This action is responsive to Applicant’s response to election/restriction filed 09/24/2026.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
The Drawings filed 04/30/2024 are approved by the examiner.
The IDS statement filed 04/30/2024 has been considered. An initialed copy accompanies this action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. For example, while many of the references listed in the specification are cited by Applicant on the IDS of record, it is unclear what the reference by B. Cetin et al. mentioned on p.3 of the specification is. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited by Applicant on the IDS of record, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 8-11, in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
In claim 8, the terms “the molten glass”, “the forming mold” and “the final shaped glass products” lack antecedent basis in the claim. These terms do not match (nor are similar to) any prior term. Accordingly, it is unclear what the steps refer to and/or require. Additionally in step vi., it is unclear what the phrase “keeping it at room temperature” refers to. What is “it”, the molten glass or the forming mold? The Examiner politely discourages use of terms like “it” in the claims. Furthermore, it is unclear how the molten glass could be kept a room temperature as glass typically requires a very high temperature (hundreds of degrees, often at least a thousand degrees) to melt.
For purposes of further examination (or else steps vi. and vii. could not be compared relative to prior art), steps v. to vii. are interpreted as requiring melting the homogenous mixture in a melting furnace at a temperature between 850 and 1200 °C to form a molten glass, transferring the molten glass into a forming mold at room temperature to shape the glass, and annealing the shaped glass in an annealing furnace at temperature between 400 and 700°C to remove internal stresses.
Claims 9-11 are also indefinite for their dependency on claim 8.
In claim 9, the claim appears to recite several limitations separated by commas: “wherein in step iii) Samarium (III) Nitrate Hexahydrate [Sm(NO3)3.6H2O] reacts with Glycine [H2NCH2COOH] which is used as fuel, by combustion synthesis, calcination of the Sm2O3 powder formed after the reaction and at the end of the process, Sm2O3 powders in oxide form, with a grain size in the range of 50 - 300 nm, with 99% purity are obtained.” However, the grammar of the claim is unclear so as to render the claim indefinite. It is understood that the claim requires a reaction of samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate with glycine and the Sm2O3 powder obtained by the reaction is calcined. However, the use of commas makes it unclear as written what the “by combustion synthesis”, “Sm2O3 powders in oxide form” (note that Sm2O3 is inherently in oxide form), “with a grain size in the range of 50 – 300 nm”, and “with 99% purity are obtained” impart and/or have nexus to other limitations of the claim. The relationship between these phrases and the other limitations of the claim seem incomplete.
For purposes of further examination (or else the claim would not be compared relative to prior art), claim 9 is construed as requiring step iii) (already requiring obtaining nano-sized Sm2O3 powder by calcination of Sm2O3 powder obtained by combustion synthesis per the parent claim) comprises combustion synthesis of samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate and glycine to form Sm2O3 powder and the calcination of the Sm2O3 obtains nano-sized Sm2O3 powder with a grain size in the range of 50 - 300 nm and 99% purity.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, the terms silica, lime, and soda should not be capitalized.
Claim 8 also fails to end with a period and is therefore not in proper form. Applicant is required to amend the claim such that it properly ends with a period. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See also MPEP 608.01(m).
In claim 9, the terms samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate and glycine should not be capitalized.
Also in claim 9, Applicant is suggested to amend the recitation with square brackets to be parentheses instead; note that under US practice (see 37 CFR 1.121), square brackets usually indicate deleting portions of a claim and this might be confusing if/when the claims are allowed and go to print. Applicant is also suggested to correct the formula for the samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate to recite the proper subscripts and moles of water, e.g., “(Sm(NO3)3∙6H2O)”, as the presently recited “Sm(NO3)3.6H2O” is not samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate.
In claim 10, Applicant is suggested to amend “samarium oxide” to read as “Sm2O3” in order to match the format/antecedent basis of the parent claim and improve clarity in the claim (claim 8 recites nano-sized Sm2O3 rather than nano-sized samarium oxide).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In addition to any foregoing statements of claim interpretation, note that step i. in claim 8 "preparation of a raw material composition prescription" is very broad. The term "prescription" is construed by its ordinary meaning to broadly mean a written direction or recommendation. In other words, nearly any action that results in the formation or obtaining of a workable soda lime silica glass reads on the claimed step i. Discrete steps of writing down, planning, or thinking about what a soda lime silica glass raw material composition does not patentably distinguish over forming or obtaining a soda lime silica glass precursor or final product. The actions recited in step ii. effectively read on the very broad prescription of step i.
Also in claim 8, the end of step vii. recites the annealing step is “to remove internal stresses”. However, this merely recites the intended use of the performed step. The action of annealing the glass at the recited temperature reads on the step regardless of whether a reference specifically teaches or appreciates the annealing step is intended to remove internal stresses in the glass.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavas et al. (“Radiation shielding competencies for waste soda-lime-silicate glass reinforced with Ta2O5: experimental, computational, and simulation studies”, Applied Physics A, 2021, 127:164) in view of Wagh et al. (“Influence of RE oxides (Eu3+, Sm3+, Nd3+) on gamma radiation shielding properties of lead fluoroborate glasses”, Solid State Sciences: 96, 2019, 105959), Antoinette et al. (“Synthesis and characterization of Sm2O3 nanoparticles using combustion method”, International Research Journal of Engineering and Technology (IRJET), Volume 4 Special Issue 9, 2017), and any one or more of Jones et al. (WO 99/02462 A1), Fu et al. (CN 102010125 A), and Cooper et al. (US 2019/0016629 A1).
As to claim 8, Kavas et al. teach a method of making a radiation shielding soda-lime-silicate (i.e., silica) glass composition comprising the steps of determining the composition of a soda-lime-silica glass, milling the glass into powders and weighing respective contents, adding Ta2O5 as a radiation shielding additive, mixing the ground soda-lime-silica glass and Ta2O5 at 250 rpm to 2h to obtain a homogenous mixture, preparing glass batches in a furnace by melting at 1325°C (see glasses preparation section 2.1 on p.163-164). This generally reads on the claimed steps of preparation of a raw material composition prescription, weighting and grinding of silica, lime and soda starting raw materials according to the prescription, mixing the grounds soda-lime-silica raw materials and a radiation shielding additive with a mill and/or a mechanical mixture until a homogenous mixture is formed, and melting the mixture in a melting furnace at a temperature between 850 and 1200°C to obtain a molten glass.
Note that, while the reference teaches providing the furnace at 1325°C to melt the glass composition, the act of heating to 1325°C to melt the glass (whether the furnace is pre-heated to 1325°C prior to placing the raw materials in the furnace or is in the off-position when the raw materials are placed inside followed by turning the furnace on and heated to 1325°C) passes through the claimed temperature range of 850 and 1200°C. In any event, differences in temperature (e.g., a furnace temperature of 1325°C to melt glass versus within a range of 850-1200°C also to melt glass) does not support patentability unless there is evidence such temperature is critical. See, for example, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) where a claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.
Kavas et al. fail to teach obtaining and adding nano-sized Sm2O3 by calcining Sm2O3 powder obtained by combustion synthesis, transferring the molten glass into a forming mold at room temperature to shape the glass, and annealing the shaped glass in an annealing furnace at temperature between 400 and 700°C.
However, Wagh et al. teach Sm2O3 improves gamma ray radiation shielding properties of glass (abstract).
Furthermore, Antoinette et al. teach Sm2O3 may obviously be formulated and provided as nanoparticles, especially for provision in glass compositions, for their thermal stability (abstract and introduction section on p.1, etc.). Antoinette et al. also teach their nano-sized Sm2O3 powders are made by calcination of Sm2O3 powders obtained by combustion synthesis (section 2 on p.1).
Thus, at the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Sm2O3 as taught by Wagh et al. as an additional component in Kavas et al. or replacing the Ta2O5 component in Kavas et al. in order to improve the gamma ray radiation shielding properties of the soda-lime-silicate glass with a reasonable expectation of success. At the time of the effective filing date it would have also been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Wagh et al.’s Sm2O3 as nano-sized Sm2O3 powders are made by calcination of Sm2O3 powders obtained by combustion synthesis as taught by Antoinette et al. in order for the provided Sm2O3 powders to have, among other reasons, excellent thermal stability in the glass composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combination of references thus far effectively reads on and meets the claimed steps i. to v.
Regarding the claimed further steps vi. and vii., Jones et al. teach a method of manufacturing a soda-lime-silica glass composition where the final steps of preparing the glass comprise pouring molten glass into a mold, allowing the glass to cool slowly, and placing the molds into an annealing furnace where the glass is exposed to about 565°C (1050°F) (p.13 lines 3-10).
Alternatively, Fu et al. teach a method of preparing a soda-lime-silica glass composition where the final steps of preparing the glass comprise pouring the molten glass into a mold, cooling to normal, i.e., room, temperature, and performing annealing at 620-650°C (para. 0013-0014).
Cooper et al. also teach a method of making a soda-lime-silica glass composition where the final steps of providing the glass composition comprise pouring molten glass into a casting mold that rapidly cools the glass from about 1050-1100°C to about 900°C or below followed by a thermal treatment stage including annealing at a temperature of 540-580°C (para. 0027, 0028, and 0033).
In other words, the prior art teaches preparing a soda-lime-silica glass composition commonly and routinely includes steps equivalent to those of instantly claimed steps vi. and vii. in order to sufficiently form and obtain said glass.
Thus, at the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the common or routine transferring/pouring, casting/molding, and annealing steps taught by any one or more of Jones et al., Fu et al., or Cooper et al. at the end of the process of Kavas et al. (and/or Kavas et al. in view of Wagh et al. and Antoinette et al.) in order to obtain a molded, cast, or shaped soda-lime-silica glass composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
The claimed recitation annealing step vii. is “to remove internal stresses” merely recites the intended use of the performed step; the action of annealing the glass at the recited temperature, as taught by the secondary references, reads on the step regardless of whether the reference specifically teaches or appreciates the annealing step is intended to remove internal stresses in the glass.
As to claim 10, Kavas et al. teach the soda-lime-silica glass raw materials are ground into power and sieved under 125 microns (section 2.1 on p.163) meaning the powder has an average grain size below microns as claimed. Kavas et al. also teach the raw materials are mixed in a rotary alumina jar at 250 rpm for 2h to obtain a well-mixed and homogenous mixture (section 2.1 on p.164) which reads on a homogenous mixture is obtained with a mechanical mixture.
The claimed limitation that the nanosized Sm2O3 is doped into the soda-lime-silica raw materials would flow naturally and is met via the combination of references. Kavas et al. teach the Ta2O5 is indeed doped into the soda-lime-silica raw materials/glass during production (section 3.1 on p.164). Since the Wagh et al. and Antoinette et al. substitute/provide/replace part or all of Kavas et al.’s Ta2O5 with nano-sized Sm2O3, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the Sm2O3 is doped into the soda-lime-silica raw materials/glass during production as well.
As to claim 11, Kavas et al. teach the mixing process is carried out at a rotational speed range of 250 rpm for 2h (Id.). This clearly reads on the rotational speed range. Regarding the duration, differences in mixing duration (e.g., 2 hours to surely obtain a homogenous mixture of the glass precursor versus 15 to 60 minutes to obtain a homogenous mixture of the glass precursor) does not support patentability unless there is evidence such duration is critical. What is patentably distinct between obtaining a homogenous mixture after mixing for 2 hours versus obtaining a homogenous mixture after mixing for 15 to 60 minutes? A homogenous mixture is nevertheless obtained in both cases. Furthermore, the reference’s disclosure of 2 hours to obtain a homogenous mixture indicates 2 hours is the maximum time to sufficiently obtain a homogenous mixture which motivates a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider and explore what the minimum time (or some intermediate thereof) is to sufficiently obtain a homogenous mixture in order to save time, i.e., determine an optimal mixing duration, during production. See, for example, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) where a claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10% and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003) where "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavas et al. (“Radiation shielding competencies for waste soda-lime-silicate glass reinforced with Ta2O5: experimental, computational, and simulation studies”, Applied Physics A, 2021, 127:164) in view of Wagh et al. (“Influence of RE oxides (Eu3+, Sm3+, Nd3+) on gamma radiation shielding properties of lead fluoroborate glasses”, Solid State Sciences: 96, 2019, 105959), Antoinette et al. (“Synthesis and characterization of Sm2O3 nanoparticles using combustion method”, International Research Journal of Engineering and Technology (IRJET), Volume 4 Special Issue 9, 2017), and any one or more of Jones et al. (WO 99/02462 A1), Fu et al. (CN 102010125 A), and Cooper et al. (US 2019/0016629 A1) as applied to claims 8, 10, and 11 above, and further in view of Kuznikova et al. ("Synthesis and characterization of samarium oxide nanocrystallites", J. Nanosci. Nanotechnol., 2016, Vol. 16, No. 8, 7829-7831).
The disclosure of Kavas et al. in view of Wagh et al., Antoinette et al., and any one or more of Jones et al., Fu et al., and Cooper et al. is relied upon as set forth above.
The combination of references, notably via the teachings of Antoinette et al., teach the nano-sized Sm2O3 powders of record are made by calcination of Sm2O3 powders at 1,000°C for 3 hours obtained by combustion synthesis of samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate and urea as a fuel (section 2 on p.1).
The references thus far fail to teach the nano-sized Sm2O3 powders are made by combustion synthesis of samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate and glycine to form Sm2O3 powder and the calcination of the Sm2O3 obtains nano-sized Sm2O3 powder with a grain size in the range of 50 - 300 nm and 99% purity.
However, Kuznikova et al. teaches preparation nanosized Sm2O3 via thermal decomposition of a complex formed by reacting samarium (III) nitrate hexahydrate and glycine calcination at 600°C to sufficiently obtain the nanoparticles (abstract and section 2.1 on p.7830).
Thus, at the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide glycine as taught by Kuznikova et al. in place of the urea fuel in the process of Antoinette et al. in order to obtain nano-sized Sm2O3 powder with a reasonable expectation of success. At the time of the effective filing date it would have alternatively been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the process of making Sm2O3 nanoparticles taught by Kuznikova et al. in place of the process taught by Antoinette et al. in the prior combination of references in order to still provide nano-sized Sm2O3 powder to Kavas et al.’s glass with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the claimed grain size and purity, the claimed grain size and purity would flow naturally from the combination of references as the prior art of record (whether Kuznikova et al.’s glycine is substituted in place of Antoinette et al.’s urea or Kuznikova et al.’s process is provided in place of Antoinette et al.’s process) teach substantially the same process as claimed such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the nanosized Sm2O3 to possess the same properties as claimed absent a showing to the contrary. Also note that Kavas et al. teach the Ta2O5 (the component replaced with Sm2O3 in the rejection of record) is provided at 99% purity supplied from a common chemical supplier (p.164) and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to provide an equal purity of the provided Sm2O3 component to obtain a comparable/sufficient final glass material.
Prior Art Cited But Not Applied
The following prior art is made of record and not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: George et al. (US 2014/0146840 A1) teach a method of preparing a glass comprising all of soda, lime, and silica (see, e.g., para. 0053, 0054, 0077, 0087, 0088, etc.) where annealing glass is known to remove stress therein (para. 0106).
The remaining references listed on Forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon or discussed above.
Correspondence
/MATTHEW R DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/M.R.D./
October 16, 2026