DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 is missing “the” before “mobile electronic device” in the final line of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drive mechanism operatively connectable to the medicament container to expel or to withdraw the medicament from the medicament container” in claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 20, 21, 24, 25, 27, 29, 31 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammen et al. (US 2021/0069421 A1, hereafter “Hammen”).
As to claim 18, Hammen discloses an electronic circuit for a drug delivery device (602), the drug delivery device being operable to dispense a medicament (abstract, para 0022, 0056), the electronic circuit comprising:
a communication interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile electronic device (610; see Fig. 6) and to transmit at least a wireless signal to the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057), the wireless signal indicating at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057); and
a processor (120) operatively connected to the communication interface and configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 20, Hammen discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 19, wherein processor is configured to disapprove access to the electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit if the distance is above a predefined approval distance (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 21, Hammen discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to analyze at least one of the distance or the relative position (see para 0056-0057; microcontroller remaining in a sleep state and then entering into an enabled state is effectively an analysis/evaluation of the injection device 602 being within a certain distance of 610).
As to claim 24, Hammen discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 18, wherein the processor is operable to enable or to trigger the electronically implemented function only when: the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is within a predefined operating distance, and/or the electronic circuit is within a predefined relative operating position with regard to mobile electronic device (see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 25, Hammen discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 18, wherein the processor is configured to generate a control command based on the analysis of at least one of the distance or the relative position, the control command being configured to cause at least one of: locking or unlocking of a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device by an electromechanical interlock (para 0056-0057), or switching the electronic circuit from a standby mode into an active mode (see para 0027 of Hammen mentioning a sleep state (interpreted as a standby mode) and para 0056-0057 mentioning entering an enabled state).
As to claim 27, Hammen discloses a drug delivery device (602) operable to dispense a medicament (abstract, para 0022, 0056), the drug delivery device comprising:
a housing (103; the examiner points out that 105 and 118 can also be interpreted as parts of the housing) to accommodate a medicament container (104) filled with the medicament (para 0021);
a drive mechanism (106) operatively connectable to the medicament container to expel or to withdraw the medicament from the medicament container (para 0022); and
an electronic circuit (120, 104, and associated electronic components) integrated into the housing and/or operatively connected to the drive mechanism (see abstract, para 0026, 0027, 0056, 0057), wherein the electronic circuit comprises:
a communication interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile electronic device (610; see Fig. 6) and to transmit at least a wireless signal to the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057), the wireless signal indicating at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057); and
a processor (120) operatively connected to the communication interface and configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 29, Hammen discloses a method of controlling an electronically implemented function of or associated with a drug delivery device (602), the method comprising:
establishing of a wireless communication link between an electronic circuit (120, 104, and associated electronic components) attached to or integrated into the drug delivery device and a mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057);
determining at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device through transmission of wireless signals between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057);
analyzing or evaluating at least one of the distance or the relative position (see para 0056-0057; microcontroller remaining in a sleep state and then entering into an enabled state is effectively an analysis/evaluation of the injection device 602 being within a certain distance of 610); and
at least one of enabling, disabling, triggering or terminating execution of an electronically implemented function of at least one of the electronic circuit or the mobile electronic device based on analyzing or evaluating of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 31, Hammen discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: disapproving access to the electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit if the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is above a predefined approval distance (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 34, Hammen discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: enabling or triggering the electronically implemented function only when: the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is within a predefined operating distance (para 0056-0057), and/or the electronic circuit is within a predefined relative operating position with regard to mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057).
As to claim 35, Hammen discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: generating a control command based on the analysis of at least one of the distance or the relative position, the control command being configured to cause at least one of: locking or unlocking of a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device by an electromechanical interlock (para 0056-0057), or switching the electronic circuit from a standby mode into an active mode (see para 0027 of Hammen mentioning a sleep state (interpreted as a standby mode) and para 0056-0057 mentioning entering an enabled state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammen in view of Edwards et al. (US 2019/0279756 A1, hereafter “Edwards”).
As to claim 19, Hammen discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 18, but does not expressly recite wherein the electronic circuit is configured to communicate with the mobile electronic device to quantitatively measure the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device.
Edwards however discloses “A relative position between the mobile computing device and the medicament delivery device can then be determined based on the wireless signal (e.g., if the wireless signal is not received within a time period, or the like). A second notification can then be produced when the relative position exceeds a relative position threshold” (para 0318).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic circuit of Hammen such that the electronic circuit is configured to communicate with the mobile electronic device to quantitatively measure the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an indication to a user that a distance between mobile electronic device and the electronic circuit has reached a threshold (see para 0318).
Claim(s) 18-22, 24, 25, 29-32, 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dharwad (US 2019/0228863) in view of Hammen.
As to claim 18, Dharwad discloses an electronic circuit (see electronic components illustrated in Fig. 1 including processor 111, communication interface 112, memory 113, etc..) for a drug delivery device (110; see Fig. 1), the drug delivery device being operable to dispense a medicament (para 0035), the electronic circuit comprising:
a communication interface (112) configured to wirelessly communicate with a computer and to transmit at least a wireless signal to the computer, the wireless signal indicating at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the computer (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3); and
a processor operatively connected to the communication interface and configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3).
Dharwad does not expressly recite that the computer is a mobile electronic device.
Hammen teaches a drug delivery device (602; Fig. 6) that wirelessly communicates with a mobile electronic device (610) (see para 0056, 0057).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad such that the computer (if not already) is a mobile electronic device. One would have been motivated to do so as one possible implementation of the computer, and to allow/change operation of the drug delivery based on proximity to the mobile electronic device (see para 0056, 0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 19, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, and further wherein the electronic circuit is configured to communicate with the mobile electronic device to quantitatively measure the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (see modification above and para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 20, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 19, wherein processor is configured to disapprove access to the electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit if the distance is above a predefined approval distance (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 21, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, and further wherein the processor is further configured to analyze at least one of the distance or the relative position (see para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 22, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, and further a proximity sensor operatively connected to the processor and configured to measure at least one of the distance or the relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (see para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad, also see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 24, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, and further wherein the processor is operable to enable or to trigger the electronically implemented function only when: the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is within a predefined operating distance, and/or the electronic circuit is within a predefined relative operating position with regard to mobile electronic device (see para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad, also see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 25, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, and further wherein the processor is configured to generate a control command based on the analysis of at least one of the distance or the relative position, the control command being configured to cause at least one of: generating a user-perceivable alert or signal by a signaling unit (see para 0038, 0042, 0066 of Dharwad teaching alerts), locking or unlocking of a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device by an electromechanical interlock (see para 0066, 0071 of Dharwad mentioning locking infusion capabilities), triggering or terminating transmission of data by the communication interface (see para 0071 of Dharwad), or switching the electronic circuit from a standby mode into an active mode (see para 0027 of Hammen mentioning a sleep state (interpreted as a standby mode) and para 0056-0057 mentioning entering an enabled state).
As to claim 29, Dharwad discloses a method of controlling an electronically implemented function of or associated with a drug delivery device (110; see Fig. 1), the method comprising:
establishing of a wireless communication link between an electronic circuit (see electronic components illustrated in Fig. 1 including processor 111, communication interface 112, memory 113, etc..) attached to or integrated into the drug delivery device (110) and a computer (120);
determining at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the computer through transmission of wireless signals between the electronic circuit and computer (para 0019-0022);
analyzing or evaluating at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0019-0022, 0040); and
at least one of enabling, disabling, triggering or terminating execution of an electronically implemented function of at least one of the electronic circuit or the mobile electronic device based on analyzing or evaluating of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3).
Dharwad does not expressly recite that the computer is a mobile electronic device.
Hammen teaches a drug delivery device (602; Fig. 6) that wirelessly communicates with a mobile electronic device (610) (see para 0056, 0057).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad such that the computer (if not already) is a mobile electronic device. One would have been motivated to do so as one possible implementation of the computer, and to allow/change operation of the drug delivery based on proximity to the mobile electronic device (see para 0056, 0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 30, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: quantitatively measuring the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (see modification above and para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 31, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: disapproving access to the electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit if the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is above a predefined approval distance (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 32, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: measuring at least one of the distance or the relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device by using a proximity sensor operatively connected to the processor (see para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad, also see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
As to claim 34, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: enabling or triggering the electronically implemented function only when: the distance between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device is within a predefined operating distance (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad), and/or the electronic circuit is within a predefined relative operating position with regard to mobile electronic device (para 0019-0022, 0040-0043, Fig 3 of Dharwad).
As to claim 35, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: generating a control command based on the analysis of at least one of the distance or the relative position, the control command being configured to cause at least one of: generating a user-perceivable alert or signal by a signaling unit (see para 0038, 0042, 0066 of Dharwad teaching alerts), locking or unlocking of a drive mechanism of the drug delivery device by an electromechanical interlock (see para 0066, 0071 of Dharwad mentioning locking infusion capabilities), triggering or terminating transmission of data by the communication interface (see para 0071 of Dharwad), or switching the electronic circuit from a standby mode into an active mode (see para 0027 of Hammen mentioning a sleep state (interpreted as a standby mode) and para 0056-0057 mentioning entering an enabled state).
Claim(s) 23 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dharwad in view of Hammen as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Galasso et al. (US 2011/0184264 A1, hereafter “Galasso”).
As to claim 23, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 22 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein at least one of the communication interface or the proximity sensor is implemented as an ultra-wideband (UWB)- based interface or an UWB-based sensor, respectively, and is configured to generate, to transmit, to receive and/or to process electromagnetic ultra-wideband signals.
Galasso teaches “The communication unit can be configured for wired or wireless communication, including, but not limited to, radio frequency (RF) communication (e.g., Radio-Frequency Identification (RFID), Zigbee communication protocols, WiFi, infrared, wireless Universal Serial Bus (USB), Ultra Wide Band (UWB), Bluetooth.RTM. communication protocols, and cellular communication, such as code division multiple access (CDMA) or Global System for Mobile communications (GSM). In one embodiment, analyte meter 100 includes a wireless communication unit, wherein the wireless communication unit is configured for bi-directional radio frequency (RF) communication with other devices to transmit and/or receive data to and from the analyte meter 100” (para 0200; also see para 0007-0018).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad (as already modified above) such that wherein at least one of the communication interface or the proximity sensor is implemented as an ultra-wideband (UWB)- based interface or an UWB-based sensor, respectively, and is configured to generate, to transmit, to receive and/or to process electromagnetic ultra-wideband signals. One would have been motivated to do so as an additional or alternative means of communication (see para 0007-0018, 0200 of Galasso).
As to claim 33, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 32 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein measuring at least one of the distance or the relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device comprises generating, transmitting, receiving and/or processing electromagnetic ultra-wideband signals.
Galasso teaches “The communication unit can be configured for wired or wireless communication, including, but not limited to, radio frequency (RF) communication (e.g., Radio-Frequency Identification (RFID), Zigbee communication protocols, WiFi, infrared, wireless Universal Serial Bus (USB), Ultra Wide Band (UWB), Bluetooth.RTM. communication protocols, and cellular communication, such as code division multiple access (CDMA) or Global System for Mobile communications (GSM). In one embodiment, analyte meter 100 includes a wireless communication unit, wherein the wireless communication unit is configured for bi-directional radio frequency (RF) communication with other devices to transmit and/or receive data to and from the analyte meter 100” (para 0200; also see para 0007-0018).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad (as already modified above) such that measuring at least one of the distance or the relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device comprises generating, transmitting, receiving and/or processing electromagnetic ultra-wideband signals. One would have been motivated to do so as an additional or alternative means of communication (see para 0007-0018, 0200 of Galasso).
Claim(s) 26 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dharwad in view of Hammen as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Chalberg, Jr. et al. (US 2020/0206025 A1, hereafter “Chalberg”).
As to claim 26, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the electronic circuit according to claim 18 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein the communication interface is configured to exchange user specific data of a user with the mobile electronic device, wherein the user specific data specify at least one of:a medicament type, a time and/or a date of a medicament dispensing action, an amount of dispensed medicament, or motion of the user.
Chalberg discloses “the devices are “smart”, such that they include one or more electronic components that are configured to provide for wireless communication at least between an active agent delivery component and an actuator component of the device, if not with one or more additional networked devices” (para 0038; also see para 0087, 0094, 0118 regarding wireless communication), and “the active agent delivery component determination comprises usage information. Usage information is data about actual use of the active agent delivery component in the delivery of an active agent composition thereof to a subject. Such usage information includes, but is not limited to: information that an active agent composition was delivered from an active agent delivery component (e.g., during an administration event), where such information may include temporal information, such as date and time information, etc.; location or geographical information, such as where the usage took place; information about the disease condition for which the active agent delivery component was employed; information about the subject with which the active agent delivery component was employed, where such information may include one or more of: age, sex, disease condition, unique identity, co-morbid conditions and concomitant medications, medical history, and the like” (para 0129).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad (as already modified above) such that the communication interface is configured to exchange user specific data of a user with the mobile electronic device, wherein the user specific data specify at least one of: a medicament type, a time and/or a date of a medicament dispensing action, or an amount of dispensed medicament. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a means of communicating such information to the mobile electronic device (see para 0038, 0087, 0094, 0118, 0129 of Chalberg).
As to claim 36, Dharwad in view of Hammen teaches the method according to claim 29 as described above, but does not expressly recite: exchanging user specific data of a user between the communication interface and the mobile electronic device, wherein the user specific data specify at least one of: a medicament type, a time and/or a date of a medicament dispensing action, an amount of dispensed medicament, or motion of the user.
Chalberg discloses “the devices are “smart”, such that they include one or more electronic components that are configured to provide for wireless communication at least between an active agent delivery component and an actuator component of the device, if not with one or more additional networked devices” (para 0038; also see para 0087, 0094, 0118 regarding wireless communication), and “the active agent delivery component determination comprises usage information. Usage information is data about actual use of the active agent delivery component in the delivery of an active agent composition thereof to a subject. Such usage information includes, but is not limited to: information that an active agent composition was delivered from an active agent delivery component (e.g., during an administration event), where such information may include temporal information, such as date and time information, etc.; location or geographical information, such as where the usage took place; information about the disease condition for which the active agent delivery component was employed; information about the subject with which the active agent delivery component was employed, where such information may include one or more of: age, sex, disease condition, unique identity, co-morbid conditions and concomitant medications, medical history, and the like” (para 0129).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dharwad (as already modified above) to include exchanging user specific data of a user between the communication interface and the mobile electronic device, wherein the user specific data specify at least one of: a medicament type, a time and/or a date of a medicament dispensing action, or an amount of dispensed medicament. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a means of communicating such information to the mobile electronic device (see para 0038, 0087, 0094, 0118, 0129 of Chalberg).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabbach (US 2013/0197445 A1) in view of Hammen.
As to claim 28, Shabbach discloses a supplementary device (2; see Figs. 2a, 4) for a drug delivery device (1), the supplementary device comprising:
a housing (20);
a fastener (mating unit 20-1, 20-2) for fastening the supplementary device to a housing (10) of the drug delivery device (1) (see abstract, para 0112, 0262); and
an electronic circuit (electronic components seen in Fig. 4), wherein the electronic circuit comprises:
a communication interface (28) configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile electronic device and to transmit at least a wireless signal to the mobile electronic device (para 0120, 0137); and
a processor (24) operatively connected to the communication interface (Fig. 4, para 0137)..
Shabbach does not expressly recite the wireless signal indicating at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device and the processor configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position.
Hammen discloses an electronic circuit (120, 104, and associated electronic components) integrated into the housing and/or operatively connected to the drive mechanism (see abstract, para 0026, 0027, 0056, 0057), wherein the electronic circuit comprises: a communication interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a mobile electronic device (610; see Fig. 6) and to transmit at least a wireless signal to the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057), the wireless signal indicating at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device (para 0056-0057); and a processor (120) operatively connected to the communication interface and configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position (para 0056-0057).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shabbach in view of Hammen such that the wireless signal indicates at least one of a distance or a relative position between the electronic circuit and the mobile electronic device and the processor configured to enable, to disable, to trigger, or to terminate execution of an electronically implemented function of the electronic circuit based on an analysis of the at least one of the distance or the relative position. One would have been motivated to do so in order to control operation of the drug delivery device based on proximity to the mobile electronic device (see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783