CTNF 18/705,980 CTNF 74451 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2022/0386327 to Bai et al. (hereinafter Bai) . In regard claim 9 , Bai teaches or discloses a terminal comprising: a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of terminal-initiated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation (see paragraph [0118], UE 115-a may transmit capability information 230 to base station 105-a via uplink communication link 210. The capability information 230 may include a capability of UE 115-a to support the joint TCI state 220, the separate TCI states 225, or both ); a receiver that receives a configuration for enabling initiation of activation of at least one TCI state of TCI states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) by the terminal (see paragraphs [0066], [0110], [0111], and [0118], a UE 115 may receive a TCI state indication 235 including an indication of a mode to use, but the UE 115 may not know which beam to use prior to activating the beam for the mode . The UE 115 may apply a common power control configuration, pathloss reference signal configuration, or both to TCI states per channel or reference signal ); wherein the transmitter transmits a report indicating that initiation of the TCI state activation by the terminal is enabled (see paragraph [0067], a UE may detect a trigger event, such as an MPE being surpassed or a beam failure, and may transmit an uplink transmission including a report. The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency ); and the terminal further comprises a processor that applies a separate TCI state to each of DL and UL and initiates the TCI state activation (see paragraphs [0026], [0038], [0039], [0066], and [0067], a UE may use a defined mode when switching between TCI modes, such as between a joint TCI state mode and a separate TCI states mode. The UE may use a joint TCI state initially and may subsequently switch to separate TCI states (e.g., signaled separately or together). The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency). The UE may transmit capability signaling to the base station related to using a joint TCI state or separate TCI states ). In regard claim 10 , Bai teaches or discloses the terminal according to claim 9, wherein the transmitter transmits information indicating a recommended TCI state (see paragraph [0066], a user equipment (UE) may use transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for identifying a beam to use for beamforming a transmission in a beamform direction ). In regard claim 11 , Bai teaches or discloses the terminal according to claim 9, wherein the processor simultaneously applies activated UL and DL TCI states after a lapse of a specific period from a timing at which TCI state indication is received from a base station (see paragraph [0067], the UE may apply the new TCI state a time after sending the report or after receiving a feedback message for the report. The UE may transmit capability signaling to the base station related to using a joint TCI state or separate TCI states . In regard claim 12 , Bai teaches or discloses a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: transmitting capability information indicating support of terminal-initiated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation (see paragraph [0118], UE 115-a may transmit capability information 230 to base station 105-a via uplink communication link 210. The capability information 230 may include a capability of UE 115-a to support the joint TCI state 220, the separate TCI states 225, or both ); receiving a configuration for enabling initiation of activation of at least one TCI state of TCI states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) by the terminal (see paragraphs [0066], [0110], [0111], and [0118], a UE 115 may receive a TCI state indication 235 including an indication of a mode to use, but the UE 115 may not know which beam to use prior to activating the beam for the mode . The UE 115 may apply a common power control configuration, pathloss reference signal configuration, or both to TCI states per channel or reference signal ); transmitting a report indicating that initiation of the TCI state activation by the terminal is enabled (see paragraph [0067], a UE may detect a trigger event, such as an MPE being surpassed or a beam failure, and may transmit an uplink transmission including a report. The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency ); and applying a separate TCI state to each of DL and UL and initiating the TCI state activation (see paragraphs [0026], [0038], [0039], [0066], and [0067], a UE may use a defined mode when switching between TCI modes, such as between a joint TCI state mode and a separate TCI states mode. The UE may use a joint TCI state initially and may subsequently switch to separate TCI states (e.g., signaled separately or together). The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency). The UE may transmit capability signaling to the base station related to using a joint TCI state or separate TCI states ). In regard claim 13 , Bai teaches or discloses a base station comprising: a receiver that receives capability information indicating support of terminal-initiated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation (see paragraph [0118], UE 115-a may transmit capability information 230 to base station 105-a via uplink communication link 210. The capability information 230 may include a capability of UE 115-a to support the joint TCI state 220, the separate TCI states 225, or both ); a transmitter that transmits a configuration for enabling initiation of activation of at least one TCI state of TCI states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) by a terminal (see paragraph [0119], a base station 105 may transmit TCI mode configuration signaling 215 to configure a UE 115 with a mode to use prior to activating a beam during a TCI mode switching operation. Base station 105-a may transmit TCI mode configuration signaling 215 to UE 115-a to configure UE 115-a with one or more TCI states to use during the TCI mode switching operation ), wherein the receiver receives a report indicating that initiation of the TCI state activation by the terminal is enabled (see paragraphs [0067], and [0128], the UE may apply the new TCI state a time after sending the report or after receiving a feedback message for the report. UE 115-b may receive a feedback message 345 from base station 105-b based on transmitting the trigger event report 340. The activation of a new TCI mode or TCI state at UE 115-b may be applied a fixed time after sending the report or receiving the ACK of the report. In some examples, the fixed time may be a number of symbols in time (e.g., 28 symbols) ), the base station further comprises a processor that controls transmission and reception based on a separate TCI state for each of DL and UL, activation of the TCI state being initiated by the terminal (see paragraphs [0097], [0104], [0107], and [0112], some signals (e.g., synch signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105 ). The base station 105-a may be an example of a network entity. Base station 105-a and UE 115-a may communicate control information, data, or both using a downlink communication link 205 and an uplink communication link 210. Base station 105-a may transmit TCI mode configuration signaling 215 to UE 115-a via a downlink communication link 205 ). In regard claim 14 , Bai teaches or discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises : a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of terminal- initiated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation (see paragraph [0118], UE 115-a may transmit capability information 230 to base station 105-a via uplink communication link 210. The capability information 230 may include a capability of UE 115-a to support the joint TCI state 220, the separate TCI states 225, or both ); and a receiver that receives a configuration for enabling initiation of activation of at least one TCI state of TCI states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) by the terminal (see paragraphs [0066], [0110], [0111], and [0118], a UE 115 may receive a TCI state indication 235 including an indication of a mode to use, but the UE 115 may not know which beam to use prior to activating the beam for the mode . The UE 115 may apply a common power control configuration, pathloss reference signal configuration, or both to TCI states per channel or reference signal ), wherein the transmitter transmits a report indicating that the initiation of the activation of the TCI state by the terminal is enabled (see paragraph [0067], a UE may detect a trigger event, such as an MPE being surpassed or a beam failure, and may transmit an uplink transmission including a report. The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency ); and the terminal further comprises a processor that applies a separate TCI state to each of DL and UL and initiates the activation of the TCI state (see paragraphs [0026], [0038], [0039], [0066], and [0067], a UE may use a defined mode when switching between TCI modes, such as between a joint TCI state mode and a separate TCI states mode. The UE may use a joint TCI state initially and may subsequently switch to separate TCI states (e.g., signaled separately or together). The report may trigger a TCI mode switch at the UE (e.g., from a joint TCI state to separate TCI states to reduce signaling overhead and latency). The UE may transmit capability signaling to the base station related to using a joint TCI state or separate TCI states ), and the base station comprises : a processor that controls transmission and reception based on the separate TCI state for each of DL and UL, activation of the TCI state being initiated by the terminal (see paragraphs [0097], [0104], [0107], and [0112], some signals (e.g., synch signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105 ). The base station 105-a may be an example of a network entity. Base station 105-a and UE 115-a may communicate control information, data, or both using a downlink communication link 205 and an uplink communication link 210. Base station 105-a may transmit TCI mode configuration signaling 215 to UE 115-a via a downlink communication link 205 ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHIRIN SAM whose telephone number is (571)272-3082. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri, 10:30am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz R. Sheikh can be reached at (571) 272 - 3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 3 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 5 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 6 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 8 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/705,980 Page 10 Art Unit: 2476