Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/13/2025, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-0 and 12-19 has been withdrawn.
New claim 20 depends from independent claim 1 which is now in condition for allowance and is therefore also allowable.
New claims 21 and 22 appear to be an attempt to rewrite original claim 5 in independent form. However, no argument for the patentability of the subject matter of claim 5 was present in the applicant’s response, this subject matter was made obvious Wang in view of Matthews, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-10 depend from cancelled claim 5. For the purpose of examination, claims 6, 7, and 8 were interpreted as though they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214165349 (Wang) (provided by applicant) in view of US PGPub 2020/0227722 (Mathews).
In Re claim 21 Wang discloses a system (abstract) comprising a first powder hopper (4) configured to provide a first powder (Figure 2, 4); one or more first sensors (7), wherein each first sensor is configured to determine a characteristic of the first powder in the first powder hopper (Claim 1- a weight sensor); a first feeder hopper (3) configured to provide a first powder to the first powder hopper (4); and a processor (12) in operable communication with the one or more first sensors (7) and the first feeder hopper (3), wherein the processor is configured to cause the first feeder hopper to provide the first powder to the first powder hopper in response to the characteristic of the first powder in the first powder hopper being less than a first threshold (connection between weight sensor and processor is described on Pages 9 and 10 of the translation of Wang).
Wang fails to disclose two powder hoppers which provide powder to two roller nips
Mathews discloses a first powder hopper (602) configured to provide a first powder to a pair of rollers (604, 605, Paragraph 38). Mathews further discloses a second hopper which provides powder to a second pair of rollers (603, 606, 607, Paragraph 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at effective filing date of the invention that the Wang apparatus could be advantageously used to provide precisely weighed powder to a pair of rollers, for the purpose of electrode manufacturing, as described in Paragraphs 3-4 or Mathews.
Furthermore it would have been obvious, when modifying the Wang apparatus according to the teaching of Mathews, to provide a second powder hopper, a second weight sensor, a second feeder hopper, and to set the processor in communication with the second weight sensor and the second feed hopper, to provide the second powder to the second powder hopper when the characteristic of the second powder in the second powder hopper is less than a threshold, in order to provide precisely weighed powder to a second series of rollers.
In Re claim 22 Wang discloses a system (abstract) comprising a first powder hopper (4) configured to provide a first powder (Figure 2, 4); one or more first sensors (7), wherein each first sensor is configured to determine a characteristic of the first powder in the first powder hopper (Claim 1- a weight sensor); a first feeder hopper (3) configured to provide a first powder to the first powder hopper (4); and a processor (12) in operable communication with the one or more first sensors (7) and the first feeder hopper (3), wherein the processor is configured to cause the first feeder hopper to provide the first powder to the first powder hopper in response to the characteristic of the first powder in the first powder hopper being less than a first threshold (connection between weight sensor and processor is described on Pages 9 and 10 of the translation of Wang).
Wang fails to disclose multiple powder hoppers each providing powder to a pair of rollers.
Mathews discloses a first powder hopper (602) configured to provide a first powder to a pair of rollers (604, 605, Paragraph 38). Mathews further discloses a second hopper which provides powder to a second pair of rollers (603, 606, 607, Paragraph 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at effective filing date of the invention that the Wang apparatus could be advantageously used to provide precisely weighed powder to a pair of rollers, for the purpose of electrode manufacturing, as described in Paragraphs 3-4 or Mathews. Furthermore it would have been obvious, when modifying the Wang apparatus according to the teaching of Mathews, to provide a second powder hopper, a second weight sensor, a second feeder hopper, and to set the processor in communication with the second weight sensor and the second feed hopper, to provide the second powder to the second powder hopper when the characteristic of the second powder in the second powder hopper is less than a threshold, in order to provide precisely weighed powder to a second series of rollers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 and 12-20 are allowed.
Claim 6-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753