DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “[Chem. 1]” following “…by Formula (1):” appears out of place.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein in Formula (1) of the component (A)” should not have a line break after “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sasa (JP 2020-180103A; citations are to the translation filed 04/29/2024).
Sasa teaches a lotion comprising (A) 1-(2-hydroxyethyl)-2-imidazolidinone and 1-(2-hydroxyethyl)-2-pyrrolidone, each at 0.1%, (B) PEG-10 dimethicone at 0.01%, (C ) oils including castor oil (0.01%), squalane (0.1%), oils of avocado, olive fruit, jojoba seed (each at 0.1%), and dimethicone, among others, (D) water at 47.3%, and (E ) ethanol at 3% (Example 18, paras.0076-78). PEG-10 has a straight-chain silicone skeleton and an HLB value below 10 according to the disclosure (Specification para.[0013]).
Sasa also teaches a sunscreen cosmetic comprising (A) 1-(2-hydroxyethyl)-2-imidazolidinone and 1-(2-hydroxyethyl)-2-pyrrolidone, each at 0.1%, (B) PEG-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone at 1%, (C ) oils including 1,3-butylene glycol, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, and isododecane (5%, 4%, 4%, 4%, respectively), (D) water at 39.7%, and (E ) ethanol at 4% (paras.0133-34, Example 38, Table 27; see title; abstract).
While Sasa does not appear to expressly state the compositions of Examples 18 and 38 as oil-in-water emulsions, it does state Example 32 is an oil-in-water makeup composition (paras.0118, 0120, Table 21-2). Table 21-2 lists water concentrations which is similar and lower than the respective water concentrations in Examples 18 and 38. Therefore Examples 18 and 38 would have been oil-in-water emulsions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasa (JP 2020-180103A; citations are to the translation filed 04/29/2024) in view of Yamaguchi (US 2016/0220457).
Sasa does not specifically teach using PEG-12 dimethicone in claim 7.
Yamaguchi is drawn to cosmetic emulsions and teaches silicon-type surfactants, specifically including the PEG-10 dimethicone and PEG-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone in Sasa’s Examples 18 and 38 (title; abstract; paras.0047-48). Yamaguchi further teaches PEG-12 dimethicone as another suitable silicon-type surfactant (para.0047).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Sasa and use PEG-12 dimethicone as recited in the instant claim 7. The skilled person would have been suggested to do so because Yamaguchi teaches both PEG-10 dimethicone and PEG-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone as equialents of PEG-12 dimethicone. Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted).
Conclusion
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614