DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on June 12, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1-9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, 21-24, and 27 are cancelled; claim 10 is amended; claim 29 is new; resulting in claims 10, 12, 15, 17, 18, 20, 25, 26, 28, and 29 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 15, 18, 20, 25, 26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alter et al. (EP 3279055, machine translation previously provided) in view of Bieder (WO 2013/020627, machine translation previously provided).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 15, 18, 20, and 26, Alter et al. teaches a sandwich panel (10; interior surface arrangement, decorative structure) with a heating function for a vehicle, comprising an upper cover layer (12; outer decorative layer), a foam core (14; first haptic layer), and a lower cover layer (16; carrier layer), wherein an electrical heating layer (20; planar heating element) is provided between the upper cover layer and the foam core ([0001], [0051], see Fig. 1 reproduced below).
The heating layer (20) is integrally connected to the upper cover layer (12) via an adhesive film (15) and, if necessary, to the upper side of the foam core (14) via a further adhesive film (15), and the underside of the foam core is also attached to the lower cover layer (16) via an adhesive film (15) [0051]. Alter et al. teaches that the lower cover layer (16; carrier layer) comprises a phenol resin-glass fiber laminate (fiber-reinforced polymer) [0051].
Alter et al. differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach that a second haptic layer is arranged between and adhesively bonded to the upper cover layer (12; outer decorative layer) and the heating layer (20; planar heating element).
However, in the analogous art of interior trim parts for motor vehicles, Bieder teaches an interior trim component comprising a decorative material (5; outer decorative layer), a substrate (9; second haptic layer), a thermoplastic layer (10), a heating textile (4), an upper cover layer (3), a honeycomb core (1), and a lower cover layer (2) ([0052]-[0054], Fig. 1). Bieder teaches that the decorative material (5) provides the visible surface of the component and can include a textile such as a polyester fleece, while the substrate (9) can be arranged on a rear surface of the decorative material in order to conceal defects and to adapt the surface in order to meet the haptic requirements, e.g., to form a smooth surface [0053]. Bieder teaches that suitable materials for the substrate include a foam material, a nonwoven fabric, or a spacer fabric ([0017], [0053]). Bieder further teaches that an intermediate bonding layer may be provided to improve the adhesion of the decorative material (5) to the substrate (9), and that a thermoplastic layer (10) may be provided to ensure the bonding of the heating textile (4) to the substrate (9) by melting or fusing ([0051], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sandwich panel taught by Alter et al. by including a second haptic layer comprising a foam, a nonwoven fabric, or a spacer fabric arranged between and adhesively bonded to the upper cover layer (12) and the heating layer (20), as suggested by Bieder, in order to conceal defects to meet the haptic requirements for the component surface, e.g., to provide a smooth surface, and to ensure the necessary interlayer adhesion between the adjacent layers.
Regarding claims 25 and 28, Alter et al. in view of Bieder teaches all of the limitations of claims 10 and 26 above, and Alter et al. further teaches that the heating layer is made up of a flat fiber network made up of a large number of electrically conductive fibers (heating wires) ([0017]-[0021]), wherein the conductive fibers are leveled out in that they are flat.
Regarding claim 29, Alter et al. in view of Bieder teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 above. As noted above with respect to claim 10, The heating layer (20; planar heating element) is integrally connected to the upper cover layer (12; outer decorative layer) via an adhesive film (15) and, if necessary, to the upper side of the foam core (14; first haptic layer) via a further adhesive film (15), and the underside of the foam core is also attached to the lower cover layer (16; carrier layer) via an adhesive film (15) ([0051], Fig. 1), and Bieder further teaches that an intermediate bonding layer (adhesive) may be provided to improve the adhesion of the decorative material (5; outer decorative layer) to the substrate (9; second haptic layer), and that a thermoplastic layer (10; adhesive) may be provided to ensure the bonding of the heating textile (4; planar heating element) to the substrate (9) by melting or fusing ([0051], [0054]). The adhesive film and meltable thermoplastic layer which are each provided to ensure bonding of the adjacent layers therefore correspond to the claimed adhesives which adhesively bond the first and second haptic layers to the planar heating element and to the carrier layer and outer decorative layer, respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alter et al. (EP 3279055, machine translation previously provided) in view of Bieder (WO 2013/020627, machine translation previously provided) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Aichner et al. (US 6,231,940, previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, Alter et al. in view of Bieder teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 above. Although Bieder teaches that the substrate (9; second haptic layer) can be a spacer fabric which is arranged behind the decorative material (5) to conceal defects and to adapt the surface to meet haptic requirements ([0053]), the combination of references does not expressly teach that the spacer fabric has the form of a knitted spacer fabric.
However, in the analogous art of interior trim parts for motor vehicles, Aichner et al. teaches an interior fixture or fitting part (1) comprising a rigid molded support part (2), a layer of a knitted textile spacer fabric (3) provided on the surface of the support part, and a layer of natural leather (4) which forms the decorative layer located on the surface of the spacer fabric (col 6, Ln 6-22; Figs. 1-3). Aichner et al. teaches that the knitted spacer fabric is used to achieve the desired haptic quality and requisite adhesion by absorbing pressure and tensile loads, thus preventing the decorative leather from peeling away (col 3, Ln 47-56; col 5, Ln 43-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface arrangement of Alter et al. in view of Bieder by selecting a knitted spacer fabric as the spacer fabric of the substrate arranged behind the outer decorative layer, as suggested by Aichner et al., in order to impart the desired haptic qualities to the trim part and to improve the adhesion and dimensional stability thereof.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
In light of the amendments to claims 10 and 26, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on Bieder and based on Kozlowski et al. are withdrawn, as Bieder does not teach or suggest the first haptic layer comprising a foam layer, and Kozlowski et al. does not teach or suggest the carrier layer comprising a fiber-reinforced polymer.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-11 of the remarks filed June 12, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Alter does not qualify as analogous art and therefore cannot form the basis of an obviousness rejection.
This argument is not persuasive. As acknowledged by the Applicant, the claimed invention is directed to an interior surface arrangement for a motor vehicle (see preamble in claims 10 and 26). Neither the claims nor the instant specification disclose a specific form or structure of the interior surface arrangement, e.g., that the product is usable as a specific component within a motor vehicle such as a component forming a part of a door of the motor vehicle, a part of the center console, dashboard, steering wheel, seat, flooring, carpeting, headliner, or the like. Therefore, the present invention is merely directed to a generic laminate having an outer decorative layer, a planar heating element, a carrier layer, and a pair of haptic layers, where the laminate can have any form that is capable of use as a surface material in an interior of a motor vehicle.
The Applicant cites paragraph [0001] of Alter et al., which states that the invention generally relates to a sandwich panel with heating function for a vehicle, in particular for a rail vehicle, where the sandwich panel is intended to be used in particular as a structural component – i.e., for force absorption, with weight-bearing properties – in vehicle construction. The sandwich panel having a heating function as taught by Alter et al. therefore is encompassed by the generically claimed “interior surface arrangement for a motor vehicle”, as there is nothing in the claim that precludes a structural sandwich panel from also being a decorative surface panel. Moreover, it is noted that Alter et al. also specifically states that the term “vehicles” refers in particular to rail vehicles, but that road vehicles or aircraft may also be considered [0001]. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the field of automotive interior decorative trim would not look to structural floor panel engineering of rail and aircraft vehicles is not persuasive, as the invention disclosed by Alter et al. is expressly recognized as belonging to the field of road vehicles (i.e., motor vehicles) rather than being confined to only rail vehicles and aircraft. Alter et al. is thus analogous to the claimed invention at least in that it is from the same field of endeavor (e.g., heated interior laminate panels for motor vehicles) as the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA L GRUSBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785