DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 8, “itself” should be changed to –a single optical fiber—and line 9, “this device” to –the device--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato, US Patent, US Patent No. 6,477,288.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches an optical line switching system comprising: an acquisition step of acquiring transmission path information indicating a configuration of a network that transmits an optical signal via a plurality of relay nodes and a transmission path of the optical signal transmitted by the network (see col. 7, line 60 to col. 8, line 22, col. 12 line 1+); and a determination step of determining arrangement of optical amplifiers in the network by grouping a plurality of optical fibers passing through the same relay node based on the transmission path information, and determining whether optical amplification is required in each of the relay nodes for each group of the optical fibers ( see Fig. 1A-1B; embodiment 1 in the specification, the above node arrangement enhances network reliability and reduces network cost by decreasing the number of system components that are required to implement the optical network protection schemes; particularly, the number of optical switches and optical amplifiers are minimized relative to the conventional system.
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches an optical line switching system comprising: an acquire configured to acquire transmission path information indicating a configuration of a network that transmits an optical signal via a plurality of relay nodes and a transmission path of the optical signal transmitted by the network (see col. 7, line 60 to col. 8, line 22, col. 12 line 1+); and a determine configured to determine arrangement of optical amplifiers in the network by grouping a plurality of optical fibers passing through the same relay node based on the transmission path information, and to determine whether optical amplification is required in each of the relay nodes for each group of the optical fibers ( see Fig. 1A-1B; embodiment 1 in the specification, the above node arrangement enhances network reliability and reduces network cost by decreasing the number of system components that are required to implement the optical network protection schemes; particularly, the number of optical switches and optical amplifiers are minimized relative to the conventional system.
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches an optical line switching system comprising: an acquire configured to acquire transmission path information indicating a configuration of a network that transmits an optical signal via a plurality of relay devices and a transmission path of the optical signal transmitted by the network (see col. 7, line 60 to col. 8, line 22, col. 12 line 1+); and a determine configured to determine arrangement of optical amplifiers in the network by grouping a plurality of optical fibers passing through this device itself or a plurality of optical fibers passing through the same relay device other than this device, based on the transmission path information, and to determine whether optical amplification is required in each of the relay devices for each group of the optical fibers ( see Fig. 1A-1B; embodiment 1 in the specification, the above node arrangement enhances network reliability and reduces network cost by decreasing the number of system components that are required to implement the optical network protection schemes; particularly, the number of optical switches and optical amplifiers are minimized relative to the conventional system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applicant teaches an optical amplifier arrangement method which includes setting up a transmission path information indicating a configuration of a network that transmits an optical signal via a plurality of relay nodes and a transmission path of the optical signal transmitted by the network, positioning optical amplifiers in the network by grouping a plurality of optical fibers passing through the same relay node based on the transmission path information, wherein when the number of optical fibers grouped in the relay node is M and the number of optical amplifiers per relay node of each group is N, transmission of the optical signal is simulated for possible patterns made by combinations of M and N values to determine the arrangement of the optical amplifiers. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claims were not shown by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uehara, US Pub. 2001/0038482, disclose an optical transmission system having an optical surge suppression function.
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876