220b fig. 2) are seamlessly spliced (the two digital sensors on the left, 210a and 210b, provide the digital images 220a and 220b that will be stitched together to form the wide-field image 230a col. 6 lines 13-16).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to combine non-overlapping first and second images as taught by Browne with the
image display device of Yokoyama. The two digital sensors on the left, 210a and 210b, provide the digital
images 220a and 220b that wIL1 be stitched together to form the wide-field image 230a (col. 6 lines 13-
16).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 6 above and in
further view of Warashina et al. (US 20140104687 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim
6.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the optical path adjustment structure comprises a
substrate and at least one semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film, at least one reflective film and at
least one anti-reflection film disposed on the substrate, the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film is
located in the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region, the reflective film is located in the reflective
region, and the anti-reflection film is located in the transmissive region.
However Warashina discloses in at least figure 18, wherein the optical path adjustment
structure (beam splitter 100 fig. 18) comprises a substrate (surfaces 101, 103 and 104) and at least one
semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching
surface paragraph [0087]), at least one reflective film (the reflectance on the light reflecting surface 103
is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is lowered when it is impossible to form a metal film
paragraph [0083]) and at least one anti-reflection film (anti-reflection film provided on light transmitting
surface paragraph [0087]) disposed on the substrate (the semi-transmissive reflection film, metal film,
and anti-reflection film are formed on surfaces 101, 103 and 104 paragraphs [0087] and [0083]), the
semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching
surface paragraph [0087]) is located in the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the semi transmissive reflecting surface 101 fig. 18), the reflective film (the reflectance on the light reflecting
surface 103 is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is lowered when it is impossible to form a
metal film paragraph [0083]) is located in the reflective region (reflecting surface 103 fig. 18), and the
anti-reflection film (anti-reflection film provided on light transmitting surface paragraph [0087]) is
located in the transmissive region (light transmitting surface 104 fig. 18).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use films on the substrate of the optical path adjustment structure as taught by
Warashina with the image display device of Yokoyama. The films provide improved light use efficiency
(paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yokoyama, Wu and Warashina discloses all the
limitations of claim 7.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film is disposed
between the reflective film and the anti-reflection film.
However Warashina further discloses, wherein the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a
semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching surface paragraph [0087]) is disposed
between (semi-transmissive reflection film is disposed on the semi-transmissive reflecting surface 101
between the light reflecting surface 103 and the light transmitting surface 104 fig. 18) the reflective film
(the reflectance on the light reflecting surface 103 is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is
lowered when it is impossible to form a metal film paragraph [0083]) and the anti-reflection film (antireflection film provided on light transmitting surface paragraph [0087] ).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use films on the substrate of the optical path adjustment structure as taught by
Warashina with the image display device of Yokoyama. The films provide improved light use efficiency
(paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yokoyama, Wu and Warashina discloses all the
limitations of claim 8 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the substrate (sides of combining optical
member 20 paragraph [0025]) of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20
fig. 2) is made of glass (the combining optical member 20 is a cube-shaped prism member obtained by
combining two glass members each having a triangular prism shape paragraph [0025]) or plastic (not
required by claim).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in
further view of Komatsu et al. (US 20190137763 A1).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the optical path adjustment structure has a
thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm.
However Komatsu discloses in at least figure 3, wherein the optical path adjustment structure
(reflection unit 30 fig. 3) has a thickness ranging to 5 mm (the thickness of the reflection unit 30 is about
0.7 mm - 3.0 mm paragraph [0169]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use a thickness as taught by Komatsu in the image display device of Yokoyama.
When the thickness of the parallel light guide 22 is sufficiently greater than the thickness of the
reflection unit 30, it is easy to suppress the reflection from the half mirrors 31 (paragraph [0169]).
Additionally In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the
prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (a thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm required by
the claim lies inside the ranges disclosed by Komatsu (thickness of the reflection unit 30 is about 0.7-
3.0mm). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16
USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%"
while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for
concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43
USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a
range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching
that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm
[i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that 'suitable protection' is provided if the
protective layer is 'about' 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a
thickness within [applicant's] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329,332, 49 USPQ 749,
751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range
was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality
of the claimed range).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in
further view of Zhang et al. (US 20210227198 A1).
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, further comprising a microlens substrate, wherein the
microlens substrate comprises a plurality of microlenses, the plurality of microlenses are located
between the optical path adjustment structure and the imaging position, the plurality of microlenses are
configured to project at least a portion of outgoing light from the optical path adjustment structure to
the imaging position.
However Zhang discloses in at least figure 5, further comprising a microlens substrate (microlens
array 54 fig. 5), wherein the microlens substrate comprises a plurality of microlenses (a double-layer
microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]), the plurality of microlenses (a double-layer
microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) are located between (the microlens array 54 is
between the beam splitter 5213 and the human eye fig. 5) the optical path adjustment structure (beam
splitter 5213 fig. 5) and the imaging position (human eye fig. 5), the plurality of microlenses (a double layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) are configured to project (the micro lens array
54 projects light to the human eye fig. 5) at least a portion of outgoing light (light from beam splitter
5213 enter the waveguide 51 at incident region 5111 and leaves at light emergent region 5112 where it
enters the micro lens array 54 fig. 5) from the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 5213 fig.
5) to the imaging position (human eye fig. 5).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use a microlens array as taught by Zhang in the image display device of Yokoyama.
The display effect of the light field is further enhanced by arranging a microlens array between the light
emergent region of the optical waveguide and the human eyes (paragraph [0058]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) and Zhang et al. (US 20210227198 A1)
as applied to claim 12 above and in further view of Tan et al. (US 20220209066 A1).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Yokoyama, Wu and Zhang discloses all the
limitations of claim 12.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the plurality of microlenses comprise at least one of a
spherical lens, an aspherical lens, and a free-form lens.
However Tan discloses in at least figure 29, wherein the plurality of microlenses (micro lenses
2982 and 2986 fig. 29) comprise at least one of a spherical lens (micro lens 2986 is a spherical lens
paragraph [0280]), an aspherical lens (the micro lens can be aspherical paragraph [0280]), and a freeform lens (not required by claim).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use a special or aspherical lens as taught by Tan in the image display device of
Yokoyama. A micro-LED 2970 may have multiple corresponding secondary optical components, such as a
micro-lens and an anti-reflection coating, a micro-lens etched in the semiconductor material and a
micro-lens etched in a dielectric material layer, a micro-lens and a grating, a spherical lens and an
aspherical lens, and the like (paragraph [0280]).
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Yokoyama, Wu, Zhang and Tan discloses all the
limitations of claim 13.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the microlens substrate further comprises an antireflection structure, the anti-reflection structure is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses
close to the optical path adjustment structure; and/or,
the anti-reflection structure is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses away from the optical path adjustment structure.
However Tan further discloses, wherein the microlens substrate (n-type layer 2950 fig. 29)
further comprises an anti-reflection structure (an antireflection layer 2988 fig. 29), the anti-reflection
structure (an antireflection layer 2988 fig. 29) is disposed on (antireflection layer 2988 is disposed on the
micro lens 2986 fig. 29).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use an anti-reflection coating as taught by Tan in the image display device of
Yokoyama. A micro-LED 2970 may have multiple corresponding secondary optical components, such as a
micro-lens and an anti-reflection coating, a micro-lens etched in the semiconductor material and a
micro-lens etched in a dielectric material layer, a micro-lens and a grating, a spherical lens and an
aspherical lens, and the like (paragraph [0280]).
Additionally Zhang further discloses, a side of the plurality of microlenses close to the optical
path adjustment structure (not required by the claim); and/or, the anti-reflection structure (antireflection structure taught above by Tan) is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses (a double layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) away from (the micro lens array 54 faces away from the beam splitter 5213 fig. 5) the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 5213 fig. 5).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use a microlens array as taught by Zhang in the image display device of Yokoyama.
The display effect of the light field is further enhanced by arranging a microlens array between the light emergent region of the optical waveguide and the human eyes (paragraph [0058]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in
further view of Hilton (US 20090122385 A1).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Yokoyama and Wu discloses all the limitations of
claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein a field angle of view of the imaging position is
from 100° to 150°.
However Hilton discloses in at least figure 1, wherein a field angle of view (wide field of view
paragraph [0058]) of the imaging position (pupil 18 fig. 1) is from 100° to 150° (the field of view at the
pupil, which in this case is over 100 degrees from 13°-115° resulting in an angle of 112° paragraph
[0064]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to have a field of view as taught by Hilton in the image display device of Yokoyama.
The expanded field of view enables the same image to be displayed in a larger format on the retina
without the requirement of increasing the original scan angle at the scan source 14 and dealing with the
associated problems of increasing modulation bandwidth and scan speed to retain the same resolution
(paragraph [0065]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US
20210302739 A1) in view of Wu (CN 114779475 A) and Jacobs et al. (US 20200329230 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 12196962 B2).
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Yokoyama, Wu and Jacobs discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the optical path adjustment structure has a thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm.
However Yamaguchi discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (mirror 23 fig. 2) has a thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm (mirror 23 has a thickness of 2 mm col. 5 lines 25-27).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective fIL1ing date of the
claimed invention to use a thickness of the mirror as taught by Yamaguchi in the image display device of Yokoyama. In order to make the shape, size, and weight of the see-through mirror 23 appropriate, it is conceivable to make the thickness about 2 mm, for example (col. 5 lines 24-27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiu et al. (US 20220335692 A1) discloses augmented reality glasses with a first and second display images that are combined at the eye.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872