DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 11-18 in the reply filed on 7/3/26 is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 2, 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 2 is indefinite because it is not clear what is meant by the recitation of “an effective component” of the organosilicon material. It is not clear what constitutes the “effective component”.
5. Claim 3 is indefinite because it is not clear how the fiber glass reinforced layer “adopts” several layers. Does the fiber glass reinforced layer comprise several layers?
6. Claim 8 is indefinite because it is not clear how the hydrophobic layer “adopts” a nanocomposite
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 6 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102400546 A.
The published CN document teaches arranging several anti-corrosion layers over concrete or a pipeline (see abstract). The published CN document teaches anti-corrosive layer has good adhesion ability, wear resistance, acid resistance and heat resistance (paragraph 0002). The published CN reference teaches an inner (first) layer comprising epoxy resin and its modified resin, polyurethane and its modified resin, polyurethane resin, modified organic silicon resin (paragraph 0004). The published CN document further teaches a middle layer of fiber reinforced plastic (paragraph 0004). The published CN document teaches an outer hydrophobic layer made from polyfluoroexpoxy resin (paragraph 0007). See figure 2 of the published CN document. The Examiner is of the position that the CN reference renders claim 1 obvious.
Regarding the claimed thickness of the fiber reinforced plastic layer, the cited CN reference does not expressly teach this limitation. The Examiner is of the position that since the CN reference essentially teaches the same anti-corrosion multi-layer composite used in the claimed capacity a person of ordinary skill in the art would form the fiber reinforced plastic layer with an appropriate thickness based on desired use. It has been held that the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable that might be characterized as routine experimentation is not patentable. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-5, 7-8 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789