DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/27/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 08/27/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Applicants have amended claims 1, 5, 6, 11, and 14-17.
Applicants have introduced new claims 21-24.
Applicants have left claims 2, 3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 18, and 19 as originally filed/previously presented.
Applicants have canceled/previously canceled claims 4, 8, 13, and 20.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-19, and 21-24 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Claim Objections - Withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of Remarks, filed 08/27/2026, with respect to claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claim, rendering the objection of claim 4 moot. The objection of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Withdrawn and Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the circuit board and the mounting base”. However, claim 1 recites “the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base”. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “an internal gap” recited in claim 7 is the same as, related to, or different from “an internal gap” recited in claim 1. For example, it is currently unclear if claim 7 is introducing a second internal gap, or if claim 7 is further defining the location of the already introduced internal gap. For the purposes of examination, “an internal gap” recited in claim 7 is being interpreted as the same as “an internal gap” recited in claim 1. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to clearly link or clearly differentiate between the claim elements.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “a connector on the circuit board”. However, claim 11 recites “a circuit board … a connector of the circuit board …”. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “a connector” recited in claim 16 is the same as, related to, or different from “a connector” recited in claim 11. For example, it is currently unclear if claim 16 is further defining the location of the connector or if claim 16 is introducing a second connector on the circuit board. For the purposes of examination, “a connector” recited in claim 16 is being interpreted as the same as “a connector” recited in claim 11. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to clearly link or clearly differentiate between the claim elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of Remarks, filed 08/27/2026, with respect to claims 5 and 13-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the rejections moot. The rejections of claims 5 and 13-16 have been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of Remarks, filed 08/27/2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, and 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the rejections moot. The 102 rejections of claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, and 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 12, 14-19, and 21-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (WO 2019236850 A1) (cited in the IDS filed on 04/29/2024) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Thomas, in view of Rao et al. (US 20170290535 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Rao, in view of Cuijun Yang (US 20230210408 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
The claims are generally directed towards an analyte monitoring system, comprising: an enclosure including: a top shell having an outer top-shell periphery and an inner top-shell periphery; and a mounting base having an outer mounting-base periphery and an inner mounting-base periphery, wherein: the mounting base has an aperture and further comprises a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture; and the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base; a circuit board disposed within the enclosure having a connector, wherein the connector of the circuit board is exposed through the aperture in the mounting base; and an analyte sensor assembly having a distal portion and a proximal portion, the proximal portion coupled with the connector and the distal portion extending from the enclosure, wherein: the outer top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the outer mounting-base periphery; the inner top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the inner mounting-base periphery; a seal is disposed around the perimeter of the aperture between the top shell and the mounting base, at least a portion of the seal being seated in the raceway, the seal being configured to prevent ingress of foreign bodies into the enclosure; and a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture.
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses an analyte monitoring system (Abstract, para. [0138], Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 5A-5B, para. [0173]), comprising:
an enclosure (Fig. 5A, element 304, para. [0173], “electronics housing”) including:
a top shell having an outer top-shell periphery and an inner top-shell periphery (Fig. 5A, element 306, para. [0173-0175], “shell”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 306 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge of element 306 and exposed by element 504. Further see at least Fig. 7B where elements 306 and 308 connect in the middle surrounding the sensor); and
a mounting base having an outer mounting-base periphery and an inner mounting-base periphery (Fig. 5A, element 308, para. [0173-0175], “mount”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 308 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge and vertical structure extending from 308 that acts as the plug receptacle), wherein:
the mounting base has an aperture (Fig. 5B, element 506, element 516, para. [0175-0176], “central apertures … plug receptacle may be defined in the bottom of mount 308 …”); and
the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, para. [0174], “printed circuit board … positioned within the electronics housing …”);
a circuit board disposed within the enclosure having a connector (Fig. 5A-5B, element 502, element 516, para. [0174-0176], “printed circuit board may be positioned within the electronics housing … circuitry contacts …”), wherein the connector of the circuit board is exposed through the aperture in the mounting base (Fig. 5B, element 516, para. [0176], “circuitry contacts …”); and
an analyte sensor assembly having a distal portion and a proximal portion, the proximal portion coupled with the connector and the distal portion extending from the enclosure (Fig. 3A, Fig. 4A-4B, element 310, para. [0166-0172], “plug assembly that may be coupled to the electronics housing … sensor module … include a sensor … electrical contacts configured to provide conductive communication between the sensor and corresponding circuitry contacts within the electronics housing …”, para. [0175] - the proximal portion being where elements 420 are located and the distal portion being where element 316 extends from the plug assembly), wherein:
the outer top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the outer mounting-base periphery (para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding …”, para. [0432], “sonic (or ultrasonic welding) …”);
the inner top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the inner mounting-base periphery (para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding …”, para. [0432], “sonic (or ultrasonic welding) …”);
a seal is disposed around the perimeter of the aperture between the top shell and the mounting base, the seal being configured to prevent ingress of foreign bodies into the enclosure (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …”); and
However, Thomas does not explicitly disclose the mounting base further comprises a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal being seated in the raceway.
Rao teaches an analogous analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 9), comprising an enclosure including a top shell (Fig. 9, element 120), and a mounting base (Fig. 9, element 130), and an aperture (Fig. 6, element 132, para. [0087]). Rao further teaches a raceway is around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway (Fig. 9, element 340, para. [0086], para. [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting base disclosed by Thomas to additionally include a raceway around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway, as taught by Rao. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a raceway allows for the gasket to be held in place during manufacturing, ensuring a correct seal.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture.
Yang teaches an analogous analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 1a), comprising a top shell (Fig. 3c, element 12, para. [0071]) and a mounting base comprising a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 111, element 131, para. [0065]). Yang further teaches a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 131, Fig. 3b-3c, element 130, para. [0065], “groove … place the sealing ring …”, para. [0068-0069], “upper end of sealing ring is slighter higher than the upper end of conductive adhesive strip … size of sealing ring is slighter larger than the size of the groove …”, para. [0071], “extrusion force on the sealing ring … sealing ring when it is installed … prevent water droplets from entering the electrical connection area …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the height of the seal to explicitly be greater than the height of the internal gap when uncompressed, as taught by Yang. This is because Yang teaches a seal that is slighter larger than an opening allows for the seal to be more tightly installed within the opening when compressed, achieving better waterproof protection (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising a first mating interface disposed on the top shell and a second mating interface disposed on the mounting base, the first and second mating interfaces configured to engage together to facilitate the ultrasonic welding (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, - the mating interfaces being the portions of elements 306 and 308 that touch on the outermost edge and the inner most edge surrounding the sensor, para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding”, para. [0432]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 2, wherein the first mating interface is disposed along the inner top-shell periphery and the outer top-shell periphery, and the second mating interface is disposed along the inner mounting-base periphery and the outer mounting-base periphery (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, - the mating interfaces being the portions of elements 306 and 308 that touch on the outermost edge and the inner most edge surrounding the sensor, para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding”, para. [0432]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 1.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose wherein the internal gap at the perimeter of the aperture has a height less than the height of the seal at the perimeter of the aperture.
Yang further teaches the internal gap at the perimeter of the aperture has a height that is less than the height of the seal at the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 131, Fig. 3b-3c, element 130, para. [0068-0069], “upper end of sealing ring is slighter higher than the upper end of conductive adhesive strip … size of sealing ring is slighter larger than the size of the groove …”, para. [0071], “extrusion force on the sealing ring … sealing ring when it is installed … prevent water droplets from entering the electrical connection area …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal gap and height of the seal taught my modified Thomas to explicitly have the internal gap have a height less than the height of the seal, as taught by Yang. This is because Yang teaches a seal that is slighter larger than an opening allows for the seal to be more tightly installed within the opening when compressed, achieving better waterproof protection (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the seal is disposed between the circuit board and the mounting base (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …” - the seal is inherently between the circuit board and the mounting base to be able to compress and generate a sealed interface).
Regarding claim 7, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the circuit board and the mounting base (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, para. [0174], “printed circuit board … positioned within the electronics housing …”).
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose the internal gap having a height less than a maximum height of the seal at a location of the maximum height of the seal.
Yang further teaches the internal gap having a height less than a maximum height of the seal at a location of the maximum height of the seal (Fig. 3a, element 131, Fig. 3b-3c, element 130, para. [0068-0069], “upper end of sealing ring is slighter higher than the upper end of conductive adhesive strip … size of sealing ring is slighter larger than the size of the groove …”, para. [0071], “extrusion force on the sealing ring … sealing ring when it is installed … prevent water droplets from entering the electrical connection area …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal gap and height of the seal taught my modified Thomas to explicitly have the internal gap have a height less than the height of the seal, as taught by Yang. This is because Yang teaches a seal that is slighter larger than an opening allows for the seal to be more tightly installed within the opening when compressed, achieving better waterproof protection (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the circuit board comprises a processor (para. [0174], “data processing unit …”).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas discloses a method for constructing an analyte monitoring system (Abstract, para. [0138], Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 5A-5B, para. [0173]), comprising:
assembling an enclosure (Fig. 5A, element 304, para. [0173], “electronics housing”) comprising:
a top shell having an outer top-shell periphery and an inner top-shell periphery (Fig. 5A, element 306, para. [0173-0175], “shell”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 306 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge of element 306 and exposed by element 504. Further see at least Fig. 7B where elements 306 and 308 connect in the middle surrounding the sensor);
a mounting base having an outer mounting-base periphery and an inner mounting-base periphery (Fig. 5A, element 308, para. [0173-0175], “mount”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 308 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge and vertical structure extending from 308 that acts as the plug receptacle), wherein the mounting base has an aperture (Fig. 5B, element 506, element 516, para. [0175-0176], “central apertures … plug receptacle may be defined in the bottom of mount 308 …”), and the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, para. [0174], “printed circuit board … positioned within the electronics housing …”), and
a circuit board disposed between the top shell and the mounting base (Fig. 5A-5B, element 502, element 516, para. [0174-0176], “printed circuit board may be positioned within the electronics housing … circuitry contacts …”), wherein a connector of the circuit board is exposed through the aperture in the mounting base (Fig. 5B, element 516, para. [0176], “circuitry contacts …”); and
ultrasonically welding the outer top-shell periphery to the outer mounting-base periphery (para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding …”, para. [0432], “sonic (or ultrasonic welding) …”); and
ultrasonically welding the inner top-shell periphery to the inner mounting-base periphery (para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding …”, para. [0432], “sonic (or ultrasonic welding) …”), wherein:
a seal is disposed around the perimeter of the aperture between the top shell and the mounting base, the seal being configured to prevent ingress of foreign bodies into the enclosure (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …”).
However, Thomas does not explicitly disclose the mounting base further comprises a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal being seated in the raceway.
Rao teaches an analogous method for constructing an analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 9), comprising an enclosure including a top shell (Fig. 9, element 120), and a mounting base (Fig. 9, element 130), and an aperture (Fig. 6, element 132, para. [0087]). Rao further teaches a raceway is around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway (Fig. 9, element 340, para. [0086], para. [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting base disclosed by Thomas to additionally include a raceway around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway, as taught by Rao. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a raceway allows for the gasket to be held in place during manufacturing, ensuring a correct seal.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture.
Yang teaches an analogous method for constructing an analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 1a), comprising a top shell (Fig. 3c, element 12, para. [0071]) and a mounting base comprising a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 111, element 131, para. [0065]). Yang further teaches a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 131, Fig. 3b-3c, element 130, para. [0065], “groove … place the sealing ring …”, para. [0068-0069], “upper end of sealing ring is slighter higher than the upper end of conductive adhesive strip … size of sealing ring is slighter larger than the size of the groove …”, para. [0071], “extrusion force on the sealing ring … sealing ring when it is installed … prevent water droplets from entering the electrical connection area …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the height of the seal to explicitly be greater than the height of the internal gap when uncompressed, as taught by Yang. This is because Yang teaches a seal that is slighter larger than an opening allows for the seal to be more tightly installed within the opening when compressed, achieving better waterproof protection (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the top shell comprises a first mating interface, the mounting base comprises a second mating interface, and the first mating interface is engaged with the second mating interface prior to the ultrasonic welding (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, - the mating interfaces being the portions of elements 306 and 308 that touch on the outermost edge and the inner most edge surrounding the sensor, para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding”, para. [0432] -- the surfaces must be engaged prior to ultrasonic welding to create the secured electronics housing).
Regarding claim 14, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the seal is further disposed between the circuit board and the mounting base (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …” - the seal is inherently between the circuit board and the mounting base to be able to compress and generate a sealed interface).
Regarding claim 15, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11.
However, Thomas does not explicitly disclose wherein the seal is compressed prior to the ultrasonic welding.
Rao further teaches a seal is compressed prior to the ultrasonic welding (para. [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by modified Thomas to additionally compress the seal prior to the ultrasonic welding, as taught by Rao. This is because Rao teaches compressing the seal prior to the ultrasonic welding allows for the interior of the sensing device to be sealed from moisture, and then seal the upper housing and the lower housing to for a single device (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising connecting an analyte sensor assembly, through the aperture, to a connector on the circuit board (Fig. 3A, Fig. 4A-4B, element 310, para. [0166-0172], “plug assembly that may be coupled to the electronics housing … sensor module … include a sensor … electrical contacts configured to provide conductive communication between the sensor and corresponding circuitry contacts within the electronics housing …”, para. [0175]).
Regarding claim 17, Thomas discloses an enclosure for an analyte monitoring system (Abstract, para. [0138], Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 5A-5B, element 304, para. [0173]) comprising:
a top shell having an outer top-shell periphery and an inner top-shell periphery (Fig. 5A, element 306, para. [0173-0175], “shell”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 306 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge of element 306 and exposed by element 504. Further see at least Fig. 7B where elements 306 and 308 connect in the middle surrounding the sensor); and
a mounting base having an outer mounting-base periphery, and an inner mounting-base periphery (Fig. 5A, element 308, para. [0173-0175], “mount”, - the outer periphery being the outermost edge of 308 and the inner periphery being the innermost edge and vertical structure extending from 308 that acts as the plug receptacle), wherein:
the mounting base has an aperture (Fig. 5B, element 506, element 516, para. [0175-0176], “central apertures … plug receptacle may be defined in the bottom of mount 308 …”);
the enclosure comprises an internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, para. [0174], “printed circuit board … positioned within the electronics housing …”);
a circuit board disposed within the enclosure having a connector (Fig. 5A-5B, element 502, element 516, para. [0174-0176], “printed circuit board may be positioned within the electronics housing … circuitry contacts …”), the connector of the circuit board being exposed through the aperture in the mounting base (Fig. 5B, element 516, para. [0176], “circuitry contacts …”);
the outer top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the outer mounting-base periphery and the inner top-shell periphery is ultrasonically welded to the inner mounting-base periphery (para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding …”, para. [0432], “sonic (or ultrasonic welding) …”);
a seal is disposed around the perimeter of the aperture between the top shell and the mounting base, the seal being configured to prevent ingress of foreign bodies into the enclosure (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …”).
However, Thomas does not explicitly disclose the mounting base further comprises a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal being seated in the raceway.
Rao teaches an analogous analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 9), comprising an enclosure including a top shell (Fig. 9, element 120), and a mounting base (Fig. 9, element 130), and an aperture (Fig. 6, element 132, para. [0087]). Rao further teaches a raceway is around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway (Fig. 9, element 340, para. [0086], para. [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting base disclosed by Thomas to additionally include a raceway around the perimeter of the aperture and at least a portion of the seal is seated in the raceway, as taught by Rao. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a raceway allows for the gasket to be held in place during manufacturing, ensuring a correct seal.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture.
Yang teaches an analogous analyte monitoring system (Abstract, Fig. 1a), comprising a top shell (Fig. 3c, element 12, para. [0071]) and a mounting base comprising a raceway around a perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 111, element 131, para. [0065]). Yang further teaches a height of the seal when uncompressed is greater than the height of the internal gap between the top shell and the mounting base, such that the seal is compressed to improve the seal around the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3a, element 131, Fig. 3b-3c, element 130, para. [0065], “groove … place the sealing ring …”, para. [0068-0069], “upper end of sealing ring is slighter higher than the upper end of conductive adhesive strip … size of sealing ring is slighter larger than the size of the groove …”, para. [0071], “extrusion force on the sealing ring … sealing ring when it is installed … prevent water droplets from entering the electrical connection area …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the height of the seal to explicitly be greater than the height of the internal gap when uncompressed, as taught by Yang. This is because Yang teaches a seal that is slighter larger than an opening allows for the seal to be more tightly installed within the opening when compressed, achieving better waterproof protection (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Thomas discloses the enclosure of claim 17, wherein the top shell comprises a first mating interface and the mounting base comprises a second mating interface such that the first mating interface is engaged with the second mating interface prior to the ultrasonic welding (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, - the mating interfaces being the portions of elements 306 and 308 that touch on the outermost edge and the inner most edge surrounding the sensor, para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding”, para. [0432] -- the surfaces must be engaged prior to ultrasonic welding to create the secured electronics housing).
Regarding claim 19, modified Thomas discloses the enclosure of claim 18, wherein the first mating interface is disposed along the inner top-shell periphery and the outer top-shell periphery, and the second mating interface is disposed along the inner mounting-base periphery and the outer mounting- base periphery (Fig. 7B, element 306, element 308, - the mating interfaces being the portions of elements 306 and 308 that touch on the outermost edge and the inner most edge surrounding the sensor, para. [0165], “the shell may be secured to the mount via a variety of ways … sonic welding”, para. [0432]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Thomas discloses the enclosure of claim 17, wherein the seal is disposed between the circuit board and the mounting base (para. [0165], “shell may be secured to the mount such that a sealed interface therebetween is generated … a gasket or other type of seal material may be positioned at or near the outer diameter (periphery) of the shell and the mount … compress the gasket and thereby generate a sealed interface …” - the seal is inherently between the circuit board and the mounting base to be able to compress and generate a sealed interface).
Regarding claim 22, modified Thomas discloses the enclosure of claim 17.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose wherein the seal is compressed prior to the ultrasonic welding.
Rao further teaches a seal is compressed prior to the ultrasonic welding (para. [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure taught by modified Thomas to additionally compress the seal prior to the ultrasonic welding, as taught by Rao. This is because Rao teaches compressing the seal prior to the ultrasonic welding allows for the interior of the sensing device to be sealed from moisture, and then seal the upper housing and the lower housing to for a single device (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the circuit board comprises a processor (para. [0174], “data processing unit …”).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (WO 2019236850 A1) (cited in the IDS filed on 04/29/2024) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Thomas, in view of Rao et al. (US 20170290535 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Rao, in view of Cuijun Yang (US 20230210408 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang as applied to claim 1 and claim 11 above, and further in view of Cole et al. (US 20150018643 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Cole.
Regarding claim 10, modified Thomas discloses the analyte monitoring system of claim 1.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board comprises at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple.
Cole teaches an analogous analyte monitoring system (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0050]), comprising an enclosure including a top shell, a mounting base, and a circuit board disposed within the enclosure (Fig. 11A, para. [0112]). Cole further teaches the circuit board comprises at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple (para. [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board taught by Thomas to additionally include at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple, as taught by Cole. This is because Cole teaches a thermistor or thermocouple allows for additional temperature measurements to be performed, which can be used to activate the sensor (para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Thomas discloses the method of claim 11.
However, modified Thomas does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board comprises at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple.
Cole teaches an analogous method of constructing an analyte monitoring system (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0050]), comprising an enclosure including a top shell, a mounting base, and a circuit board disposed within the enclosure (Fig. 11A, para. [0112]). Cole further teaches the circuit board comprises at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple (para. [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board taught by Thomas to additionally include at least one of a thermistor and thermocouple, as taught by Cole. This is because Cole teaches a thermistor or thermocouple allows for additional temperature measurements to be performed, which can be used to activate the sensor (para. [0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of Remarks, filed 08/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended and/or canceled the claims, rendering the previous rejections moot. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cuijun Yang (US 20230210408 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791