The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Figures 6-19) in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The applicant identifies claims 1, 3-7, 10-14, and 16-22 as being applied to the elected species.
The examiner, however, respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion that claims 6, 7, and 19 are readable on the elected Species I (Figures 6-19). Claims 6, 7, and 19 recite a “first end face” and/or a “second end face”, which are only readable on the non-elected Species II (Figures 20-24). See para. 00175 of the specification, for example, which disclose the claimed “first end face” as element 3234 and the claimed “second end face” as element 3235 in the non-elected Species II (e.g., Figure 22).
Accordingly, only claims 1, 3-5, 10-14, 16-18, and 20-22 are considered readable on the elected Species I (Figures 6-19). Claims 6-9 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 4.
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10.
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 10,743,097).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an electronic device (see figures 1-9), comprising: a casing 500; and a speaker 100. The speaker 100 comprises: a housing 160 comprising an inner cavity (see fig. 1, for example); a magnetic circuit component 110, 110’ in the inner cavity and comprising a magnetic gap 400; and a vibration component comprising: a first diaphragm 140; a second diaphragm 140’, wherein the first diaphragm 140 and the second diaphragm 140’ are respectively located on two opposite sides of the magnetic circuit component 110, 110’ (see fig. 1, for example), and wherein the first diaphragm 140 and the second diaphragm 140’ comprise respective circumferential edges that are coupled to the housing 160 (see fig. 1, for example); and a voice coil 200 inside the magnetic gap 400, wherein the voice coil 200 comprises two opposite sides that are respectively coupled to the first diaphragm 140 and the second diaphragm 140’ (see fig. 1, for example), wherein the voice coil 200 comprises a first side part 151 and a second side part 152 that are disposed opposite to each other (see fig. 4, for example), wherein the first side part 151 and the second side part 152 are parallel to a central axis of the voice coil 200 (e.g., a longitudinal axis passing through a central point of the voice coil 200 which is perpendicular to a lateral axis represented by dotted line in fig. 4), wherein the first side part 151 is coupled to the first diaphragm 140 and the second side part 152 is coupled to the second diaphragm 140’ (see fig. 4, for example).
Regarding claim 3, the vibration component further comprises a first connecting piece and a second connecting piece (see fig. 1, for example, regarding connecting pieces respectively coupled between voice coil 200 and each diaphragm), wherein the first connecting piece is coupled to the first side part 151 and the first diaphragm 140, and wherein the second connecting piece is coupled to the second side part 152 and the second diaphragm 140’.
Regarding claims 4, 17, and 18, the vibration component further comprises a support piece (e.g., voice coil plate) inside the voice coil 200 (see fig. 2b, for example). The support piece comprises a first end coupled to the first side part 151 and a second end coupled to the second side part 152.
Regarding claims 5 and 22, the magnetic circuit component 110, 110’ comprises a first part 110 and a second part 110’ that are spaced from each other by the magnetic gap 400, wherein the first part 110 and the second part 110’ are magnetic. See fig. 1, for example.
Regarding claim 11, the electronic device comprises a plurality of voice coils 200, 200’ that are arranged in a length direction of the speaker 100. See figs. 6 and 7, for example.
Regarding claim 12, the speaker 100 comprises a plurality of magnetic gaps 400, 400’ that are spaced from each other in the length direction of the speaker 100 and the voice coils 200, 200’ are located, respectively, inside the plurality of magnetic gaps 400, 400’ in a one-to-one correspondence.
Regarding claim 14, the first diaphragm 140 and the second diaphragm 140’ are symmetrically disposed relative to the magnetic circuit component 110, 110’. See fig. 1, for example.
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, 17, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0274289).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an electronic device 100 (see figures 1-20), comprising: a casing 110; and a speaker 200. The speaker 200 comprises: a housing 7, 8, 9 comprising an inner cavity (see fig. 4, for example); a magnetic circuit component 32, 33 in the inner cavity and comprising a magnetic gap 36; and a vibration component comprising: a first diaphragm 11; a second diaphragm 21a, wherein the first diaphragm 11 and the second diaphragm 21a are respectively located on two opposite sides of the magnetic circuit component 32, 33 (see fig. 4, for example), and wherein the first diaphragm 11 and the second diaphragm 21a comprise respective circumferential edges (e.g., 213a) that are coupled to the housing 7, 8, 9 (see fig. 7, for example); and a voice coil 12 inside the magnetic gap 36, wherein the voice coil 12 comprises two opposite sides that are respectively coupled to the first diaphragm 11 and the second diaphragm 21a (see fig. 4, for example), wherein the voice coil 12 comprises a first side part 123 and a second side part 124 that are disposed opposite to each other (see fig. 10, for example), wherein the first side part 123 and the second side part 124 are parallel to a central axis of the voice coil 12 (e.g., a lateral axis passing through a central point of the voice coil 12 which is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis passing through the central point; see fig. 10, for example), wherein the first side part 123 is coupled to the first diaphragm 11 and the second side part 124 is coupled to the second diaphragm 21a (see fig. 4, for example).
Regarding claim 3, the vibration component further comprises a first connecting piece (e.g., glue) and a second connecting piece (e.g., glue), wherein the first connecting piece is coupled to the first side part 123 and the first diaphragm 11, and wherein the second connecting piece is coupled to the second side part 124 and the second diaphragm 21a. See para. 0058, regarding “the connection between the bobbin voice coil 12 and the first diaphragm 11 or the second diaphragm (21a, 21b) may be glue bonding…”
Regarding claims 4, 17, and 18, the vibration component further comprises a support piece 121 (e.g., voice coil body) inside the voice coil 12. The support piece 121 comprises a first end coupled to the first side part 123 and a second end coupled to the second side part 124. See fig. 10, for example.
Regarding claims 5 and 22, the magnetic circuit component 32, 33 comprises a first part 32 and a second part 33 that are spaced from each other by the magnetic gap 36, wherein the first part 32 and the second part 33 are magnetic. See fig. 7, for example.
Regarding claim 14, the first diaphragm 11 and the second diaphragm 21a are symmetrically disposed relative to the magnetic circuit component 32, 33. See fig. 4, for example.
Claims 10, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,743,097), as applied to claim 1 and claim 3 above, in further view of Saiki et al. (US 2011/0044489).
Cho discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the magnetic circuit component 110, 110’ further comprises a magnetic fluid, wherein the magnetic fluid fills the magnetic gap 400 and wraps at least a part of the voice coil 200 (see fig. 1, for example). Saiki discloses an electronic speaker device (see figs. 1(b) and 2(b), for examples) including a magnetic circuit component including a magnetic gap, a diaphragm, a voice coil inside the magnetic gap, and a magnetic fluid 17/27, wherein the magnetic fluid 17/27 fills the magnetic gap and wraps at least a part of the voice coil, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing burnout of the voice coil (see para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho, in view of Saiki, such that the magnetic circuit component 110, 110’ further comprises a magnetic fluid, wherein the magnetic fluid fills the magnetic gap 400 and wraps at least a part of the voice coil 200. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing burnout of the voice coil 12 during operation of the electronic device.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,743,097), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ueda et al. (US 2007/0274543).
Cho discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first diaphragm 140 or the second diaphragm 140’ includes a surface which is close to the voice coil 200 (see fig. 1, for example), but fails to specifically teach that the vibration component further includes a connection line on the surface and that the connection line is electrically coupled to the voice coil 200. Ueda discloses an electronic speaker device including a diaphragm bonded to a voice coil, and a magnetic circuit, wherein the voice coil is inserted into a magnetic gap of the magnetic circuit, wherein “lead wires of this voice coil are adhesively attached to the back face of the diaphragm, and the ends of the lead wires are electrically connected to a terminal plate (power supply terminal) provided on the outside of the diaphragm”, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of electrically connecting the voice coil to an external signal source to produce sound by the diaphragm (see para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho, in view of Ueda, such that the vibration component further includes a connection line on a surface of the first diaphragm 140 or the second diaphragm 140’ and that the connection line is electrically coupled to the voice coil 200. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of electrically connecting the voice coil to an external signal source to produce sound by the first diaphragm or the second diaphragm.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 10,743,097), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Chiba et al. (US 2007/0081692).
Cho discloses the invention as claimed, including that the casing 500 (see fig. 9, for example), comprises a mounting space, wherein the speaker 100 is mounted in the mounting space and separates the mounting space into a first cavity (e.g., the first cavity having arrow S1 therein) and a second cavity (e.g., the second cavity having arrow S2 therein), but fails to specifically teach that a sound outlet is configured to interact with the mounting space, wherein the first cavity is configured to interact with the sound outlet, and that the housing of the speaker 100 further includes an opening hole on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole is configured to interact with the inner cavity and the second cavity. Chiba discloses an electronic speaker device (see figures 3-5, for example) including a housing comprising an inner cavity S1, a magnetic circuit component in the inner cavity and including a magnetic gap, a diaphragm, and a voice coil inside the magnetic gap, wherein the housing includes an opening hole 4a on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole 4a is configured to interact with the inner cavity S1 and an external space, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing the pressure in the speaker device from becoming too high and further to allow the diaphragm to move smoothly (see para. 0056-0058).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho, in view of Chiba, such that the housing of the speaker 100 further includes an opening hole on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole is configured to interact with the inner cavity and the second cavity. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing the pressure in the electronic speaker device from becoming too high and further to allow the diaphragm to move smoothly. Furthermore, although the covers of the casing 500 in fig. 9 do not include an outlet hole as claimed, it would have been obvious to include an outlet hole in the covers of the casing 500 to facilitate sound transmission out of the casing 500 (see fig. 3 of Chiba, for example, which teaches sound outlet holes 7a for such a purpose).
Claims 10, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0274289), as applied to claim 1 and claim 3 above, in further view of Saiki et al. (US 2011/0044489).
Wang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the magnetic circuit component 32, 33 further comprises a magnetic fluid, wherein the magnetic fluid fills the magnetic gap 36 and wraps at least a part of the voice coil 12 (see fig. 7, for example). Saiki discloses an electronic speaker device (see figs. 1(b) and 2(b), for examples) including a magnetic circuit component including a magnetic gap, a diaphragm, a voice coil inside the magnetic gap, and a magnetic fluid 17/27, wherein the magnetic fluid 17/27 fills the magnetic gap and wraps at least a part of the voice coil, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing burnout of the voice coil (see para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang, in view of Saiki, such that the magnetic circuit component 32, 33 further comprises a magnetic fluid, wherein the magnetic fluid fills the magnetic gap 36 and wraps at least a part of the voice coil 12. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing burnout of the voice coil 12 during operation of the electronic device.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0274289), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ueda et al. (US 2007/0274543).
Wang discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first diaphragm 11 or the second diaphragm 21a includes a surface which is close to the voice coil 12 (see fig. 4, for example), but fails to specifically teach that the vibration component further includes a connection line on the surface and that the connection line is electrically coupled to the voice coil 12. Ueda discloses an electronic speaker device including a diaphragm bonded to a voice coil, and a magnetic circuit, wherein the voice coil is inserted into a magnetic gap of the magnetic circuit, wherein “lead wires of this voice coil are adhesively attached to the back face of the diaphragm, and the ends of the lead wires are electrically connected to a terminal plate (power supply terminal) provided on the outside of the diaphragm”, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of electrically connecting the voice coil to an external signal source to produce sound by the diaphragm (see para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang, in view of Ueda, such that the vibration component further includes a connection line on a surface of the first diaphragm 11 or the second diaphragm 21a and that the connection line is electrically coupled to the voice coil 12. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of electrically connecting the voice coil to an external signal source to produce sound by the first diaphragm or the second diaphragm.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0274289), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Chiba et al. (US 2007/0081692).
Wang discloses the invention as claimed, including that the casing 110 (see figs. 18-20, for example), comprises a mounting space 120, wherein the speaker 200 is mounted in the mounting space 120 and separates the mounting space 120 into a first cavity (e.g., the first cavity is located between sound hole 140 and the speaker 200 in the mounting space 120) and a second cavity (e.g., the second cavity is located between sound hole 130 and the speaker 200 in the mounting space 120), and a sound outlet (e.g., sound hole 140) configured to interact with the mounting space 120, wherein the first cavity is configured to interact with the sound outlet 140, but fails to specifically teach that the housing 7, 8, 9 of the speaker 200 further includes an opening hole on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole is configured to interact with the inner cavity and the second cavity. Chiba discloses an electronic speaker device (see figures 3-5, for example) including a housing comprising an inner cavity S1, a magnetic circuit component in the inner cavity and including a magnetic gap, a diaphragm, and a voice coil inside the magnetic gap, wherein the housing includes an opening hole 4a on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole 4a is configured to interact with the inner cavity S1 and an external space, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing the pressure in the speaker device from becoming too high and further to allow the diaphragm to move smoothly (see para. 0056-0058).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang, in view of Chiba, such that the housing 7, 8, 9 of the speaker 200 further includes an opening hole on a side wall of the housing, wherein the opening hole is configured to interact with the inner cavity and the second cavity. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing the pressure in the electronic speaker device from becoming too high and further to allow the diaphragm to move smoothly.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 each disclose an electronic speaker device including two diaphragms.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
April 30, 2026