Response to Arguments
The objection to the Abstract, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/08/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 2/24/2026.
The objection to the Specification, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/08/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 2/24/2026.
4. The interpretation of claim limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/08/2026 has been maintained because no amendment is made on 2/24/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, filed 2/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 2/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter, that “Thus, claim 12 recites a non-transitory medium that improves a technical system through abnormality detection and alerts. Support for this amendment can be found in at least Paragraphs [0037], [0060], and [0074] of the published application. Accordingly, it is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 7) that claim 12 is eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. Therefore, Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejection (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 2/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/08/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claim 12 and added the limitation, “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer-readable instructions……” which overcomes the rejection of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 101. Therefore, the rejection(s) of Claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/08/2026 has been withdrawn as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-11, filed 2/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-11, of the remarks, filed on 2/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1, that “However, as shown above, claim 1 has been amended to recite, inter alia, "wherein the sensor device is configured to be arranged on a mounting rail for electrical equipment and the (Remarks-Page 9) sensor device is configured such that, when arranged on the mounting rail, the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail," (emphasis added). Zhou does not disclose or suggest such a feature.
In contrast, Zhou discloses that the canister 318 and the insulation spacer 312 are located in between the piezoelectric element 308 and the bus bar 304. Indeed, because the bus bar 304 of Zhou is a power conductor, the insulation spacer 312 must necessarily be located between the piezoelectric element 308 and the bus bar 304 in order to prevent short circuiting of the piezoelectric element 308. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have no reason to modify Zhou so that the piezoelectric element 308 is in direct contact with the electrically charged bus bar 304.
Indeed, in the instant application, the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10, whereas in Zhou the piezoelectric element 308 (cf. acoustic sensor element) listens to the bus bar 304 (cf. mounting rail) itself.
Accordingly, Zhou does not disclose "wherein the sensor device is configured to be arranged on a mounting rail for electrical equipment and the sensor device is configured such that, when arranged on the mounting rail, the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail," as recited by amended claim 1.
For at least the reasons above, Zhou does not disclose each and every feature recited by independent claim 1, as required for a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102. Given that the remaining claims depend from claim 1, these claims are also not anticipated by Zhou for at least the reasons presented above with respect to claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of this rejection (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 2/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/082026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “wherein the sensor device is configured to be arranged on a mounting rail for electrical equipment and the sensor device is configured such that, when arranged on the mounting rail, the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail.” and in claim 12, “alerting a local user of the detected electrical abnormalities by an audible and/or visual alarm, and/or switch off the electrical equipment generating the detected electrical abnormalities”, which overcomes the present rejection of claim 1 and 12. Because claim 1 now recites the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail which was not recited in the claim before. Therefore, present amendment overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/08/2026. However, applicant has amended the claim and ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1 is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1 and 12. For the broadest reasonable interpretation sensor element is considered as the canister 318 where the piezoelectric element is placed and the insulative spacer 312. From present application specification [0078], “In this example, the acoustic sensor element 301 comprises a piezoelectric sensor element 301a and a protrusion 301b”. Therefore, Zhou discloses piezoelectric element 318 and the insulative spacer 312 as protrusion which directly abuts the mounting rail (busbar 304). Again, Zhou discloses in Paragraph [0063],” Conversely, the second clamp portion 320 of FIG. 3 has a flat, generally flat or somewhat convex surface 348 to accommodate the planar surface of the power bus bar 304. In this example, no insulative cushion is employed since electrical cables usually have insulative sleeves thereon. Otherwise, the clamp-on structure 342, like the clamp-on structure 302, can clamp together a housing, such as 306, the power conductor 344, and optionally an insulative spacer, such as 312”. Therefore, Zhou discloses that the insulative spacer is optional and if insulative spacer is not there then the canister 318 directly abuts the busbar. Therefore, if applicant argues that insulative spacer is not a part of the sensor element still the sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail for the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 is now under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s argument, “Indeed, in the instant application, the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10, whereas in Zhou the piezoelectric element 308 (cf. acoustic sensor element) listens to the bus bar 304 (cf. mounting rail) itself” is not persuasive. Because claim does not recite, “the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Again, claim is rejected in light of the specification and the limitation is not incorporated from the specification to reject the claim. Therefore, although Zhou discloses different process then the present application however the limitation is not in the claim and the limitation is not required buy the claim. Therefore, Zhou still can be applied to reject the amended claim 1.
In response to Applicant's argument that Indeed, in the instant application, the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10, whereas in Zhou the piezoelectric element 308 (cf. acoustic sensor element) listens to the bus bar 304 (cf. mounting rail) itself, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (the sensor device registers acoustic signals (via an acoustic sensor element 301) reflecting sound from electrical equipment arranged in association with a mounting rail 10) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 is now under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1, Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1 and Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 set forth in the amendment submitted 2/24/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an attachment arrangement” in claim 2 and “a pressure part” in claim 8.
In this application in claim 2 the recited “an attachment arrangement” coupled with the functional language “for detachable attachment on the mounting rail”.
In this application in claim 8 the recited “a pressure part” coupled with the functional language “to apply a pressure on the acoustic sensor element”.
All these limitations in claims 2 and 8 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20250004033 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 71, “[0071] The sensor device 30 comprises an attachment arrangement 40 for detachable attachment on the mounting rail 10. The attachment arrangement 40 may comprise an upper connection portion 42 and a lower connection portion 44. The upper connection portion 42 of the attachment arrangement 40 may thus be configured to interact with an upper flange 12 of the mounting rail 10, and the lower connection portion 44 may be configured to interact with a lower flange 14 of the mounting rail 10. The attachment arrangement 40 may comprise a snap-fit connection. The snap-fit connection may be shaped to easily snap the senor device 30 on the mounting rail 10. The snap-fit connection may comprise the upper connection portion 42 and the lower connection portion 44. The attachment arrangement 40 may be somewhat resilient, such that it allows minor deformation of the upper 42 and lower 44 connection portion in order to attach the sensor device 30 on the mounting rail 10.”
In Paragraph 84, “[0084] Furthermore, the sensor device 30 may comprise a pressure part 37 arranged to apply a pressure on the acoustic sensor element 301. The pressure part 37 may be biased and will thereby apply a force on the acoustic sensor element 301, such that the acoustic sensor element 301, 301a, is pressed against the mounting rail 10. The pressure part 37 may comprise a spring element, rubber or similar. The biased pressure part 37 may be arranged in abutment with the dampening element 36, the protective sheet 35 or the acoustic sensor element 301.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (Hereinafter, “Zhou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20120092020 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a sensor device [300] in Figure 3-5 for detection of electrical abnormalities in association with electrical equipment (An acoustic sensor structured to detect acoustic noise from the electrical power conductor and output a signal; and a circuit structured to detect an electrical conductivity fault from the signal; Abstract; Referring to FIGS. 3-5, an acoustic sensor apparatus 300 includes a clamp, such as the example clamp-on structure 302, for an electrical power conductor, such as the example rectangular power bus bar 304 (shown in phantom line drawing in FIG. 3); Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5), the sensor device comprising:
- a housing [306] (The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-7); and
- an acoustic sensor element ([318 (308)+312] (piezoelectric element 308 and insulation spacer 312 altogether forms the senor element) (As shown in FIG. 3, the exterior of the housing 306 includes an insulation spacer 312, which is coupled to the stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 wherein piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) is disposed (FIG. 5); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5; insulation spacer 312 and the cylindrical canister 318 which has the piezoelectric element 308 is considered as the acoustic sensor element because both insulation spacer and piezoelectric element functions for acoustic sensing) arranged inside the housing [306] (The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-9; As shown in FIG. 3, the exterior of the housing 306 includes an insulation spacer 312, which is coupled to the stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 wherein piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) is disposed (FIG. 5); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5) to register acoustic signals (Claim 16. The acoustic sensor apparatus of claim 1 wherein said acoustic sensor is further structured to generate an acoustic signal) reflecting sound originating from the electrical equipment (The piezoelectric element 10 in Figure 1 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The piezoelectric element 308 in Figure 3 also functions similarly as the piezoelectric element 10 in figure 1 function. Because: The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306, and a printed circuit board (PCB) 310 (FIG. 5), which can include the example electronic circuit 14, fault indicator 158, wireless transceiver 160, parasitic power supply 162 and reset circuit 184 of FIG. 1; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-12);
wherein the acoustic sensor element 10 in Figure 1 is operatively connectable to at least one processor [182] in Figure 1 (The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306, and a printed circuit board (PCB) 310 (FIG. 5), which can include the example electronic circuit 14; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-10; The electronic circuit 14 includes a buffer input circuit 174 that receives the output signal 12 (e.g., an acoustic signal) from the piezoelectric element 10, an amplifier circuit 178, a bandpass filter 180, a peak detector 181 and a processor 182; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-5; Piezoelectric element housed with a printed circuit board 310 and the processor 182 is placed in the electronic circuit 14 which is placed in the printed circuit board 310 and therefore piezoelectric element is cooperatively connectable with a processor; Figure 1 shows that the acoustic sensor element (as the piezoelectric element) is connected to a processor. Claim recites, “operatively connectable” which is not required by the claim. Operatively connectable does not mean that the sensor element is connected to the processor and therefore is not required by the claim) configured to detect the presence of electrical abnormalities (a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault) based on the acoustic signals registered by the acoustic sensor element [318+312] (The piezoelectric element 10 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The disclosed acoustic sensor apparatus 300 can sense a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault and preferably includes a suitable acoustic generator, such as a high voltage pulsar circuit, to generate a simulated acoustic signal. This allows it to be used as an acoustic signal generator for optimizing sensor distribution in electrical distribution systems, such as switchgear, in factories or on site; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-7),
wherein the sensor device [300] is configured to be arranged on a mounting rail [304] (Busbar 304 as the mounting rail as it mounting the acoustic sensor device) for electrical equipment (The housing 306 is clamped onto power bus bar 304 or another power conductor in an electrical system (not shown); Paragraph [0053] Line 12-14; The clamp-on structure 302 is structured to clamp together the insulation spacer 312 and the example power bus bar 304 along with the housing 306; Paragraph [0054] Line 5-7; Figure 3 shows that the sensor device 300 is arranged on a mounting rail 304) and the sensor device [300] is configured such that, when arranged on the mounting rail [304], the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail [304] (As shown in FIG. 3, the exterior of the housing 306 includes an insulation spacer 312, which is coupled to the stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 wherein piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) is disposed (FIG. 5). The clamp-on structure 302 is structured to clamp together the insulation spacer 312 and the example power bus bar 304 along with the housing 306; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-7; Acoustic Sensor element 318+312 directly abuts or touches the mounting rail 304; Zhou discloses piezoelectric element 318 and the insulative spacer 312 as the protrusion disclosed in the present invention and the insulative spacer 312 directly abuts the mounting rail (busbar 304)).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the sensor device [300] comprises an attachment arrangement [302] (clamp on structure 302 as the attachment arrangement) for detachable attachment on the mounting rail [304] (An acoustic apparatus or acoustic sensor apparatus comprises a clamp structured to clamp together a housing and an electrical power conductor. This clamp permits, for example, the acoustic apparatus or acoustic sensor apparatus to be moved around relatively easily (e.g., not for permanent installation); Paragraph [0012] Line 2-7; Referring to FIGS. 3-5, an acoustic sensor apparatus 300 includes a clamp, such as the example clamp-on structure 302, for an electrical power conductor, such as the example rectangular power bus bar 304 (shown in phantom line drawing in FIG. 3); Paragraph [0053] Line 3-5).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the attachment arrangement [302] comprises an adjustable clamping element [316+320] in Figure 5 (As is best shown in FIG. 5, the example clamp-on structure 302 is disposed through opening 314 of the housing 306. The clamp-on structure 302 includes a first insulative clamp portion 316 disposed within the housing 306 and engaging a stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 that houses the piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) therein, a second insulative clamp portion 320 disposed outside of the housing 306 and being structured to engage the power bus bar 304 (FIG. 3), and a threaded coupler, such as the example threaded dowel 322, passing through the first clamp portion 316 and through the housing 306. The threaded dowel 322 has a first end and an opposite second threaded end (shown in FIG. 6) threadably coupled to the second clamp portion 320 (as shown with the second clamp portion 320' in FIG. 6): Paragraph [0057] Line 1-15).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the acoustic sensor element [308] (piezoelectric element 308 and insulation spacer altogether forms the senor element) comprises a protrusion [312] (As shown in FIG. 3, the exterior of the housing 306 includes an insulation spacer 312, which is coupled to the stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 wherein piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) is disposed (FIG. 5). The clamp-on structure 302 is structured to clamp together the insulation spacer 312 and the example power bus bar 304 along with the housing 306; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-7) adapted to extend through an aperture in the housing [306] (The piezoelectric element 308 is within the example 0.5'' diameter stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 and is coupled to the bottom of the canister 318, which is opposite the side of the insulative spacer 312 (e.g., a ceramic disk) (FIG. 3); Paragraph [0060][ Line 1-5; Figure 5 shows that the canister 318 goes to the aperture of the housing and the insulation spacer is protruding from the housing through the aperture).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the sensor device [300] further comprises a protective sheet [338] (cover 338 as the protective sheet as the cover protect from outside environment) arranged adjacent to the acoustic sensor element [308] (As can be seen from FIGS. 3-5, the example housing 306 includes a base 336 and a cover 338. The base 336 includes posts 340, which engage corresponding structures (not shown) of the cover 338; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-4; Figure 4 shows the cover 338 and Figure 5 shows the placement of acoustic sensor element 308 which is adjacent to the protective sheet (cover 338)).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the sensor device [300] further comprises a pressure part (preload 154 in Figure 1 or clamp 302 in Figure 3 as the pressure part) arranged to apply a pressure on the acoustic sensor element [308] (The preload 154, which is not required, compresses the piezoelectric element 10 under pressure in its assembly. The "preload" means that the piezoelectric element 10 is compressed or under pressure in its assembly. The preload 154, which is applied to the example piezoelectric element 10, can be, for example and without limitation, a compression element such as a loaded compression spring. Alternatively, a clamp can be structured to provide the function of the preload; Paragraph [0041] Line 1-8; Claim 2. The acoustic sensor apparatus of claim 1 wherein a preload is applied to the acoustic sensor by a compression element).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches a sensor device,
wherein the sensor device [300] is configured, such that the acoustic sensor element [308] abuts a flange section of the mounting rail [304] (As shown in FIG. 3, the exterior of the housing 306 includes an insulation spacer 312, which is coupled to the stainless steel cylindrical canister 318 wherein piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing) is disposed (FIG. 5). The clamp-on structure 302 is structured to clamp together the insulation spacer 312 and the example power bus bar 304 along with the housing 306; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-7; The electrical power conductor may be a rectangular bus bar; Paragraph [0014] Line 1; Bus bar 304 attached to the insulation spacer with the clamp 302 which is the flange section for the bus bar to abut with the insulation spacer 312 to the piezoelectric element 308).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches a system for detecting electrical abnormalities in association with electrical equipment (An acoustic sensor structured to detect acoustic noise from the electrical power conductor and output a signal; and a circuit structured to detect an electrical conductivity fault from the signal; Abstract; Referring to FIGS. 3-5, an acoustic sensor apparatus 300 includes a clamp, such as the example clamp-on structure 302, for an electrical power conductor, such as the example rectangular power bus bar 304 (shown in phantom line drawing in FIG. 3); Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5), the system comprising
a sensor device [300] according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1), and
at least one processor [182] in Figure 1 operatively coupled to the acoustic sensor element [308] of the sensor device [300] (The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306, and a printed circuit board (PCB) 310 (FIG. 5), which can include the example electronic circuit 14; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-10; The electronic circuit 14 includes a buffer input circuit 174 that receives the output signal 12 (e.g., an acoustic signal) from the piezoelectric element 10, an amplifier circuit 178, a bandpass filter 180, a peak detector 181 and a processor 182; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-5; Piezoelectric element housed with a printed circuit board 310 and the processor 182 is placed in the electronic circuit 14 which is placed in the printed circuit board 310 and therefore piezoelectric element is cooperatively connectable with a processor; Figure 1 shows that the acoustic sensor element (as the piezoelectric element) is connected to a processor),
wherein the processor [182] in Figure 1 is configured to detect occurrence of electrical abnormalities based on the acoustic signals registered by the sensor device [300] in Figure 3 (The piezoelectric element 10 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The disclosed acoustic sensor apparatus 300 can sense a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault and preferably includes a suitable acoustic generator, such as a high voltage pulsar circuit, to generate a simulated acoustic signal. This allows it to be used as an acoustic signal generator for optimizing sensor distribution in electrical distribution systems, such as switchgear, in factories or on site; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches a method for detecting electrical abnormalities in association with electrical equipment (An acoustic sensor structured to detect acoustic noise from the electrical power conductor and output a signal; and a circuit structured to detect an electrical conductivity fault from the signal; Abstract; Referring to FIGS. 3-5, an acoustic sensor apparatus 300 includes a clamp, such as the example clamp-on structure 302, for an electrical power conductor, such as the example rectangular power bus bar 304 (shown in phantom line drawing in FIG. 3); Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5) by means of a system according to claim 10 (See rejection of claim 10 above), the method comprising:
i) registering acoustic signals (Claim 16. The acoustic sensor apparatus of claim 1 wherein said acoustic sensor is further structured to generate an acoustic signal) reflecting sound from the electrical equipment by means of the sensor device [300] (The piezoelectric element 10 in Figure 1 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The piezoelectric element 308 in Figure 3 also functions similarly as the piezoelectric element 10 in figure 1 function. Because: The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306, and a printed circuit board (PCB) 310 (FIG. 5), which can include the example electronic circuit 14, fault indicator 158, wireless transceiver 160, parasitic power supply 162 and reset circuit 184 of FIG. 1; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-12); and
ii) detecting electrical abnormalities (a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault) based on the registered acoustic signals (The piezoelectric element 10 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The disclosed acoustic sensor apparatus 300 can sense a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault and preferably includes a suitable acoustic generator, such as a high voltage pulsar circuit, to generate a simulated acoustic signal. This allows it to be used as an acoustic signal generator for optimizing sensor distribution in electrical distribution systems, such as switchgear, in factories or on site; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-7).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions which, when executed by at least one processor [182] in Figure 1 of the system for detecting electrical abnormalities (An acoustic sensor structured to detect acoustic noise from the electrical power conductor and output a signal; and a circuit structured to detect an electrical conductivity fault from the signal; Abstract; Referring to FIGS. 3-5, an acoustic sensor apparatus 300 includes a clamp, such as the example clamp-on structure 302, for an electrical power conductor, such as the example rectangular power bus bar 304 (shown in phantom line drawing in FIG. 3); Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5) in association with electrical equipment according to claim 10 (See rejection of claim 10 above), causes the at least one processor to perform the steps of:
- receiving acoustic signals (Claim 16. The acoustic sensor apparatus of claim 1 wherein said acoustic sensor is further structured to generate an acoustic signal) reflecting sound generated by the electrical equipment registered by the sensor device [300] of the system (The piezoelectric element 10 in Figure 1 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The piezoelectric element 308 in Figure 3 also functions similarly as the piezoelectric element 10 in figure 1 function. Because: The example acoustic sensor apparatus 300 also includes a housing 306 for an acoustic sensor and/or an acoustic generator, such as a low cost piezoelectric element 308 (shown in hidden line drawing in FIG. 5) housed within the housing 306, and a printed circuit board (PCB) 310 (FIG. 5), which can include the example electronic circuit 14, fault indicator 158, wireless transceiver 160, parasitic power supply 162 and reset circuit 184 of FIG. 1; Paragraph [0053] Line 5-12);
- detecting electrical abnormalities based on the received acoustic signals (The piezoelectric element 10 senses acoustic signals propagating through the electrical power conductor 8, and outputs the signal 12 to the buffer input circuit 174, which outputs a voltage signal to the amplifier circuit 178. The voltage signal is amplified by the amplifier circuit 178 that outputs a second signal. The second signal can be filtered by the bandpass filter 180 and input by the peak detector 181 that detects a peak signal and outputs that as a third signal. The third signal is analyzed by a routine 250 of the processor 182, in order to detect the electrical conductivity fault therefrom. This determines if an electrical conductivity fault, such as a glowing contact, exists; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-12; The disclosed acoustic sensor apparatus 300 can sense a loose connection or other electrical conductivity fault and preferably includes a suitable acoustic generator, such as a high voltage pulsar circuit, to generate a simulated acoustic signal. This allows it to be used as an acoustic signal generator for optimizing sensor distribution in electrical distribution systems, such as switchgear, in factories or on site; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-7); and
alerting a local user of the detected electrical abnormalities by an audible and/or visual alarm, and/or switch off the electrical equipment generating the detected electrical abnormalities (The wireless transceiver 160 provides a suitable wireless communication capability (e.g., without limitation, IEEE 802.11; IEEE 802.15.4; another suitable wireless transceiver or transmitter) to communicate the detection of an electrical conductivity fault to another location (e.g., without limitation, a remote device, such as a control center (not shown); a control console (not shown); a trip unit (not shown); a protective relay (not shown), at a remote location) to alert maintenance personnel of the fault and its zone location; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-10).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Huang in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130135551 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou fails to teach a sensor device, wherein the attachment arrangement {40} comprises a snap-fit connection.
Huang teaches a means for fixing a circuit board in a liquid crystal module (Paragraph [0001] Line 2-3)
wherein the attachment arrangement comprises a snap-fit connection (the magnetic elements 310 in Figure 1 may also be inlaid on and further adhered to (e.g., using a super glue) the circuit board cover-plate 300 so as to ensure that the magnetic elements 310 are stably joined to the circuit board cover-plate 300. The inlaying may be accomplished by interference fit, snap-fit or the like; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-7). The purpose of doing so is to carry out defect detection and corresponding electrical inspections, to detach the circuit board cover-plate directly without the need of a screwdriver and therefore the circuit board cover-plate can be opened rapidly to carry out defect detection and corresponding electrical inspections, to find troubles of the circuit board rapidly, which can greatly improve the production efficiency.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the attachment arrangement of Zhou by including the snap-fit connection disclosed by Huang, because Huang teaches to include a snap-fit connection carries out defect detection and corresponding electrical inspections, detaches the circuit board cover-plate directly without the need of a screwdriver and therefore the circuit board cover-plate can be opened rapidly to carry out defect detection and corresponding electrical inspections, finds troubles of the circuit board rapidly, which can greatly improve the production efficiency (Paragraph [0025]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘020 A1 in view of Tsikos et al. (Hereinafter, “Tsikos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20030019933 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou fails to teach a sensor device, wherein the sensor device further comprises a dampening element arranged in connection with the acoustic sensor element.
Tsikos teaches improved methods of and apparatus for illuminating moving as well as stationary objects, such as parcels, during image formation and detection operations, and also to improved methods of and apparatus and instruments for acquiring and analyzing information about the physical attributes of such objects (Paragraph [0003] Line 2-7),
wherein a dampening element [350] arranged in connection with the acoustic sensor element [349] in Figure 116A (an array of piezoelectric transducers 349 mounted through end wall 349A; and an ultrasonic-wave dampening material 350 disposed at the opposing end wall panel 349B, on the inside of the cell, to avoid reflections of the ultrasonic wave at the end of the cell; paragraph [0973] Line 9-12). The purpose of doing so is to avoid reflections at the end of the cell and to reduce the power of speckle-noise patterns.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou by including a dampening element as disclosed by Tsikos, because Tsikos teaches to include a dampening element arranged in connection with the acoustic sensor element avoids reflections at the end of the cell and reduces the power of speckle-noise patterns (Paragraph [0973]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nuqui et al. (US 20150338472 A1) discloses, “Method And Device For Detection Of A Fault In A Protected Unit- [0001] The present invention generally relates to power systems, e.g. power transmission systems. Specifically, the present invention relates to fault detection in a protected unit included in a power system, which protected unit for example may comprise a power transmission line, such as a direct current (DC) power transmission line, which may be a DC overhead line (OHL). [0060] Referring now to FIG. 1, which shows a circuit representation which illustrates a section of a multi-terminal High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) grid 100, a protected unit 103 in the form of a transmission line 103, here examplified by a DC OHL 103, interconnects buses 101 and 102. A voltage sensor 104 and a current sensor 105 are arranged on the line side, which voltage sensor 104 and a current sensor 105 are used by a primary protection system (not shown in FIG. 1) in order to trip circuit breaker CB1 in case of DC OHL 103 faults. The current in one end of the transmission line 103, e.g. the end of the transmission line 103 on the left-hand side of FIG. 1, is measured by the current sensor 105 and the voltage in one end of the transmission line 103 between the transmission line 103 and ground is measured by the voltage sensor 104. At the other end of the transmission line 103, i.e. the end of the transmission line 103 on the right-hand side of FIG. 1, there may be arranged a voltage sensor and current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1) similarly as voltage sensor 104 and current sensor 105, which e.g. may substantially measure the voltage and current in the other end of the protected unit 103 to supply signal inputs to the primary protection system (not shown in FIG. 1) to trip circuit breaker CB2 in case of DC OHL 103 faults so that the complete DC OHL 103 could be disconnected by CB1 and CB2 if there is a fault in DC OHL 103. Following a fault F1 in the transmission line 103, it will be isolated from the rest of the HVDC grid 100 by opening of circuit breakers CB1, CB2 arranged at both ends of the transmission line 103, as illustrated in FIG. 1, which shows both of the circuit breakers CB1, CB2 in an open state. While the circuit breakers CB1, CB2 are kept opened for a certain period of time before auto reclosing, the transmission line 103 is un-energized from both sides of the transmission line 103. The voltage sensor 104 and the current sensor 105 in one of the ends of the transmission line 103 are arranged on the line side, and before auto reclosing of the circuit breaker CB1, the voltage sensor 104 and the current sensor 105 will therefore exhibit negligible voltage and current readings, respectively. When the circuit breakers CB1, CB2 auto reclose, converters 106, 107 will provide grid voltage in the transmission line 103. Thus, the voltage in the transmission line 103 will jump to the rated line voltage shortly after auto reclosing of the circuit breakers CB1, CB2. Once the fault F1 begins to draw current, the voltage in the transmission line 103 will start to diminish and eventually be reduced to zero or substantially zero if the fault F1 is not isolated. Thus, following auto reclosing of the circuit breakers CB1, CB2, the positive (negative) pole primary protection system will initially ‘see’ positive (negative) rate of rise of voltage. When utilizing voltage derivative based fault detection criteria, the signs of voltage derivatives following a fault occurring and auto reclosing are in general opposite and the initial voltage derivatives under permanent and temporary fault conditions may be quite close following auto reclosing. When the circuit breakers CB1, CB2 auto recloses, the current in the transmission line 103 will increase. The rate of increase of the current in the transmission line 103 may be limited by the reactors and the reactance of the transmission line 103. The fault current is initially contributed to by capacitive devices included in the HVDC grid 100, and is after some time fed by the AC grid and other sources directly connected to the HVDC grid 100. Eventually, the fault current will reach a maximum value at steady state if the fault F1 is not isolated. Thus, following auto reclosing of the circuit breakers CB1, CB2, the positive (negative) pole primary protection will ‘see’ positive (negative) rate of rise of current. When utilizing current derivative based fault detection criteria, the initial current derivatives following a fault occurring and auto reclosing may be almost the same and the initial current derivatives under permanent and temporary fault conditions may be almost the same following auto reclosing- However, Nuqui does not disclose wherein the sensor device is configured to be arranged on a mounting rail for electrical equipment and the sensor device is configured such that, when arranged on the mounting rail, the acoustic sensor element directly abuts the mounting rail.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858