Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer et al. (US20240375237) “Schafer”, in view of Savoie et al. (US 20050139309) “Savoie”.
Regarding claim 1, Schafer discloses a method for processing spectacle lenses by machining, in which starting from a blank (RL) a semi-finished product (HZ) with predetermined surface geometries ([0025]) at a front side (FS) and a rear side (RS) remote therefrom and with an edge (RA) between the front side (FS) and the rear side (RS) is formed, comprising the following main steps taking place in the indicated sequence;
providing the blank which can already have the predetermined surface geometry at the front side and is to be processed at least at the rear side ([0025]; step i) and [0074]);
fixing and determining location and position of the blank in three dimensions ([0084]);
retaining block-free retention of the blank at the rear side with consideration of the location and position data, which were determined in step ii), by a workpiece holding head (VS), which is arranged to be positionable in defined manner in three dimensions, for supported holding of the workpiece ([0083]-[0084]);
direct transfer of the workpiece from the workpiece holding head (VS) to a workpiece retainer (WA), which is arranged to be positionable in position and angle in defined manner ([0100]), for block-free retention of the workpiece at the front side with consideration of the front side geometry data detected in step iv) and for supported holding of the workpiece ([0093]-[0094]); and
processing the workpiece at the rear side by at least one tool (WZ2) for forming the semi-finished product (HZ) with the predetermined surface geometry at the rear side;
Schafer does not disclose iv) measuring for detection, nor holding without interruption so that location and position in three dimensions are always clearly defined.
Savoie teaches step iv) measuring for detection ([0108]), and holding without interruption so that location and position in three dimensions are always clearly defined ([0100]-[0101]).
Schafer eliminates the need for a block piece, but states in [0100] that without a block piece an extra measuring step is necessary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Savoie’s technique of holding Schafer’s workpiece continuously while measuring and keeping a known 3D position, making lens machining faster and more accurate.
Regarding claim 2, Schafer discloses a method according to claim 1, wherein, in terms of time between the step iv) of measuring the blank and the step v) of direct transfer of the workpiece from the workpiece holding head to the workpiece retainer, a processing step vii) is carried out, in which the blank held at the workpiece holding head is so processed that a circumferential area (UF) defining a contoured edge (RA) of the semi-finished product (HZ) to be formed remains at the workpiece ([0025]; iii)).
Regarding claim 3, Schafer discloses a method according to claim 2, wherein in the processing step vii) the blank is processed at the front side by a tool (WZ1) so as to produce an encircling groove (NU) or step (ST) with a depth (TI), which is larger than or equal to an edge thickness (D2) of the semi-finished product to be formed and smaller than a blank thickness (D1), or an encircling plunge cut which has at least in part a depth equal to the blank thickness (D1 and [0071]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Schafer discloses a method according to claim 2.
Schafer does not disclose measuring again in terms of time after the processing step vii) and before the step v) to check location and position.
Savoie teaches measuring again ([0108]) in terms of time after the processing step vii) and before the step v) to check location and position ([0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to repeat Savoie’s measurement of Schafer’s continuously held workpiece, verifying 3D position before transfer and ensuring Schafer’s workpiece has not shifted, making lens machining more accurate.
Regarding claim 5, Schafer discloses a method according to claim 4.
Schafer does not disclose in step ii) of fixing and determining location and position in three dimensions, a deposit surface is geometrically centered so as to fix the location, an optical measuring system with respect to markings so as to determine position.
Savoie teaches in step ii) of fixing and determining location and position in three dimensions, a deposit surface (40) is geometrically centered so as to fix the location (42), an optical measuring system (21) with respect to markings so as to determine position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine Schafer’s blank’s location and position using Savoie’s method of centering it on a surface and optically checking markings, establishing a known starting position and making lens machining faster and more accurate.
Regarding claim 6, Schafer discloses a method according to claim 5.
Schafer does not disclose in the step iv), measuring and scanning by contact so as to detect geometry and check location and position.
Savoie teaches measuring and scanning by contact (142 and [0106]-[0107]) so as to detect geometry and check location and position ([0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to detect the front side geometry of Schafer’s blank with Savoie’s method of measuring and scanning by contact, making lens machining faster by providing more reliable measurements of a lens’ front side.
Regarding claim 16, Schafer and Savoie disclose a method according to claim 2, wherein the workpiece (Schafer; RL) is measured again at the front side (Savoie; [0108]) in terms of time after the processing step vii) and before the step v) of direct transfer of the workpiece (Schafer; RL) from the workpiece holding head (Schafer; VS) to the workpiece retainer (Schafer; WA) so as to check location and position (Savoie; [0103]) of the workpiece at the workpiece holding head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to repeat Savoie’s measurement of Schafer’s continuously held workpiece, verifying 3D position before transfer and ensuring Schafer’s workpiece has not shifted, making lens machining more accurate.
Regarding claim 17, Schafer and Savoie disclose a method according to claim 1, wherein in the step ii) of fixing and determining location and position (Schafer; [0084]) of the blank in three dimensions the blank (Schafer; RL) after deposit on a deposit surface (Savoie; 40) is geometrically centered so as to fix the location (Savoie; 42) of the blank (Schafer; RL), whereupon the blank is checked by an optical measuring system (Savoie; 21) with respect to markings so as to determine the position of the blank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine Schafer’s blank’s location and position using Savoie’s method of centering it on a surface and optically checking markings, establishing a known starting position and making lens machining faster and more accurate.
Regarding claim 18, Schafer and Savoie disclose a method according to claim 1, wherein in the step iv) of measuring the blank (Schafer; RL), the blank held by the workpiece holding head (Schafer; VS) is scanned by contact (Savoie; 142 and [0106]-[0107]) so as to detect the front side geometry (Schafer; FS) and/or after the processing step vii) the workpiece (Schafer; RL) held by the workpiece holding head (Schafer; VS) is scanned by contact (Savoie; 142 and [0106]-[0107]) so as to check location and position (Savoie; [0108]) of the workpiece at the workpiece holding head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to detect the front side geometry of Schafer’s blank with Savoie’s method of measuring and scanning by contact, making lens machining faster by providing more reliable measurements of a lens’ front side.
Claims 7-14 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormier et al. (US 20170239774 A1) “Cormier”, in view of McIntosh (US 20090315236 A1) “McIntosh”.
Regarding claim 7, Cormier discloses a workpiece holding head (15) for optical workpieces (L), such as spectacle lenses (L) , which each have two workpiece surfaces (“back or front surface”) and a workpiece edge (“circumferential edge”) therebetween, particularly for use in a method according to any one of the preceding claims, comprising a housing (58) which has a center axis (V) and in or at which a holding arrangement (73) and a support arrangement (84) for a workpiece (L) to be processed are received, wherein the holding arrangement (73) has a rubber-elastic sealing sleeve (78), which is mounted on the housing (58), with a sealing lip (74) for contact with the workpiece (L) to be processed, the sealing lip encircling the center axis (V) and surrounding an opening (45) of the housing (58), and a clamping mechanism (65).
Cormier does not disclose a plurality of pins which are longitudinally displaceable, nor a pneumatically loadable piston-cylinder arrangement with a parked position.
McIntosh teaches a plurality of pins (2) which are longitudinally displaceable, and a pneumatically loadable piston-cylinder arrangement (9) with a parked position (1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to individually drive each of McIntosh’s pins with a pneumatic piston-cylinder in Cormier’s workpiece holding head, so each pin can be actuated to support a workpiece, or retracted into a parked position, making Cormier’s holding head faster and more flexible.
Regarding claim 8, Cormier discloses a workpiece holding head according to claim 7.
Cormier does not disclose the pins project by their ends, and in their parked position are retracted.
McIntosh teaches the pins (2) project by their ends (Fig. 1b), and in their parked position (Fig. 1a) are retracted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have McIntosh’s pins project beyond Cormier’s housing to support Cormier’s workpiece, and retract into Cormier’s housing opening when in a parked position, allowing Cormier’s pins to clear out of the way when not in use, better avoiding collisions and allowing lenses to be manipulated in any orientation.
Regarding claim 9, Cormier discloses a workpiece holding head according to claim 8.
Cormier does not disclose the piston-cylinder arrangements associated with the pins each have a piston loadable at one side by way of a cylinder chamber with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure and/or that the piston of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement when loaded with pressure moves the associated pin into the support position and when loaded with the sub-atmospheric pressure moves the associated pin into the parked position and/or that the piston of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement is provided on at least one of its end faces with a buffer element for end position damping and/or that the cylinder chambers of the piston-cylinder arrangements can be loaded with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure by way of a common annular space in the housing.
McIntosh teaches the piston-cylinder arrangements (9) associated with the pins (2) each have a piston (38) loadable at one side by way of a cylinder chamber (Fig. 2) with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure ([0028]) and/or that the piston (38) of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement (9) when loaded with pressure moves the associated pin (2) into the support position (1b) and when loaded with the sub-atmospheric pressure moves the associated pin (2) into the parked position (1a) and/or that the piston of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement is provided on at least one of its end faces with a buffer element for end position damping and/or that the cylinder chambers of the piston-cylinder arrangements can be loaded with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure by way of a common annular space in the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to give each of McIntosh’s pins its own piston loaded through a cylinder chamber in Cormier’s workpiece holding head, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head more accurate and creating better support of a lens.
Regarding claim 10, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 9, characterized in that each piston (McIntosh; 38) loadable at one side with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure (McIntosh; [0028]) of the piston-cylinder arrangements (McIntosh; 9) associated with the pins (McIntosh; 2) is provided with a groove ring (McIntosh; 33), the static sealing lip (Cormier; 74) of which is secured in a radial groove (McIntosh; groove of 30A) of the piston (McIntosh; 9) and a dynamic sealing lip (McIntosh; 31) of which facing the respective cylinder chamber (McIntosh; Fig. 2) resiliently bears against a piston running surface (McIntosh; bore wall of 9) of the cylinder chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to seal each of McIntosh’s pistons with Cormier’s sealing lip, reducing friction in Cormier’s holding head and smoothing actuation.
Regarding claim 11, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 10, characterized in that the rubber-elastic sealing sleeve (Cormier; 78) of the holding arrangement is formed to be circularly annular (Cormier; “sealing ring”) and/or that the sealing lip (Cormier; 74) of the rubber-elastic sleeve is chamfered radially inwardly (Cormier; Fig. 4) with respect to the center axis (Cormier; V) of the housing and/or that the pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement are distributed at a uniform angular spacing from one another (Cormier; [0065]) on a common pitch circle (Cormier; [0065]) about the center axis (Cormier; V) of the housing and/or that the holding arrangement and the support arrangement are received in or at the housing in an arrangement concentric (Cormier; [0060]-[0065]) with respect to the center axis and/or that the pins of the support arrangement are arranged radially (Cormier; [0062]-[0065]) within the rubber-elastic sealing sleeve (Cormier; 78) with respect to the center axis of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to distribute McIntosh’s pins around Cormier’s center axis, giving Cormier’s workpiece holding head improved balanced support.
Regarding claim 12, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 11, characterized in that the sub-atmospheric pressure (McIntosh; [0028]) can be applied to the opening (Cormier; 45) of the housing through the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) for the pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to route McIntosh’s sub-atmospheric pressure through Cormier’s clamping mechanism, making Cormier’s holding head more compact by sharing a central single central flow region.
Regarding claim 13, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 12, characterized in that the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) has for each pin (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement a clamping wedge (Cormier; 91) which can be brought by a common actuating wedge (Cormier; 91) into contact with the associated pin (McIntosh; 2) so as to clamp the respective pin (McIntosh; 2) with respect to the housing and/or that the clamping wedges are guided (Cormier; 92) at the housing in clamping direction (Cormier; [0065]) and/or that the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) is pneumatically actuable (Cormier; [0065]) and/or that associated with the clamping mechanism is a piston-cylinder arrangement (Cormier; 90), the piston of which is in operative connection with the actuating wedge and can be pneumatically loaded on opposite sides so as to either press the clamping wedges against the pins of the support arrangement by way of the actuating wedge or relieve the clamping wedges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to clamp McIntosh’s pins using Cormier’s clamping wedge, making Cormier’s holding head more reliable by firmly clamping each pin in position.
Regarding claim 14, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 13, characterized in that the longitudinally displaceable pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement are cylindrical pins (McIntosh; 2) and/or that the pins of the support arrangement are axially guided (Cormier; 88) in the housing over the axial length of clamping wedges (Cormier; 91) of the clamping mechanism and/or that each pin (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement is formed integrally with a piston (McIntosh; 38) of the respectively associated piston-cylinder arrangement and/or that the ends, which are remote (McIntosh; 1b) from the housing, of the pins are formed to be substantially lens-shaped or are each provided with a substantially conical tip (McIntosh; 2) and/or that the support arrangement has between three and nine pins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form McIntosh’s integrally with a piston, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head more reliable by ensuring pin and pistons move as one unit.
Regarding claim 19, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 7, characterized in that the piston-cylinder arrangements (McIntosh; 9) associated with the pins (McIntosh; 2) each have a piston (McIntosh; 38) loadable at one side by way of a cylinder chamber (McIntosh; Fig. 2) with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure (McIntosh; [0028]) and/or that the piston (McIntosh; 38) of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement (McIntosh; 9) when loaded with pressure moves the associated pin (McIntosh; 2) into the support position and when loaded with the sub-atmospheric pressure moves the associated pin into the parked position (McIntosh; Fig. 1a) and/or that the piston of the respective piston-cylinder arrangement is provided on at least one of its end faces with a buffer element for end position damping and/or that the cylinder chambers of the piston-cylinder arrangements can be loaded with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure by way of a common annular space in the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to give each of McIntosh’s pins its own piston loaded through a cylinder chamber in Cormier’s workpiece holding head, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head more accurate and creating better support of a lens.
Regarding claim 20, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 19, characterized in that each piston (McIntosh; 38) loadable at one side with pressure or sub-atmospheric pressure (McIntosh; [0028]) of the piston-cylinder arrangements (McIntosh; 9) associated with the pins (McIntosh; 2) is provided with a groove ring (McIntosh; 33), the static sealing lip (Cormier; 74) of which is secured in a radial groove (McIntosh; groove of 30A) of the piston (McIntosh; 9) and a dynamic sealing lip (McIntosh; 31) of which facing the respective cylinder chamber (McIntosh; Fig. 2) resiliently bears against a piston running surface (McIntosh; bore wall of 9) of the cylinder chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to seal each of McIntosh’s pistons with Cormier’s sealing lip, reducing friction in Cormier’s holding head and smoothing actuation.
Regarding claim 21, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 7, characterized in that the rubber-elastic sealing sleeve (Cormier; 78) of the holding arrangement is formed to be circularly annular (Cormier; “sealing ring”) and/or that the sealing lip (Cormier; 74) of the rubber-elastic sleeve is chamfered radially inwardly (Cormier; Fig. 4) with respect to the center axis (Cormier; V) of the housing and/or that the pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement are distributed at a uniform angular spacing from one another (Cormier; [0065]) on a common pitch circle (Cormier; [0065]) about the center axis (Cormier; V) of the housing and/or that the holding arrangement and the support arrangement are received in or at the housing in an arrangement concentric (Cormier; [0060]-[0065]) with respect to the center axis and/or that the pins of the support arrangement are arranged radially (Cormier; [0062]-[0065]) within the rubber-elastic sealing sleeve (Cormier; 78) with respect to the center axis of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to distribute McIntosh’s pins around Cormier’s center axis, giving Cormier’s workpiece holding head improved balanced support.
Regarding claim 22, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 7, characterized in that the sub-atmospheric pressure (McIntosh; [0028]) can be applied to the opening (Cormier; 45) of the housing through the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) for the pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to route McIntosh’s sub-atmospheric pressure through Cormier’s clamping mechanism, making Cormier’s holding head more compact by sharing a central single central flow region.
Regarding claim 23, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 7, characterized in that the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) has for each pin (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement a clamping wedge (Cormier; 91) which can be brought by a common actuating wedge (Cormier; 91) into contact with the associated pin (McIntosh; 2) so as to clamp the respective pin (McIntosh; 2) with respect to the housing and/or that the clamping wedges are guided (Cormier; 92) at the housing in clamping direction (Cormier; [0065]) and/or that the clamping mechanism (Cormier; 65) is pneumatically actuable (Cormier; [0065]) and/or that associated with the clamping mechanism is a piston-cylinder arrangement (Cormier; 90), the piston of which is in operative connection with the actuating wedge and can be pneumatically loaded on opposite sides so as to either press the clamping wedges against the pins of the support arrangement by way of the actuating wedge or relieve the clamping wedges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to clamp McIntosh’s pins using Cormier’s clamping wedge, making Cormier’s holding head more reliable by firmly clamping each pin in position.
Regarding claim 24, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head (Cormier; 15) according to claim 7, characterized in that the longitudinally displaceable pins (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement are cylindrical pins (McIntosh; 2) and/or that the pins of the support arrangement are axially guided (Cormier; 88) in the housing over the axial length of clamping wedges (Cormier; 91) of the clamping mechanism and/or that each pin (McIntosh; 2) of the support arrangement is formed integrally with a piston (McIntosh; 38) of the respectively associated piston-cylinder arrangement and/or that the ends, which are remote (McIntosh; 1b) from the housing, of the pins are formed to be substantially lens-shaped or are each provided with a substantially conical tip (McIntosh; 2) and/or that the support arrangement has between three and nine pins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form McIntosh’s integrally with a piston, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head more reliable by ensuring pin and pistons move as one unit.
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormier and McIntosh in view of Schafer.
Regarding claim 15, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 14, and the housing (Cormier; 58).
Neither Cormier or McIntosh disclose a securing section (WA) for exchangeable securing to a robot arm ([0084]) of a multi-axis robot ([0084]) or another handling device with corresponding positioning possibilities in three dimensions.
Schafer teaches a securing section for exchangeable securing to a robot arm of a multi-axis robot or another handling device with corresponding positioning possibilities in three dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Schafer’s securing section for exchangeable securing to a robot arm in Cormier’s workpiece holding head, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head faster by allowing quick exchange of Cormier’s holding head.
Regarding claim 25, Cormier and McIntosh disclose a workpiece holding head according to claim 14, and the housing (Cormier; 58).
Neither Cormier or McIntosh disclose a securing section (WA) for exchangeable securing to a robot arm ([0084]) of a multi-axis robot ([0084]) or another handling device with corresponding positioning possibilities in three dimensions.
Schafer teaches a securing section for exchangeable securing to a robot arm of a multi-axis robot or another handling device with corresponding positioning possibilities in three dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Schafer’s securing section for exchangeable securing to a robot arm in Cormier’s workpiece holding head, making Cormier’s workpiece holding head faster by allowing quick exchange of Cormier’s holding head.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 /PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855