DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tregouet et al (US 2020/0101793).
Regarding claims 16, 22, 24-25 and 27, Tregouet teaches a rubber composition comprising:
an elastomer matrix ([0019])
a reinforcing filler in the amount from 5 to 200 phr ([0034])
a plasticizing agent in the amount from 22 to 29 phr (Examples)
a crumb rubber in the amount from 25 to 100 phr ([0046])
The ratio of the reinforcing filler to the amount of plasticizing agent can be calculated to range from 0.2 to 9.1
The total amount of the reinforcing filler and the crumb rubber can be calculated to range from 30 to 300 phr.
The ratio of the total amount of crumb rubber to the reinforcing filler can range from 0.13 to 20.
An example for clarification would be: 34 phr reinforcing filler, 34 phr of crumb rubber and 22 phr of the plasticizing agent. This would result in a ratio of the filler to the plasticizer of 1.54, the total amount of the filler and the crumb rubber would be 68 phr and the ratio of the crumb rubber to the filler is 1.
Tregouet fails to specifically exemplify the recited rubber composition. However, Tregouet discloses each of the components of the rubber, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the compositions suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the compositions suggested by Tregouet, including the claimed invention. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Tregouet to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using a known compound in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 17-20, Tregouet teaches that the elastomer can be a blend of polybutadiene and a polyisoprene ([0031]).
Regarding claim 21, Tregouet teaches that the reinforcing filler can be 100% carbon black ([0032]).
Regarding claim 23, Tregouet teaches that the plasticizing agent can be a hydrocarbon resin and or a liquid plasticizing agent such as an oil ([0074]).
Regarding claim 26, 40 mesh screens have a hole size of about 400 microns. Tregouet teaches that the crumb rubber has a particle size ranging from a few tens up to a few hundreds of microns ([0048]). Therefore, there would be no remaining crumb rubber particles remaining on a 40-mesh sieve.
Regarding claim 28, Tregouet teaches that the crumb rubber has not undergone any further treatment ([0061]).
Regarding claim 29, Tregouet teaches that the rubber is further based on an anti-ozone wax (Exmaples).
Regarding claim 30, Tregouet teaches a rubber product comprising the rubber composition according to claim 16 (Abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 16 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29 of copending Application No. 18/705,868 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite the same components: elastomer, reinforcing filler, plasticizing agent, crumb rubber and wax and the relative amounts of each of these components overlap.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764