DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitation butadiene polymers, and the claim also recites butadiene copolymers which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite how rubber can be turned into crumb rubber without any mechanical treatment. It is also unclear how the crumb rubber can be mixed into the composition without any mechanical mixing.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “based on a plasticizing agent” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the composition is based on a plasticizing agent, or it comprises a plasticizing agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi (JP 2021-126938A).
Regarding claims 16-21, 25 and 26-28: Yoshizumi teaches 50 parts by mass natural rubber, 50 parts butadiene rubber, 30 parts of a carbon black, and 10 parts crumb rubber [Examples; Table 1]. Yoshizumi teaches adding 0.5 to 3.0 parts by mass of an anti-ozone wax [0093-0094]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.5 to 3.0 parts by mass of the wax of Yoshizumi to the examples to provide ozone resistance.
Regarding claim 22: Yoshizumi teaches the claimed wax [0094].
Regarding claim 23: Yoshizumi teaches 0.5 to 3.0 parts by mass of an anti-ozone wax [0093-0094]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 24: Yoshizumi teaches the claimed particle size [0119; Examples].
Regarding claim 29: Yoshizumi teaches 1 to 10 phr of a plasticizing agent [0056-0060]. The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 30: Yoshizumi teaches a rubber product [0103-0104; Examples].
Double Patenting
Claims 16-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-30 of copending Application No. 18/705862. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-30 of copending Application No. 18/705852. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763