DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment filed on 4/49/52024. Accordingly, claims 1-16 are pending for consideration on the merits in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2024 and 12/31/2024 were filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 6, 9, 11 and 13, the recitation of “…wherein the refrigerant circuit further includes a receiver tank configured to store part of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger, a second expansion valve for reducing a pressure of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the receiver tank and the second heat exchanger, and a refrigerant pipe conduit connecting the four-way valve to the suction port, a part of the refrigerant pipe conduit is extended into the receiver tank, and the third heat exchanger includes the receiver tank and the part of the refrigerant pipe conduit extended into the receiver tank,” renders the claim unclear.
For example, claim 6 depends upon claim 1 where the internal heat exchanger in claim 1 appears to have a configuration depicted in at least figure 2 and the internal heat exchanger recited in claim 6 appears to have a configuration depicted in at least figure 8. The combination of the separate embodiments may create an impossibility. Thus, the claims are in conflict or at least create inconsistency. See MPEP 2173.03
Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 -7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura et al. (US2020/0326102) and Fujitaka et al. (US2001/0037649) in view of Kujak et al. (US2016/0130490) and Ito et al. (US2004/0172958).
Regarding Claim 1, Kumakura teaches an air conditioner comprising a refrigerant circuit in which a non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture circulates [0910; fig 34],
wherein the refrigerant circuit includes a compressor [21], a four-way valve [22], a first heat exchanger [23], a first expansion valve [45], and a second heat exchanger [31; see 0640],
the four-way valve is configured to switch between a first state in which the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flows sequentially through the compressor, the first heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, and the second heat exchanger [0642], and
a second state in which the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flows sequentially through the compressor, the second heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, and the first heat exchanger [0642],
the refrigerant circuit further includes a third heat exchanger [51] provided to allow heat exchange between the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first heat exchanger and the first expansion valve or the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger [0910],
and the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the four-way valve and a suction port of the compressor [0910],
the refrigerant circuit further includes:
a liquid pipe [6] connects the first expansion valve [45] to the second heat exchanger [31]; and an on-off valve [29] is disposed between the first expansion valve [45] and the liquid pipe [at 6; 0637-0640].
Kumakura does not teach where the liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe;
wherein the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a two-refrigerant mixture of R32 and R1234yf, and a mass fraction of R32 in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is 30% by mass or more;
wherein the third heat exchanger includes: a first inlet/outlet port connected to the first expansion valve in the refrigerant circuit; a second inlet/outlet port connected to the on-off valve in the refrigerant circuit; a third inlet/outlet port connected to the four-way valve in the refrigerant circuit; a fourth inlet/outlet port connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit; a first tube, which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube, which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube.
However, Fujitaka teaches an air conditioner [0001] having where a liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe [70; 0065] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. for the obvious advantage of connecting an outdoor and indoor unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have where the liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe in view of the teachings of Fujitaka where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. for the obvious advantage of connecting an outdoor and indoor unit.
Also, Kujak teaches refrigerant for an air conditioner [0001] having wherein the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a two-refrigerant mixture of R32 and R1234yf, and a mass fraction of R32 in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is 30% by mass or more [0005; 0012] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. for the obvious advantage of improving the safety of an HVAC system [0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have wherein the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a two-refrigerant mixture of R32 and R1234yf, and a mass fraction of R32 in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is 30% by mass or more in view of the teachings of Kujak where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. for the obvious advantage of improving the safety of an HVAC system.
Lastly, Ito teaches a refrigerating machine [0002] having where wherein a third heat exchanger [7] includes:
a first inlet/outlet port [SCin] connected to a first expansion valve [5] in the refrigerant circuit and a second inlet/outlet port [SCout];
a third inlet/outlet port [SHin] in the refrigerant circuit and a fourth inlet/outlet port [SHout] connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit;
a first tube [7a], which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube [7b], which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube [0050; 0051; fig 3; where one skilled in the art would recognize that the internal heat exchanger of Kumakura can be modified to have the configuration shown in Ito] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides where the heat absorbing capacity of the evaporator can be enhanced [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have wherein the third heat exchanger includes: a first inlet/outlet port connected to the first expansion valve in the refrigerant circuit; a second inlet/outlet port connected to the on-off valve in the refrigerant circuit; a third inlet/outlet port connected to the four-way valve in the refrigerant circuit; a fourth inlet/outlet port connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit; a first tube, which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube, which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube in view of the teachings of Ito where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides where the heat absorbing capacity of the evaporator can be enhanced.
Regarding Claim 5, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Kumakura teaches wherein the first heat exchanger is an outdoor heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger is an indoor heat exchanger, and the third heat exchanger is provided to allow heat exchange between the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger, and the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the four-way valve and the suction port of the compressor [0640-0655; 0897].
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 5 above and Kumakura teaches wherein the refrigerant circuit further includes a receiver tank [43] configured to store part of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger [0847-0866], a second expansion valve [45; where in this embodiment valve 44 is the aforementioned first expansion valve] for reducing a pressure of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the receiver tank and the second heat exchanger [0847-0866], and a refrigerant pipe conduit [50] connecting the four-way valve to the suction port, a part of the refrigerant pipe conduit is extended into the receiver tank, and the third heat exchanger includes the receiver tank and the part of the refrigerant pipe conduit extended into the receiver tank [0847-0866; fig 32].
Regarding Claim 7, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Kumakura teaches wherein the first heat exchanger is an outdoor heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger is an indoor heat exchanger, and the third heat exchanger is provided to allow heat exchange between the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first heat exchanger and the first expansion valve, and the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the four-way valve and the suction port of the compressor [0640-0655; 0897].
Claim(s) 2-4 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura et al. (US2020/0326102) and Fujitaka et al. (US2001/0037649) in view of Itano et al. (US2020/0216735) and Ito et al. (US2004/0172958).
Regarding Claim 2, Kumakura teaches an air conditioner comprising a refrigerant circuit in which a non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture circulates [0910; fig 34],
wherein the refrigerant circuit includes a compressor [21], a four-way valve [22], a first heat exchanger [23], a first expansion valve [45], and a second heat exchanger [31; see 0640],
the four-way valve is configured to switch between a first state in which the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flows sequentially through the compressor, the first heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, and the second heat exchanger [0642], and
a second state in which the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flows sequentially through the compressor, the second heat exchanger, the first expansion valve, and the first heat exchanger [0642],
the refrigerant circuit further includes a third heat exchanger [51] provided to allow heat exchange between the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first heat exchanger and the first expansion valve or the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger [0910],
and the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the four-way valve and a suction port of the compressor [0910],
the refrigerant circuit further includes:
a liquid pipe [6] connects the first expansion valve [45] to the second heat exchanger [31]; and an on-off valve [29] is disposed between the first expansion valve [45] and the liquid pipe [at 6; 0637-0640].
Kumakura does not teach where the liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe;
the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a three-refrigerant mixture of R32, R1234yf, and R1123, and in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture, a mass fraction of R32 is 18% by mass or more, and a mass fraction of R1234yf is lower than a mass fraction of R1123;
wherein the third heat exchanger includes: a first inlet/outlet port connected to the first expansion valve in the refrigerant circuit; a second inlet/outlet port connected to the on-off valve in the refrigerant circuit; a third inlet/outlet port connected to the four-way valve in the refrigerant circuit; a fourth inlet/outlet port connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit; a first tube, which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube, which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube.
However, Fujitaka teaches an air conditioner [0001] having where a liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe [70; 0065] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. for the obvious advantage of connecting an outdoor and indoor unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have where the liquid pipe comprises an extension pipe in view of the teachings of Fujitaka where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. for the obvious advantage of connecting an outdoor and indoor unit.
Also, Itano teaches refrigerant for an air conditioner [0001] having the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a three-refrigerant mixture of R32, R1234yf, and R1123, and in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture, a mass fraction of R32 is 18% by mass or more, and a mass fraction of R1234yf is lower than a mass fraction of R1123 [0049-0065; see also Tables 1-3] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. for the obvious advantage of providing a refrigerant having a low GWP [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture is a three-refrigerant mixture of R32, R1234yf, and R1123, and in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture, a mass fraction of R32 is 18% by mass or more, and a mass fraction of R1234yf is lower than a mass fraction of R1123 in view of the teachings of Kujak where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. for the obvious advantage of providing a refrigerant having a low GWP.
Lastly, Ito teaches a refrigerating machine [0002] having where wherein a third heat exchanger [7] includes:
a first inlet/outlet port [SCin] connected to a first expansion valve [5] in the refrigerant circuit and a second inlet/outlet port [SCout];
a third inlet/outlet port [SHin] in the refrigerant circuit and a fourth inlet/outlet port [SHout] connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit;
a first tube [7a], which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube [7b], which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube [0050; 0051; fig 3; where one skilled in the art would recognize that the internal heat exchanger of Kumakura can be modified to have the configuration shown in Ito] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides where the heat absorbing capacity of the evaporator can be enhanced [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Kumakura to have wherein the third heat exchanger includes: a first inlet/outlet port connected to the first expansion valve in the refrigerant circuit; a second inlet/outlet port connected to the on-off valve in the refrigerant circuit; a third inlet/outlet port connected to the four-way valve in the refrigerant circuit; a fourth inlet/outlet port connected to a suction port of the compressor in the refrigerant circuit; a first tube, which includes first inlet/outlet port and second inlet/outlet port; and a second tube, which includes third inlet/outlet port and fourth inlet/outlet port, wherein the first tube passes through the second tube in view of the teachings of Ito where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides where the heat absorbing capacity of the evaporator can be enhanced.
Regarding Claim 3, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Itano teaches wherein in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture, the mass fraction of R32 is higher than the mass fraction of R1234yf and is lower than the mass fraction of R1123 [0049-0065; see also Tables 1-3].
Regarding Claim 4, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 above and Itano teaches wherein in the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture, the mass fraction of R32 is 20% by mass or more, the mass fraction of R1234yf is less than 20%, and the mass fraction of R1123 is 60% by mass or more [0049-0065; see also Tables 1-3].
Regarding Claims 8, 10, 12, 14, 15 and 16, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention above and Kumakura teaches wherein the first heat exchanger is an outdoor heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger is an indoor heat exchanger, and the third heat exchanger is provided to allow heat exchange between the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger, and the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the four-way valve and the suction port of the compressor [0640-0655; 0897].
Regarding Claims 9, 11 and 13, as best understood, Kumakura, as modified, teaches the invention above and Kumakura teaches wherein the refrigerant circuit further includes a receiver tank [43] configured to store part of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the first expansion valve and the second heat exchanger [0847-0866], a second expansion valve [45; where in this embodiment valve 44 is the aforementioned first expansion valve] for reducing a pressure of the non-azeotropic refrigerant mixture flowing between the receiver tank and the second heat exchanger [0847-0866], and a refrigerant pipe conduit [50] connecting the four-way valve to the suction port, a part of the refrigerant pipe conduit is extended into the receiver tank, and the third heat exchanger includes the receiver tank and the part of the refrigerant pipe conduit extended into the receiver tank [0847-0866; fig 32].
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763