DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/04/2026 and 04/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MOTOR WITH HOUSING AND STATOR AND A COUPLING PORTION WITH FLANGE AND EXTENSIONS IN CONTACT WITH STATOR GROOVES”
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26,31,37,40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyu (Korean PG Pub KR102175796B1 hereinafter “Gyu”) in view of Bang (US PG Pub 20190052147 hereinafter “Bang”).
Re-claim 22, Gyu discloses a motor (10) comprising: a housing (20) that defines a stator groove(between 26 and 22), the stator groove (see annotated fig.5, AND 38) being recessed radially outward from an inner surface of the housing (annotated fig.5, 20);
a rotating shaft (43) rotatably coupled; an impeller cover (40) disposed at an upper part of the housing (20);
an impeller (60) disposed inside the impeller cover (inside of 40, at least 50)and coupled to the rotating shaft (43);
a magnet ( see page 23, L.8, magnet installed above 42, of shaft, 43) coupled to a lower portion of the rotating shaft (43, at 42);
a stator (30) that is press-fitted (Page 34, L.11, also considered a product by process) into the stator groove (inside the stator, at least portions of stator 32 are in between 22) of the housing and faces the magnet (magnet of shaft are facing the stator 30);
and a coil (34) wound around the stator (30).
Gyu fails to explicitly teach bearing disposed in the housing; and that the rotating shaft (43) rotatably coupled to the bearing.
However, Bang teaches bearing (173b) disposed in the housing (inside of 102); and that the rotating shaft (172a) rotatably coupled to the bearing (173).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu and show that a bearing disposed in the housing; and that the rotating shaft rotatably coupled to the bearing as shown by Bang to support rotation of shaft, therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 23, Gyu as modified discloses the motor of claim 22, wherein the stator (30) comprises: a stator core (32 structure) that is press-fitted into the stator groove (pressed into between 22); plurality of teeth portions (annotated fig.4) that extend radially inward from an inner circumferential surface of the stator core (annotated fig.4, teeth extend radially inward); and a plurality of teeth shoes (annotated fig.4)that extend from the plurality of teeth portions in a circumferential direction (annotated fig.4), respectively.
Re-claim 24, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 22.
However, Ryu fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches the housing (260) comprises: a coupling portion (261a) disposed at a central area of the housing (260), the coupling portion (261a) defining a bearing hole (for bearing 273b) at the central area (see fig.22b); a plurality of flange portions (261) that extend radially outward from the coupling portion (261a); and a plurality of extensions (266a, annotated fig.22b) that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions (261), respectively, and wherein the stator groove (annotated fig.22b) is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions (266a, annotated fig.22b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions as shown by Bang to support rotation of shaft, therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 25, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 24.
However, Ryu fails to explicitly teach wherein the impeller cover is bolted to upper surfaces of the plurality of flange portions, and wherein an inner peripheral surface of the impeller cover is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the coupling portion.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches wherein the impeller cover (250) is bolted (by bolts 248) to upper surfaces of the plurality of flange portions (flanges of 266), and wherein an inner peripheral surface of the impeller cover is in contact (see fig.22b, when bolted by 248, 260 is in contact with 250) with an outer peripheral surface of the coupling portion (260).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein the impeller cover is bolted to upper surfaces of the plurality of flange portions, and wherein an inner peripheral surface of the impeller cover is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the coupling portion as shown by Bang to support the structure and hold it together therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 26, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 24.
However, Gyu fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing further comprises a bearing protrusion that extends radially inward from a lower end of the coupling portion and supports a lower end of the bearing.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches wherein the housing further comprises a bearing protrusion (at 261a in fig.22b is protrusion which holds bearing 273b) that extends radially inward from a lower end of the coupling portion (location of 261a in fig.22b)and supports a lower end of the bearing (273b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein the housing further comprises a bearing protrusion that extends radially inward from a lower end of the coupling portion and supports a lower end of the bearing as shown by Bang to support the structure and hold it together therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 31, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 24.
Gyu fails to explicitly teach wherein a height of the coupling portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft is greater than a height of each of the plurality of flange portions in the axial direction.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches a height of the coupling portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft is greater than a height of each of the plurality of flange portions in the axial direction (annotated fig.22b, 266 is longer than thickness of 261, axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein a height of the coupling portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft is greater than a height of each of the plurality of flange portions in the axial direction as shown by Bang to support the structure and hold it together therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 37, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 24.
Gyu fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower area of each of the plurality of extensions with the stator groove has a rotated U-shape.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches wherein the lower area of each of the plurality of extensions (261) with the stator groove has a rotated U-shape (change in shape, annotated fig.22b, 266 u shaped at bottom, at least seen from one side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein the lower area of each of the plurality of extensions with the stator groove has a rotated U-shape. as shown by Bang to support the structure and hold it together therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Re-claim 40, Gyu as modified discloses motor of claim 24.
Gyu fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of extensions are spaced apart from one another by a constant interval in a circumferential direction of the plurality of flange portions.
However, Bang Fig.22b teaches wherein the plurality of extensions (261 are circumferentially spaced) are spaced apart from one another by a constant interval in a circumferential direction of the plurality of flange portions (annotated fig.22b, 266 u shaped at bottom, at least seen from one side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gyu wherein the plurality of extensions are spaced apart from one another by a constant interval in a circumferential direction of the plurality of flange portions as shown by Bang to support the structure and hold it together therefore the impeller rotates and balance the structure (Bang, P[0110]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27-30,32-36,38,39,41,42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 27, recites “inter alia” with claims 22, and 24 combined “22. (New) A motor comprising: a housing that defines a stator groove, the stator groove being recessed radially outward from an inner surface of the housing; a bearing disposed in the housing; a rotating shaft rotatably coupled to the bearing; an impeller cover disposed at an upper part of the housing; an impeller disposed inside the impeller cover and coupled to the rotating shaft; a magnet coupled to a lower portion of the rotating shaft; a stator that is press-fitted into the stator groove of the housing and faces the magnet; and a coil wound around the stator. 24. (New) The motor of claim 22, wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions. 27. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein an inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions comprises a curved portion that is curved radially outward such that a radius of the curved portion from the rotating shaft increases as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward.”
The prior art of record, ip.com search, ai search, global dossier search fail to teach alone or combined the combination of claims as indicated above, specially with claim 27 into claim 24, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions. 27. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein an inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions comprises a curved portion that is curved radially outward such that a radius of the curved portion from the rotating shaft increases as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward is a unique combination and is not taught or suggested by the prior art as indicated above.
Claims 28-30 are objected to as being dependent of claim 27.
Re-claim 32, recites “inter alia” with claims 22, and 24 combined “22. (New) A motor comprising: a housing that defines a stator groove, the stator groove being recessed radially outward from an inner surface of the housing; a bearing disposed in the housing; a rotating shaft rotatably coupled to the bearing; an impeller cover disposed at an upper part of the housing; an impeller disposed inside the impeller cover and coupled to the rotating shaft; a magnet coupled to a lower portion of the rotating shaft; a stator that is press-fitted into the stator groove of the housing and faces the magnet; and a coil wound around the stator. 24. (New) The motor of claim 22, wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions. 32. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein the stator defines a plurality of housing grooves that are concavely recessed inward from an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the plurality of extensions are press-fitted into the plurality of housing grooves, respectively.”
The prior art of record, ip.com search, ai search, global dossier search fail to teach alone or combined the combination of claims as indicated above, especially with claim 32 into claim 24, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions. 32. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein the stator defines a plurality of housing grooves that are concavely recessed inward from an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the plurality of extensions are press-fitted into the plurality of housing grooves, respectively is a unique combination and is not taught or suggested by the prior art as indicated above.
Claims 33-36 are objected to as being dependent from rejected independent claims.
Re-claim 38, recites “inter alia” with claims 22, and 24 combined “22. (New) A motor comprising: a housing that defines a stator groove, the stator groove being recessed radially outward from an inner surface of the housing; a bearing disposed in the housing; a rotating shaft rotatably coupled to the bearing; an impeller cover disposed at an upper part of the housing; an impeller disposed inside the impeller cover and coupled to the rotating shaft; a magnet coupled to a lower portion of the rotating shaft; a stator that is press-fitted into the stator groove of the housing and faces the magnet; and a coil wound around the stator. 24. (New) The motor of claim 22, wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions. 38. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein an outer surface of each of the plurality of extensions comprises: a first area that extends radially outward as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward; a second area that extends downward from the first area; and a third area that extends radially inward as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward from the second area.”
The prior art of record, ip.com search, ai search, global dossier search fail to teach alone or combined the combination of claims as indicated above, especially with claim 38 into claim 24, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions 38. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein an outer surface of each of the plurality of extensions comprises: a first area that extends radially outward as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward; a second area that extends downward from the first area; and a third area that extends radially inward as each of the plurality of extensions extends downward from the second area is a unique combination and is not taught or suggested by the prior art as indicated above.
Claims 39 is objected to as being dependent from rejected independent claims.
Re-claim 41, recites “inter alia” with claims 22, and 24 combined “22. (New) A motor comprising: a housing that defines a stator groove, the stator groove being recessed radially outward from an inner surface of the housing; a bearing disposed in the housing; a rotating shaft rotatably coupled to the bearing; an impeller cover disposed at an upper part of the housing; an impeller disposed inside the impeller cover and coupled to the rotating shaft; a magnet coupled to a lower portion of the rotating shaft; a stator that is press-fitted into the stator groove of the housing and faces the magnet; and a coil wound around the stator. 24. (New) The motor of claim 22, wherein the housing comprises: a coupling portion disposed at a central area of the housing, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions 41. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein the stator groove comprises: a depressed surface that is recessed radially outward from an inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions; an upper contact surface that extends from an upper end of the depressed surface to the inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions, the upper contact surface being in contact with an upper surface of the stator; and a lower contact surface that extends from a lower end of the depressed surface to the inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions, the lower contact surface being in contact with a lower surface of the stator.”
The prior art of record, ip.com search, ai search, global dossier search fail to teach alone or combined the combination of claims as indicated above, especially with claim 41 into claim 24, the coupling portion defining a bearing hole at the central area; a plurality of flange portions that extend radially outward from the coupling portion; and a plurality of extensions that extend downward from radially outer portions of the plurality of flange portions, respectively, and wherein the stator groove is defined at a lower area of each of the plurality of extensions 41. (New) The motor of claim 24, wherein the stator groove comprises: a depressed surface that is recessed radially outward from an inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions; an upper contact surface that extends from an upper end of the depressed surface to the inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions, the upper contact surface being in contact with an upper surface of the stator; and a lower contact surface that extends from a lower end of the depressed surface to the inner surface of each of the plurality of extensions, the lower contact surface being in contact with a lower surface of the stator is a unique combination and is not taught or suggested by the prior art as indicated above.
Claims 42 is objected to as being dependent from rejected independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834