DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed August 03, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Claim 14 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh"), and further in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding Claim 1, Han teaches a display device (display 100, Figs. 1 and 6) for directly transmitting and receiving audio signals to and from a plurality of audio signal receiving devices by wireless communication without causing the audio signals to pass through a relay device (display 100 and external audio devices 500 mutually wirelessly transmit and receive signals, Para. [0034]; external audio devices 500 receive different audio signals from display 100, Para. [0035]; external device interface 130 of display 100 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]; see also Para. [0056]), comprising:
a wireless communication unit (external device interface 135, Fig. 2, Para. [0056]);
a display (display 180, Figs. 2 and 7, Para. [0038]); and
a controller configured to control the wireless communication unit and the display (controller 170 may control the overall operation of the image display apparatus 100, Fig. 2, Para. [0084]), wherein
the wireless communication unit is configured to transmit a plurality of types of audio signals by broadcast wireless communication (each of the external audio devices 501 and 502 may receive the same audio signal from the image display apparatus 100 or may receive different audio signals from the image display apparatus 100, Para. [0035]),
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a list of the audio signal receiving devices which are connected to the display device (user may select a device to be used for outputting audio from among the plurality of external audio devices 500 from list 731, Fig. 7C; Para. [0185]; see also Fig. 7B for list 720, Para. [0184]).
Han fails to explicitly teach the plurality of types of audio signals is provided with incidental information indicating at least types of the audio signals, respectively,
set a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively, and
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively.
However, Inohara teaches the plurality of types of audio signals is provided with incidental information indicating at least types of the audio signals, respectively (transmission control portion 153 generates channel mapping information which indicates audio signal type for the plurality of audio signal types and transmits the channel mapping information to audio receivers 20, Figs. 11 and 14, Paras. [0123], [0249] and [0250]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han) to include the incidental information indicating audio signal type (as taught by Inohara). Doing so audio signal can be provided independently of each other in the audio signal receiver thereby preventing control performed in one unit from affecting the listening environment of the other (Inohara, Para. [0330]).
However, Oh teaches set a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (If a command for selecting a specific audio output item 733 from the plurality of audio output items 731 to 737 is received, the control unit 170 can display an audio output device list 810, Fig. 8A, Para. [0091]; an audio output device corresponding to the fourth external input item 717 is changed to a Bluetooth headset item 1100, the control unit 170 can transmit the audio of an image 910 received from the mobile terminal 503 to the Bluetooth headset 505. Accordingly, a speaker provided in the display device 100 can output an audio corresponding to the first external input item 711 and the Bluetooth headset 505 can output an audio corresponding to the fourth external input item 717, Fig. 11B, Para. [0113]; i.e. audio output of audio receiving devices can be prioritized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara) to include the prioritizing of audio signals to be output by the audio receiving devices (as taught by Oh). Doing so, an audio for a user's preference can be provided (Oh Para. [0116]).
However, Yang teaches the controller is further configured to control the display to display a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (an image display device displaying a state of charge of a plurality of wirelessly connected 3-D goggle devices, Fig. 11, Paras. [0117] - [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara, and further in view of Oh) to include the display of the state of charge of battery of the audio signal receiving devices (as taught by Yang). Doing so, power of connected devices can be effectively monitored, enabling user to route audio outputs to connected device more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 6, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising a built-in speaker (Han, built-in-speaker 185, Figs. 2, Para. [0038]; see also Fig. 7A showing internal TV speaker), wherein
the controller is further configured to control the built-in speaker (Han, controller 170 may control the overall operation of the image display apparatus 100, Fig. 2, Para. [0084]),
the wireless communication unit is further configured to interactively communicate with at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Han, external device interface 130 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]), and receive an audio signal wirelessly transmitted by broadcasting from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Oh, wireless communication unit 173 receives audio of audio signal receiving device [mobile terminal 503 (i.e. the fourth external input item 717)], Figs. 10 and 11B, Paras. [0086] and [0111]),
and the controller is further configured to output the audio signal as received through the built-in speaker (Oh, audio signal received is output through a speaker of display 100, Figs. 10 and 11B, Para. [0111]) and also displays a status indicating that the audio signal wirelessly transmitted from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices is being played on the display (Oh, Fig. 10 shows the status of the audio received from the mobile device is played by TV speaker).
Regarding Claim 8, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising an operation member for inputting an operation to the display (Han, remote control 200, Fig. 1A, Para. [0031]), wherein
the wireless communication unit is further configured to interactively communicate with at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Han, external device interface 130 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]), and
the controller is further configured to display a setting window for setting a type of an audio signal to be played by the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices on the display (Han, a user may cause the image display device 100 to execute a setting function 710 for determining a device to output audio, Fig. 7A, Para. [0183]), and
upon accepting input information entered in accordance with the setting window from the operation member, the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the input information to the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Han, in order to listen to the surround sound through the plurality of external audio devices 500, the user may select an item 725 corresponding to the external audio device 500 and a speaker of the image display apparatus 100 from among the items in a list 720 for devices that output audio, using the pointer 205 corresponding to the remote control device 200, Figs. 7A, 7B, Paras. [0183] and [0184]).
Regarding Claim 10, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach wherein
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a plurality of programs side by side within a screen of the display (Oh, programs 701 and 903 can be seen to be displayed side by side, Figs. 11A, 11B. Para. [0111]), and
the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit audio signals of the plurality of programs by broadcast wireless communication, respectively (Oh, audio signals from the plurality of programs can be broadcast wirelessly to the selected audio receiving devices, Figs. 11B, Para. [0113]; see also Paras. [0114] - [0116]).
Regarding Claim 12, Han teaches a display device coordination system (display system 10, Figs. 1 and 6, Para. [0027]) comprising:
a display device (display 100, Figs. 1 and 6); and
a plurality of audio signal receiving devices (audio receiving devices 500, Figs. 1 and 6, Para. [0036]),
the display device configured to be connected to the audio signal receiving devices by wireless communication (display 100 and external audio devices 500 mutually wirelessly transmit and receive signals, Para. [0034]), wherein the display device includes:
a first wireless communication unit configured to directly transmit an audio signal to the audio signal receiving devices without causing the audio signal to pass through a relay device (external device interface 135, Fig. 2, Para. [0056]);
a display (display 180, Figs. 2 and 7, Para. [0038]); and
a controller configured to control the first wireless communication unit and the display (controller 170 may control the overall operation of the image display apparatus 100, Fig. 2, Para. [0084]),
each of the audio signal receiving devices includes:
a second wireless communication unit configured to directly receive the audio signal from the display device without causing the audio signal to pass through a relay device (display 100 and external audio devices 500 mutually wirelessly transmit and receive signals, Para. [0034]; external audio devices 500 receive different audio signals from display 100, Para. [0035]; external device interface 130 of display 100 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]; see also Para. [0052]), and
an audio playback unit configured to play the audio received by the second wireless communication unit (the external audio device 500 may output audio based on an audio signal received from the image display apparatus 100, Figs. 1 and 6, Para. [0035]),
the first wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit a plurality of types of audio signals by broadcast wireless communication (each of the external audio devices 501 and 502 may receive the same audio signal from the image display apparatus 100 or may receive different audio signals from the image display apparatus 100, Para. [0035]),
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a list of the audio signal receiving devices which are connected to the display device (user may select a device to be used for outputting audio from among the plurality of external audio devices 500 from list 731, Fig. 7C; Para. [0185]; see also Fig. 7B for list 720, Para. [0184]).
Han fails to explicitly teach the plurality of types of audio signals includes incidental information indicating names of transmission devices that have transmitted the audio signals and types of the audio signals, respectively,
set a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively,
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively, and
the audio playback unit is configured to play an audio signal of a preset type among the plurality of types of audio signals received by the second wireless communication unit, respectively.
However, Inohara teaches the plurality of types of audio signals includes incidental information indicating names of transmission devices that have transmitted the audio signals and types of the audio signals, respectively (transmission control portion 153 generates channel mapping information which indicates audio signal type for the plurality of audio signal types and transmits the channel mapping information to audio receivers 20, Figs. 11 and 14, Paras. [0123], [0249] and [0250]),
the audio playback unit is configured to play an audio signal of a preset type among the plurality of types of audio signals received by the second wireless communication unit, respectively (audio playback unit 255 plays an audio signal of a preset type from multiple audio signal types based on the channel mapping and the source type information, Fig. 16, Paras. [0279]-[0282]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han) to include the incidental information indicating audio signal type and to playback a preset audio type (as taught by Inohara). Doing so audio signal can be provided independently of each other in the audio signal receiver thereby preventing control performed in one unit from affecting the listening environment of the other (Inohara, Para. [0330]).
However, Oh teaches set a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (If a command for selecting a specific audio output item 733 from the plurality of audio output items 731 to 737 is received, the control unit 170 can display an audio output device list 810, Fig. 8A, Para. [0091]; an audio output device corresponding to the fourth external input item 717 is changed to a Bluetooth headset item 1100, the control unit 170 can transmit the audio of an image 910 received from the mobile terminal 503 to the Bluetooth headset 505. Accordingly, a speaker provided in the display device 100 can output an audio corresponding to the first external input item 711 and the Bluetooth headset 505 can output an audio corresponding to the fourth external input item 717, Fig. 11B, Para. [0113]; i.e. audio output of audio receiving devices can be prioritized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara) to include the prioritizing of audio signals to be output by the audio receiving devices (as taught by Oh). Doing so, an audio for a user's preference can be provided (Oh Para. [0116]).
However, Yang teaches the controller is further configured to control the display to display a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (an image display device displaying a state of charge of a plurality of wirelessly connected 3-D goggle devices, Fig. 11, Paras. [0117] - [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara, and further in view of Oh) to include the display of the state of charge of battery of the audio signal receiving devices (as taught by Yang). Doing so, power of connected devices can be effectively monitored, enabling user to route audio outputs to connected device more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 14, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising a memory configured to store a connection history which includes names of the audio signal receiving devices previously connected to the display device (Oh, storage unit 140 stores data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the control unit 170, Para. [0034] (i.e. it can store a connection history); control unit 170 can display audio output device list 810 which include audio output devices currently connected and previously connected [connection history] to display device 100, Para. [0091]; Fig. 10 shows the names of the audio signal receiving devices previously connected to the display device 100), wherein the controller is further configured to set a device setting for the audio signal receiving devices included in the connection history, respectively (Oh, selecting sound bar item 811 included in list 810, the control unit 170 can immediately set an audio output device 500 as the sound bar, Para. [0092]).
4. Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0201452 A1, hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding Claim 2, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach wherein
the incidental information is information relating to a type of language included in a multilingual broadcast signal, channel name information of each of a plurality of broadcast programs when the plurality of broadcast programs is simultaneously displayed, or information indicating an audio playback position when a 3D sound source is used.
However, Lee teaches wherein
the incidental information is information relating to a type of language included in a multilingual broadcast signal (for a multi-language stream audio data information indicating a type of language is included in a metadata of a multi-language broadcast signal, Fig. 21, Paras. [0432]-[0435]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the incidental information relating to the type of language included in a multilingual broadcast (as taught by Lee). Doing so gives users the flexibility of choosing to listen to specific audio enhancing hearing pleasure.
5. Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Jin et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 214067931 U, hereinafter "Jin").
Regarding Claim 3, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach wherein
the display device is configured to connect to at least one of a doorbell, household equipment, or home electric appliance,
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a notification indicating a content of a detection signal of the doorbell, that of a detection signal of the household equipment, or that of a detection signal of the home electric appliance on the display, and
the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the detection signal of the doorbell, the detection signal of the household equipment, or the detection signal of the home electric appliance by the broadcast wireless communication.
However, Jin teaches wherein
the display device is configured to connect to at least one of a doorbell, household equipment, or home electric appliance (controller with display is connected to gas detector, Figs. 2 and 4, Para. [0036]),
the controller is further configured to control the display to display a notification indicating a content of a detection signal of the doorbell, that of a detection signal of the household equipment, or that of a detection signal of the home electric appliance on the display (the controller display screen show gas concentration data detected by the detector, Para. [0036]), and
the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the detection signal of the doorbell, the detection signal of the household equipment, or the detection signal of the home electric appliance by the broadcast wireless communication (controller transmits using a wireless radio frequency communication module gas detector data, Para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the home appliance connection, displaying the detection signal of the home appliance and transmitting the detection data (as taught by Jin). Doing so enables real-time monitoring and alert notification enhancing security and safety.
6. Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Chen et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 111757171 A, hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding Claim 4, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising:
a built-in speaker (Han, built-in-speaker 185, Figs. 2, Para. [0038]; see also Fig. 7A showing internal TV speaker); and
a microphone (Han, microphone 160, Fig. 2, Para. [0072]), wherein the controller is further configured to control the built-in speaker and the microphone (Han, controller 170 may control the overall operation of the image display apparatus 100, Fig. 2, Para. [0084]).
Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fails to explicitly teach the microphone is configured to collect an audio played by at least one of the audio signal receiving devices based on the audio signal wirelessly transmitted by broadcasting from the wireless communication unit, and
the controller is further configured to:
measure a delay time between a timing at which the microphone collected the audio and a time at which the wireless communication unit transmitted the audio signal; and
adjust an audio output timing from the built-in speaker based on the delay time so as to bring an output timing of the audio signal from the built-in speaker close to a timing at which the audio signal receiving device receives and plays the audio signal.
However, Chen teaches the microphone is configured to collect an audio played by at least one of the audio signal receiving devices based on the audio signal wirelessly transmitted by broadcasting from the wireless communication unit (display device 200 through built-in microphone device receives audio played by audio signal receiving device 500 wirelessly transmitted from display device 200 by broadcast to the audio signal receiving device 500, Para. [0168]), and
the controller is further configured to:
measure a delay time between a timing at which the microphone collected the audio and a time at which the wireless communication unit transmitted the audio signal (controller 250 measures a delay time between the microphone collected audio and transmitted audio, Paras. [0192]-[0197]); and
adjust an audio output timing from the built-in speaker based on the delay time so as to bring an output timing of the audio signal from the built-in speaker close to a timing at which the audio signal receiving device receives and plays the audio signal (based on the delay time audio output timing from the built-in speaker 286 is synchronized with audio output timing of the audio signal receiving device, Paras. [0192]-[0197]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the display device microphone collecting audio played by audio receiver, measuring audio delay time and adjusting the audio output timing of display device built-in speaker to match that of the audio receiving device (as taught by Chen). Doing so, enhanced sound effect can be achieved improving user experience (Chen Para. [0174]).
7. Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang") in view of Chen et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 111757171 A, hereinafter "Chen"), and further in view of Herz (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0074594 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising:
a microphone (Han, microphone 160, Fig. 2, Para. [0072]); and
a built-in speaker (Han, built-in-speaker 185, Figs. 2, Para. [0038]; see also Fig. 7A showing internal TV speaker), wherein
the controller is further configured to control the microphone and the built-in speaker (Han, controller 170 may control the overall operation of the image display apparatus 100, Fig. 2, Para. [0084]),
the wireless communication unit is configured to interactively communicate with at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Han, external device interface 130 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]).
Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fails to explicitly teach the microphone is configured to collect an audio played by the at least one audio signal receiving device based on the audio signal wirelessly transmitted by broadcasting from the wireless communication unit, and
the controller is further configured to detect a direction of the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices relative to the display device based on the audio collected by the microphone, and control, when outputting an audio received from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices through the built-in speaker, a localization of the audio.
However, Chen teaches the microphone is configured to collect an audio played by the at least one audio signal receiving device based on the audio signal wirelessly transmitted by broadcasting from the wireless communication unit (display device 200 through built-in microphone device receives audio played by audio signal receiving device 500 wirelessly transmitted from display device 200 by broadcast to the audio signal receiving device 500, Para. [0168]), and
the controller is further configured to detect a direction of the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices relative to the display device based on the audio collected by the microphone (the direction of the audio signal receiving device is determined using audio collected by the microphone, Para. [0168]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the display device microphone collecting audio played by audio receiver (as taught by Chen). Doing so, the orientation/location of the audio playing device can be determined (Chen Para. [0168]).
However, Herz teaches control, when outputting an audio received from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices through the built-in speaker, a localization of the audio (localized audio content cast to a television is replayed by the television speaker, Para. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Chen) to include the display device built-in speaker outputting localized audio received from audio receiving device (as taught by Herz). Doing so creates a more integrated and user friendly acoustic environment.
8. Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0208837 A1, hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding Claim 9, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang teach further comprising an operation member for inputting an operation to the display (Han, remote control 200, Fig. 1A, Para. [0031]), wherein
the wireless communication unit is further configured to interactively communicate with at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (Han, external device interface 130 may transmit or receive data with a connected external device, Para. [0048]).
Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach when the wireless communication unit receives, from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices, a signal indicating that the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices has received a wireless signal by broadcasting from a new external device, the controller is further configured to control the display to display a setting window for setting whether to allow the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices to communicate with the new external device on the display, and
upon accepting input information entered in accordance with the setting window from the operation member, the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the input information to the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices.
However, Lee teaches when the wireless communication unit (wireless communication module 162 of communication interface 160, Fig. 2, Paras. [0325] and [0326]) receives, from the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (audio apparatus 200, Figs. 17-20, Paras. [0325] and [0326]), a signal indicating that the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices has received a wireless signal by broadcasting from a new external device (wireless communication unit 162 receives from audio receiving device 200 a wireless signal broadcast from a new external device 300, Figs. 17-20, Paras. [0316]-[0342]), the controller is further configured to control the display to display a setting window for setting whether to allow the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices to communicate with the new external device on the display (controller 180 of display device 100 displays setting window for receiving input information setting whether to allow the audio receiving device to communicate with the new external device by an authentication process displayed on the display, Figs. 17-20, Paras. [0316]-[0342]), and
upon accepting input information entered in accordance with the setting window from the operation member, the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the input information to the at least one of the audio signal receiving devices (input received by display device 100 is transmitted to the audio receiving device 200, Figs. 17-20, Paras. [0316]-[0342]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the wireless communication unit receiving signal from audio receiving device indicating wireless signal received from an external device and a setting window to allow the communication (as taught by Lee). Doing so gives users the flexibility of choosing to listen to specific audio, enhancing hearing pleasure.
9. Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Chen (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105516800 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach wherein
the controller is further configured to generate, based on 3D sound source information, specific position audio signals that can be heard at a plurality of positions within a displayed image, respectively, and
the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the plurality of specific position audio signals generated for the plurality of positions, respectively, by broadcast wireless communication.
However, Chen teaches wherein
the controller is further configured to generate, based on 3D sound source information, specific position audio signals that can be heard at a plurality of positions within a displayed image, respectively (sound source location of audio signals are generated from 3D sound source information to obtain 3D audio signals to be transmitted, Paras. [0068] and [0069]), and
the wireless communication unit is further configured to transmit the plurality of specific position audio signals generated for the plurality of positions, respectively, by broadcast wireless communication (the 3D audio signals including the sound source location attribute are wirelessly broadcast, Paras. [0061] and [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the generation of audio signal position based on 3d sound source information and wirelessly transmitting the position audio signals generated (as taught by Chen). Doing so allows the user to perceive that the sound source is in different locations thus giving the user an immersive experience and improving the user's satisfaction when watching television programs (Chen Para. [0069]).
10. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360315 A1, hereinafter "Han") in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0235461 A1, hereinafter "Oh") in view of Yang et al. (Korean Pub. No. KR 20120100618 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Inohara (U.S. Pub. 2009/0169030 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Han teaches an audio playback method (a method of operating the image display apparatus, Fig. 5, Para. [0161]) to be executed by a display device (display 100, Figs. 1 and 6) and a plurality of audio signal receiving devices (audio receiving devices 500, Figs. 1 and 6, Para. [0036]) which are connected to the display device by wireless communication (display 100 and external audio devices 500 mutually wirelessly transmit and receive signals, Para. [0034]), the method comprising the steps of:
by the display device, transmitting a plurality of types of audio signals by broadcast wireless communication (each of the external audio devices 501 and 502 may receive the same audio signal from the image display apparatus 100 or may receive different audio signals from the image display apparatus 100, Para. [0035]);
by the audio signal receiving devices, receiving the plurality of types of audio signals (each of the external audio devices 501 and 502 may receive the same audio signal from the image display apparatus 100 or may receive different audio signals from the image display apparatus 100, Para. [0035]);
by the audio signal receiving devices, playing one of the plurality of types of audio signals (the external audio device 500 may output audio based on an audio signal received from the image display apparatus 100, Figs. 1 and 6, Para. [0035]);
by the display device, displaying a list of the audio signal receiving devices which are connected to the display device (user may select a device to be used for outputting audio from among the plurality of external audio devices 500 from list 731, Fig. 7C; Para. [0185]; see also Fig. 7B for list 720, Para. [0184]).
Han fails to explicitly teach setting, in response to a user operation, a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively; and
by the display device, displaying a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively, wherein
the plurality of types of audio signals includes incidental information indicating types of the audio signals, respectively, and
in the step of playing, an audio signal of a type set in advance in the audio signal receiving devices is played, respectively.
However, Oh teaches setting, in response to a user operation, a priority order of the types of audio signals to be output for the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (If a command for selecting a specific audio output item 733 from the plurality of audio output items 731 to 737 is received, the control unit 170 can display an audio output device list 810, Fig. 8A, Para. [0091]; an audio output device corresponding to the fourth external input item 717 is changed to a Bluetooth headset item 1100, the control unit 170 can transmit the audio of an image 910 received from the mobile terminal 503 to the Bluetooth headset 505. Accordingly, a speaker provided in the display device 100 can output an audio corresponding to the first external input item 711 and the Bluetooth headset 505 can output an audio corresponding to the fourth external input item 717, Fig. 11B, Para. [0113]; i.e. audio output of audio receiving devices can be prioritized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han) to include the prioritizing of audio signals to be output by the audio receiving devices (as taught by Oh). Doing so, an audio for a user's preference can be provided (Oh Para. [0116]).
However, Yang teaches the controller is further configured to control the display to display a state of charge of a battery of the audio signal receiving devices, respectively (an image display device displaying a state of charge of a plurality of wirelessly connected 3-D goggle devices, Fig. 11, Paras. [0117] - [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Oh) to include the display of the state of charge of battery of the audio signal receiving devices (as taught by Yang). Doing so, power of connected devices can be effectively monitored, enabling user to route audio outputs to connected device more efficiently.
However, Inohara teaches the plurality of types of audio signals includes incidental information indicating types of the audio signals, respectively (transmission control portion 153 generates channel mapping information which indicates audio signal type for the plurality of audio signal types and transmits the channel mapping information to audio receivers 20, Figs. 11 and 14, Paras. [0123], [0249] and [0250]), and
in the step of playing, an audio signal of a type set in advance in the audio signal receiving devices is played, respectively (audio playback unit 255 plays an audio signal of a preset type from multiple audio signal types based on the channel mapping and the source type information, Fig. 16, Paras. [0279]-[0282]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device (as taught by Han in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang) to include the incidental information indicating audio signal type and to playback a preset audio type (as taught by Inohara). Doing so audio signal can be provided independently of each other in the audio signal receiver thereby preventing control performed in one unit from affecting the listening environment of the other (Inohara, Para. [0330]).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remark pages 12-16, filed August 03, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Inohara have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments made to Claims 1, 12, and 13.
Claims 1 and 12 are now rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang.
Claim 13 is now rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Inohara.
Han teaches to control the display to display a list of audio signal receiving devices connected to the display device. Oh teaches setting a priority order of audio types to be output by the audio signal receiving devices. Yang teaches controlling the display to display a state of charge of a battery connected devices.
The rejections of Claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang are maintained.
The rejection of Claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Inohara is maintained.
Dependent Claims 6, 8, 10, and 14 are rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang.
The rejections of Claims 6, 8, 10, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh, and further in view of Yang are maintained.
Dependent Claim 2 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Lee.
The rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Lee is maintained.
Dependent Claim 3 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Jin.
The rejection of Claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Jin is maintained.
Dependent Claims 4 and 5 are rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Chen.
The rejection of Claims 4 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Chen are maintained.
Dependent Claim 7 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang in view of Chen, and further in view of Herz.
The rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang in view of Chen, and further in view of Herz is maintained.
Dependent Claim 11 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Chen.
The rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Inohara in view of Oh in view of Yang, and further in view of Chen is maintained.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moon (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0162015 A1) teaches a display device which communicates wirelessly with external devices.
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691