DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2025 and 04/29/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a signal reception unit”, “a candidate region identification unit”, “an information generation unit”, “a position information acquisition unit”, “a biological information association unit”, “an output unit” in claims 1 and 10-11.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1, 13 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/704193 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 13 (claim 13 is combination of subject matter of claims 13, 12 and 1.
Regarding claim 1, 18/704193 teaches “A biological information processing device comprising:
a signal reception unit configured to receive a signal related to biological information reflected from at least one person to be measured (1st limitation of claim 1 of 18/704193);
a candidate region identification unit configured to calculate an arrival direction of the signal and/or a distance to the at least one person to be measured from the signal received and identify a candidate region of the at least one person to be measured using the arrival direction and/or the distance calculated (2nd limitation of claim 1 of 18/704193);
an information generation unit configured to generate biological information corresponding to the candidate region of the at least one person to be measured from the signal received (3rd limitation of claim 1 of 18/704193);
a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information of the at least one person to be measured (claim 13 of 18/704193); and
a biological information association unit configured to associate the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of the position information acquired (last limitation of claim 1 of 18/704193).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has been similarly and rejected as per claim 1 citations.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been similarly and rejected as per claim 1 citations.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoki et al., Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2021-108996 A (Published Date – August 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Motoki discloses A biological information processing device comprising: a signal reception unit configured to receive a signal related to biological information reflected from at least one person to be measured (para 0030 – As illustrated in FIG. 1, the biometric information collection system 100 includes a first acquisition device 1, a second acquisition device 2, a server 3, a notification device 4, and a recording device 5; para 0032 - the second acquisition device 2 is provided on a ceiling in a room in which a plurality of infants are sleeping, irradiates an electromagnetic wave (radar wave) toward a lower side where the infants are sleeping, acquires biological information and position information of the plurality of infants in the room, and transmits the biological information and the position information to the server 3…the second acquisition device 2 is configured to includes a radar 21 including a transmission antenna 2a and a plurality of reception antennas 2b - 1, 2b – 2.., and a control device 22 configured by a computer device including a CPU and a communication unit. The control device 22 causes the radar 21 to emit electromagnetic waves from the transmission antenna 2a, measures the time until the reflected electromagnetic waves are received by the reception antennas 2b - 1, 2b - 2, to acquire the distances to the subject (infant) 0, and acquires the angles (directions) to the subject O from the time differences d when the electromagnetic waves reflected from the subject O are received by the plurality of 2b - 1, 2b – 2. Then, the acquired time and angle (direction) are acquired as the position information of the subject 0. In addition, the control device 22 acquires biological information such as a respiratory rate and a heart rate of the subject O by performing frequency analysis on the reflected wave acquired by the radar 21. Here, in the reflected wave from the subject 0, a frequency change (Doppler effect) due to vibration caused by respiration or heartbeat can be observed. The control device 22 acquires frequency components of cycles corresponding to the respiration and the heartbeat from the reflected wave, and calculates the respiration rate and the heart rate. Then, the biological information of the subject O is transmitted to the server 3 in association with the position information; para 0033 – alternatively, the biometric information collection system 100 may include, as the second acquisition device 2, both a device that acquires the biometric information and the position information based on the above-described radar waves and a thermography device – where thermographic device also detects reflected heat signals from the subject; and further as cited in paras 0080 and 0081 – a shape information (silhouette) of subject can be obtained);
a candidate region identification unit configured to calculate an arrival direction of the signal and/or a distance to the at least one person to be measured from the signal received and identify a candidate region of the at least one person to be measured using the arrival direction and/or the distance calculated (para 0032 as cited – The control device 22 causes the radar 21 to emit electromagnetic waves from the transmission antenna 2a, measures the time until the reflected electromagnetic waves are received by the reception antennas 2b - 1, 2b - 2, to acquire the distances to the subject (infant) 0, and acquires the angles (directions) to the subject O from the time differences d when the electromagnetic waves reflected from the subject O are received by the plurality of 2b - 1, 2b – 2. Then, the acquired time and angle (direction) are acquired as the position information of the subject 0”; paras 0050-0051 - Next, the control unit 31 acquires the biological information and the position information of each person in the room by the second acquisition device 2 (step S14). For example, as described above, the second acquisition device 2 acquires the respiratory rate, the heart rate, the body temperature, and the like of each person as the biological information, and transmits the biological information to the server 3 in association with the position information of each person. When the control unit 31 acquires the biological information and the position information, the control unit 31 performs a process of specifying an infant whose biological information is to be collected and excluding the other biological information (step S15). Here, in the present embodiment, it is assumed that an infant who is sleeping in a room is a collection target of biological information, and a nurse or the like is not a collection target of biological information – thus identifying a candidate region).
an information generation unit configured to generate biological information corresponding to the candidate region of the at least one person to be measured from the signal received (as cited before – the biological information includes the respiratory rate, the heart rate, the body temperature, and a shape information (silhouette) of each person as the biological information;
a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information of the at least one person to be measured (see the citation made before with respect to position information acquiring; further see paras 0052, 0060, 0064); and
a biological information association unit configured to associate the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of the position information acquired (see the citations made in the paras 0050-0051; further see para 0080 – “the personal identification information and the biological information are associated with each other using the position information of the individual).
Regarding claim 3, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by optically measuring an outline of the at least one person to be measured.” (see para 0045 – recognizing individual’s anatomy from a captured image by acquiring the shape as the feature amount; see paras 0080-0081 – using a silhouette - provides a distribution of space occupied by a person; personal shape information - in the context of personal space - provides a contour plot or distribution of the space occupied).
Regarding claim 5, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a distribution of body temperature of the at least one person to be measured.” (para 0033 – alternatively, the biometric information collection system 100 may include, as the second acquisition device 2, both a device that acquires the biometric information and the position information based on the above-described radar waves and a thermography device; where a thermography device that is provided on a ceiling or the like, acquires a temperature distribution image in a room (temperature at each position in the room), and transmits the temperature distribution image to the server).
Regarding claim 6, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a distribution of space occupied by the at least one person to be measured” (see paras 0080-0081 – using a silhouette - provides a distribution of space occupied by a person; personal shape information - in the context of personal space - provides a contour plot or distribution of the space occupied).
Regarding claim 7, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a sound emitted by the at least one person to be measured and a generation location of the sound.” (see paras 0065 – sound collection device is arranged inside a room, and a sound input to the sound collection device is analyzed to identify an infant/individual in the direction from which an abnormal sound was detected on the basis of a predetermined criterion, which corresponds to location of generation of the sound).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per claim 6 rejection citations.
Regarding claim 9, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information specified by a detected position of a tag worn by the at least one person to be measured and including identification information of the at least one person to be measured” (see para 0079 –
the server 3 may acquire information related to the RFID tag read from the reading device and use the information to specify the position information of the infant whose biological information is to be collected. As a result, it is possible to improve the accuracy of the position information of the infant whose biological information is to be collected).
Regarding claim 10, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing according to claim 1, wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of information identifying the at least one person to be measured acquired in advance.” (see para 0042-46 – the person is registering in advance to whom the biological information is associated with; further see paras 0051-0055).
Regarding claim 11, Motoki discloses “The biological information processing device according to claims 1, further comprising: an output unit configured to output, in a case where a spatial distribution of reflection points of the signal received is abnormal, a notification indicating that the at least one person to be measured and the biological information are not normally associated with each other” (as cited before in para 0032 – Motoki teaches “the control device 22 acquires biological information such as a respiratory rate and a heart rate of the subject O by performing frequency analysis on the reflected wave acquired by the radar 21. Here, in the reflected wave from the subject 0, a frequency change (Doppler effect) due to vibration caused by respiration or heartbeat can be observed. The control device 22 acquires frequency components of cycles corresponding to the respiration and the heartbeat from the reflected wave, and calculates the respiration rate and the heart rate”; Motoki further teaches in para 0063 – the anormal state could be when the user turns over and lies on his/her stomach, or when the user wears a futon, which makes it difficult to identify the user, which breaks the association of data, and further outputs a notification of being abnormal as cited in para 0067).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per claim 1 rejection citations.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per claim 1 rejection citations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki et al., Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2021-108996 A (Published Date – August 2021), and further in view of Shimzu et al., Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2014-1151042 A (Published Date – August 2015).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites “The biological information processing device according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a distribution of pressure applied to different positions by the at least one person to be measured”. As cited in Motoki in the rejection of claim 1, Motoki discloses position information of a person/toddler on a bed is determined, and further data such as includes the respiratory rate, the heart rate, the body temperature is also measured; but does not explicitly teaches wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a distribution of pressure applied to different positions by the at least one person to be measured. However, Shimu teaches “wherein the position information of the at least one person to be measured is position information acquired by measuring a distribution of pressure applied to different positions by the at least one person to be measured” (see Shimzu – para 0001 – “The present invention relates to a position detecting device for detecting a position of each part of a body of a sleeper by using a body pressure distribution sensor in which pressure sensors are arranged in a matrix shape”; para 0005 – “the pressure distribution of the entire body is first acquired, and the position of each part of the body is detected by analyzing the entire distribution”; para 0009 – “According to the first aspect of the invention, it is possible to perform position detection with a high processing speed and an accurate processing result”; para 0021 – “a body pressure distribution scan program 92 for scanning the body pressure distribution to detect each part (chest and waist) of the body of the sleeper A, a measurement position determination program 93 for determining the range of the pressure sensors 4141, ,. for measuring the respiration and heartbeat according to the detected positions of the chest and waist, and a respiration and heartbeat measurement program 94 for calculating the pressure values 4242, ,. in the range of the pressure sensors 4141, ,. to obtain measurement values of the respiration and heartbeat. By appropriately executing these programs, the control unit 69 detects the measurement position of the respiration and the heartbeat, and performs a process of measuring the respiration and the heartbeat”. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use pressure distribution for measuring position as taught by Shimzu in the invention of Motoki. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pressure distribution for measuring position as taught by Shimzu in the invention of Motoki; in order to perform position detection with a high processing speed and an accurate processing result (see Shimzu- para 0009); and further see paras 0021 and 0053 for further motivations of using Shimzu’s teachings.
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
March 20, 2026