DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following claim(s) is/are pending in this office action: 1-3, 6-7, 11, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-25, 28, 33 and 36-38
The following claim(s) is/are amended: 1-2, 6, 11, 17, 24, 33, 37
The following claim(s) is/are cancelled: 4-5, 8-10, 12-14, 16, 19, 22, 26-27, 29-32, 34-35, 39-49
The following claim(s) is/are new: -
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-25, 28, 33 and 36-38 is/are rejected. This rejection is FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 7/20/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant’s Invention as Claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Event (“Event Exposure service Operation of Network Slice Status,” Huawei et al., 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting #144E, April 12-16, 2021).
With respect to Claim 36, Event teaches a method for reporting slice state information of multiple network slice admission control functions (NSACFs), performed by an application function (AF) or an application service provider (ASP), comprising: sending a first network slice state subscription request to a first NSACF, wherein the first network slice state subscription request comprises a network slice; (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; AF uses NEF to subscribe to number of registered UEs of S-NSSAI. The NEF subscribes to events from the primary NSACF. If the primary NSACF is not collocated with secondary NSACFs, the primary NSACF invokes Nnsacf_EventExposure_StatusSubscribe to subscribe via the NEF to all the secondary NSACFs for the S-NSSAI. Pg. 11, Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Nnsacf_EventExposure provides event subscription by a consumer NF which can be a NSACF. The NSSAI is slice state identifier. Consequently, the Nnsacf_EventExposure request is a subscription to slice state information that is sent by a NSACF to multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice.)
and receiving network slice state response information sent by the first NSACF. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1; When the condition of the event notification trigger is met, the NSACF notifies the event and the NEF reports event data.)
With respect to Claim 37, Event teaches the method of claim 36, and Event also teaches wherein the first slice state subscription request comprises at least one of a subscription event, subscription event filtering information, and subscription event reporting mode information, or an immediate reporting identifier, wherein the immediate reporting identifier is configured to instruct the first NSACF to immediately send the network slice state response information upon receiving the first network slice state subscription request. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1 and Section 5.2.21.Y.2; Subscription with event ID.)
With respect to Claim 38, Event teaches the method of claim 37, and Event also teaches wherein the subscription event comprises at least one of: a number of terminals registered on the network slice; a number of packet data unit (PDU) sessions established on the network slice; a ratio of the number of terminals registered on the network slice to a maximum allowable number of registered terminals; a ratio of the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice to a maximum allowable number of established PDU sessions; the number of terminals registered on the network slice, and the ratio of the number of terminals registered on the network slice to the maximum allowable number of registered terminals; or the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice, and the ratio of the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice to the maximum allowable number of established PDU sessions; or wherein the subscription event filtering information comprises at least one of: single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) of the network slice; a registration area (RA) of the network slice; a combination of the S-NSSAI of the network slice and a data network name (DNN); or an area of interest (IoA) of the network slice; or wherein the subscription event reporting mode information comprises at least one of: a threshold for triggering reporting; or a periodic time interval for triggering the reporting. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1 and Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Subscription with current number of registered UEs.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-25, 28, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Event (“Event Exposure service Operation of Network Slice Status,” Huawei et al., 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting #144E, April 12-16, 2021) in view of 3GPP (“3GPP TS 23.502 V17.0.0,” 3GPP Global Initiative, March, 2021).
With respect to Claim 1, Event teaches a method for reporting slice state information of multiple network slice admission control functions (NSACFs), performed by a first NSACF, comprising: receiving a first network slice state subscription request sent by an application function (AF) or an application service provider (ASP), (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1 and Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1; AF sends Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe/Unsubscribe Request to NEF which forwards to NSACF.)
subscribing to slice state information of a network slice from multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; AF uses NEF to subscribe to number of registered UEs of S-NSSAI. The NEF subscribes to events from the primary NSACF. If the primary NSACF is not collocated with secondary NSACFs, the primary NSACF invokes Nnsacf_EventExposure_StatusSubscribe to subscribe via the NEF to all the secondary NSACFs for the S-NSSAI. Pg. 11, Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Nnsacf_EventExposure provides event subscription by a consumer NF which can be a NSACF. The NSSAI is slice state information. Consequently, the Nnsacf_EventExposure request is a subscription to slice state information that is sent by a NSACF to multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice.)
obtaining, through the NEF, the slice state information of the network slice reported by the multiple NSACFs; (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1; When the condition of the event notification trigger is met, the NSACF notifies the event. Pg. 11, Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Subscription may be sent to NSACF.)
generating network slice state response information based on the slice state information of the network slice in the multiple NSACFs; and sending the network slice state response information to the AF or ASP. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1; When the condition of the event notification trigger is met, the NSACF notifies the event to the AF.)
But Event does not explicitly teach NSACF subscription through a network exposure function (NEF).
3GPP, however, does teach through a network exposure function (NEF); obtaining, through the NEF; (Event does not explicitly indicate that Nnsacf_EventExposure results in subscriptions and responses through the NEF because Event merely states “the primary NSACF invokes NNsacf[] to all the secondary NSACFs…” Examiner asserts that Event renders this obvious on its own. Event already discloses an event subscription request being sent to the NEF which results in the NSACF sending data to the subscriber through the NEF, see pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; AF uses Nnef_EventExposure to send a request to the NEF which results in receiving event data from NSACF. Event further identifies that NSACFs can be consumers of subscriptions, see pg. 11. Section 5.2.21.Y.1; NSACF can be consumer of Nnsacf_EventExposure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a primary NSACF subscribe through NEF to the secondary NSACFs to allow the NEF to deliver the information to the primary NSACF in the same manner it delivers it to the AF. Regardless, Examiner notes that Event is seeking to modify Section 4.15 of 23.502 v17. Examiner therefore cites that document. See 3GPP, pg. 309, Section. 4.15.2; Monitoring for external exposure is done via NEF. See also pgs. 152-153; An AF may contact directly or via the NEF. NEF ensures authorization control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Event with the subscription and obtaining through the NEF in order to ensure authorization control for external consumers.
With respect to Claim 2, modified Event teaches the method of claim 1, and Event also teaches further comprising: wherein the first network slice state subscription request comprises an identifier of the network slice. (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1 and Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1; AF sends Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe/Unsubscribe Request to NEF which forwards to NSACF. The request includes Event Filter which includes S-NSSAI information which is an identifier of the network slice.)
With respect to Claim 3, modified Event teaches the method of claim 1, and Event also teaches wherein subscribing to the slice state information of the network slice from the multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice through the NEF comprises: sending a second network slice state subscription request to the NEF, wherein the second network slice state subscription request is configured for the NEF to send the second network slice state subscription request to the multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice or for the NEF to send the second network slice state subscription request to a second NSACF in the multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice, wherein the first NSACF belongs to the multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice. (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; Request to subscribe to events sent to NEF and forwarded to NSACF for S-NSSAI. For the request going through the NEF see 3GPP, pg. 309, Section. 4.15.2; Monitoring for external exposure is done via NEF. See also pgs. 152-153; An AF may contact directly or via the NEF. NEF ensures authorization control.)
With respect to Claim 6, modified Event teaches the method of claim 1, and Event also teaches wherein the first network slice state subscription request comprises at least one of a subscription event, subscription event filtering information, subscription event reporting mode information, or an immediate reporting identifier, wherein the immediate reporting identifier is configured to instruct the first NSACF to immediately send the network slice state response information upon receiving the first network slice state subscription request. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1 and Section 5.2.21.Y.2; Subscription with event ID.)
With respect to Claim 7, modified Event teaches the method of claim 6, and Event also teaches wherein the subscription event comprises at least one of: a number of terminals registered on the network slice; a number of packet data unit (PDU) sessions established on the network slice; a ratio of the number of terminals registered on the network slice to a maximum allowable number of registered terminals; a ratio of the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice to a maximum allowable number of established PDU sessions; the number of terminals registered on the network slice, and the ratio of the number of terminals registered on the network slice to the maximum allowable number of registered terminals; or the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice, and the ratio of the number of PDU sessions established on the network slice to the maximum allowable number of established PDU sessions; or wherein the subscription event filtering information comprises at least one of: single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) of the network slice; a registration area (RA) of the network slice; a combination of the S-NSSAI of the network slice and a data network name (DNN); or an area of interest (IoA) of the network slice; or wherein the subscription event reporting mode information comprises at least one of: a threshold for triggering reporting; or a periodic time interval for triggering the reporting. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1 and Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Subscription with current number of registered UEs.)
With respect to Claim 11, modified Event teaches the method of claim 1, and 3GPP also teaches wherein generating the network slice state response information based on the slice state information of the network slice in the multiple NSACFs comprising: aggregating the state information of the network slice in the multiple NSACFs to generate the slice state response information. (Examiner asserts aggregating data is obvious because it is simple combination of data for predictable results, see MPEP 2143(I)(A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to aggregate the data to report the state of the slice. Further, see pgs. 307-308; aggregation of UE data before reporting it.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 15, modified Event teaches the method of claim 6, and Event also teaches further comprising: filtering the network slice state response information based on the subscription event filtering information, or determining whether a reporting condition is met based on the subscription event reporting mode information; and when the reporting condition is met, reporting the network slice state response information. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1; Request includes event filter and event reporting information. Notification of event is based on trigger being met. Pg. 3; event reporting mode.)
With respect to Claim 17, modified Event teaches the method of claim 2, and Event also teaches wherein receiving the first network slice state subscription request sent by the AF or ASP comprises: receiving the first network slice state subscription request sent by the AF or ASP through the NEF, (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1 and Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1; AF sends Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe/Unsubscribe Request to NEF which forwards to NSACF. The request includes Event Filter which includes S-NSSAI information which is an identifier of the network slice.)
wherein the AF or ASP is an untrusted AF or ASP. (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; System checks whether AF is authorized for subscription, which suggests at least some AFs are untrusted. See also 3GPP, Section 4.12.)
With respect to Claim 18, modified Event teaches the method of claim 17, and Event also teaches wherein the first NSACF is selected by the NEF, or wherein the first NSACF is selected by the NEF through a network repository function (NRF), or the first NSACF is selected by the NEF through a local configuration. (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; NEF queries NRF to find primary NSACF.)
With respect to Claim 20, Event teaches a method for reporting slice state information of multiple network slice admission control functions (NSACFs), performed by a network exposure function (NEF), comprising: wherein the first network slice state subscription request comprises an identifier of a network slice; (pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; AF uses NEF to subscribe to number of registered UEs of S-NSSAI. The NEF subscribes to events from the primary NSACF. If the primary NSACF is not collocated with secondary NSACFs, the primary NSACF invokes Nnsacf_EventExposure_StatusSubscribe to subscribe via the NEF to all the secondary NSACFs for the S-NSSAI. Pg. 11, Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Nnsacf_EventExposure provides event subscription by a consumer NF which can be a NSACF. The NSSAI is slice state identifier. Consequently, the Nnsacf_EventExposure request is a subscription to slice state information that is sent by a NSACF to multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice.)
obtaining the slice state information of the network slice reported by the multiple NSACFs; and sending the slice state information to the first NSACF. (pgs. 10-11, Section 4.15.3.2.x.1; When the condition of the event notification trigger is met, the NSACF notifies the event and the NEF reports event data.)
But Event does not explicitly teach receiving a first network slice state subscription request sent by a first NSACF.
3GPP, however, does teach receiving a first network slice state subscription request sent by a first NSACF, (Event does not explicitly indicate that Nnsacf_EventExposure results in subscriptions and responses through the NEF because Event merely states “the primary NSACF invokes NNsacf[] to all the secondary NSACFs…” Examiner asserts that Event renders this obvious on its own. Event already discloses an event subscription request being sent to the NEF which results in the NSACF sending data to the subscriber through the NEF, see pg. 10, Section 4.15.3.2.X.1; AF uses Nnef_EventExposure to send a request to the NEF which results in receiving event data from NSACF. Event further identifies that NSACFs can be consumers of subscriptions, see pg. 11. Section 5.2.21.Y.1; NSACF can be consumer of Nnsacf_EventExposure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a primary NSACF subscribe through NEF to the secondary NSACFs to allow the NEF to deliver the information to the primary NSACF in the same manner it delivers it to the AF. Regardless, Examiner notes that Event is seeking to modify Section 4.15 of 23.502 v17. Examiner therefore cites that document. See 3GPP, pg. 309, Section. 4.15.2; Monitoring for external exposure is done via NEF. See also pgs. 152-153; An AF may contact directly or via the NEF. NEF ensures authorization control.)
subscribing to slice state information of the network slice from multiple NSACFs corresponding to the network slice; (First see Event, Pg. 11, Section 5.2.21.Y.1; Nnsacf_EventExposure provides event subscription by a consumer NF which can be a NSACF. Then see 3GPP, pg. 314-315; NEF may subscribe itself to monitoring events.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Event with the subscription through the NEF in order to ensure authorization control for external consumers.
With respect to Claims 21, 23, 24-25, 28, 33, they are substantially similar to Claims 3, 1, 6-7, 11, 18, respectively, and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Remarks
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 10-14, that amended Claim 1 is not taught and that Claims 20 and 36 are similarly situated. As an initial point, Claims 20 and 36 are unamended and are distinct scopes from Claim 1 so the argument as to those claims is unpersuasive as a mere allegation of patentability. To the extent that Applicant argues the same argument applies to those claims, Examiner incorporates the response below to those claims equally as to Claim 1.
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 12-14, that the instant invention has a different signaling path, specifically that Fig. 10 places the NSACF between the AF and the NEF, while Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1 of the Event reference has the NEF between the AF and NSACF. Applicant argues at pg. 13, that Event fails to teach receiving a first network slice state subscription request sent by an AF and generating the network slice state response information.
Applicant essentially argues that the claims require direct connection, but the claims do not. They simply require reception and transmission from the AF to the NSACF. Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1 teaches because the AF sends a command which is forwarded to the NSACF following a security check performed by the NEF. Further, Examiner cited 3GPP pgs. 152-153 to teach that an AF can go through the NEF or it can directly connect to devices. In other words, the AF sends a subscription to the NSACF and the NSACF receives that subscription, it just goes through the NEF.
With respect to the generating step, Applicant ignores Numerals 5 and 6 of the Event, which states “Per the event ID, when the condition of event notification triggering in event reporting information is met, the primary NSACF notifies the event…The NEF notifies the event [] to the AF.” Here too the NSACF reports back on the subscription to the AF, it simply goes through the NEF first.
At Remarks, pg. 14, Applicant argues that Fig. 10 is different because the NEF receives a subscription request sent by the NSACF.
Finally, even ignoring the foregoing, Applicant’s argument still would not show nonobviousness. Even assuming the claims required direct connection, that the only thing taught was Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1, and that Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1 was not anticipatory of Fig. 10, the difference between Fig. 4.15.3.2.X.1-1 and Fig. 10 is a mere substitution in the signaling order. The local NSACF is placed between the AF and the NEF rather than on the other side of it. But “when a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398 (2007) (internal citations omitted) The functionality of subscribing to multiple NSACFs and presenting aggregated data to an AF preexisted. The claims, at best, merely shuffle the communication order of devices and which devices do the aggregating from what previously existed. Those acts are obvious variants of the previously disclosed system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449