DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 6/11/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final necessitated by amendment.
4. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment filed on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US 20220256519 hereafter Jeon in view of Moon et al. US 20250294614 hereafter Moon.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Jeon discloses an apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] for wireless communication by a radar device, comprising: at least one processor and a memory configured to [Figs. 3, 6, 7A-D (Illustrates radar in the UE), Sections 0207, 0392, 0405: The UE is equipped with separate modules and antenna for communication and radar procedures. The UE includes a processor-307 and a memory-311. The UE equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
determine a resource pool configuration indicating a radar band [i.e. Frequency or bandwidth] partitioned into a plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0006, 0424, 0428: Resources are configured for radar and No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. A UE operates with multiple configured bandwidth parts (BWPs) with frequency resource; the UE configured with a set of BWP (i.e. set of sub-bands). The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and the configuration indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)];
wherein a first subband [i.e. BWP] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses first resource elements (REs) [Sections 0422, 0427, 0433: The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain, for example, the frequency resources can be in different units, and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) in sub-bands based on a predetermined/configured size. A UE receives a first frequency configuration for BWPs (i.e. sub bands) for communication and radar sensing. Frequency allocation with frequency configuration indicated in frequency grid (e.g., RB index) with no-overlap including resources inside BWPs (i.e. sub bands)],
and transmit a radar waveform [Section 0360: During the radar transmission of a pulse radar, the UE transmits waveform in time periods] using at least one RE [i.e. RB or RE] within a subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0206, 0424, 0433: A UE is able to perform uplink (i.e. transmit to base station) communication and perform radar sensing achieved by sending a suitable waveform such as radar operation in frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). The UE configured to use resource (i.e. RE/RB see 0422) within the active BWPs (sub band) for UL (uplink). The RB index used with no overlap with frequency resources for communication, including within active BWP (subbands)],
Although Jeon discloses a first frequency including first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency including BWPs, and frequency resources can be in different units and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) are within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size (see 0422), it does not explicitly state and a second subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration;
However, Moon teaches and a second subband [Section 0011: The frequency region divided into (N+1) subbands and each of the subbands composed of one or a plurality of consecutive RBs (i.e. REs)] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration [Figs. 2-4, 9 (Depicts REs mapped in first and second subbands), Sections 0113, 0131, 0170, 0236: The first and second subbands may be different in size and in general RBs (i.e. REs) are included in subbands. The terminal operates in the first and second subbands at a time point and transmit uplink transmission in the first and second subbands. That is, the symbol sequence of the PDSCH/PUSCH first mapped to REs (resource elements) of the first subband in the scheduled resource region, and REs mapped of the second subband, within the subbands in the frequency and time domain to be used for uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) and downlink transmission (e.g., PDSCH). The above-described contents include/extend to different frequency positions within subband and windows (i.e. time) configured Not to overlap each other. NOTE: The minimum resource unit composed of resource element (RE) composed/associated with RB (resource blocks) in the frequency domain and one OFDM symbol in the time domain in a wireless communication system].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Jeon relating to UE receiving/transmitting using plurality of subbands/BWPs in frequency resources ranges in which the first frequency include first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency include BWPs, the resources can be in different units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size with the teaching of Moon relating to in general per wireless technology, the frequency region is divided into N+1 subbands (i.e. plurality of subbands including first, second, etc) in which each subbands are composed of REs/RBs, a first and second subband comprises different REs/RBs, different size and time and do not overlap. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art based on known technology to have combined the method of second sub band comprising a differing RE from the first suband in differing size and time so that the UE can transmit/receive radar/sensing signals or information free from interference as suggested by both Jeon and Moon without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 2. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1 [Figs. 6, 7A-D, Sections 0405: The UE equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)], wherein different shapes of the REs of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands match with at least a frequency size and a time duration of different radar waveforms of different radar devices [Sections 0360, 0420, 0422, 0462: Radar waveforms include pulse shape, and radar detection procedures are based on the shape including the time periods (i.e. duration). Radar sensing transmission/reception can have different numerologies and can be applied to different waveform technology. The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain for radar such as a number of RBs, to represent a size of frequency resources in different units, for example, in resource elements (REs) in units of sub-bands (i.e. BWPs). In one example, time/frequency resource(s) for radar are configured such that different UEs (i.e. radar devices) are provided with resources; and the gNB (i.e. base station) configure non-overlapping sensing resources to UEs in a group].
As to Claim 3. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
select the subband [i.e. BWP/sub-bands] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands for transmitting the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0466: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). A UE selects a frequency resource to perform radar] based on a first predetermined criteria, the first predetermined criteria is satisfied when a smallest number of the REs per radar waveform are used based on the selected subband [Sections 0306, 0339, 0422, 0438: According to the spatial relation, there lowest ResourceSetId (i.e. small resources) in the active BWP in the CC. There is minimum values provided by k2 for active UL BWP. The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain for radar such as a number of resource elements (REs) in units of sub-bands (i.e. BWPs). Configuration of frequency resources for radar sensing can be based on trigger conditions with predefined characteristics, e.g., within a range threshold, wherein the threshold can be predetermined or (pre-)configured].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
select the subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands for transmitting the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0466: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). A UE selects a frequency resource to perform radar] based on a second predetermined criteria [i.e. Energy RSRP or Signal], the second predetermined criteria is satisfied when a value based on a number of the REs used per radar waveform and time-frequency resources of each RE is less than a threshold [Sections 0010, 0339, 0438: A user equipment is configured to process resources determined based on energy detection or signal detection, where energy detection include comparison of reference signal received power (RSRP) with a threshold and signal detection may include attempting to detect one of a signal, a channel, or a transmission block on the resources from the configured resource pool. There is minimum values provided by k2 for active UL BWP. Configuration of time/frequency resources for radar sensing can be based on trigger conditions, timers, or counters; the UE detects that a predefined triggering condition has occurred within a range threshold wherein the threshold can be predetermined].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
receive, from a wireless node, a message [i.e. L1/L2 signaling MAC-CE, DCI, or higher layer configuration] indicating the subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Section 0428] for transmitting the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0424, 0432: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). The UE configured to use resource (i.e. RE/RB see 0422) within the active BWP(s) for DL/UL/SL communication. Embodiment involves resource allocation (i.e. frequency/bandwidth configurations, resources) having a time pattern with radar (R) components defined in terms of symbols/slots (i.e. resources) which is indicated by higher layers, L1/L2 signaling, MAC-CE, or DCI for communication].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
select the at least one RE within the subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Section 0428] indicated within the message [i.e. L1/L2 signaling MAC-CE, DCI, or higher layer configuration; Section 0432] for transmitting the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0424, 0464: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). The UE configured to use resource (i.e. RE/RB see 0422) within the active BWPs (i.e. sub-band) for DL/UL/SL. In such cases, a UE identifies that a resource is available and the UE can use the corresponding resource for radar transmission].
As to Claim 7. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the message [i.e. L1/L2 signaling MAC-CE, DCI, or higher layer configuration; Section 0432] further indicates the at least one RE within the subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Section 0428] to use for transmitting the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0424, 0464: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). The UE configured to use resource (i.e. RE/RB see 0422) within the active BWPs (i.e. sub-band) for DL/UL/SL. In such cases, a UE identifies that a resource is available and the UE can use the corresponding resource for radar transmission].
As to Claim 8. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the wireless node comprises a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], and wherein the message is received via a downlink control information (DCI) [Section 0432: Embodiment involves resource allocation (i.e. frequency/bandwidth configurations, resources) having a time pattern with radar (R) components indicated by DCI for communication].
As to Claim 9. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the wireless node comprises another radar device [Sections 0007, 0405: A base station includes one or more radar sensing components (i.e. radar devices) for communication. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)],
and wherein the message is received via a sidelink control information (SCI) [Sections 0260, 0450: In mode 1, the sidelink resource allocation (i.e. frequency/bandwidth configurations, resources) is provided by the network. There can be various methods to indicate configuration of time/frequency resources for radar sensing such as in a sidelink control information (SCI) format].
As to Claim 10. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the message is a unicast message or a groupcast message [Sections 0265, 0463: In one option, unicast and groupcast configured with resource for side link communication for example. In another example, time/frequency/spatial/sequence configuration for radar sensing are configured in a UE-group-specific (i.e. groupcast) manner, so that a pool of resources/sequences are shared by a number of UEs indicated to group of UEs].
As to Claim 11. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands is for a frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar device [Sections 0206, 0360, 0370, 0428: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). Radar waveforms include: continuous-wave sounding waveform modulation; for a CW radar parameter such as frequency (frequency modulation or “FM”) can be used, leading to FMCW radar. A frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar is very common. Frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)].
As to Claim 12. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands comprises one or more subchannels, each subchannel is partitioned into one or more chirps slots and one or more guard intervals [Sections 0370, 0413, 0423: A frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar, is based on a chirp that can be a linear or quadratic chirp, such as an up-chirp or a linear-triangular frequency chirp. The time pattern or a communication-radar time pattern include a number of guard symbols or slots between radar resources. Frequency domain resources for sensing can be within channel carrier frequency(s) configured as serving cell(s) include resources multiple serving cells, including “channel bonding”/carrier aggregation methods wherein multiple component carries (CCs)].
As to Claim 13. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the resource pool configuration of the radar band is preconfigured in the radar device [Sections 0006, 0463: Resources are configured for radar components; No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. Time/frequency/spatial/sequence configuration for radar are configured in BWP-specific so that a pool resources/sequences are predetermined/(pre-)configured or dynamically indicated].
As to Claim 14. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the resource pool configuration of the radar band depends on one or more of: a location of the radar device and a time [Sections 0006, 0206, 0363, 0355: Resources are configured for radar components include configured resource pool. UE is able to perform downlink/uplink/sidelink communication and radar sensing by sensing/detecting objects and their location/range. For uninterrupted operation of radar of the target's location, the pulse radar keeps transmitting/repeating the pulse shape with a periodicity of time ΔT. Radar (Radio Detection And Ranging) is a system based on electromagnetic waveforms for determination of location/range, and so on].
As to Claim 15. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
determine by: receiving, from a network entity[i.e. Base Station-BS], signaling indicating an index of a table of a plurality of resource pool configurations; and determining the resource pool configuration of the radar band based on the index [Sections 0446, 0466: Accordingly, the UE can indicate a request to the gNB for resources by indicating of the categories index from a set {0,1,2,3}, wherein each category index refers to a corresponding set of sensing parameters associated with a set of sensing resources. The UE selects a time/frequency/sequence resource from the configured resource pool].
As to Claim 16. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the signaling is received from the network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS/gNB], either periodically or based on a request from the radar device [Sections 0215, 0437: In one embodiment, a UE (i.e. radar device) can request gNB, for configuration of time/frequency resources for radar or release of such configured resources. In one example, the UE sends a signaling or indication to request the gNB to configure a set of resources or to activate a set of (pre-)configured resources for radar sensing].
As to Claim 17. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
determine by: receiving, from a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], signaling indicating the resource pool configuration of the radar band; and using the resource pool configuration of the radar band [Sections 0006, 0464: Resources are configured for radar components; frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. In such cases, for different resources in the resource/sequence pool, a UE identifies that a resource is available and the UE can use the corresponding resource for radar transmission and reception].
As to Claim 18. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the signaling is received from the network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], either periodically or based on a request from the radar device [Sections 0215, 0437: In one embodiment, a UE (i.e. radar device) can request gNB, for configuration of time/frequency resources for radar or release of such configured resources. In one example, the UE sends a signaling or indication to request the gNB to configure a set of resources or to activate a set of (pre-)configured resources for radar sensing].
As to Claim 19. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the resource pool configuration indicates for each of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands of the radar band [Sections 0006, 0428: Resources are configured for radar components; No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for radar; frequency configuration for radar sensing initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within a configured resource pool. The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and the configuration indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)]
one or more of: a starting frequency, a size of each subchannel, a number of subchannels, a guard band size, a size of each slot, a guard interval duration, a chirp slot duration, and a set of frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) parameters, the set of FMCW parameters comprises one or more of: a bandwidth, a carrier frequency, a chirp transmission duration, upchirp intervals, downchirp intervals, a number of chirp transmissions per frame, a chirp transmission period within a frame, a frame period, and a sampling frequency [Sections 0360, 0370: Radar waveforms include: continuous-wave sounding waveform modulation; for a CW radar parameter such as frequency (frequency modulation or “FM”) can be used, leading to FMCW radar. A frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar, is based on a chirp that can be a linear or quadratic chirp, such as an up-chirp only, or a linear-triangular frequency chirp with an up-chirp and a down-chirp].
As to Claim 20. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]: receive, from a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], signaling indicating no resource pool is configured [Sections 0314, 0347: The UE does not expect to be configured with resources on a BWP. If the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on active UL BWP then the UE detects the DCI format].
As to Claim 21. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the resource pool configuration is dynamically adapted to allocate bandwidth in each of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands based on a current operation condition, the current operation condition indicates resource requirements of different radar devices in operation [Sections 0432, 0463: Embodiment involves resource allocation (i.e. frequency/bandwidth configurations, resources) having a time pattern with radar (R) components. In another example, time/frequency/spatial/sequence configuration for radar are configured in a cell-specific or BWP-specific or UE-group-specific manner, so that a pool of resources/sequences are dynamically indicated to group of UEs; a group of UEs (i.e. radar devices) can be determined based on close proximity and location/ranging of the UEs].
As to Claim 22. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Figs. 3, Sections 0392, 0405: The UE includes a processor-307. The UE can be equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
transmit, to a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], a message indicating resource requirements of the radar device, the resource requirements comprises one or more of: a radar waveform bandwidth, a duration of the radar waveform, and a period or a duty cycle of the radar waveform [Sections 0206, 0360, 0362: Wherein a UE is able to perform downlink/uplink communication and perform radar achieved by sending a suitable waveform performed in various frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). Wherein the radar transmits for a period of time. The radar transmits a periodically].
As to Claim 23. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the message is transmitted to the network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], either periodically or based on a request from the network entity [Sections 0215, 0437: In one embodiment, a UE (i.e. radar device) can request gNB, for configuration of time/frequency resources for radar or release of such configured resources. In one example, the UE sends a signaling or indication to request the gNB to configure a set of resources or to activate a set of (pre-)configured resources for radar sensing].
As to Claim 24. (Currently Amended) Jeon discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], comprising: at least one processor and a memory configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0221, 0382: Throughput the present disclosure, the term base station is in general, a network node of a wireless system. The BS includes a controller/processor-288 and a memory-290]:
define a resource pool configuration indicating a radar band [i.e. Frequency or bandwidth] partitioned into a plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0006, 0424, 0428: Resources are configured for radar and No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. A UE operates with multiple configured bandwidth parts (BWPs) with frequency resource; the UE configured with a set of BWP (i.e. set of sub-bands). The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and the configuration indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)],
wherein a first subband [i.e. BWP] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses first resource elements (REs) [Sections 0422, 0427, 0433: The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain, for example, the frequency resources can be in different units, and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) in sub-bands based on a predetermined/configured size. A UE receives a first frequency configuration for BWPs (i.e. sub bands) for communication and radar sensing. Frequency allocation with frequency configuration indicated in frequency grid (e.g., RB index) with no-overlap including resources inside BWPs (i.e. sub bands)],
and configure, a radar device [i.e. User Equipment-UE], with the resource pool configuration [Sections 0006, 0206, 0428: Resources are configured for radar components; No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for radar; frequency configuration for radar sensing initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within a configured resource pool. UE is able to perform uplink (i.e. transmit to base station) communication and perform radar sensing achieved by sending a suitable waveform such as radar operation in frequency bands. The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)],
Although Jeon discloses a first frequency including first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency including BWPs, and frequency resources can be in different units and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) are within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size (see 0422), it does not explicitly state and a second subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration;
However, Moon teaches and a second subband [Section 0011: The frequency region divided into (N+1) subbands and each of the subbands composed of one or a plurality of consecutive RBs (i.e. REs)] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration [Figs. 2-4, 9 (Depicts REs mapped in first and second subbands), Sections 0113, 0131, 0170, 0236: The first and second subbands may be different in size and in general RBs (i.e. REs) are included in subbands. The terminal operates in the first and second subbands at a time point and transmit uplink transmission in the first and second subbands. That is, the symbol sequence of the PDSCH/PUSCH first mapped to REs (resource elements) of the first subband in the scheduled resource region, and REs mapped of the second subband, within the subbands in the frequency and time domain to be used for uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) and downlink transmission (e.g., PDSCH). The above-described contents include/extend to different frequency positions within subband and windows (i.e. time) configured Not to overlap each other. NOTE: The minimum resource unit composed of resource element (RE) composed/associated with RB (resource blocks) in the frequency domain and one OFDM symbol in the time domain in a wireless communication system].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Jeon relating to UE receiving/transmitting using plurality of subbands/BWPs in frequency resources ranges in which the first frequency include first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency include BWPs, the resources can be in different units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size with the teaching of Moon relating to in general per wireless technology, the frequency region is divided into N+1 subbands (i.e. plurality of subbands including first, second, etc) in which each subbands are composed of REs/RBs, a first and second subband comprises different REs/RBs, different size and time and do not overlap. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art based on known technology to have combined the method of second sub band comprising a differing RE from the first suband in differing size and time so that the UE can transmit/receive radar/sensing signals or information free from interference as suggested by both Jeon and Moon without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 25. (Original) The apparatus of claim 24, wherein different shapes of the REs of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands match with at least a frequency size and a time duration of different radar waveforms of different radar devices [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 26. (Original) Jeon discloses the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor [Fig. 2, Section 0382] is further configured to: transmit, to the radar device, a message indicating a subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands for transmitting a radar waveform [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 27. (Currently Amended) Jeon discloses a method for wireless communication by a radar device [i.e. User Equipment-UE], comprising [Figs. 3, 6, 7A-D (Illustrates radar in the UE), Sections 0207, 0405: The UE is equipped with separate modules and antenna for communication and radar procedures. The UE equipped with radar modules (i.e. device)]:
determining a resource pool configuration indicating a radar band [i.e. Frequency or bandwidth] partitioned into a plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0006, 0424, 0428: Resources are configured for radar and No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. A UE operates with multiple configured bandwidth parts (BWPs) with frequency resource; the UE configured with a set of BWP (i.e. set of sub-bands). The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and the configuration indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)],
wherein a first subband [i.e. BWP] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses first resource elements (REs) [Sections 0422, 0427, 0433: The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain, for example, the frequency resources can be in different units, and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) in sub-bands based on a predetermined/configured size. A UE receives a first frequency configuration for BWPs (i.e. sub bands) for communication and radar sensing. Frequency allocation with frequency configuration indicated in frequency grid (e.g., RB index) with no-overlap including resources inside BWPs (i.e. sub bands)],
and transmitting a radar waveform [Section 0360: During the radar transmission of a pulse radar, the UE transmits waveform in time periods] using at least one RE [i.e. RB or RE] within a subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0206, 0424, 0433: A UE is able to perform uplink (i.e. transmit to base station) communication and perform radar sensing achieved by sending a suitable waveform such as radar operation in frequency bands (i.e. BWPs). The UE configured to use resource (i.e. RE/RB see 0422) within the active BWPs (sub band) for UL (uplink). The RB index used with no overlap with frequency resources for communication, including within active BWP (subbands)],
Although Jeon discloses a first frequency including first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency including BWPs, and frequency resources can be in different units and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) are within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size (see 0422), it does not explicitly state and a second subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration;
However, Moon teaches and a second subband [Section 0011: The frequency region divided into (N+1) subbands and each of the subbands composed of one or a plurality of consecutive RBs (i.e. REs)] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration [Figs. 2-4, 9 (Depicts REs mapped in first and second subbands), Sections 0113, 0131, 0170, 0236: The first and second subbands may be different in size and in general RBs (i.e. REs) are included in subbands. The terminal operates in the first and second subbands at a time point and transmit uplink transmission in the first and second subbands. That is, the symbol sequence of the PDSCH/PUSCH first mapped to REs (resource elements) of the first subband in the scheduled resource region, and REs mapped of the second subband, within the subbands in the frequency and time domain to be used for uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) and downlink transmission (e.g., PDSCH). The above-described contents include/extend to different frequency positions within subband and windows (i.e. time) configured Not to overlap each other. NOTE: The minimum resource unit composed of resource element (RE) composed/associated with RB (resource blocks) in the frequency domain and one OFDM symbol in the time domain in a wireless communication system].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Jeon relating to UE receiving/transmitting using plurality of subbands/BWPs in frequency resources ranges in which the first frequency include first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency include BWPs, the resources can be in different units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size with the teaching of Moon relating to in general per wireless technology, the frequency region is divided into N+1 subbands (i.e. plurality of subbands including first, second, etc) in which each subbands are composed of REs/RBs, a first and second subband comprises different REs/RBs, different size and time and do not overlap. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art based on known technology to have combined the method of second sub band comprising a differing RE from the first suband in differing size and time so that the UE can transmit/receive radar/sensing signals or information free from interference as suggested by both Jeon and Moon without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 28. (Original) The method of claim 27, wherein different shapes of the REs of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands match with at least a frequency size and a time duration of different radar waveforms of different radar devices [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 29. (Currently Amended) Jeon discloses a method for wireless communication by a network entity [i.e. Base Station-BS], comprising: defining a resource pool configuration indicating a radar band [i.e. Frequency or bandwidth] partitioned into a plurality of non-overlapping subbands [Sections 0006, 0424, 0428: Resources are configured for radar and No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for frequency configuration initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within configured resource pool. A UE operates with multiple configured bandwidth parts (BWPs) with frequency resource; the UE configured with a set of BWP (i.e. set of sub-bands). The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and the configuration indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)],
wherein a first subband [i.e. BWP] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses first resource elements (REs) [Sections 0422, 0427, 0433: The UE configured with a set of resources in the frequency domain, for example, the frequency resources can be in different units, and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) in sub-bands based on a predetermined/configured size. A UE receives a first frequency configuration for BWPs (i.e. sub bands) for communication and radar sensing. Frequency allocation with frequency configuration indicated in frequency grid (e.g., RB index) with no-overlap including resources inside BWPs (i.e. sub bands)],
and configuring, a radar device [i.e. User Equipment-UE], with the resource pool configuration [Sections 0006, 0206, 0428: Resources are configured for radar components; No overlap (i.e. non-overlapping) between resources for radar; frequency configuration for radar sensing initiated by a base station in which a UE sense resources within a configured resource pool. UE is able to perform uplink (i.e. transmit to base station) communication and perform radar sensing achieved by sending a suitable waveform such as radar operation in frequency bands. The frequency configurations that is frequency resources indicated to the UE in terms of BWP configuration, and indicate frequency range that may not overlap (i.e. non-overlapping)],
Although Jeon discloses a first frequency including first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency including BWPs, and frequency resources can be in different units and units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) are within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size (see 0422), it does not explicitly state and a second subband of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration;
However, Moon teaches and a second subband [Section 0011: The frequency region divided into (N+1) subbands and each of the subbands composed of one or a plurality of consecutive RBs (i.e. REs)] of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands uses second REs, the first REs and the second REs differing in at least one of a frequency size or a time duration [Figs. 2-4, 9 (Depicts REs mapped in first and second subbands), Sections 0113, 0131, 0170, 0236: The first and second subbands may be different in size and in general RBs (i.e. REs) are included in subbands. The terminal operates in the first and second subbands at a time point and transmit uplink transmission in the first and second subbands. That is, the symbol sequence of the PDSCH/PUSCH first mapped to REs (resource elements) of the first subband in the scheduled resource region, and REs mapped of the second subband, within the subbands in the frequency and time domain to be used for uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) and downlink transmission (e.g., PDSCH). The above-described contents include/extend to different frequency positions within subband and windows (i.e. time) configured Not to overlap each other. NOTE: The minimum resource unit composed of resource element (RE) composed/associated with RB (resource blocks) in the frequency domain and one OFDM symbol in the time domain in a wireless communication system].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Jeon relating to UE receiving/transmitting using plurality of subbands/BWPs in frequency resources ranges in which the first frequency include first BWPs (sub bands), second frequency include BWPs, the resources can be in different units of resource elements (REs)/resource blocks (RBs) within/associated with BWPs/sub-bands and based on configured size with the teaching of Moon relating to in general per wireless technology, the frequency region is divided into N+1 subbands (i.e. plurality of subbands including first, second, etc) in which each subbands are composed of REs/RBs, a first and second subband comprises different REs/RBs, different size and time and do not overlap. By combining the methods/systems it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art based on known technology to have combined the method of second sub band comprising a differing RE from the first suband in differing size and time so that the UE can transmit/receive radar/sensing signals or information free from interference as suggested by both Jeon and Moon without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 30. (Original) The method of claim 29, wherein different shapes of the REs of the plurality of non-overlapping subbands match with at least a frequency size and a time duration of different radar waveforms of different radar devices [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. US 20220158755.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 18, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477