Specification
The objection to the title of the invention has been withdrawn due to the submission of a new tittle (See Remarks filed on 01/14/2026)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8, 11-12, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al (WO 2021000445 A1 and TANG hereinafter, IDS cited) in view of Kakuda et al (US Patent No. 12353241 B1 and Kakuda hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, TANG discloses (1-9) an electronic device, comprising: a cover plate (20), wherein a surface of a side of the cover plate (CS) is a first plate surface;
a display screen (10), wherein the display screen is located on a side at which the first plate surface of the cover plate is located,
the display screen has a bent section (301), and the bent section bends toward a side away from the cover plate; and a bracket (200), wherein accommodating space (AS) is provided between the bracket and the cover plate, a gap (G) that is communicated with the accommodating space is defined between an end of the bracket and the cover plate, and a filling structure (41) is provided in the accommodating space and is configured to fix the bent section of the display screen in the accommodating space to the bracket.
TANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the filling structure comprises an adhesive material, wherein the gap is configured to be filled with the adhesive material from the accommodating space when the accommodating space is filled with the adhesive material. However, Kakuda teaches (fig.4) wherein the filling structure comprises an adhesive material (46), wherein the gap (G) is configured to be filled with the adhesive material (one part of 46, see annotated fig.4 below) from the accommodating space (AS) when the accommodating space is filled with the adhesive material (other part of 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adhesive material is filled from the accommodating space to the gaps of Kakuda to device of TANG in order to ensure that mechanical stresses on cover layer (Kakuda and col 8, lines 55-60)
Regarding Claim 2, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 1. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the bracket comprises a bracket body (BB) and a raised part (BR) , the raised part is located at an end of the bracket body, and the raised part protrudes from the bracket body toward the cover plate.
Regarding Claim 3, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 2. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the cover plate comprises a cover plate body and an extended plate section, the cover plate body and the extended plate section are two regions of the cover plate, and the raised part protrudes from the bracket body toward the extended plate section.
Regarding Claim 4, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 3. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the raised part has a surface corresponding to the extended plate section, and the gap that is communicated with the accommodating space is defined between the extended plate section and the surface that is of the raised part and that corresponds to the extended plate section.
Regarding Claim 5, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 2. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the raised part is spaced apart from the bent section.
Regarding Claim 6, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 1. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4)wherein the display screen further comprises a main screen section (10), the bent section is bent from an edge of the main screen section to the side away from the cover plate, the bent section extends from the main screen section
into the accommodating space, and the main screen section is a part of the display screen for displaying.
Regarding Claim 7, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 6. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein a thickness of the bent section is smaller than a thickness of the main screen section.
Regarding Claim 8, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 6. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the display screen further comprises a wire connecting screen section (11), the wire connecting screen section is connected to the bent section, the main screen section is attached to an inner side surface of the cover plate body, and the wire connecting screen section is located on an inner side surface of the main screen section and is stacked on the main screen section.
Regarding Claim 11, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 1. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein a recessed cavity is formed on a side of the bent section, the recessed cavity defines filling space, and the accommodating space comprises the filling space.
Regarding Claim 12, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 11. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein there is an adhesive material (42) in the filling space.
Regarding Claim 15, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 2. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the raised part extends to an end surface of the cover plate, and the raised part is opposite to the end surface of the cover plate.
Regarding Claim 16, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 15. TANG further discloses (See annotated fig. 4) wherein the raised part has a surface opposite to the end surface of the cover plate, the surface that is of the raised part and that is opposite to the end surface of the cover plate is spaced apart from the end surface of the cover plate to define a gap, and the gap is communicated with the accommodating space.
Regarding Claim 18, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 1. TANG further discloses (figs. 1-4) wherein the electronic device further comprises a cover body (20) that is integrally formed with the bracket (12, fig.3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a cover body that is integrally formed with the bracket of Kakuda to device of TANG in order to provide a rigid outer material that transfer mechanical stresses on the cover layer to the housing (Kakuda and col 8, lines 55-60)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al in view of Kakuda et al and further in view of LU (CN 111599279 A and LU hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 17, TANG/Kakuda discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the gap is configured to discharge air when the adhesive material is poured into the accommodating space. However, LU teaches (fig.1) wherein the gap (20) is configured to discharge air (discharge the air in the through hole 20) when the adhesive material (4) is poured into the accommodating space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the gap is configured to discharge air of LU to device of TANG/Kakuda in order to provide maximum filling thickness of the adhesive layer (Lu, and claim 2)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to disclose “wherein supporting pads are convexly disposed on the surface that is of the raised part and that corresponds to the extended plate section, the supporting pads support the extended plate section, so that the extended plate section is spaced apart from the surface that is of the raised part and that corresponds to the extended plate section to define the gap that is communicated with the accommodating space.”
Claim 14 is rejected being depend on claim 13. However, the prior art (Cited in PTO 892), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination fails to disclose, “wherein the filling structure comprises an adhesive material, wherein the gap is configured to be filled with the adhesive material from the accommodating space when the accommodating space is filled with the adhesive material.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kakuda clearly teaches (fig.4) wherein the filling structure comprises an adhesive material (46), wherein the gap (G) is configured to be filled with the adhesive material (one part of 46, see annotated fig.4 below) from the accommodating space (AS) when the accommodating space is filled with the adhesive material (other part of 46).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841