DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“200-M” (see page 6 and 7 paragraph [59]);
“950” (see page 31 paragraph [300]);
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“200-m” (see figure 2);
“1050” (see figure 11).
Figure 9 is objected to because it seems that S930 should be “Foreign Object Detection” after S9120 (see page 31). S930 should be S9140 and S940 should be S950 (see page 31).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because uses phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present disclosure,” (see line 1); “comprising:” (see line 3). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification regarding with figure 9 in page 31 doesn’t agree with figure 9 (see above).
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youn (US 20200235784 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Youn discloses entering a power transfer phase related to transferring the wireless power (figure 5 block 560 “Power transfer phase” paragraphs [0268]-[0281] figure 6 paragraphs [0284]-[0286] figure 11 block 1140 figure 15, 17, 19); transmitting, to a wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase, a first data packet related to a data stream (figure 13 data packets); and transmitting, to the wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase, a second data packet related to the data stream (figure 13 data packets), wherein the wireless power transmitter transmits the second data packet within a first timeout from the transmission of the first data packet, and wherein a value of the first timeout is a value greater than a value of a time protocol for at least one control error (CE) packet (figure 13-18 paragraphs [0017]-[0019], [0025]-[0028], [0390]-[0397] “The CEP time-out may be configured variably within a range which is larger than a predetermined minimum value. Here, the minimum value of the CEP time-out should be larger than at least the maximum value of the time interval between CEPs. Otherwise, the CEP time-out may be applied even for normal CEPs. Therefore, if the time interval between CEPs is changed or increased, the CEP time-out is changed or increased accordingly”)
Regarding claim 2, Youn discloses claim 1, Youn also discloses the wireless power transmitter receives the at least one CE packet from the wireless power receiver between the transmission of the first data packet and the transmission of the second data packet (figure 13-14 CE between data packets (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 3, Youn discloses claim 1, Youn also discloses the wireless power transmitter receives at least one received power (RP) packet from the wireless power receiver between the transmission of the first data packet and the transmission of the second data packet (figure 13-14 RT between data packets ADT and ADC (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 4, Youn discloses claim 3, Youn also discloses the value of the first timeout is a value greater than a value of a time protocol for the at least one RP packet (figure 13-14 RT between data packets ADT and ADC (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 5, Youn discloses claim 1, Youn also discloses the value of the first timeout is greater than 1000 ms (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0397]-[0410] “In the examples above, the CEP time-out due to the second time interval between CEPs may be set to range from 700 ms to 1800 ms.” … “Meanwhile, as one example, although FIG. 20 illustrates a case where the time interval between CEPs is increased from 250 ms to 1000 ms, the time interval between CEPs may be made longer than 1000 ms”).
Regarding claim 6, Youn discloses claim 1, Youn also discloses the wireless power transmitter receives a Data Stream Response (DSR) packet for the first data packet within a second timeout from the wireless power receiver, and wherein the wireless power transmitter transmits the second data packet to the wireless power receiver after receiving the DSR packet (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 7, Youn discloses claim 6, Youn also discloses a value of the second timeout has a value greater than the value of the time protocol for the at least one CE packet, and wherein the value of the second timeout has a value smaller than the value of the first timeout (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0359]-[0361] “For example, according to the WPC specification v1.2.4, the first time interval may be 250 ms. In this case, CEP may be transmitted from a wireless power receiver to a wireless power transmitter at every 250 ms. Similarly, the target of the first time interval may be 250 ms, and the maximum value thereof may be given as 350 ms. In this case, CEP may be transmitted according to a time interval corresponding to a value ranging from 250 ms to 350 ms.” … “It should be noted, however, that specific values related to the first time interval are defined to be smaller than the specific values related to a second time interval to be described later.”).
Regarding claim 8, Youn discloses claim 7, Youn also discloses based on power control not being completed within the second timeout, the wireless power transmitter receives the DSR packet from the wireless power receiver, and wherein, after receiving the DSR packet, the power control is resumed between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 9, Youn discloses claim 1, Youn also discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits an attention (ATN) to the wireless power receiver based on failure to receive a Data Stream Response (DSR) packet for the first data packet (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] ATN TXto RX “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted” … “The transmission timing of a data packet should be designed so that the data packet does not collide with a CEP. Therefore, a data packet at the application level such as an ADC data packet, ADT data packet, and DSR data packet may be transmitted from the wireless power transmitter to the wireless power receiver or from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter in a time interval or with a period of the CEP”).
Regarding claim 10, Youn discloses a converter related to transferring wireless power to a wireless power receiver; and a communicator/controller related to controlling the transmission of the wireless power (figure 4A)
entering a power transfer phase related to transferring the wireless power (figure 5 block 560 “Power transfer phase” paragraphs [0268]-[0281] figure 6 paragraphs [0284]-[0286] figure 11 block 1140 figure 15, 17, 19); transmitting, to a wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase, a first data packet related to a data stream (figure 13 data packets) ; and transmitting, to the wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase, a second data packet related to the data stream (figure 13 data packets), wherein the wireless power transmitter transmits the second data packet within a first timeout from the transmission of the first data packet, and wherein a value of the first timeout is a value greater than a value of a time protocol for at least one control error (CE) packet (figure 13-18 paragraphs [0017]-[0019], [0025]-[0028], [0390]-[0397] “The CEP time-out may be configured variably within a range which is larger than a predetermined minimum value. Here, the minimum value of the CEP time-out should be larger than at least the maximum value of the time interval between CEPs. Otherwise, the CEP time-out may be applied even for normal CEPs. Therefore, if the time interval between CEPs is changed or increased, the CEP time-out is changed or increased accordingly”)
Regarding claim 11, Youn discloses entering a power transfer phase related to receiving the wireless power (figure 5 block 560 “Power transfer phase” paragraphs [0268]-[0281] figure 6 paragraphs [0284]-[0286] figure 11 block 1140 figure 15, 17, 19) (figure 5 block 560 “Power transfer phase” paragraphs [0268]-[0281] figure 6 paragraphs [0284]-[0286] figure 11 block 1140 figure 15, 17, 19); receiving, from a wireless power transmitter in the power transfer phase, a first data packet related to a data stream (figure 13 data packets); and receiving, from the wireless power transmitter in the power transfer phase, a second data packet related to the data stream (figure 13 data packets), wherein the wireless power receiver receives the second data packet within a first timeout from the reception of the first data packet, and wherein a value of the first timeout is a value greater than a value of a time protocol for at least one control error (CE) packet (figure 13-18 paragraphs [0017]-[0019], [0025]-[0028], [0390]-[0397] “The CEP time-out may be configured variably within a range which is larger than a predetermined minimum value. Here, the minimum value of the CEP time-out should be larger than at least the maximum value of the time interval between CEPs. Otherwise, the CEP time-out may be applied even for normal CEPs. Therefore, if the time interval between CEPs is changed or increased, the CEP time-out is changed or increased accordingly”)
Regarding claim 12, Youn discloses claim 11, Youn also discloses the wireless power receiver transmits the at least one CE packet to the wireless power transmitter between the reception of the first data packet and the reception of the second data packet (figure 13-14 CE between data packets (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 13, Youn discloses claim 11, Youn also discloses the wireless power receiver transmits at least one received power (RP) packet to the wireless power transmitter between the reception of the first data packet and the reception of the second data packet (figure 13-14 RT between data packets ADT and ADC (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 14, Youn discloses claim 13, Youn also discloses the value of the first timeout is a value greater than a value of a time protocol for the at least one RP packet (figure 13-14 RT between data packets ADT and ADC (paragraphs [0353]-[0361]).
Regarding claim 15, Youn discloses claim 11, Youn also discloses the value of the first timeout is greater than 1000 ms (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0397]-[0410] “In the examples above, the CEP time-out due to the second time interval between CEPs may be set to range from 700 ms to 1800 ms.” … “Meanwhile, as one example, although FIG. 20 illustrates a case where the time interval between CEPs is increased from 250 ms to 1000 ms, the time interval between CEPs may be made longer than 1000 ms”).
Regarding claim 16, Youn discloses claim 11, Youn also discloses the wireless power receiver transmits a Data Stream Response (DSR) packet for the first data packet to the wireless power transmitter within a second timeout, and wherein the wireless power receiver receives the second data packet from the wireless power transmitter after transmitting the DSR packet (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 17, Youn discloses claim 16, Youn also discloses a value of the second timeout has a value greater than the value of the time protocol for the at least one CE packet, and wherein the value of the second timeout has a value smaller than the value of the first timeout (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0359]-[0361] “For example, according to the WPC specification v1.2.4, the first time interval may be 250 ms. In this case, CEP may be transmitted from a wireless power receiver to a wireless power transmitter at every 250 ms. Similarly, the target of the first time interval may be 250 ms, and the maximum value thereof may be given as 350 ms. In this case, CEP may be transmitted according to a time interval corresponding to a value ranging from 250 ms to 350 ms.” … “It should be noted, however, that specific values related to the first time interval are defined to be smaller than the specific values related to a second time interval to be described later.”).
Regarding claim 18, Youn discloses claim 17, Youn also discloses based on power control not being completed within the second timeout, the wireless power receiver transmits the DSR packet to the wireless power transmitter, and wherein, after transmitting the DSR packet, the power control is resumed between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 19, Youn discloses claim 11, Youn also discloses the wireless power receiver receives an attention (ATN) from the wireless power transmitter based on failure to transmit a Data Stream Response (DSR) packet for the first data packet (figure 13-14 (paragraphs [0356]-[0397] ATN TXto RX “To notify of normal reception of the ADC and ADT data packets, ACK or NACK is used. Between transmission timing of the ADC and ADT data packets, information required for wireless charging such as control error packet (CEP) or data stream response (DSR) data packet may be transmitted” … “The transmission timing of a data packet should be designed so that the data packet does not collide with a CEP. Therefore, a data packet at the application level such as an ADC data packet, ADT data packet, and DSR data packet may be transmitted from the wireless power transmitter to the wireless power receiver or from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter in a time interval or with a period of the CEP”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Martchovsky (US 20190052117 A1) discloses wireless power transmitter to receiver communication during power transfer phase.
Jung (US 20190190316 A1) discloses power control method and device in wireless power transmission system.
Park (US 20200280342 A1) discloses apparatus and method for performing data stream transmission in wireless power transfer system.
AbuKhalaf (US 11114903 B2) discloses wireless power systems with concurrently active data streams.
Smith (US 11005298 B2) discloses wireless power maximum efficiency tracking by system control.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634