DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to include “snap connect” attachment for basket expansion. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2024/0248274 to Etheridge.
It is noted that there are no specifics that define the “snap-connect” function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The terms “snap connect”, “expand a size” and “increase … storage capacity” in claims 2 and 21is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. These terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The snap connect function does not limit or bound any number of structural methods for a snap connection via friction, clips, hooks, tabs, protrusions or any number of securing features. Similarly the claimed increase in size and capacity is boundless.
Remaining claims are rejected on the basis of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/06144 to Claessens et al. in view of US 2017/0363831 to Cornnelissen et al.
Claessens discloses in figures 13-17, an optical fiber management assembly comprising:
A piece including, unitarily integrated therewith:
A baseplate (304) for mouning a portion of a cable jacket fixation subassembly (316) to the baseplate;
A basket for storing loops of fiber (322 area in figure 13) and
A fiber router (feeder 320) including a structure for mounting a fiber sheath holder module to the fiber router (via adapters 318), the fiber router being positioned between the baseplate and the basket.
As to claim 3, front side in figure 11 bypasses the rear portions.
As to claims 4 and 13, the structure shown in figure 4 enables pivoting.
As to claim 5, the trays can be considered second pieces and baseplates that “snappingly” mount to the pivot structure.
As to claim 6, additional “sheath holding modules” defined as claimed in figure 15.
As to claim 7, the first and second pieces are on opposing sides and utilizing the pivot “tower” shown in figure 4, enables snap-fitting.
As to claim 8, a third piece enables the use of seal blocks (figure 9).
As to claim 9, guide walls (unlabeled at F1; figure 13) and slack organizers (315) with routing paths through plurality of access portions.
As to claim 11, the fiber loop retainer is not structurally defined and therefore could be constituted by any number of internal components of the prior art.
As to claim 12, a tray is disclosed (350).
It is noted that Applicant does not define the “fiber loop module”. Any spool or even routing with tabs would meet this limitation.
However, Claessons fails to disclose the basket expansion piece configured to snap connect to the basket and expand the size to increase loop storage capacity. It is noted that no structure is disclose to define the snap function, nor is there a defined range for the expansion of size or storage capacity.
Cornelissen discloses in figures 12-13 a “snap connect” expansion piece that snap connects to a base of a tray storage pocket.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add additional expansion trays and/or snap connect features to a base basket to increase capacity.
Claim(s) 14-17, and 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claessens in view of Cornelisson.
Classens in view of Cornelisson discloses the invention as claimed except for recitation of specific routing paths.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select routing paths, associated materials and removable components to allow for ease of use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874