DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Perovskite-Nanosheet Sensitizer for Highly Efficient Organic X-ray Imaging Scintillator” (Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Wang disclose a nanocomposite (100) that transforms X-ray radiation into visible light by scintillating, the nanocomposite comprising:
perovskite nanosheets (page 11, second paragraph, “CsPbBr3 nanosheet”); and
plural organic chromophores (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine β-diketonate (A) with TADF”),
wherein the plural organic chromophores interact with the perovskite nanosheets through F-Pb bonds (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”), and
wherein the perovskite nanosheets are selected to absorb the X-ray radiation and emit first light centered on 510 nm (CsPbBr3 nanosheet), and the plural organic chromophores are selected to absorb second light between 400 and 600 nm, with a peak at 510 nm, and emit the visible light in 500 to 800 nm range (difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate).
Regarding claim 12, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, wherein there are two F-Pb bonds between each organic chromophore and a corresponding perovskite nanosheet (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 13, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, wherein the perovskite is CsPbBrs (page 11, second paragraph, “CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 13, wherein the organic chromophore is difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, wherein a distance between a perovskite nanosheet and an organic chromophore of the plural organic chromophores is about 1 nm (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 16, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, further comprising: a polymer material that encapsulated the perovskite nanosheets and the plural organic chromophores (Fig. 2, PMMA).
Regarding claim 18, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, wherein the plural organic chromophores are selected to have a thermally activated delayed fluorescence character (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”).
Regarding claim 19, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 11, wherein the nanocomposite has an imagining resolution of about 135 µm (abstract, “a high imaging resolution of 135 µm”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of as applied to claim 16, and in further view of “High-Z Sensitized Plastic Scintillators: A Review” (Hajagos).
Regarding claim 17, Wang disclose the nanocomposite of Claim 16, but is silent with respect to the weight by percentage of the plural organic chromophores relative to ta total mass of the nanocomposite, thereby allowing for that which is known in the art.
Hajagos disclose primary dye loadings are typically in the arrange of 1-5wt.% in plastic scintillators (section 2.2 “Organic Scintillator Photophysics” second paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the organic chromophore disclosed by Wang with the convention 1-5wt% range, including about 2 wt%, as result-effective variable in order to balance light yield, energy-transfer efficiency, and avoidance of concentration quenching. wherein a weight by percentage of the plural organic chromophores is about 2% relative to a total mass of the nanocomposite. Such optimization represents nothing more than routine experimentation within the well-known range, consistent with KSR and MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Perovskite-Nanosheet Sensitizer for Highly Efficient Organic X-ray Imaging Scintillator” (Wang) in view of US 2017/0322323 (Fischer).
Regarding claim 1, Wang disclose an X-ray imagining film that transforms X-ray radiation into visible light by scintillating, the X-ray imagining film comprising:
a nanocomposite, wherein the nanocomposite includes perovskite nanosheets (page 11, second paragraph, “CsPbBr3 nanosheet”) and plural organic chromophores (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”) that interact with the perovskite nanosheets through F-Pb bonds (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”),
wherein the perovskite nanosheets are selected to absorb the X-ray radiation and emit first light centered on 510 nm (CsPbBr3 nanosheet), and the plural organic chromophores are selected to absorb second light between 400 and 600 nm, with a peak at 510 nm, and emit the visible light in 500 to 800 nm range (difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate).
Wang fails to explicitly teach the nanocomposite is formed on a substrate.
Fischer disclose perovskite nanocomposite formed on a substrate, in particular for X-ray radiation [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the nanocomposite on a substrate to provide mechanical support, improved film uniformity, optical coupling, and device integration.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, wherein there are two F-Pb bonds between each organic chromophore and a corresponding perovskite nanosheet (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, wherein the perovskite is CsPbBr3 (page 11, second paragraph, “CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 3, wherein the organic chromophore is difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, wherein a distance between a perovskite nanosheet and an organic chromophore of the plural organic chromophores is about 1 nm (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, further comprising: a polymer material that encapsulated the perovskite nanosheets and the plural organic chromophores (Fig. 2a, PMMA).
Regarding claim 7, Wang disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 6, wherein the perovskite nanosheets and the plural organic chromophores are uniformly distributed within the polymer material (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, wherein the plural organic chromophores are selected to have a thermally activated delayed fluorescence character (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, wherein the nanocomposite has an imagining resolution of about 135 µm (abstract, “a high imaging resolution of 135 µm”).
Regarding claim 20, Wang disclose an X-ray imagining system that transforms incoming X-ray radiation into visible light, the X-ray imagining system comprising:
an X-ray source configured to generate first X-rays (Fig. 2a, wherein a source is required to emit x-rays); and
an X-ray imagining film configured to receive second X-rays that have passed through a target and to generate an image of the target by transforming the second X-rays into the visible light by scintillation (shown in Fig. 4),
wherein the X-ray imagining film includes, a nanocomposite, wherein the nanocomposite includes perovskite nanosheets (page 11, second paragraph, “CsPbBr3 nanosheet”) and plural organic chromophores (page 11, second paragraph, “difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate (A) with TADF”) that interact with the perovskite nanosheets through F-Pb bonds (page 11, second paragraph, “TADF molecules contain two fluorine atoms that could form strong bonds with lead atoms (F-Pb) with the CsPbBr3 nanosheet”),
wherein the perovskite nanosheets are selected to absorb the X-ray radiation and emit first light centered on 510 nm (CsPbBr3 nanosheet), and the plural organic chromophores are selected to absorb second light between 400 and 600 nm, with a peak at 510 nm, and emit the visible light in 500 to 800 nm range (difluoroboron 1,3-diphenylamine B-diketonate).
Wang fails to explicitly teach the nanocomposite is formed on a substrate.
Fischer disclose perovskite nanocomposite formed on a substrate, in particular for X-ray radiation [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the nanocomposite on a substrate to provide mechanical support, improved film uniformity, optical coupling, and device integration.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Fischer as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of “High-Z Sensitized Plastic Scintillators: A Review” (Hajagos).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Fischer disclose the X-ray imagining film of Claim 1, but is silent with respect to the weight by percentage of the plural organic chromophores relative to ta total mass of the nanocomposite, thereby allowing for that which is known in the art.
Hajagos disclose primary dye loadings are typically in the arrange of 1-5wt.% in plastic scintillators (section 2.2 “Organic Scintillator Photophysics” second paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the organic chromophore disclosed by Wang with the convention 1-5wt% range, including about 2 wt%, as result-effective variable in order to balance light yield, energy-transfer efficiency, and avoidance of concentration quenching. wherein a weight by percentage of the plural organic chromophores is about 2% relative to a total mass of the nanocomposite. Such optimization represents nothing more than routine experimentation within the well-known range, consistent with KSR and MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884