DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 6/10/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 2 and 8 are currently cancelled.
5. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment to the claims filed on 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. US 20230189234 hereafter Hou in view of He et al. US 20230209541 hereafter He.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Hou discloses a resource configuration method, performed by a base station [Fig. 4, Section 0007: A network device (i.e. base station) sends configuration information to a terminal device, where the configuration information includes configuration information of frequency domain resources] which configures an initial uplink bandwidth part (initial UL BWP) of a first type of terminal [i.e. Common Terminal/First-type Terminal or non-RedCap] as a first initial UL BWP and configures an initial UL BWP of a second type of terminal [i.e. RedCap Terminal] as a second initial UL BWP [Sections 0142, 0190: The network device (i.e. base station) configures at least two initial uplink (UL) BWPs (i.e. bandwidth parts) including a first initial uplink BWP and second initial uplink BWP; the first initial uplink BWP used by a common terminal (i.e. first type terminal) and the second initial uplink BWP is configured for and used by the REDCAP-type terminal (i.e. second type terminal). When the first initial uplink BWP used by a first-type terminal device and the second initial uplink BWP is for the second-type terminal device to communicate with the network device]
the first type of terminal comprising a non-reduced capability (non-RedCap) terminal, and the second type of terminal comprises a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal, comprising [Section 0008: The first-type terminal device may be a common terminal (i.e. non RedCap), and the second-type terminal device may be a REDCAP-type terminal]:
receiving a random access message MsgA sent by a terminal; not correctly acquiring a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the MsgA [Sections 0224, 0230: For an initial access, an initial uplink BWP is used by the terminal device to send the MsgA-PUSCH. The network device (i.e. base station) receives the MsgA from the terminal device, but does not detect (i.e. not acquire) the PUSCH or a failure of MsgA-PUSCH detection],
determining resource allocation information according to configuration information of the first initial UL BWP, and sending a fallback random access response (fallback RAR) to the terminal [Sections 0009, 0228, 0230: A frequency resource configured by a network device for a terminal includes N resource blocks for initial uplink (UL) BWP. The indication information in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallback RAR (random access response). The network device does not detect the PUSCH, and the network device schedules in the MsgB, a fallbackRAR; the network device indicate to the terminal device to transmit the MsgA-PUSCH on an initial uplink BWP different from an initial uplink BWP in a frequency range],
wherein the fallback RAR carries the resource allocation information and is used to indicate the terminal to send a random access message Msg3 to the base station [i.e. Network Device, gNB] according to the resource allocation information [Sections 0228, 0235, 0111: The indication information in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallback RAR (random access response). When the network device does not detect the MsgA-PUSCH, fallback from a 2-step to a 4-step RACH performed, and network device schedules a PUSCH using a fallback RAR to continue transmission by the terminal device for subsequent uplink transmission (i.e. Msg3; see Section 0095 that states Considering that uplink transmission includes a Msg3). Generally, the terminal device sends a Msg3 to the gNB based on an indication of the RAR],
Although Hou discloses the terminal sends PUSCH it does not explicitly state wherein the PUSCH indicates a type of the terminal initiating random access;
However, He teaches wherein the PUSCH [Section 0063: The PUSCH is a PUSCH in a Msg3 or in a MsgA] indicates a type of the terminal initiating random access [Sections 0039, 0096-0097: The terminal carries indication through a PUSCH used to indicate the device type and indicate different device types, for example, the RedCap and the non-RedCap. In a 2-Step RACH (random access) procedure, the terminal device carry the indication information through the PUSCH in a MsgA used to indicate the device type. As an example, for a RedCap terminal, when the terminal sends a MsgA PUSCH to the network device, a device type implicitly indicated by using a scrambling code which is different from that for a non-RedCap terminal. Note: HE further discloses if random access fails UE initiate again the random access procedure which is part of the fall back process see section 0050; and both 4-Step or 2-Step RACH procedure, information carried by the PUSCH includes information used to indicate the device type of the terminal device explicitly, see Section 0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the method of Hou relating to terminal device initiate the initial random access by sending MsgA-PUSCH and a terminal can be a first-type which is non RedCap or common, and second-type may be a REDCAP-type, with the teaching of He relating to a terminal device sends a PUSCH that explicitly/implicitly carries indication/code to indicate a non-RedCap (first type) and/or RedCap (second type) performing the initial 2-Step-4-Step RACH (random access) procedure and further can be included in MsG3 PUSCH. By combining the methods/systems, without undue experimentation, the PUSCH does explicitly/implicitly indicates a type of the terminal such as non-RedCap or RedCap initiating the random access/RACH procedure for the network/base station to know what type of terminal is performing the random access thereby improving utilization rate as suggested by HE.
As to Claim 3. (Original) Hou discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP [Sections 0009, 0011: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N resource blocks for initial uplink BWP. The frequency domain resource includes a first initial uplink bandwidth part BWP] comprises at least one of: a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP;
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the first initial UL BWP; or positions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the first initial UL BWP [Sections 0009, 0093, 0142: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N physical resource blocks (PRBs), for initial uplink BWP. A maximum bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP may reach 100 MHz (i.e. bandwidth size). The network device (i.e. base station) configures at least two initial uplink BWPs for terminal device, including a first initial uplink BWP].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Hou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP comprises [Sections 0009, 0011: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N resource blocks for initial uplink BWP. The frequency domain resource includes a first initial uplink bandwidth part BWP]: determining a frequency domain resource to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3[Sections 0199, 0209, 0217: The indication information is located in a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in an uplink grant in the RAR. The network device indicates, the initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send the Msg3 or perform uplink transmission. The network device transmit RAR corresponding indicate the initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send the Msg3 or perform other uplink transmission];
and processing information of the frequency domain resource according to the bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, the SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and the positions of the PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information [Sections 0009, 0093, 0200: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N physical resource blocks (PRBs), for initial uplink BWP. A maximum bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP may reach 100 MHz (i.e. bandwidth size). When a bandwidth (BW) of an initial uplink BWP is set to 20 MHz and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 30 kHz in the PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation field indicate PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Hou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP comprises [Sections 0009, 0011: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N resource blocks for initial uplink BWP. The frequency domain resource includes a first initial uplink bandwidth part BWP]:
determining a time domain resource to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3; and processing information of the time domain resource according to the SCS of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information [Fig. 8, Table 4 (RAR includes PUSCH time domain resource allocation field), Sections 0102, 0200, 0208: Specifically, the gNB sends the resource configuration of the to the terminal device includes a time-frequency domain resource. Specifically, RAR includes bits and a bandwidth (BW) of an initial uplink BWP is set to subcarrier spacing (SCS). FIG. 8 is a diagram of a structure of a MAC RAR that includes indication information for an initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send a Msg3 or perform uplink transmission for example RAR grant field PUSCH time domain resource allocation field 4bits].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Hou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP comprises [Sections 0009, 0011: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N resource blocks for initial uplink BWP. The frequency domain resource includes a first initial uplink bandwidth part BWP]:
determining a frequency hopping transmission scheme to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3 [Table 4 (RAR includes Frequency hopping flag), Sections 0111, 0208: Generally, the terminal device sends a Msg3 to the gNB based on an indication of the RAR. TABLE 4 RAR grant field Quantity of bits include Frequency hopping flag];
and processing the frequency hopping transmission scheme according to the bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, the SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and the positions of the PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information [Table 4 (RAR includes Frequency hopping flag), Sections 0093, 0200-0201, 0230: A maximum bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP may reach 100 MHz (i.e. bandwidth size). Specifically, RAR includes bits and a bandwidth (BW) of an initial uplink BWP is set to subcarrier spacing (SCS). The terminal further determine, based on an initial uplink BWP with a maximum quantity of physical resource blocks PRBs in initial uplink BWPs, a quantity of bits occupied by the PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation field in the RAR. The network device schedules, an initial uplink BWP so that frequency hopping can be performed in a larger frequency range, to increase a frequency selective gain].
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Hou discloses a resource determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising [Fig. 4, Section 0007: According to this application provides a frequency domain resource determining method includes a network device (i.e. base station) sends configuration information to a terminal device, where the configuration information includes configuration information of frequency domain resources]:
sending a MsgA to a base station, wherein the MsgA comprising a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), receiving a random access response (RAR) sent by the base station [Sections 0117, 0119, 0224: A terminal device sends a MsgA to a gNB (i.e. base station). The gNB sends a MsgB/Msg2 (i.e. RAR) to the terminal device. For an initial access, an initial uplink BWP is used by the terminal device to send the MsgA-PUSCH],
wherein the base station configures an initial UL BWP of a first type of terminal [i.e. Common Terminal/First-type Terminal or non-RedCap] as a first initial UL BWP and configures an initial UL BWP of a second type of terminal [i.e. RedCap Terminal] as a second initial UL BWP [Sections 0142, 0190: The network device (i.e. base station) configures at least two initial uplink (UL) BWPs (i.e. bandwidth parts) including a first initial uplink BWP and second initial uplink BWP; the first initial uplink BWP used by a common terminal (i.e. first type terminal) and the second initial uplink BWP is configured for and used by the REDCAP-type terminal (i.e. second type terminal). When the first initial uplink BWP used by a first-type terminal device and the second initial uplink BWP is for the second-type terminal device to communicate with the network device],
and the RAR received is a fallback RAR [Section 0230: The network device sends fallback RAR] acquiring resource allocation information from the fallback RAR, and analyzing the resource allocation information according to configuration information of the first initial UL BWP to determine a transmission resource [Sections 0009, 0228, 0230: A frequency resource configured by a network device for a terminal includes N resource blocks for initial uplink (UL) BWP. The indication information in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallback RAR (random access response). The network device does not detect the PUSCH, and the network device schedules in the MsgB, a fallbackRAR; the network device indicate to the terminal device to transmit the MsgA-PUSCH on an initial uplink BWP different from an initial uplink BWP in a frequency range];
and sending a Msg3 to the base station on the transmission resource [Sections 0228, 0235, 0111, 0203: The indication information is located in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallbackRAR. The network device schedules a PUSCH using a fallbackRAR to continue transmission by the terminal device for subsequent uplink transmission (i.e. Msg3; see section 0095 that states Considering that uplink transmission includes a Msg3). The terminal device sends a Msg3 to the gNB based on an indication of the RAR. The terminal sends Msg3 uplink transmission on a frequency resource uplink BWP]
the first type of terminal comprising a non-reduced capability (non-RedCap) terminal, and the second type of terminal comprising a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal [Section 0008: The first-type terminal device may be a common terminal (i.e. non RedCap), and the second-type terminal device may be a REDCAP-type terminal]
Although Hou discloses the terminal sends PUSCH it does not explicitly state and the PUSCH indicates a type of a terminal initiating random access;
However, He teaches and the PUSCH [Section 0063: The PUSCH is a PUSCH in a Msg3 or in a MsgA] indicates a type of a terminal initiating random access [Sections 0039, 0096-0097: The terminal carries indication through a PUSCH used to indicate the device type and indicate different device types, for example, the RedCap and the non-RedCap. In a 2-Step RACH (random access) procedure, the terminal device carry the indication information through the PUSCH in a MsgA used to indicate the device type. As an example, for a RedCap terminal, when the terminal sends a MsgA PUSCH to the network device, a device type implicitly indicated by using a scrambling code which is different from that for a non-RedCap terminal. Note: HE further discloses if random access fails UE initiate again the random access procedure which is part of the fall back process see section 0050; and both 4-Step or 2-Step RACH procedure, information carried by the PUSCH includes information used to indicate the device type of the terminal device explicitly, see Section 0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the method of Hou relating to terminal device initiate the initial random access by sending MsgA-PUSCH and a terminal can be a first-type which is non RedCap or common, and second-type may be a REDCAP-type, with the teaching of He relating to a terminal device sends a PUSCH that explicitly/implicitly carries indication/code to indicate a non-RedCap (first type) and/or RedCap (second type) performing the initial 2-Step-4-Step RACH (random access) procedure and further can be included in MsG3 PUSCH. By combining the methods/systems, without undue experimentation, the PUSCH does explicitly/implicitly indicates a type of the terminal such as non-RedCap or RedCap initiating the random access/RACH procedure for the network/base station to know what type of terminal is performing the random access thereby improving utilization rate as suggested by HE.
As to Claim 9. (Original) The method according to claim 7, wherein the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP comprises at least one of: a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP; a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the first initial UL BWP; or positions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the first initial UL BWP [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. (Previously presented) The method according to claim 9, wherein analyzing the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP to determine the transmission resource comprises: analyzing the resource allocation information according to the bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, the SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and the positions of the PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to determine a frequency domain resource for transmitting the Msg3 [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. (Previously presented) The method according to claim 9, wherein analyzing the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP to determine the transmission resource comprises: analyzing the resource allocation information according to the SCS of the first initial UL BWP to determine a time domain resource for transmitting the Msg3 [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. (Previously presented) The method according to claim 9, wherein analyzing the resource allocation information according to the configuration information of the first initial UL BWP to determine the transmission resource comprises: analyzing the resource allocation information according to the bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, the SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and the positions of the PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to determine a frequency hopping transmission scheme for transmitting the Msg3 [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Hou discloses a base station [i.e. Network Device, gNB] wherein the base station configures an initial uplink bandwidth part (initial UL BWP) of a first type of terminal [i.e. Common Terminal/First-type Terminal or non-RedCap] as a first initial UL BWP and configures an initial UL BWP of a second type of terminal [i.e. RedCap Terminal] as a second initial UL BWP [Sections 0142, 0190: The network device (i.e. base station) configures at least two initial uplink (UL) BWPs (i.e. bandwidth parts) including a first initial uplink BWP and second initial uplink BWP; the first initial uplink BWP used by a common terminal (i.e. first type terminal) and the second initial uplink BWP is configured for and used by the REDCAP-type terminal (i.e. second type terminal). When the first initial uplink BWP used by a first-type terminal device and the second initial uplink BWP is for the second-type terminal device to communicate with the network device],
the first type of terminal comprising a non-reduced capability (non-RedCap) terminal, and the second type of terminal comprising a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal [Section 0008: The first-type terminal device may be a common terminal (i.e. non RedCap), and the second-type terminal device may be a REDCAP-type terminal],
and the base station comprises: one or more processors configured to [Fig. 12, Section 0275: A network device includes a processor-701]:
receive a random access message MsgA sent by a terminal; not correctly acquire a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the MsgA [Sections 0224, 0230: For an initial access, an initial uplink BWP is used by the terminal device to send the MsgA-PUSCH. The network device (i.e. base station) receives the MsgA from the terminal device, but does not detect (i.e. not acquire) the PUSCH or a failure of MsgA-PUSCH detection],
determine resource allocation information according to configuration information of the first initial UL BWP, and send a fallback random access response (fallback RAR) to the terminal [Sections 0009, 0228, 0230: A frequency resource configured by a network device for a terminal includes N resource blocks for initial uplink (UL) BWP. The indication information in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallback RAR (random access response). The network device does not detect the PUSCH, and the network device schedules in the MsgB, a fallbackRAR; the network device indicate to the terminal device to transmit the MsgA-PUSCH on an initial uplink BWP different from an initial uplink BWP in a frequency range],
wherein the fallback RAR carries the resource allocation information and is used to indicate the terminal to send a random access message Msg3 to the base station according to the resource allocation information [Sections 0228, 0235, 0111: The indication information in significant bits of a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in a fallback RAR (random access response). When the network device does not detect the MsgA-PUSCH, fallback from a 2-step to a 4-step RACH performed, and network device schedules a PUSCH using a fallback RAR to continue transmission by the terminal device for subsequent uplink transmission (i.e. Msg3; see Section 0095 that states Considering that uplink transmission includes a Msg3). Generally, the terminal device sends a Msg3 to the gNB based on an indication of the RAR]
Although Hou discloses the terminal sends PUSCH it does not explicitly state wherein the PUSCH indicates a type of the terminal initiating random access;
However, He teaches wherein the PUSCH [Section 0063: The PUSCH is a PUSCH in a Msg3 or in a MsgA] indicates a type of the terminal initiating random access [Sections 0039, 0096-0097: The terminal carries indication through a PUSCH used to indicate the device type and indicate different device types, for example, the RedCap and the non-RedCap. In a 2-Step RACH (random access) procedure, the terminal device carry the indication information through the PUSCH in a MsgA used to indicate the device type. As an example, for a RedCap terminal, when the terminal sends a MsgA PUSCH to the network device, a device type implicitly indicated by using a scrambling code which is different from that for a non-RedCap terminal. Note: HE further discloses if random access fails UE initiate again the random access procedure which is part of the fall back process see section 0050; and both 4-Step or 2-Step RACH procedure, information carried by the PUSCH includes information used to indicate the device type of the terminal device explicitly, see Section 0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the method of Hou relating to terminal device initiate the initial random access by sending MsgA-PUSCH and a terminal can be a first-type which is non RedCap or common, and second-type may be a REDCAP-type, with the teaching of He relating to a terminal device sends a PUSCH that explicitly/implicitly carries indication/code to indicate a non-RedCap (first type) and/or RedCap (second type) performing the initial 2-Step-4-Step RACH (random access) procedure and further can be included in MsG3 PUSCH. By combining the methods/systems, without undue experimentation, the PUSCH does explicitly/implicitly indicates a type of the terminal such as non-RedCap or RedCap initiating the random access/RACH procedure for the network/base station to know what type of terminal is performing the random access thereby improving utilization rate as suggested by HE.
As to Claim 14. (Previously presented) Hou discloses a terminal, comprising: one or more processors configured to [Fig. 13, Sections 0279-0280: FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of a hardware structure of a terminal device. As shown in FIG. 13, a terminal device includes: a processor-801]:
performed the resource determination method according to claim 7 [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Previously presented) Hou discloses a communication device [i.e. Network Device, gNB], comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor [Fig. 12, Section 0275: A network device includes a processor-701 and a memory-702; the memory 702 is configured to store a computer program and processor 701 is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory702, to implement the method performed by the network device in any one of the foregoing method embodiments],
the resource configuration method according to claim 1 is implemented [See Claim 1 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. (Previously presented) Hou discloses a communication device [i.e. Terminal], comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor [Fig. 13, Sections 0279-0280: FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of a hardware structure of a terminal device. As shown in FIG. 13, a terminal device includes: a processor-801 and a memory 802; The memory 802 is configured to store a computer program; the processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 802, to implement the method performed by the terminal device in any one of the foregoing method embodiments],
the resource determination method according to claim 7 is implemented [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. (Previously presented) Hou discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [i.e. Memory-702] for storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes steps in [Fig. 12, Section 0275, 0284: A network device includes a memory-702 is configured to store a computer program and processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory. This application further provides a readable storage medium stores executable instructions, and when at least one processor of a network device executes the executable instructions, the network device performs the technical solutions of the network device in any one of the foregoing method embodiments]
the resource configuration method according to claim 1 to be implemented [See Claim 1 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 18. (Previously presented) Hou discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes steps in [Fig. 13, Sections 0279-0280, 0285: FIG. 13 is a diagram of a terminal device. As shown in FIG. 13, a terminal device includes: a processor-801 and a memory 802; The memory 802 is configured to store a computer program; the processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 802. This application further provides a readable storage medium stores executable instructions, and when at least one processor of a terminal device executes the executable instructions, the terminal device performs the technical solutions of the terminal device in any one of the foregoing method embodiments],
the resource determination method according to claim 7 to be implemented [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. (Previously presented) Hou discloses the base station [i.e. Network Device, gNB] according to claim 13, wherein the one or more processors is configured to [Fig. 12, Section 0275: A network device includes a processor-701]:
determine a frequency domain resource to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3 [Sections 0199, 0209, 0217: The indication information is located in a PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation indication field in an uplink grant in the RAR. The network device indicates, the initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send the Msg3 or perform uplink transmission. The network device transmit RAR corresponding indicate the initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send the Msg3 or perform other uplink transmission];
and process information of the frequency domain resource according to a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, an SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and positions of PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information [Sections 0009, 0093, 0200: A frequency domain resource configured by a network device for a terminal device includes N physical resource blocks (PRBs), for initial uplink BWP. A maximum bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP may reach 100 MHz (i.e. bandwidth size). When a bandwidth (BW) of an initial uplink BWP is set to 20 MHz and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 30 kHz in the PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation field indicate PUSCH frequency domain resource allocation],
determine a time domain resource to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3; and process information of the time domain resource according to an SCS of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information, or determine a frequency hopping transmission scheme to be indicated to the terminal for transmitting the Msg3; and process the frequency hopping transmission scheme according to a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, an SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and positions of PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to obtain the resource allocation information [Note: The limitations recited above are separated the phrase “or” which suggest a selection can be made. Fig. 8, Table 4 (RAR includes PUSCH time domain resource allocation field), Table 4 (RAR includes Frequency hopping flag), Sections 0102, 0200, 0208: Specifically, the gNB sends the resource configuration of the to the terminal device includes a time-frequency domain resource. Specifically, RAR includes bits and a bandwidth (BW) of an initial uplink BWP is set to subcarrier spacing (SCS). FIG. 8 is a diagram of a structure of a MAC RAR that includes indication information for an initial uplink BWP used by the terminal device to send a Msg3 or perform uplink transmission for example RAR grant field PUSCH time domain resource allocation field 4bits].
As to Claim 20. (Previously presented) Hou discloses the terminal according to claim 14, wherein the one or more processors is configured to [Fig. 13, Sections 0279-0280: FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of a hardware structure of a terminal device. As shown in FIG. 13, a terminal device includes: a processor-801]:
analyze the resource allocation information according to a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, an SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and positions of PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to determine a frequency domain resource for transmitting the Msg3; analyze the resource allocation information according to an SCS of the first initial UL BWP to determine a time domain resource for transmitting the Msg3; or analyze the resource allocation information according to a bandwidth size of the first initial UL BWP, an SCS of the first initial UL BWP, and positions of PRBs of the first initial UL BWP to determine a frequency hopping transmission scheme for transmitting the Msg3 [See Claim 19 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Extra Art: Kim et al. US 20230292322 in particular Fig. 13.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 13, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477