DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 10/28/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 is depending on itself as recited “the near-eye display apparatus according to claim 13”.
Claim 17 can be dependent on itself as recited “the near-eye display apparatus according to any one of claim 1 to 17”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the plurality of microlenses" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “the plurality of microlenses” will be interpreted as the plurality of microlenses defined in claim 12.
Claim 14 recites the limitations "the micro lens substrate" in line 1 and "the plurality of microlenses" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes "the micro lens substrate" and “the plurality of microlenses” will be interpreted as the micro lens substrate the plurality of microlenses defined in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses in at least figure 2, a near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2), comprising:
at least one first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2),
wherein the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) extends along (the first display element 10a extents in the X direction fig. 2) a first direction (X direction fig. 2) and the first display (first display element 10a fig. 2) unit is configured to form (first display element 10a emits first imaging light IL1 in order to form a first virtual image IM1 fig. 2) a first image (first virtual mage IM1 fig. 2) at an imaging position (the first virtual image IM1 is at a distance D1 fig. 2);
at least one second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2),
wherein the second display (second display element 10b fig. 2) unit extends (second display element 10b extents in the Z direction fig. 2) along a second direction (Z direction fig. 2) and the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) is configured to form (second display element 10b emits second imaging light IL2 in order to form a second virtual image IM2 fig. 2) a second image (second virtual image IM2 fig. 2);
the first direction (X direction fig. 2) is different from (the X direction is different from the Z direction fig. 2) the second direction (Z direction fig. 2);
an optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2),
wherein at least a portion of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) is located on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) of outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) and on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) of outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2), the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) is configured to transmit (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted through combining optical member 20 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) in a direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 1) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), and reflect (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected by the combining optical member 20 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the distance D1 id in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2).
Yokoyama does not disclose, a second image at the imaging position;
the first image and the second image are spliced to form a display image.
However Govari discloses in at least figure 2, a second image (second image paragraph [0053]) at the imaging position (processor 34 receives a first image and a second image paragraph [0053]);
the first image (first image paragraph [0053]) and the second image (second image paragraph [0053]) are spliced to form (a third image is based a combination of the first and second images paragraph [0054]) a display image (third image paragraph [0054]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second images to be displayed as taught by Govari with the image display device of Yokoyama. The combined images of different modalities can be shown on the HMD (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) comprises at least one semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2), the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) is located on an optical path (the half mirror 21 is located on the optical path of the first image light IL1 emitted from the first display element 10A fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10A fig. 2) and on an optical path (the half mirror 21 is located on the optical path of the second image light IL2 emitted from the second display element 10b fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10B fig. 2), the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) is configured to transmit (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted through half mirror 21 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) in a direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 1) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), and reflect (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected by the half mirror 21 fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) further comprises at least one reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2), the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on a side (reflective side as shown below in fig. 2) of the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2), the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on the optical path (the reflective region is located on the optical path of second imaging light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B as shown below in fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2) from the second display unit (second display element 10B fig. 2), and the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) is configured to reflect (the reflective region reflects the second imaging light Il2 in the Z direction as shown below in fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10B fig. 2) in the direction toward (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) further comprises at least one transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2), the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on a side (transmissive side as shown below in fig. 2) of the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the half mirror 21 is transparent to first image light IL 1 emitted from first display element 10A and reflective to second image light IL2 emitted from second display element 10B fig. 2) away from (the transmissive region is on the other side of the reflective region as shown below in fig. 2) the reflective region (reflective region as shown below in fig. 2), the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2) is located on the optical path (the transmissive region is located on the optical path of first imaging light IL1 emitted from first display element 10A as shown below in fig. 2) of at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10A fig. 2), and the transmissive region (transmissive region as shown below in fig. 2) is configured to transmit (the transmissive region transmits the first imaging light IL1 in the Z direction as shown below in fig. 2) at least a portion of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10A fig. 2) in the direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is reflected in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 is in the Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) extends along a third direction (the combining optical member 20 is a cube-shaped prism member and therefore extends in the Y direction fig. 2) and the third direction (Y direction fig. 2) is different from (the Y direction is different form the X and Z directions fig. 2) both the first direction (X direction fig. 2) and the second direction (Z direction fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein both the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) and the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) comprise at least one of an organic light emitting diode display unit (the first display unit can be an organic EL display panel paragraph [0023] and the second display element 10B includes a display device identical to the first display element 10A paragraph [0024]), a quantum dot light emitting diode display unit (not required by claim), a micro light emitting diode display unit (not required by claim), and a liquid crystal display unit (the first display unit can be a liquid crystal display panel paragraph [0023] and the second display element 10B includes a display device identical to the first display element 10A paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Yokoyama further discloses, a wearable device (HMD 500 fig. 3), comprising the near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 3) according to any one of claims 1 to 17 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 18, Yokoyama discloses in at least figure 2, a display method (display mode in the virtual image display device 100 paragraph [0033) of a near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2),
wherein the near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2) comprises at least one first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2), at least one second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2), and an optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2), an extension direction (the first display element 10a extents in the X direction fig. 2) of the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) is different from (the X direction is different from the Z direction fig. 2) an extension direction (second display element 10b extents in the Z direction fig. 2) of the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2);
at least a portion of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) is located on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) of outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) and on an optical path (the combining optical member 20 is on the optical path of the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) of outgoing light (second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2);
the display method (display mode in the virtual image display device 100 paragraph [0033) of the near-eye display apparatus (image display device 100 fig. 2) comprises:
transmitting at least a portion (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted through combining optical member 20 fig. 2) of the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) through the light path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) to emit in a direction toward (the first imaging light IL1 is transmitted in the Z direction and the distance D1 is in the z direction fig. 1) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), so that the outgoing light (first imaging light IL1 fig. 2) from the first display unit (first display element 10a fig. 2) forms (first display element 10a emits first imaging light IL1 in order to form a first virtual image IM1 fig. 2) a first image (first virtual image IM1 fig. 2) at the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2);
reflecting at least a portion (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected by the combining optical member 20 fig. 2) of the outgoing light (imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) through the light path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) to emit in the direction toward (the second imaging light IL2 is reflected in the z direction and the distance D1 id in the z direction fig. 2) the imaging position (distance D1 fig. 2), so that the outgoing light (the second imaging light IL2 fig. 2) from the second display unit (second display element 10b fig. 2) forms (second display element 10b emits second imaging light IL2 in order to form a second virtual image IM2 fig. 2) a second image (second virtual image IM2 fig. 2).
Yokoyama does not disclose, a second image at the imaging position;
splicing the first image and the second image to form a display image.
However Govari discloses in at least figure 2, a second image (second image paragraph [0053]) at the imaging position (processor 34 receives a first image and a second image paragraph [0053]);
splicing (a third image is based a combination of the first and second images paragraph [0054]) the first image (first image paragraph [0053]) and the second image (second image paragraph [0053]) to form a display image(third image paragraph [0054]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second images to be displayed as taught by Govari with the image display device of Yokoyama. The combined images of different modalities can be shown on the HMD (paragraph [0056]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Jacobs et al. (US 20200329230 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the first image has a first edge close to the second image adjacent thereto, the second image has a second edge close to the first image adjacent thereto, there is an overlapping area between the first edge and the second edge, and an image displayed in the overlapping area by the first edge is the same as an image displayed in the overlapping area by the second edge.
However Jacobs discloses in at least figure 18B, wherein the first image (picture A fig. 18B) has a first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 18B) close to (the first edge is the edge closest to picture B as shown below in fig. 18B) the second image (picture B fig. 18B) adjacent thereto (pictures A and B are adjacent fig. 18B), the second image (picture B fig. 18B) has a second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 18B) close to (the second edge is the edge closest to picture A as shown below in fig. 18B) the first image (picture A fig. 18B) adjacent thereto (pictures A and B are adjacent fig. 18B), there is an overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18) between the first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 18B) and the second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 18B), and an image displayed (blend A/B fig. 18B) in the overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18B) by the first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 18B) is the same (the blend A/B is the same at the first edge and the second edge as shown below in fig. 18B) as an image displayed (blend A/B fig. 18B) in the overlapping area (overlapping area as shown below in fig. 18B) by the second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 18B).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine overlapping first and second images as taught by Jacobs with the image display device of Yokoyama. The combined overlapping pictures can produce the appearance of movement paragraph [0332]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Browne (US 11448881 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the first image has a first edge close to the second image adjacent thereto, the second image has a second edge close to the first image adjacent thereto, the first edge is not overlapped with the second edge, and the first edge is adjacent to the second edge.
However Browne discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the first image (digital image 220a fig. 2) has a first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 2) close to (the first edge is closest to the second image 220b as shown below in fig. 2) the second image (digital image 220b fig. 2) adjacent thereto (the digital images 220a and 220b are adjacent fig. 2), the second image (digital image 220b fig. 2) has a second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 2) close to (the second edge is closest to the first digital image 220a as shown below in fig. 2) the first image (digital image 220a fig. 2) adjacent thereto (the digital images 220a and 220b are adjacent fig. 2), the first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 2) is not overlapped (the first edge does not overlap the second edge as shown below in fig. 2) with the second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 2), and the first edge (first edge as shown below in fig. 2) is adjacent to (the first and second edges are adjacent as shown below in fig. 2)the second edge (second edge as shown below in fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine non-overlapping first and second images as taught by Browne with the image display device of Yokoyama. The two digital sensors on the left, 210a and 210b, provide the digital images 220a and 220b that will be stitched together to form the wide-field image 230a (col. 6 lines 13-16).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of Warashina et al. (US 20140104687 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the optical path adjustment structure comprises a substrate and at least one semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film, at least one reflective film and at least one anti-reflection film disposed on the substrate, the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film is located in the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region, the reflective film is located in the reflective region, and the anti-reflection film is located in the transmissive region.
However Warashina discloses in at least figure 18, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 100 fig. 18) comprises a substrate (surfaces 101, 103 and 104) and at least one semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching surface paragraph [0087]), at least one reflective film (the reflectance on the light reflecting surface 103 is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is lowered when it is impossible to form a metal film paragraph [0083]) and at least one anti-reflection film (anti-reflection film provided on light transmitting surface paragraph [0087]) disposed on the substrate (the semi-transmissive reflection film, metal film, and anti-reflection film are formed on surfaces 101, 103 and 104 paragraphs [0087] and [0083]), the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching surface paragraph [0087]) is located in the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective region (the semi-transmissive reflecting surface 101 fig. 18), the reflective film (the reflectance on the light reflecting surface 103 is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is lowered when it is impossible to form a metal film paragraph [0083]) is located in the reflective region (reflecting surface 103 fig. 18), and the anti-reflection film (anti-reflection film provided on light transmitting surface paragraph [0087]) is located in the transmissive region (light transmitting surface 104 fig. 18).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use films on the substrate of the optical path adjustment structure as taught by Warashina with the image display device of Yokoyama. The films provide improved light use efficiency (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yokoyama, Govari and Warashina discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film is disposed between the reflective film and the anti-reflection film.
However Warashina further discloses, wherein the semi-transmissive and semi-reflective film (a semi-transmissive reflection film on the optical branching surface paragraph [0087]) is disposed between (semi-transmissive reflection film is disposed on the semi-transmissive reflecting surface 101 between the light reflecting surface 103 and the light transmitting surface 104 fig. 18) the reflective film (the reflectance on the light reflecting surface 103 is given as 100% when a metal film is formed and is lowered when it is impossible to form a metal film paragraph [0083]) and the anti-reflection film (anti-reflection film provided on light transmitting surface paragraph [0087]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use films on the substrate of the optical path adjustment structure as taught by Warashina with the image display device of Yokoyama. The films provide improved light use efficiency (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yokoyama, Govari and Warashina discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Yokoyama further discloses, wherein the substrate (sides of combining optical member 20 paragraph [0025]) of the optical path adjustment structure (combining optical member 20 fig. 2) is made of glass (the combining optical member 20 is a cube-shaped prism member obtained by combining two glass members each having a triangular prism shape paragraph [0025]) or plastic (not required by claim).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Komatsu et al. (US 20190137763 A1).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the optical path adjustment structure has a thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm.
However Komatsu discloses in at least figure 3, wherein the optical path adjustment structure (reflection unit 30 fig. 3) has a thickness ranging to 5 mm (the thickness of the reflection unit 30 is about 0.7 mm - 3.0 mm paragraph [0169]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a thickness as taught by Komatsu in the image display device of Yokoyama. When the thickness of the parallel light guide 22 is sufficiently greater than the thickness of the reflection unit 30, it is easy to suppress the reflection from the half mirrors 31 (paragraph [0169]).
Additionally In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (a thickness ranging from 1 mm to 5 mm required by the claim lies inside the ranges disclosed by Komatsu (thickness of the reflection unit 30 is about 0.7-3.0mm). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20210227198 A1).
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, further comprising a microlens substrate, wherein the microlens substrate comprises a plurality of microlenses, the plurality of microlenses are located between the optical path adjustment structure and the imaging position, the plurality of microlenses are configured to project at least a portion of outgoing light from the optical path adjustment structure to the imaging position.
However Zhang discloses in at least figure 5, further comprising a microlens substrate (microlens array 54 fig. 5), wherein the microlens substrate comprises a plurality of microlenses (a double-layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]), the plurality of microlenses (a double-layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) are located between (the microlens array 54 is between the beam splitter 5213 and the human eye fig. 5) the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 5213 fig. 5) and the imaging position (human eye fig. 5), the plurality of microlenses (a double-layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) are configured to project (the micro lens array 54 projects light to the human eye fig. 5) at least a portion of outgoing light (light from beam splitter 5213 enter the waveguide 51 at incident region 5111 and leaves at light emergent region 5112 where it enters the micro lens array 54 fig. 5) from the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 5213 fig. 5) to the imaging position (human eye fig. 5).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a microlens array as taught by Zhang in the image display device of Yokoyama. The display effect of the light field is further enhanced by arranging a microlens array between the light emergent region of the optical waveguide and the human eyes (paragraph [0058]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) and Zhang et al. (US 20210227198 A1) as applied to claim 12 above and in further view of Tan et al. (US 20220209066 A1).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Yokoyama, Govari and Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the plurality of microlenses comprise at least one of a spherical lens, an aspherical lens, and a free-form lens.
However Tan discloses in at least figure 29, wherein the plurality of microlenses (micro lenses 2982 and 2986 fig. 29) comprise at least one of a spherical lens (micro lens 2986 is a spherical lens paragraph [0280]) , an aspherical lens (the micro lens can be aspherical paragraph [0280]), and a free-form lens (not required by claim).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a special or aspherical lens as taught by Tan in the image display device of Yokoyama. A micro-LED 2970 may have multiple corresponding secondary optical components, such as a micro-lens and an anti-reflection coating, a micro-lens etched in the semiconductor material and a micro-lens etched in a dielectric material layer, a micro-lens and a grating, a spherical lens and an aspherical lens, and the like (paragraph [0280]).
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Yokoyama, Govari, Zhang and Tan discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Yokoyama does not disclose, wherein the microlens substrate further comprises an anti-reflection structure, the anti-reflection structure is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses close to the optical path adjustment structure; and/or, the anti-reflection structure is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses away from the optical path adjustment structure.
However Tan further discloses, wherein the microlens substrate (n-type layer 2950 fig. 29) further comprises an anti-reflection structure (an antireflection layer 2988 fig. 29), the anti-reflection structure (an antireflection layer 2988 fig. 29) is disposed on (antireflection layer 2988 is disposed on the micro lens 2986 fig. 29).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use an anti-reflection coating as taught by Tan in the image display device of Yokoyama. A micro-LED 2970 may have multiple corresponding secondary optical components, such as a micro-lens and an anti-reflection coating, a micro-lens etched in the semiconductor material and a micro-lens etched in a dielectric material layer, a micro-lens and a grating, a spherical lens and an aspherical lens, and the like (paragraph [0280]).
Additionally Zhang further discloses, a side of the plurality of microlenses close to the optical path adjustment structure (not required by the claim); and/or, the anti-reflection structure (anti-reflection structure taught above by Tan) is disposed on a side of the plurality of microlenses (a double-layer microlens array also may be used paragraph [0059]) away from (the micro lens array 54 faces away from the beam splitter 5213 fig. 5) the optical path adjustment structure (beam splitter 5213 fig. 5).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a microlens array as taught by Zhang in the image display device of Yokoyama. The display effect of the light field is further enhanced by arranging a microlens array between the light emergent region of the optical waveguide and the human eyes (paragraph [0058]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20210302739 A1) in view of Govari et al. (US 20220122239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Hilton (US 20090122385 A1).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Yokoyama and Govari discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein a field angle of view of the imaging position is from 100° to 150°.
However Hilton discloses in at least figure 1, wherein a field angle of view (wide field of view paragraph [0058]) of the imaging position (pupil 18 fig. 1) is from 100° to 150° (the field of view at the pupil, which in this case is over 100 degrees from 13°-115° resulting in an angle of 112° paragraph [0064]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a field of view as taught by Hilton in the image display device of Yokoyama. The expanded field of view enables the same image to be displayed in a larger format on the retina without the requirement of increasing the original scan angle at the scan source 14 and dealing with the associated problems of increasing modulation bandwidth and scan speed to retain the same resolution (paragraph [0065]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao et al. (US 20210173216 A1) discloses an augmented reality device with bandpass polarizing beam splitter.
Ouderkirk et al. (US 20200371370 A1) discloses a polarizing beam splitter made of glass.
Ogawa (US 20190212833 A1) discloses an electronic apparatus and control method with a 360 degree view.
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872