Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “reversibly movably”. Should this be -reversibly movable--?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 states “wherein the holding and receiving apparatus includes elongated first, second and third chambers, an associated compensator of the at least one compensator positionable respectively in the first, second or third chamber”. The phrase “an associated compensator of the at least one compensator” is confusing. It is not clear how a compensator can be associated with the at least one compensator. Is the “associated compensator” a different compensator from the “at least one compensator”?
The phrase “positionable respectively in the first, second or third chamber” is unclear. The phrase positionable indicates that the compensator only be capable of positioning in one of the chambers but does not positively require such a location. It is not clear how a compensator can be positionable such that it can be inside a chamber but not be required to be in the chamber.
The phrase “is reversibly movably in a direction relative to the respective first, second or third chamber via the associated compensator” is unclear. No orientation of the chambers is given such that a direction relative to the chambers has any meaning. In other words, any direction of movement is a direction relative to the chambers.
Claims 8-11 depend from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0094329 (Meixner).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Meixner discloses a power tool having a removable battery pack (6). The battery pack comprises a power supply unit (7) comprising power storage cells, and a connection apparatus (12) which comprises first, second and third connectors (23, 25, 27) as well as a fourth connector (29). A holding and receiving device (13) holds the connectors. The connectors each have a spring which functions as a compensator. Regarding the limitation that the connectors are connected to the holding and receiving apparatus via the compensator, Meixner states that the springs are positioned such that they press the connectors against a direction Z and compensates relative movement in direction A-B when the power tool is in use. The springs are connectors and springs are provided inside contact chambers in such a way7 that the spring force of the springs (50) presses connectors against the Z direction and compensate movement in the A-B directions [0040-0041, 0043]. Thus, the springs compensate the relative movement between the connectors and the holding device in the direction A-B (pressing against Z direction) which indicates a relative movement between the connectors and the holding and receiving apparatus such that a connection is present between the springs and connectors. The claims do not require a physical connection per se, only that the connection is one that results in relative movement between the connectors and the holding and receiving apparatus. As Meixner discloses such a compensation movement, the connection is considered met.
Regarding claim 7, the movement in the A-B direction, each connector has an associated spring and are arranged in elongated contact chambers [0041] and the connectors are movable in the A-B direction
Regarding claim 8, Meixner discloses an offset arrangement of the connectors for at least 2 of the 3 connectors [0038].
Claim(s) 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2416407 (Fukukawa).
Fukukawa discloses a removable battery pack for a power tool [0017] comprising storage cells (11) and a connection apparatus (3) which has a connector case 31 inside case extension 21 and the connector case holds first second and third connectors (contacts (32)). The contacts (32) are connected by springs (84) via the connector case 31 to the case extension such that they can move flexibly up and down inside the case extension 21. Thus, relative movement between the connectors held in the connector case (31) and the holding and receiving apparatus (21) is provided.
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,027,406 (Burger).
Burger discloses a battery pack for a power tool (abstract) comprising storage cells (20) and a connection apparatus (18, 21) for removably connecting the battery pack to the tool. The connection apparatus (Figure 5) includes a contact holder 36 which has separate accommodating spaces 37 (considered elongated chambers) for a plurality of electrical contacts (31) (considered connectors). Springs (52) are provided which allow for relative movement between the contact holder in direction (25) such that the contacts via contact holder have relative movement with the housing (17) and the rest of the connection device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0153142 (Meixner II).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Meixner II discloses a power tool (1) with a removable battery pack (7) (connection apparatus) comprising power storage cells [0027] that are provided in a holding and receiving apparatus (9a). As shown in Figure 3, springs (compensators) are provided along with connectors (contact elements 10 or plugs 11) inside chambers (16). The springs abut back walls (22a, 22b) of each contact chamber and presses contact plugs/contact elements in arrow direction A and provide compensation in the direction A-B (Figure 3). The compensation in the A-B direction is seen to provide compensation between the back of the chambers which are part of the holding and receiving apparatus. Meixner shows two contacts, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide more than two contacts as duplication of parts is seen to be obvious to one of ordinary skill and increasing the number of electrical contacts is considered a design choice. See MPEP 2144.04(VI) which states in part “In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).”
Regarding claim 7, as noted above, the battery pack is removable and the springs compensate in the A-B direction as shown in the Figures.
Regarding claim 10, as shown in Figures 3 and 4, the chambers are connected by a wall as part of the housing and is considered rigid enough to provide structural integrity in the form of housing. Duplication of this structure to add a third chamber is considered an obvious duplication of parts as indicated above.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0153142 (Meixner II) in view of US 2020/0094329 (Meixner).
Meixner II does not disclose providing an offset configuration. Meixner discloses the use of an offset configuration with improved heat dissipation and greater current carrying capacity [0006, 0011]. It would have been obvious to modify the configuration of Meixner II to adopt an offset configuration disclosed by Meixner as Meixner discloses that this configuration is useful in the same application of providing connections between power tool and the battery pack and that this configuration provides an improved interface, improved heat dissipation and greater current carrying capacity.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723