DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/705,977 filed on 04/29/2024.
As per the Preliminary Amendment filed on 04/29/2024, claim 11 are cancelled; Claims 14-21 have been added. Claims 1-10 and 12-24 have been examined and are pending. This action is made Non Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-14, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cundall et al., (“Cundall,” US 2022/0394001), filed on June 8, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Cundall discloses a method for interaction, comprising:
receiving a sending operation for a target content, the target content comprising at least two predetermined objects (pars. 0038-0039, 0042; Figs. 2A-2C; two emojis kissing; and also see pars. 0045-0047; Figs. 3A-3C; an animation generated using the message 304 and message 306 then display to a communication platform based on context of message is sent); and
in response to the sending operation, displaying the target content in a first display region, and displaying a target object corresponding to the at least two predetermined objects in a second display region (pars. 0038-0039, 0042, 0045-0047; Figs. 2A-3C; text message and emojis message are displayed difference area).
Regarding claim 2, Cundall discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: before displaying the target object corresponding to the at least two predetermined objects in the second display region, displaying a composition effect of the target object in the second display region (pars. 0041-0044; Fig. 2A-2C; an animation is displayed based on a communication engine server determines a first and a second context of a first and second message; and also see pars. 0045-0047,0045-0046; Figs. 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 3, Cundall discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the at least two predetermined objects and the target object each is a sticker image or an emoji images (pars. 0041-0043; Figs. 2A-3C; emojis 202, 204, 206, 302, 304, 306), and
wherein displaying the composition effect of the target object in the second display region comprises: displaying, in the second display region, the composition effect of composing the at least two predetermined objects into the target object (pars. 0044, 0047, Figs. 2C, 3B-3C; an animation 206 , an animation 306).
Regarding claim 4, Cundall discloses a method the method of claim 1, further comprising: after displaying the target object corresponding to the at least two predetermined objects in the second display region (Cundall: pars. 0041-0044; Fig. 2A-2C; an animation is displayed to user in difference area; and also see pars. 0045-0047,0045-0046; Figs. 3A-3C), ceasing the displaying of the target object (pars. 0079; the animation will be disappeared after a predefined time period).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to apparatus associated with the system claimed in claim 1; Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to computer-readable storage medium associated with the system claimed in claim 1; Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Chaudhri discloses a method for interaction, comprising: displaying an object panel, the object panel comprising a plurality of objects (pars. 0409, 0412-0413; Figs. 5DJ-5DQ; emotion is displayed on a the user interface);
in response to a trigger on at least two objects among the plurality of objects, selecting the at least two objects (pars. 0409, 0412-0413; Figs. 5DJ-5DQ; emotion is displayed and automatically selects emoji that replaces first highlighting term/word); and
in response to a sending operation, displaying a target object corresponding to the at least two objects (pars. 0409, 0412-0413; Figs. 5DJ-5DQ; “the term “bowling” in the input message 5220 has been replaced by an emoji 5236 (e.g., a bowling emoji) corresponding to that term in response to a user selection of the highlighted term “bowling” in the input message 5220.”).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to apparatus associated with the system claimed in claim 2; Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to computer-readable storage medium associated with the system claimed in claim 3; Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to apparatus associated with the system claimed in claim 4; Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9-10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cundall et al., (“Cundall,” US 2022/0394001), filed on June 8, 2021, in view of Chaudhri et al., (“Chaudhri,” US 2017/0336960), published November 23, 2017.
Regarding claim 5, Cundall disclose the method of claim 4, further comprising: [[before]] ceasing the displaying of the target object (Cundall: pars. 0079; the animation will be disappeared after a predefined time period).
Cundall discloses all limitations above, but does not explicitly disclose before ceasing the displaying of the target object controlling the target object to move from the second display region to a third display region; and wherein ceasing the displaying of the target object comprises: ceasing the displaying of the target object after the target object moves to the third display region.
However, Chaudhri discloses the method for displaying versions of a sent message, wherein before ceasing the displaying of the target object controlling the target object to move from the second display region to a third display region (Figs. 5CK-5CO show a balloons effect that move from bottom to another location on chat window); and wherein ceasing the displaying of the target object comprises: ceasing the displaying of the target object after the target object moves to the third display region (pars. 0406-0407; Figs. 5CO and 5DA show the ballons or an animation of two beer glasses being clicked together effect is disappeared in predefined criteria is satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chaudhri with the system/method of Cundall. One would have been motivated to share fleeting thoughts, intimate moments, or casual reactions without worrying about the content being saved, leaked, or viewed later.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cundall and Chaudhri disclose the method of claim 5.
Chaudhri further discloses before controlling the target object to move from the second display region to the third display region (Chaudhri: Figs. 5CK-5CO show a balloons effect that move from bottom to another location on chat window), determining that the target object is displayed in the second display region for the first time (Chaudhri: par. 0095-0096, 0406-0407; Figs. 5CO and 5DA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chaudhri with the system/method of Cundall. One would have been motivated to ensure it is shown in the correct context and orientation.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cundall and Chaudhri disclose the method of claim 6.
The combination of Cundall and Chaudhri further disclose after determining that the target object is displayed in the second display region for the first time, adding the target object to an object panel for a user to send a content comprising the target object (Cundall: pars. 0044, 0046; Figs. 2C and 3C. Chaudhri: pars. 0095-0096, 0406-0407; Figs. 5CK-5CO, 5DA).
Regarding claim 9, Cundall and Chaudhri disclose the method of claim 7.
Chaudhri further discloses during the controlling of the target object to move from the second display region to the third display region (Chaudhri: par. 0095-0096, 0406-0407; Figs. 5CK-5CO and 5DA), displaying the target object in a gradually scaling down manner (Chaudhri: par. par. 0095-0096, 0396, 0406-0407, 0839; Figs. 5CK-5CO and 5DA 0396).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chaudhri with the system/method of Cundall. One would have been motivated to convey change, reduction, or diminishing influence in a message.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cundall and Chaudhri disclose the method of claim 1.
The combination The combination of Cundall and Chaudhri further disclose the at least two predetermined objects are arranged sequentially in a predetermined order in the target content (Cundall: pars. 0118-0119, 0124-0125; Chaudhri: pars. 0382-0393, 0399-0400, 0404, 0407).
Regarding claims 18-20, claims 18-20 are directed to apparatus associated with the system claimed in claims 5-7; Claims 18-20 are similar in scope to claims 5-7, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cundall et al., (“Cundall,” US 2022/0394001), filed on June 8, 2021, in view of Yang et al., (“Yang,” US 2016/0062540), published March 3, 2016.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cundall and Chaudhri disclose the method of claim 7.
The combination of Cundall and Chaudhri further discloses after ceasing the displaying of the target object, displaying object [[prompt information]], wherein the object [[prompt information is used to prompt the user that the target object]] has been added into the object panel (Cundall: pars. 0044, 0046; Figs. 2C and 3C. Chaudhri: pars. 0095-0096, 0406-0407; Figs. 5CK-5CO, 5DA).
Cundall and Chaudhri do not explicitly disclose prompt information is user to prompt the user that the target object.
However, Yang discloses a method for receiving the alert, wherein prompt information is user to prompt the user that the target object (Yang: par. 0267-0268; Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yang with the system/method of Cundall and Chaudhri. One would have been motivated to confirm a choice, action, or selection.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is directed to apparatus associated with the system claimed in claim 8; Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174