DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeng, US 5,959,667.
In regard to claim 1, Maeng, US 5,959,667, discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
a detection unit that detects a relative position between a user who is imaged by any one of a plurality of cameras and a sensor on a basis of detection data obtained by the sensor (see figure 1, element 14; column 4, lines 27-61);
a first calculation unit that calculates, on a basis of the relative position, a tolerance indicating difficulty for the user to notice switching of a camera that images (see column 8, lines 29-62); and
a selection unit that selects a camera that images a subject from the plurality of cameras on a basis of the calculated tolerance (see column 8, line 64 to column 9, line 4 and column 10, lines 14-25: the cameras within the tolerance are selected and those outside the tolerance are deselected).
In regard to claim 2, Maeng, US 5,959,667, discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is a first camera, and the detection unit detects the relative position on a basis of a position of a face of the user imaged by the first camera (see column 5, line 51 to column 6, line 24).
In regard to claim 8, Maeng, US 5,959,667, discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is a distance measuring sensor, and the detection unit detects the relative position on a basis of a position of a face obtained from a distance to the face of the user measured by the distance measuring sensor (see column 5, line 51 to column 6, line 24).
In regard to claim 13, since Maeng, US 5,959,667, discloses an information processing apparatus and its operations as described above in claim 1, the method of claim 13 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0176379, discloses an imaging system with a plurality of cameras that sets image tolerances. US 2020/0267326, discloses an imaging system that selects a camera from a plurality of cameras. US 2008/0036863, discloses an imaging system with multiple cameras that are selectable.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs