DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s traversal has been considered but is not persuasive. The determination of unity during the international phase under the PCT is not binding upon the USPTO during national stage examination. Restriction practice in national stage applications is governed by 35 U.S.C. §121 and MPEP §803, which differ from PCT unity practice. Claims 23–43 are directed to a method for processing waste plastic, while claim 44 is directed to a hydrocarbon composition. Examination of the process claims requires search and examination of hydrotreatment processes, reactor systems, catalyst systems, and process operating conditions, whereas examination of claim 44 requires search and examination of hydrocarbon compositions and product properties. Accordingly, examination of all claims together would result in a serious search and examination burden, and the restriction requirement is therefore maintained. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29, 30, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 29, 30, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention. The claims recite multiple alternative and overlapping numerical ranges joined by “and/or,” rendering the metes and bounds of the claims unclear. For example, it is unclear whether all recited ranges must simultaneously be satisfied, whether any single range alone satisfies the limitation, or whether the ranges define separate alternative embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Adam et al. (WO 2021/204819 A1) in view of Tiitta et al. (WO 2021/105326 A1).
Adam teaches a process for treating waste plastic pyrolysis oil comprising providing a hydrocarbon stream containing pyrolysis plastic oil, performing a first hydrotreating step at a temperature of at most 225°C, and performing a second hydrotreating step at a temperature of at least 200°C to obtain a purified hydrocarbon stream suitable for steam cracking. Adam teaches that “a first hydrotreating step” is performed “at a temperature of at most 225°C” and that “a second hydrotreating step” is performed “at a temperature of at least 200°C” (page 6, lines 9–24). Adam further teaches second-stage temperatures of “250°C to 500°C” (page 13, lines 1–10). Adam additionally teaches introducing a dilution stream “before performing the first and/or the second hydrotreating” (page 13, lines 17–24). Adam also teaches catalysts containing Group VIB and Group VIII metals including Ni, Co, Mo, and W supported on alumina, silica, silica-alumina, titania, or carbon supports (page 7, lines 1–28). Adam teaches intermediate hydrogen quench between catalyst beds and temperature increases across catalyst beds (page 7, lines 29–38). Adam additionally teaches impurity-removal systems including traps for silicon, phosphorus, metals, and halogens (pages 16–19). Adam also teaches that the resulting hydrocarbon stream may be directed to steam cracking (page 12, lines 7–14). Adam further teaches introducing a dilution stream (hydrocarbon stream) and mixing hydrotreated waste plastic-derived hydrocarbons prior to second-stage hydrotreatment. Specifically, Adam teaches introducing a dilution stream “before performing the first and/or the second hydrotreating” (page 13, lines 17–24).
Tiitta teaches a process for converting liquefied waste plastics into steam cracker feed comprising pretreating liquefied waste plastics, hydrotreating the liquefied waste plastics, and optionally combining the hydrotreated material with a co-feed stream (page 3, lines 1–24). Tiitta further teaches pretreatment using “an aqueous medium having a pH of at least 7” at temperatures of “200°C or more” followed by liquid-liquid separation (page 2, lines 18–30). Tiitta additionally teaches blending with hydrocarbon streams including vacuum gas oil, gas oil, heavy gas oil, kerosene, LPG fractions, paraffinic materials, renewable paraffins, and other hydrocarbon streams (pages 10–11). Tiitta also teaches supported NiMo and CoMo catalysts on alumina supports (page 8, lines 10–22).
Regarding claim 23, Adam teaches introducing a dilution stream and mixing hydrotreated waste plastic-derived hydrocarbons prior to second-stage hydrotreatment. Specifically, Adam teaches introducing a dilution stream “before performing the first and/or the second hydrotreating” (page 13, lines 17–24). However, Adam does not specifically disclose the particular hydrocarbon blending streams recited in the claims, including vacuum gas oil (VGO), gas oil (GO), heavy gas oil (HGO), kerosene fractions, LPG fractions, renewable paraffinic streams, Fischer-Tropsch hydrocarbons, and other refinery hydrocarbon streams. Tiitta teaches blending hydrotreated liquefied waste plastic streams with such hydrocarbon streams, including VGO, gas oil, heavy gas oil, kerosene, paraffinic materials, renewable paraffins, and other hydrocarbon streams for producing steam-cracker-compatible feedstocks (pages 10–11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Tiitta’s hydrocarbon blending streams within Adam’s staged hydrotreatment process in order to improve dilution of impurities and olefins, improve compatibility with refinery and steam cracking infrastructure, improve process operability, reduce coking and fouling, and facilitate production of hydrocarbon feedstocks suitable for downstream petrochemical processing and steam cracking.
Regarding claim 24, Adam teaches performing a second hydrotreating step after the first hydrotreating step under more severe hydrotreatment conditions including higher temperatures (page 6, lines 9–24; page 13, lines 1–10).
Regarding claims 25-26, Adam teaches first-stage temperatures of at most 225°C and second-stage temperatures of at least 200°C, preferably 250–500°C, overlapping the claimed ranges (page 6, lines 9–24; page 13, lines 1–10).
Regarding claim 27, Tiitta teaches pretreatment using an aqueous medium having a pH of
at least 7 at temperatures of at least 200°C followed by liquid-liquid separation (page 2, lines 18–
30).
Regarding claims 28-30, Tiitta teaches blending with hydrocarbon streams including vacuum gas oil, gas oil, heavy gas oil, kerosene, LPG fractions, paraffinic streams, and renewable paraffins (pages 10–11).
Regarding claims 31-33, Adam teaches catalysts containing Group VIB and Group VIII metals including Ni, Co, Mo, and W supported on alumina, silica, silica-alumina, titania, or carbon supports (page 7, lines 1–28). Tiitta further teaches supported NiMo and CoMo catalysts on alumina supports (page 8, lines 10–22).
Regarding claim 34, Adam teaches impurity-removal systems including traps and adsorption systems for removal of silicon, phosphorus, metals, and halogens (pages 16–19).
Regarding claims 35-36, Tiitta teaches treatment of liquefied waste plastic streams and repeated treatment/hydrotreatment of liquefied waste plastic-derived streams (pages 8–9).
Regarding claims 37-38, Adam teaches hydrotreatment operating conditions including H2/oil ratios, LHSV ranges, temperatures, and pressures overlapping the claimed ranges (page 6, lines 9–24; page 13, lines 1–10).
Regarding claims 39-40, Adam teaches fractionation and production of hydrocarbon streams suitable for steam cracking and direct introduction into a steam cracker (pages 14–15).
Regarding claims 41-43, Adam teaches multiple catalyst beds, staged reactors, hydrogen introduction, and intermediate hydrogen quench between catalyst beds (page 7, lines 29–38).
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771