DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 4 is canceled and the subject matter of claim 4 is incorporated into claim 1. No claims are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Sato (US 2022/0365300 A1) fails to disclose that a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers (excluding the sheath) is 175 μm or more and 185 μm or less. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Sato paragraph [0079] explains that “a glass fiber 15 is formed of a core and a clad”. Later in the same paragraph Sato states that alternatively the optical fibers may be multi-core fibers where the number of cores per optical fiber is four or more. The measurements of the outer diameter of the fibers cited by Applicant from paragraph [0079] (165 μm or more and 220 μm or less) is describing the single core fiber “formed of a core and a clad” The dimensions of the multi-core alternative described at the end of the paragraph are larger. It is common knowledge to one skilled in the art that the dimensions of a multi-core fiber are generally larger than a single-core fiber. Applicant’s arguments have no addressed the disclosure of the multi-core fiber and how one skilled in the art would understand its characteristics and dimensions.
Applicant argues that Sato does not disclose the claimed core density of 11 core/mm2 or more. Applicant cites to paragraphs [0091] and [0164] to show that Sato discloses an example of a cable having a core density of 5.5 core/mm2. Both of these paragraphs state that the desired core density is 5.0 core/mm2- or greater, which is a range that covers 11 core/mm2. Also, the specific value of 5.5 core/mm2 is the measured value of an example cable given by Sato which includes 36 ribbons, each ribbon having 12 cores for a total of 432 cores. This example describes the single-core fiber embodiment shown throughout the figures. It does not consider a multi-core embodiment as described in paragraph [0079]. Such and embodiment, having four cores per fiber for example, having the same number of ribbons, each having 12 fibers, would have 1,728 cores and a much higher core density than the example with 5.5 core/mm2. Applicants arguments do no address that the disclosure of Sato includes both single-core and multi-core examples, and how one skilled in the art would understand and interpret the disclosure.
Applicant further argues Hayashi (US 2013/0251320 A1) does not teach the claimed glass diameter range because the range disclosed by Hayashi is broader than the claimed range. This circumstance is covered by MPEP 2131.03 II. covering the anticipation of overlapping ranges. The analysis is a case-by-case basis and requires sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statue. Applicant has not presented any arguments stating that sufficient specificity is not present. The claimed range of 175-185 falls nearly directly in the middle of the disclosed range 125-225. This evidence combined with the other teachings of Hayashi, as understood by one skilled in the art, provides sufficient specificity in the instant case.
Finally, Applicant argues that Hayashi does not disclose the claimed core density. Applicant cites paragraph [0166] of Hayashi which describes the limitations of cabled standard single-mode optical fibers. Hayashi explains that “when they are cabled, the spatial spectral efficiency as cable is degraded to about 1/10 from the spatial spectral efficiency as optical fiber. This is because there is a need for providing a layer for protecting the optical fibers, providing a certain space, and providing the tension member to prevent strong tension from being applied to the optical fibers.”
In contrast, the preceding paragraphs and following paragraphs explain the benefits of the Hayashi multi-core optical fiber cable. The entire purpose of the Hayashi invention is effective multi-core optical fibers which are intended to be cabled, so that the core density of the cable can be improved from standard single-mode optical fibers. In paragraph [0168] Hayashi explains that when the disclosed multi-core fibers are bundled into cables, that the core density can be increased all the way up to the idealized 20.4 cores/mm2. Applicant’s arguments do not address this disclosure, but instead quote the single paragraph that does not actually describe the Hayashi invention.
For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is larger than 125 μm“, and the claim also recites “a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is 175 μm or more and 185 μm or less” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PCT Publication Sato et al., WO 2020/256019 A1 (US publication 2022/0365300 is cited for paragraph numbers).
With regard to claim 1, Sato figs. 1-3, discloses an optical fiber cable comprising: a plurality of optical fibers (11A-L); and a sheath (4) covering the plurality of optical fibers from an outside, wherein each of the plurality of optical fibers is a multi-core fiber including a plurality of cores [0079], wherein a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is larger than 125 μm [0079], and wherein a core density is 11 core/mm2 or more [0067-0081], wherein a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is 175 μm or more and 185 μm or less [0079].
With regard to claim 2, Sato figs. 1-3, discloses that the bending rigidity of each of the plurality of optical fibers is 0.25 N-mm2 or more [0090].
With regard to claim 3, Sato figs. 1-3, discloses [Claim 3] The optical fiber cable according to The optical fiber cable according to wherein a tensile strength of the optical fiber cable is 1300 N or more [0179-0183].
With regard to claim 6, Sato figs. 1-3, discloses that the plurality of optical fibers are an intermittent coupling type optical fiber ribbon in which, in a state where the plurality of optical fibers are arranged in parallel in a direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers, a coupling portion that has a state where adjacent optical fibers of some or all of the plurality of optical fibers are coupled, and a non-coupling portion that has a state where the adjacent optical fibers are not coupled are intermittently provided in the longitudinal direction [0076-0079].
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Hayashi, US 2013/0251320 A1.
With regard to claim 1, Hayashi figs. 29-33, discloses an optical fiber cable comprising: a plurality of optical fibers (20); and a sheath (40) covering the plurality of optical fibers from an outside, wherein each of the plurality of optical fibers is a multi-core fiber including a plurality of cores (21), wherein a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is larger than 125 μm [0020], and wherein a core density is 11 core/mm2 or more [0159-0168], wherein a glass diameter of each of the plurality of optical fibers is 175 μm or more and 185 μm or less [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kokubun, et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0199039 A1.
With regard to claim 5, Sato discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, including multi-core fibers, however it does not expressly disclose that the optical fibers include 12 cores.
Kokubun, in fig. 33, teaches optical fibers having a very large number of cores, greater than 12 cores, so as to achieve greater core density.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include 12 or more cores in the Sato optical fibers to achieve greater core density, as taught by Kokubun.
Claims 2, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Toge, et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0110635 A1.
With regard to claim 2, Hayashi discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, however it does not expressly disclose the bending rigidity of the optical fibers.
Toge, in figs. 1-3, teach an optical fiber cable having bundles of ribbons of optical fibers (11) arranged so as to minimize bending loss by improving and optimizing bending rigidity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the optical fibers in Hayashi as taught by Toge so as to minimize bending loss by improving and optimizing bending rigidity such that bending rigidity of each of the plurality of optical fibers is 0.25 N-mm2 or more.
With regard to claim 3, Hayashi discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, however it does not expressly disclose the tensile strength of the optical fiber cable.
Toge, in figs. 1-3, teach an optical fiber cable having bundles of ribbons of optical fibers (11) as well as strength members (95) to improve the strength characteristics of the cable including tensile strength, to minimize bending and other losses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ribbons of optical fibers as well as strength members in the Hayashi cable, as taught by Toge, to improve the strength characteristics of the cable including tensile strength, to minimize bending and other losses, thereby improving the tensile strength of the optical fiber cable is 1300 N or more.
With regard to claim 6, discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, however it does not expressly disclose the optical fibers are arranged as a ribbon.
Toge, in figs. 1-3, teach an optical fiber cable where the plurality of optical fibers are an intermittent coupling type optical fiber ribbon in which, in a state where the plurality of optical fibers are arranged in parallel in a direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the plurality of optical fibers, a coupling portion that has a state where adjacent optical fibers of some or all of the plurality of optical fibers are coupled, and a non-coupling portion that has a state where the adjacent optical fibers are not coupled are intermittently provided in the longitudinal direction [0061-0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the optical fibers in Hayashi as ribbons as taught by Toge, to improve cable strength, thereby reducing bending and other losses.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kokubun.
With regard to claim 5, Hayashi discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, including multi-core fibers, however it does not expressly disclose that the optical fibers include 12 cores.
Kokubun, in fig. 33, teaches optical fibers having a very large number of cores, greater than 12 cores, so as to achieve greater core density.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include 12 or more cores in the Hayashi optical fibers to achieve greater core density, as taught by Kokubun.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874