DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “emitter layer” must be shown in figure 2 or the feature(s) canceled from claim 24. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “oxidising liquid” and “parameterisation devices”. Specification should read “oxidizing liquid” and “parameterization devices”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 23, 25, 26, 37, 40, 41, and 42 objected to because of the following informalities: “oxidising liquid”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim should read “oxidizing liquid”.
Claim 24 line 2 and claim 38 line 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: “doped emitter layer”. Term is inconsistent from other claims “emitter layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 24 lines 2-5 should be amended to read:
“…wherein a doped emitter layer and a silicate glass layer covering the doped emitter layer are disposed on a surface of the silicon substrate, the method in process step (i) comprising: removing at least a partial area of the doped emitter layer as well as…”
Claim 38 lines 2-6 should be amended to read:
“… on the surface of which the doped emitter layer and the silicate glass layer covering the doped emitter layer are disposed, wherein the etching assembly is configured with at least one etching liquid bath for receiving at least one etching liquid, by means of which at least a partial area of the doped emitter layer on the solar cell substrate..”.
Claim 37 line 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “went bench”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim should read “wet bench”.
Claims 39, 40, and 43-44 are objected to because of the following informalities: “parameterisation devices”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim should read “parameterization devices”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “at least on a partial surface ” in claim 23 and its dependent claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “at least on a partial surface” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instant case, “at least on a partial surface of the solar cell substrate” is indefinite because they recite the limitations “at least on a partial surface”. The term “at least on a partial” can mean partially or completely; therefore, it is unclear what the applicants means, and it does not appear that the phrase “at least partially” can be interpreted as “entirely.”
Claims 24-44 depend on claim 23, and therefore, claims 24-44 are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-26, 28, 31-33, 37, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsugeno et al. (JP 2016032073 A).
Regarding claim 23, Tsugeno teaches a method of processing a plurality of solar cell substrates (¶0013, process for manufacturing photovoltaic cell), each solar cell substrate (¶0014, fig 1: 11) comprising a silicon wafer (¶0014, fig 1: 11a p-type silicon substrate) (fig 1: 11 comprising 11a), the method comprising at least the following process steps:
(i) removing at least a partial area of a near-surface layer (fig 1: bottom of 11) of the silicon wafer (fig 1: bottom of 11a closest to the surface) by means of an etching process (¶0017, wet etching) by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate with an etching liquid (¶0019, HF acid) (¶0019, fig 7: step s30, removal of bottom of 11a by wet etching with HF acid) , and
(ii) producing a silicon oxide thin film (¶0023, fig 1: 21 silicon oxide film) at least on a partial surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 1: 11) by treating the partial surface with an oxidising liquid (¶0023 oxidizing chemical solution) (¶0023, fig 7: step s30, producing 21 on 11 by treating with oxidizing chemical solution),
the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) being subjected to process steps (i) and (ii) sequentially, one after the other within a single processing apparatus (¶0033, fig 8: solar cell manufacturing apparatus) (wet etching and wet oxidation are done sequentially in solar cell manufacturing apparatus),
wherein the partial surface of the solar cell substrate (¶0011 fig 1: 11a) is treated for a process time.
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach the solar cell substrate is treated for a process time between 1 s and 300 s.
Tsugeno does teach that the solar cell substrate is treated for a process time of 450 seconds (¶0020, 11a is treated for 450 seconds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the processing time of the oxidation assembly to result in the desired thickness of the silicon oxide film. A prima facia case of obviousness exists where the claimed amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 783, (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the range of Tsuengo to be to 1s to 300s in order to achieve a thinner oxidation layer as the instant application
Regarding claim 24, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein a doped emitter layer and a silicate glass layer (fig 4: 31) covering the emitter layer (fig 4:11b) are disposed on a surface of the silicon substrate (fig 4:11) (31 covers 11b and disposed on 11),
the method in process step (i) (¶0021, s10/s20 wet etching) comprising:
removing at least a partial area of the emitter layer (fig 4:11b) as well as a partial area of the silicate glass layer covering (¶0017 fig 4: 31) this partial area by means of the etching process (¶0019 wet etching) by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 5: 11) with an etching liquid (¶0017, liquid used in wet etching) (¶0019, fig 4: 31 covers 11b, 31 formed on 11a including 11b is removed by wet etching).
Regarding claim 25, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) are moved one after the other by means of a common conveyor device (¶0034, carrier) of the processing apparatus (fig. 8), first through an etching liquid bath (101) containing the etching liquid (¶0022, HF acid) and then through an oxidation liquid bath (103) containing the oxidising liquid (¶0025, oxidizing chemical solution) (11 are moved by a carrier through 101 containing HF acid and then through 103 containing an oxidizing chemical solution).
Regarding claim 26, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein during process steps (i) and (ii) the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) are moved first through the etching liquid and then through the oxidising liquid (¶0025, oxidizing chemical solution) (11 are moved by carrier through HF and oxidizing chemical solution).
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach the solar substrates are moved at a uniform speed during the process.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the carrier to transport the substrates at a uniform speed to avoid unnecessary jarring/vibration which could damage the wafers/substrates
Regarding claim 27, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) remain wetted with liquid at least in some areas during a transfer from process step (i) (¶0021, s10/s20 wet etching) to process step (ii) (¶0023, s30/s40 oxide film formation) (¶0021-¶0023, the solution containing HF remains on the surface of the 11a between s10 and s40).
Regarding claim 28, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein in process step (ii) (¶0023, s30/s40 oxide film formation) the silicon oxide thin film (¶0023 fig 1: 21) is produced on the partial surface of the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) (fig 1: 21 is produced on 11) by treating the partial surface with an ozone-containing solution (¶0023, ozone water).
Regarding claim 29, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 28,
wherein the ozone-containing solution (¶0023, ozone water) has an ozone concentration of between 0.1 ppm and 70 ppm (¶0025, ozone water concentration should be 0.1 mg/L or more, 0.1 mg/L is equivalent to 0.1 ppm), preferably between 1 ppm and 40 ppm, and more preferably between 25 ppm and 40 ppm (examiners note : terms after “preferably” are not given patentable weight due to being optional).
Regarding claim 31, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 28,
wherein the ozone-containing solution (¶0023, ozone oxidizing solution is ozone water or hydrogen peroxide) is adjusted to a pH value of less than 6 (Tsugeno teaches the ozone-containing solution comprises hydrogen peroxide (¶0023); hydrogen peroxide has a pH less than 6, and therefore the solution of Tsuengo meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a pH value less than 6”), preferably to a pH value of between 3 and 4, by adding an acid, preferably by adding hydrochloric acid, (examiners note: terms after “preferably” are not given patentable weight due to being optional).
Regarding claim 32, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein the partial surface of the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) is treated for a process time.
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach the treatment process time is between 50 seconds and 180 seconds.
Tsugeno does teach the solar substrate is treated for a process time of 30 seconds or more. (¶0025, 11 is treated for 30 seconds or more). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the amount of time the wet etching to control the thickness of the substrate layers. In this instant case, the longer the substrate is treated with oxidizing liquid the thicker the oxidation layer.
Regarding claim 33, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein in process step (ii) (¶0023, s30/s40 oxide film formation), the silicon oxide thin film (¶0023 fig 1: 21 silicon oxide film) is produced on the partial surface of the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) in a sequential manner (fig 1: 21 is formed on 11, in a sequential manner from tank fig 8: 103 to 104) by treating the partial surface with a first ozone-containing solution (¶0023, ozone water) contained in a first bath (¶0033, fig 8: 103) and then treating the partial surface with a second solution contained in a second bath (¶0033, fig 8: 104; second bath containing water used to rinse the oxidized substrates, and therefore implicitly includes residual ozone, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “ozone-containing solution”).
Regarding claim 36, Tsugeno teaches a wet bench for processing solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11), the wet bench (fig 8) being configured to carry out or control the method according to claim 23 (¶0032, embodiment can be performed using solar cell manufacturing apparatus shown in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 37, Tsugeno teaches the went bench (fig 8) according to claim 36, further comprising:
an etching assembly (Fig 8: 101 and 102) having at least one etching liquid bath (Fig 8: 101 etching tank) for receiving at least one etching liquid (¶0019, HF acid), by means of which at least a partial area of a near-surface layer of a silicon wafer (¶0014, fig 1: 11a silicon) is to be removed by means of an etching process by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 1: 11) with an etching liquid in an etching process (¶0015, 101 includes HF for removing part of 11a by means of wet etching to 11), and
an oxidation assembly (¶0033, fig 8: 103 and 104) having at least one oxidation liquid bath (fig 8: 103 oxidation treatment tank) for receiving at least one oxidising liquid (¶0023, ozone water), by means of which a silicon oxide thin film (fig 1: 21 silicon oxide film) is to be produced at least on a partial surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 1: 11) by treating the partial surface with the oxidising liquid in an oxidation process (103 contains an ozone water for forming silicon oxide on 11), and
a conveyor device (¶0034 carrier) for moving the silicon substrates one after the other first through the etching assembly (Fig 8: 101 and 102) (fig 8: 101/102) and then through the oxidation assembly (fig 8:103/104) (apparatus sequentially immerses 11 housed in a carrier from 101 to 104),
wherein the oxidation assembly (fig 8: 103/104) is configured for treating the partial surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 1: 11) for a process time.
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach a process time between 1 s and 300 s.
Tsugeno teaches a process time of 30 seconds (Tsugeno ¶0025, 11a is treated for 30 seconds or more).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the processing time of the oxidation assembly to result in the desired thickness of the silicon oxide film. For this instant application, the longer the oxidation process the thicker the silicon oxide film.
Regarding claim 38, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according to claim 37,
wherein the solar cell substrate (Tsugeno fig 4: 11) comprises a silicon wafer (Tsugeno fig 4: 11a silicon substrate), on the surface of which the doped emitter layer (Tsugeno fig 4:11b) (11 comprises 11a, on the surface of 11b) and the silicate glass layer ( ref2 fig 4:31) covering the emitter layer are disposed (Tsugeno fig 4: 31 covering 11b are disposed),
wherein the etching assembly (Tsugeno fig 8: 101 and 102) is configured with at least one etching liquid bath (Tsugeno 101 etching treatment tank) for receiving at least one etching liquid (Tsugeno HF), by means of which at least a partial area of the emitter layer (fig 4 :11b) on the solar cell substrate (Tsugeno fig 4: 11) and/or a partial area of the silicate glass layer (Tsugeno fig 4: 31) covering this partial area is to be removed (Tsugeno 101 contains HF for removing 31) by means of the etching process by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (Tsugeno fig 1: 11) with the etching liquid in an etching process (Tsugeno 31 covering 11 is removed by wet etching) .
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsugeno as applied to claim 23-33 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pg Pub US 20180240917 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 28, wherein the ozone-containing solution (¶0023, ozone water) has a temperature of between 0°C and 60°C, preferably between 20°C and 50°C and more preferably between 300 and 45°C (examiners note: terms after “preferably” are not given patentable weight due to being optional).
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach the ozone-containing solution has a temperature between 0°C and 60°C.
Kim teaches a solar cell silicon substrate (¶0062) is naturally oxidized at 60 degrees Celsius. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to keep the ozone-containing solution below 60°C to control the thickness of the silicon oxide layer because silicon substrate naturally oxidizes at 60°C (¶0062).
Claim(s) 34, 35,and 39-44, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsugeno as applied to claim 23-33 above, and further in view of Reinhardt (Pg Pub US 20110079250 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 23,
wherein in process step (i) (¶0018, s10/s20 wet etching) the etching process is configured as a two-stage process with a first process stage (¶0018, fig. 7: s10) and a second process stage (¶0018, fig 7: s20),
wherein in the first process stage (¶0018, s10) the partial area of the silicate glass layer (¶0019 fig 4: 31) is removed by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (¶0019 fig 4: 11) with an etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid (¶0033), and
wherein in the second process stage the partial area of the emitter layer (fig 5:11b) is removed by treating the surface of the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) with an etching liquid (¶0033, HF and pure water solution).
Tsugeno does not teach the second etching liquid contains a base. Reinhardt teaches the first etching with HF acid and a second etching liquid, potassium hydroxide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second etching liquid to be a strong base such as potassium hydroxide to remove porous silicon of the emitter layer (Reinhardt ¶0027).
Regarding claim 35, Tsugeno teaches the method according to claim 34,
wherein after the second process stage (¶0021, s20) and before the silicon oxide thin film is produced (¶0023, s30),
Tsugeno does not teach removing metal ions by treating the surface of the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11) with a further etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid.
Reinhardt teaches a process where after HF etching (¶0029 fig 3: 332) and before the oxidizing formation (¶0029 fig 3: 352) the solar cell substrates (fig 1: 11)(¶0029 mono- and multi-crystalline silicon) are further etched with hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid (¶0029 fig 3: 342) to remove metal ions (Reinhardt ¶0005, fig 3: after 332 and before 352, mono- and multi-crystalline silicon are etched with HF and HCl). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the process of Tsugeno in view of … with an additional etching with hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid to remove meatal ions to facilitate removal of the mobile ions, metallic contamination, and to strip the chemical oxide (Reinhardt ¶0005).
Regarding claim 39, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according to claim 37, wherein the etching assembly (Fig 8: 101 and 102) comprises at least one etching liquid bath (fig 8: 101) configured to receive an etching liquid (¶0033 HF) containing hydrofluoric acid (101 contains HF), and
Tsugeno does not teach wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterisation devices configured to adjust process parameters relating to the etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid in the etching liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the etching process.
Reinhardt teaches a wet bench comprising a HF bath (¶0029, fig 3:332), where the wet bench (¶0029, fig 3: 300 apparatus with baths) includes means to monitor and adjust the chemical concentrations in the baths (¶0029 and means to monitor and adjustment are parameterization tools).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that appropriate concentrations and ratios of chemicals, as well as the time and temperature of the baths must be selected to achieve the desired surface conditioning result for the particular application in which the silicon or other materials are to be employed (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Regarding claim 40, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according to claim 37,
wherein the oxidation assembly (Fig 8: 103 and 104) comprises at least one oxidation liquid bath (Fig 8: 103) configured to receive the oxidising liquid (¶0023, ozone water).
Tsugeno does not teach wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterisation devices configured to adjust process parameters relating to the oxidising liquid in the oxidation liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the oxidation process.
Reinhardt teaches a wet bench comprising an oxidizing bath (¶0029, fig 3:352), where the wet bench (¶0029, fig 3: 300 apparatus with baths) includes means to monitor and adjust the chemical concentrations in the baths (Reinhardt ¶0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that appropriate concentrations and ratios of chemicals, as well as the time and temperature of the baths must be selected to achieve the desired surface conditioning result for the particular application in which the silicon or other materials are to be employed (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Regarding claim 41, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according to claim 40, teaches the wet bench (Fig 8) comprising an oxidizing bath (¶0033, fig 8:102).
Tsugeno does not explicitly teach an ozone generator configured to enrich the oxidizing liquid with ozone.
Reinhardt teaches wherein the wet bench (fig 3: 300) further includes an ozone generator (¶0029, fig 3: 352 ozone bath and its components), configured to enrich the oxidising liquid (¶0023, ozone water) with ozone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to assume if an ozone containing solution is present in a bath the wet bench includes a means to monitor and adjust the chemical concentrations in the baths (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Regarding claim 42, Tsugeno in view of Reinhardt teaches the wet bench according to claim 40,
wherein the oxidation assembly (Tsugeno fig 8: 103 and 104) comprises at least two oxidation liquid baths (Tsugeno fig 8: two baths, bath 103 and bath 104) each configured to receive an oxidising liquid (Tsugeno ¶0033, bath 103 contains ozone water and bath 104 contains liquid), and
Tsugeno does not teach wherein the wet bench further comprises, for each of the oxidation liquid baths, parameterization devices configured to adjust process parameters relating to the oxidising liquid in the respective oxidation liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the oxidation process.
Reinhardt teaches a wet bench (¶0029, fig 3: 300 apparatus with baths) with multiple liquid baths, parameterization devices (¶0029, includes means to monitor and adjust) configured to adjust the process parameters relating to the oxidizing liquid (¶0029, fig 3: 352) in the respective oxidation liquid baths within predetermined ranges during the oxidation process (¶0029 includes means to monitor and adjust the chemical concentrations in the 352).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that appropriate concentrations and ratios of chemicals, as well as the time and temperature of the baths must be selected to achieve the desired surface conditioning result for the particular application in which the silicon or other materials are to be employed (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Regarding claim 43, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according claim 38,
wherein the etching assembly (Fig 8: 101 and 102) further comprises an additional etching liquid bath (Fig 8: 101) by means of which at least a partial area of the emitter layer (fig 4: 11b) on the solar cell substrate (fig 4:11) is to be removed in the etching process by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 4: 11) with an etching liquid (¶0019, 11b on 11 is removed by wet etching with a solution).
Tsugeno does not teach a second etching bath configured to receive a basic etching liquid, the etching liquid (KOH) containing potassium hydroxide, and wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterisation devices configured to adjust process parameters relating to the etching liquid containing potassium hydroxide in the additional etching liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the etching process.
Reinhardt teaches a wet bench (fig 3:300 ) with a second etching bath (¶0029, fig 3:335) configured to receive potassium hydroxide (¶0029 fig 3: 335 KOH), and wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterisation devices (¶0029 means to monitor and adjust) configured to adjust process parameters relating to the etching liquid containing potassium hydroxide in the additional etching liquid bath (¶0029, fig 3: 335 contains KOH) within predetermined ranges during the etching process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second etching bath with basic potassium hydroxide to remove the treated HF silicon layer. A KOH bath is used subsequently to remove the porous silicon (HF etched silicon) that remains on the surface (Reinhardt ¶0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that appropriate concentrations and ratios of chemicals, as well as the time and temperature of the baths must be selected to achieve the desired surface conditioning result for the particular application in which the silicon or other materials are to be employed (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Regarding claim 44, Tsugeno teaches the wet bench according to claim 37,
wherein the etching assembly (Fig 8: 101 and 102) (further comprises an etching liquid bath configured to receive an etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid by means of which a previously unremoved further partial area of the silicate glass layer is to be removed in the etching process by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate (fig 1: 11) in the etching process
Tsugeno does not teach an additional etching liquid bath, and wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterisation devices configured to adjust process parameters relating to the etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid in the additional etching liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the etching process.
Reinhardt teaches a wet bench with an additional etching bath configured with HF acid (¶0029 fig 3: 342 contains HF/HCL) and wherein the wet bench further comprises parameterization devices (¶0029 fig 3: conventional means to monitor and adjust) configured to adjust process parameters relating to the etching liquid containing hydrofluoric acid and hydrochloric acid (¶0029, fig 3: 342 contains HF/HCL) in the additional etching liquid bath within predetermined ranges during the etching process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to repeat the HF etch of Tsugeno with the additional bath of Reinhardt to remove the phosphorous silicone glass layer by wet etching to improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell (Tsugeno).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that appropriate concentrations and ratios of chemicals, as well as the time and temperature of the baths must be selected to achieve the desired surface conditioning result for the particular application in which the silicon or other materials are to be employed (Reinhardt ¶0029).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Ogino et al. (Pg Pub US20150372184 A1).
A method of processing a plurality of solar cell substrates (¶0008), each solar cell substrate comprising a silicon wafer (¶0035, fig 1: 1), the method comprising at least the following process steps:
(i) removing at least a partial area of a near-surface layer of the silicon wafer by means of an etching process by treating the surface of the solar cell substrate with an etching liquid (¶0030), and
Ogino fails to teach (ii) producing a silicon oxide thin film at least on a partial surface of the solar cell substrate by treating the partial surface with an oxidising liquid, the solar cell substrates being subjected to process steps (i) and (ii) sequentially, one after the other within a single processing apparatus.
/LYTESHIA M PRICE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818