Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of April 30, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/10/2024 and 10/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority to Prior-Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/IL2022/051182 filed on 11/08/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashou et al (US-20210120935-A1)(“Shashou), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 6/10/2024, and De Rossi et al (US-20170202724-A1)(“De Rossi”).
As per claim 1, Shashou discloses a robotic arm system mounted on a plane (Figure 11, shown above, having arms1030-1050)), comprising:
at least one actuator adapted to actuate (Shashou at Figure 11 and Para. [0841] discloses the use of actuators to effectuate movement:” the mobility system 1000 may comprise a delta robot and/or a Stewart platform (not shown), i.e., a type of parallel manipulator that may have six prismatic actuators”.):
a plurality of joints connecting between a shoulder base and a first arm section (Shashou at Figure 11, Figure 12, and Para. [00841] discloses a plurality of joints for coupling a first arm and a base plate:” crossing over to three mounting points on a top plate, in which all 12 connections may be made via universal joints.”) and between the first arm section and a second arm section having a first (Shashou at Figure 12 and Para. [0846] disclosing how at least two arms are connected to one another:” retention magnets 1054 may serve to maintain the bayonet-style protrusions 1910 within the matching sockets 1052 on the plate 1050 or on the tools 300, 400, 500, 600. The magnets 1054 may serve similarly to cotter pins in that they do not directly support the weight of or forces on a tool, but merely serve to ensure engagement between the mobility system protrusions 1910 and tool sockets.”) and
an upper mount connected to the shoulder base for fixating a second Shashou at Figure 11; crossbar (arm 1010) on rails (1020, 1022) with movement across the Y-Plane; and sliding component (arm 1030) with movement in the Z-Plane and clamped to the crossbar; and Para. [0841] disclosing an upper mount 1010 for securing the nail processing system:” parallel manipulator that may have six prismatic actuators, commonly hydraulic jacks or electric linear actuators, attached in pairs to three positions on the platform's baseplate, crossing over to three mounting points on a top plate, in which all 12 connections may be made via universal joints.”); and
a control unit adapted to induce lifting the end effector in relation to the plane by instructing the at least one actuator (Shashou at Figure 10, controller 1480, and Para. [0839] discloses a controller for managing movement and for processing vision data:” system for detecting hand movement by the camera 1475 may output instructions to the motion controller 1480. The motion controller 1480 may be configured to send instructions to the mobility system 1490, which may be part of the system 1400 or part of the mobility system 1000.”) for:
inducing movement of the second arm section with respect to the upper mount in an axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second (Shashou at Figure 11, second arm section (1040,1050) with rotation points 1045 & 1055, Figure 37, nail applications, and Para. [0920] discloses using vison information to plan a path and motion commands:” microcontroller 1500 may be configured to send information (including a status update, a sensor reading, and the like) to the path planner application 2510 (1470) and/or to receive information (including motion commands, lighting control commands, sensor reading commands, and the like) from the path planner application 2510 (1470).”), and then lifting the upper mount perpendicularly to the plane (Shashou at Figure 11, lifting 1035 of column (arm 1030), and Para. [0845] discloses the lifting motion of system 1000 as commanded by the controller:” third arm 1030 configured for motion in the Z direction 1035. The first arm 1010 may be orthogonal to the second arms 1020, 1022, which may be orthogonal to the third arm 1030. A fourth arm 1040 may be suspended from the third arm 1030 and may be configured to rotate about the azimuth axis 1045. “) .
While disclosing that tools and segments of the mobility system are detachably connected “via universal joints” (Para. [0841]) and “bayonet-style protrusions” (Para. [0846]) for nail fashioning tools, Shashou does not explicitly disclose the use of anchor connectors for joining tools and the like.
Shashou does not disclose, but De Rossi discloses the use of anchor connectors to secure different segments of the mobility system (De Rossi at Figures 10A-10B, anchor element 1001, and Para. [0150] discloses the use of an anchor connector:” a force transmission element 1001 (e.g., a Bowden cable) may have a connector that connects to the quick release anchor element 1000. As shown in FIG. 10A, the connector may be in the form of a T-connector 1003; however, the connector may be various other shapes and configurations for insertion and engagement with the quick release anchor element 1000.”).
De Rossi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of securing robotic joints using quick-connect/quick-release attachments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashou further in view of De Rossi to allow for quick attachment and release of segments of a nail care system. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of service waiting time in a human-machine interaction by providing a mechanism where a module, segment, or tool can be changed quickly and easily (De Rossi at Para. [0244]).
As per claim 2, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the second anchor connector comprises a notch configured to receive and accommodate a T shaped element of the first anchor connector (De Rossi at Figure 10D, notch/recess 1013 that accepts the lock back 1009, and Para. [0152] disclosing the cooperation between the recess/notch and T-connector to insure that the attachments stay in place:” interior view includes recesses 1011a and 1011b that permit the T-connector 1003 to rotate within and engage with the quick release anchor element 1000. FIG. 10E illustrates an exterior view of the quick release anchor element 1000. The exterior view includes a recess 1013 that accepts the lock back 1009 within the quick release anchor element 1000 and allows the lock back 1009 to actuate between a closed position (FIG. 10B) and an open position (FIG. 10A).”).
As per claim 3, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the second anchor connector comprises a notch configured to receive and accommodate a ball shaped element of the first anchor connector (De Rossi at Figure 22E, actuator 2200 and ball screws 2265, and Para. [0262] discloses the use of ball screws to control the motion of the actuators:” Each drift shaft 2263a and 2263b may be formed of ball screws 2265a and 2265b with pairs of guide rails 2267a and 2267b on either side of the ball screws 2265a and 2265b. Below the ball screws 2265a and 2265b may be linear potentiometers (e.g., manufactured by P3 America, Inc.) to measure the displacements of the force transmission elements 2261a through 2261c.”).
As per claim 4, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the control unit is adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a longitudinal axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Para. [0020] discloses that the system is configured to permit movement of the same in at least three directions and rotationally about at least two axes:” the polish removal system, the cuticle management system, and the nail polish application system, and configured to permit movement of the same in at least three directions and rotationally about at least two axes.”).
As per claim 5, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the control unit is adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a lateral axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Figure 11, lateral movement 1015, and Figure 12, tools swap procedure where protrusion 1910 is mated with swap plate 1050, and Para. [0846] disclosing detachably connecting a tool to the robotic arm:” tool swap system 1900 may comprise two bayonet style protrusions 1910. The protrusions 1910 may match sockets in various tools of the apparatus (e.g., the removal tool 300, the shaping tool 400, the cuticle management tool 500, and/or the application tool 600, and the like). Also, the protrusions 1910 may match corresponding bayonet sockets 1052 in a mobility side tool swap plate 1050 (as shown). The tool swap system 1900 may further comprise one or more retention magnets 1054.”) .
As per claim 6, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the control unit is adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in rotation around a longitudinal axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Figure 11, rotation 1055 is along the longitudinal axis as defined by coordinate axis Z, and Para. [0846] disclosing detachably connecting a tool to the robotic arm:” tool swap system 1900 may comprise two bayonet style protrusions 1910. The protrusions 1910 may match sockets in various tools of the apparatus (e.g., the removal tool 300, the shaping tool 400, the cuticle management tool 500, and/or the application tool 600, and the like). Also, the protrusions 1910 may match corresponding bayonet sockets 1052 in a mobility side tool swap plate 1050 (as shown). The tool swap system 1900 may further comprise one or more retention magnets 1054.”).
As per claim 7, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 1, wherein the control unit is adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section while the first anchor connector is connected to the second anchor connector to maneuver the end effector to grasp a non-screw detachable cover of a nail polish capsule (Shashou at Figure 163, cartridge, Figure 164, selection of cartridges based on application, color magazine with consumable cartridge/pod system 1600 for the enamel/polish application system 600, and Para. [0037] discloses control of the robotic arm and attached tool for performing nail operations:” a mechanism to enable selection of one or more the devices for use at various stages of the manicure (i.e., device selection); a mechanism to position any, some, or all of the devices during the manicure or portions thereof; a means of storing consumables (e.g., nail polish, polish remover) within the apparatus; a receptacle for a cartridge that holds the consumables (e.g., shaping or buffing elements, nail polish, polish remover, and the like); one or more connectors allowing connection of one or more external computers to the apparatus”.) comprising an integrated nail polish applying element and insert and/or extract the integrated nail polish applying element in and/or out of a body portion of the nail polish capsule (Shashou at Paras. [1792]-[1795] disclosing a nail polish application element:” applicator system may be the simplest, and may be essentially a removable syringe with a tapered nozzle on the end. The disposable package may be nearly identical to or similar to a tube of caulk or two-part epoxy dispenser, where the cartridge comes with a plunger already installed. This plunger may form a sliding seal against the inside walls of the tube as it is advanced along.” See Para. [1792].).
As per claim 8, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 7, wherein the control unit is further adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section such that the nail polish applying element rotates in at least one axis with respect to the plane around a tip of a dispensing head of the nail polish applying element (Shashou at Para. [1797] discloses rotation of the nail application element:” to select a color, the ram of the nail care system 100 may retract, rotate to the position in which the desired cartridge is, and then extend back down against the plunger to begin flow from the nozzle.”).
As per claim 9, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 7, wherein the control unit is adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a perpendicular axis with respect to the plane while the first anchor connector is disconnected from the second anchor connector to maneuver the end effector grasping the non-screw detachable cover in order to move the integrated nail polish applying element for applying nail polish fluid on at least one nail surface of a user (Shashou discloses the system described above as a nail polish application system (Para. [0007]) comprising, further, a detection system in conjunction with further processing to determine whether the user's nail or finger or toe has moved or been removed from the apparatus (Para. [0113]). Shashou discloses, further, a vision system (Para. [0007]). The vision system rotated about +45 degrees relative to the image of FIG. 55D (Paras. [0310]-[03 l 7] and FIG 55D). The system 300 may be moved back and forth or side to side over the nail surface in the direction 342. The system 300 may be moved in and out or laterally over the nail surface in the direction 344 (Para. [0862] and fig.25).).
As per claim 10, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a robotic arm of claim 9, wherein the control unit is further adapted to instruct the at least one actuator to induce rotation of the second arm section around the longitudinal axis (Shashou Para [0226] discloses various movements including rotation of an applicator so as to paint, shape, and spread polish and the like on a nail:” applicator may comprise at least one of a spreading applicator, reciprocating spreader, rotational spreader, horizontally rotating spreader, vertically rotating spreader, a brush, and a nozzle.”).
As per claim 11, Shashou discloses a method for operating a robotic arm mounted on a plane (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11), comprising:
using a control unit of a robotic arm adapted to induce lifting of an end effector of the robotic arm with respect to the plane (Shashou at Figure 11 and Para. [0841] discloses the use of actuators with control unit to effectuate lifting:” the mobility system 1000 may comprise a delta robot and/or a Stewart platform (not shown), i.e., a type of parallel manipulator that may have six prismatic actuators”.)by:
instructing at least one actuator of the robotic arm to actuate a plurality of joints connecting between a shoulder base of the robotic arm and a first arm section of the robotic arm (Shashou at Figure 11, Figure 12, and Para. [00841] discloses a plurality of joints for coupling a first arm and a base plate:” crossing over to three mounting points on a top plate, in which all 12 connections may be made via universal joints.”) and between the first arm section and a second arm section of the robotic arm having a first the end effector (Shashou at Figure 12 and Para. [0846] disclosing how at least two arms are connected to one another:” retention magnets 1054 may serve to maintain the bayonet-style protrusions 1910 within the matching sockets 1052 on the plate 1050 or on the tools 300, 400, 500, 600. The magnets 1054 may serve similarly to cotter pins in that they do not directly support the weight of or forces on a tool, but merely serve to ensure engagement between the mobility system protrusions 1910 and tool sockets.”) for:
inducing movement of the second arm section with respect to the upper mount in an axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect, in an axis perpendicular to the plane, between the first (Shashou at Figure 11, second arm section (1040,1050) with rotation points 1045 & 1055, Figure 37, nail applications, and Para. [0920] discloses using vison information to plan a path and motion commands:” microcontroller 1500 may be configured to send information (including a status update, a sensor reading, and the like) to the path planner application 2510 (1470) and/or to receive information (including motion commands, lighting control commands, sensor reading commands, and the like) from the path planner application 2510 (1470).”), and then lifting the upper mount perpendicularly to the plane (Shashou at Figure 11, lifting 1035 of column (arm 1030), and Para. [0845] discloses the lifting motion of system 1000 as commanded by the controller:” third arm 1030 configured for motion in the Z direction 1035. The first arm 1010 may be orthogonal to the second arms 1020, 1022, which may be orthogonal to the third arm 1030. A fourth arm 1040 may be suspended from the third arm 1030 and may be configured to rotate about the azimuth axis 1045. “) .
While disclosing that tools and segments of the mobility system are detachably connected “via universal joints” (Para. [0841]) and “bayonet-style protrusions” (Para. [0846]) for nail fashioning tools, Shashou does not explicitly disclose the use of anchor connectors for joining tools and the like.
Shashou does not disclose, but De Rossi discloses the use of anchor connectors to secure different segments of the mobility system (De Rossi at Figures 10A-10B, anchor element 1001, and Para. [0150] discloses the use of an anchor connector:” a force transmission element 1001 (e.g., a Bowden cable) may have a connector that connects to the quick release anchor element 1000. As shown in FIG. 10A, the connector may be in the form of a T-connector 1003; however, the connector may be various other shapes and configurations for insertion and engagement with the quick release anchor element 1000.”).
De Rossi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of securing robotic joints using quick-connect/quick-release attachments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shashou further in view of De Rossi to allow for quick attachment and release of segments of a nail care system. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of service waiting time in a human-machine interaction by providing a mechanism where a module, segment, or tool can be changed quickly and easily (De Rossi at Para. [0244]).
As per claim 12, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, wherein the second anchor connector comprises a notch configured to receive and accommodate a T shaped element of the first anchor connector (De Rossi at Figure 10D, notch/recess 1013 that accepts the lock back 1009, and Para. [0152] disclosing the cooperation between the recess/notch and T-connector to insure that the attachments stay in place:” interior view includes recesses 1011a and 1011b that permit the T-connector 1003 to rotate within and engage with the quick release anchor element 1000. FIG. 10E illustrates an exterior view of the quick release anchor element 1000. The exterior view includes a recess 1013 that accepts the lock back 1009 within the quick release anchor element 1000 and allows the lock back 1009 to actuate between a closed position (FIG. 10B) and an open position (FIG. 10A).”).
As per claim 13, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, wherein the second anchor connector comprises a notch configured to receive and accommodate a ball shaped element of the first anchor connector (De Rossi at Figure 22E, actuator 2200 and ball screws 2265, and Para. [0262] discloses the use of ball screws to control the motion of the actuators:” Each drift shaft 2263a and 2263b may be formed of ball screws 2265a and 2265b with pairs of guide rails 2267a and 2267b on either side of the ball screws 2265a and 2265b. Below the ball screws 2265a and 2265b may be linear potentiometers (e.g., manufactured by P3 America, Inc.) to measure the displacements of the force transmission elements 2261a through 2261c.”).
As per claim 14, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a longitudinal axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Para. [0020] discloses that the system is configured to permit movement of the same in at least three directions and rotationally about at least two axes:” the polish removal system, the cuticle management system, and the nail polish application system, and configured to permit movement of the same in at least three directions and rotationally about at least two axes.”).
As per claim 15, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a lateral axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Figure 11, lateral movement 1015, and Figure 12, tools swap procedure where protrusion 1910 is mated with swap plate 1050, and Para. [0846] disclosing detachably connecting a tool to the robotic arm:” tool swap system 1900 may comprise two bayonet style protrusions 1910. The protrusions 1910 may match sockets in various tools of the apparatus (e.g., the removal tool 300, the shaping tool 400, the cuticle management tool 500, and/or the application tool 600, and the like). Also, the protrusions 1910 may match corresponding bayonet sockets 1052 in a mobility side tool swap plate 1050 (as shown). The tool swap system 1900 may further comprise one or more retention magnets 1054.”).
As per claim 16, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in rotation around a longitudinal axis parallel to the plane to mechanically and detachably connect between the first and second anchor connectors (Shashou at Figure 11, rotation 1055 is along the longitudinal axis as defined by coordinate axis Z, and Para. [0846] disclosing detachably connecting a tool to the robotic arm:” tool swap system 1900 may comprise two bayonet style protrusions 1910. The protrusions 1910 may match sockets in various tools of the apparatus (e.g., the removal tool 300, the shaping tool 400, the cuticle management tool 500, and/or the application tool 600, and the like). Also, the protrusions 1910 may match corresponding bayonet sockets 1052 in a mobility side tool swap plate 1050 (as shown). The tool swap system 1900 may further comprise one or more retention magnets 1054.”).
As per claim 17, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section while the first anchor connector is connected to the second anchor connector to maneuver the end effector to grasp a non-screw detachable cover of a nail polish capsule (Shashou at Figure 163, cartridge, Figure 164, selection of cartridges based on application, color magazine with consumable cartridge/pod system 1600 for the enamel/polish application system 600, and Para. [0037] discloses control of the robotic arm and attached tool for performing nail operations:” a mechanism to enable selection of one or more the devices for use at various stages of the manicure (i.e., device selection); a mechanism to position any, some, or all of the devices during the manicure or portions thereof; a means of storing consumables (e.g., nail polish, polish remover) within the apparatus; a receptacle for a cartridge that holds the consumables (e.g., shaping or buffing elements, nail polish, polish remover, and the like); one or more connectors allowing connection of one or more external computers to the apparatus”.) comprising an integrated nail polish applying element and insert and/or extract the integrated nail polish applying element in and/or out of a body portion of the nail polish capsule (Shashou at Paras. [1792]-[1795] disclosing a nail polish application element:” applicator system may be the simplest, and may be essentially a removable syringe with a tapered nozzle on the end. The disposable package may be nearly identical to or similar to a tube of caulk or two-part epoxy dispenser, where the cartridge comes with a plunger already installed. This plunger may form a sliding seal against the inside walls of the tube as it is advanced along.” See Para. [1792].).
As per claim 18, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 17, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section such that the nail polish applying element rotates in at least one axis with respect to the plane around a tip of a dispensing head of the nail polish applying element (Shashou at Para. [1797] discloses rotation of the nail application element:” to select a color, the ram of the nail care system 100 may retract, rotate to the position in which the desired cartridge is, and then extend back down against the plunger to begin flow from the nozzle.”).
As per claim 19, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 17, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce movement of the second arm section in a longitudinal axis, a lateral axis, and a perpendicular axis with respect to the plane while the first anchor connector is disconnected from the second anchor connector to maneuver the end effector grasping the non-screw detachable cover in order to move the integrated nail polish applying element for applying nail polish fluid on at least one nail surface of a user (Shashou discloses the system described above as a nail polish application system (Para. [0007]) comprising, further, a detection system in conjunction with further processing to determine whether the user's nail or finger or toe has moved or been removed from the apparatus (Para. [0113]). Shashou discloses, further, a vision system (Para. [0007]). The vision system rotated about +45 degrees relative to the image of FIG. 55D (Paras. [0310]-[03 l 7] and FIG 55D). The system 300 may be moved back and forth or side to side over the nail surface in the direction 342. The system 300 may be moved in and out or laterally over the nail surface in the direction 344 (Para. [0862] and fig.25).).
As per claim 20, Shashou and De Rossi disclose a method of claim 11, further comprising instructing the at least one actuator to induce rotation of the second arm section around the longitudinal axis (Shashou Para [0226] discloses various movements including rotation of an applicator so as to paint, shape, and spread polish and the like on a nail:” applicator may comprise at least one of a spreading applicator, reciprocating spreader, rotational spreader, horizontally rotating spreader, vertically rotating spreader, a brush, and a nozzle.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rizk; Nabil Michael (US-20120207538-A1) (AUTOMATED TOOL CHANGE ASSEMBLY FOR ROBOTIC ARM); discloses automated tool change assembly and method for automatically coupling a robotic end effector to a robotic manipulator. Additionally tool station can also provide a platform to align tools with manipulators in forming the automatic connection between joint members. The tool station also provides a release bar for manually releasing end effectors from manipulators. See Figures 1A-1B.
Ortiz; Miguel et al. (US-20150335131-A1) (Automatic Nail Painting Machine); discloses an electronic device for the automated painting and drying of fingernails, which allows the user to choose the color they want to paint the nails as well as to carry the device due to its light weight. In one embodiment, the device has a sensor that identifies the hand that has been introduced in it and activates the activation of the device, a touch LED screen, which allows the user to choose the nail and color with which to paint it, without the need for specialized personnel to operate it, as well as to inform the user through visible and audible means the process taking place. See Figure 1.
Walia; Herpreet Singh et al. (US-20170215550-A1) (APPARATUS FOR APPLYING COATING TO NAILS); discloses a system that can paint a user's nail. The system can utilize a user's smartphone and use the touch screen and camera to detect the position of the user's nail. The device can move an applicator to an appropriate position or instruct the user to move their finger relative to the applicator to paint the nail. See Figures 1A-2.
Nuchter; Elmar et al. (US-20090102109-A1) (WORKPIECE POSITIONING DEVICE); Discloses a workpiece positioning device (1) comprising at least one positioning axis (35, 39) and a modular machine frame (3) on which at least one workpiece receiving element (8, 9) is arranged. See Figures 1-2.
Sanders; Roger W. et al. (US-20160039098-A1) (SWIVEL LINK FOR MOUNTING END OF ARM TOOLING); Discloses a robotic end of arm tooling system including a robotic arm having an end, and at least one swivel link assembly attached to the robotic arm. The swivel link assembly includes a flexible ball base connected to the end of the robotic arm, and a knuckle joint defining at least one adjustable axis. See Figure 1.
Apte; Renuka Ajay et al. (US-20200268125-A1) (AUTOMATIC NAIL POLISH APPLICATION SYSTEM AND METHOD); Discloses a robotic apparatus and methods for automatic nail polish application on natural or artificial finger or toe nails. See at least Figures 3A-3B.
AMUNDSON; Kurt et al. (US-20190314997-A1) (Deformable End Effectors for Cosmetic Robotics); Discloses a device for ensuring safe operation of a robot used for cosmetics applications, including the retrofitting of robots not originally design for such applications. In some embodiments, the robot is used for the automatic placement of eyelash extensions onto the natural eyelashes of a subject. In some embodiments, a safety barrier is provided by a physical barrier or light curtain. In other embodiments, readily deformable end effectors are used. See Figure 4.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658