DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear how the biodegradable polymer distinguishes over the thermally stable sugars that are polymers, e.g., polysaccharides.
In claim 1, the metes and bounds of the relative phrase “thermally stable” are indeterminate in scope in that no temperature conditions are recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated “Biobased myo-inositol as nucleator and stabilizer for poly(lactic acid)” (Tachibana).
As to claim 1, Tachibana discloses a biorenewable/biodegradable composition obtained by melt mixing:
poly(lactic acid) (meets Applicants’ biodegradable polymer); and
myo-inositol (meets Applicants’ thermally stable sugar).
While claim 1 is defined in terms of the “melt processed above their respective melt processing temperatures” product-by-process limitation“, it is not seen that the patentability of the claimed composition depends on its method of production”, In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964.
As to claims 2 and 3, Tachibana’s composition comprises the polyester poly(lactic acid).
As to claim 4, pol(lactic acid) or poly(2-hydroxypropanoic acid) is broadly classified as a polyhydroxyalkanoate.
As to claims 5-7, Tachibana discloses myo-inositol has a melting point of 226°C. Thus, it would be thermally stable at the recited lower temperatures.
As to claim 9, Tachibana discloses myo-inositol.
As to claim 11, Tachibana discloses myo-inositol has a melting point of 226°C.
As to claim 12, Tachibana’s similarly-constituted composition is used as a feedstock in the production of molded articles.
As to claims 14 and 15, Tachibana’s composition is used in the production of molded articles such as films for agricultural applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2021/0301161 (Cernohous).
Cernohous discloses a polymer composition comprising:
a water soluble polymer inclusive of polylactic acid, polylactones, polyvinylalcohol copolymers, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose [0060] (meets Applicants’ biodegradable polymer); and
a sugar inclusive of trehalose having a melting point of 203°C and inositol having a melting point of 226°C [Table 1] (meets Applicants’ thermally stable sugar) (e.g., abstract, [0006-0011], [0060-0062], [0069], Tables 1-3, examples, claims).
As to claims 1, 8 and 11, Cernohous expressly sets forth [Tables 2-3] polymer compositions comprising polyvinyl alcohol-co-vinylpyrrolidinone copolymer (PVOH-co-PVP) or butanediol vinylalcohol copolymer (BVOH) (either meets Applicants’ biodegradable polymer) and trehalose or inositol (Sugars 1 and 2) (either meets Applicants’ thermally stable sugar). While claim 1 is defined in terms of the “melt processed above their respective melt processing temperatures” product-by-process limitation“, it is not seen that the patentability of the claimed composition depends on its method of production”, In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964. In any event, Brunner discloses [0081] the trehalose-containing compositions are obtained by mixing at temperatures up to 204°C, i.e., “at a temperature above the melting point” of the water soluble polymer and sugar” [0069] (meets Applicants’ “melt processed” product-by-process limitation).
As to claims 5-7, Cernohous discloses trehalose with a melting point of 203°C. Thus, it would be thermally stable at the recited lower temperatures.
As to claim 9, Cernohous expressly sets forth compositions comprising inositol (Table 3).
As to claims 12 and 13, Cernohous’ compositions are used as feedstocks for making 3D printed articles [0073]/[0081-0083].
As to claims 14 and 15, Cernohous discloses the production of articles via extrusion [0081].
As to claim 16, Cernohous discloses the composition is obtained by mixing “at a temperature above the melting point” of the water soluble polymer and sugar [0069]/[0081].
Cernohous anticipates the above-rejected claims in that it is reasonably believed that the exemplified PVOH-co-PVP and BVOH polymers are biodegradable. In the alternative, it is within the purview of Cernohous’ inventive disclosure [0060], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use other biodegradable polymers such as polylactic acid, polylactones, and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as functional alternative water soluble polymers with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Biobased myo-inositol as nucleator and stabilizer for poly(lactic acid)” (Tachibana) in view of US 2021/0301161 (Cernohous), each described hereinabove.
As to claim 8, Tachibana does not expressly disclose the use of trehalose. Cernohous, however, discloses the functional interchangeability of trehalose for inositol in polymer compositions comprising polylactic acid (e.g., [0009]/[0060]). Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use trehalose as a functional sugar alternative to Tachibana’s myo-inositol with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 10, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to further include additional additives or polymers in Tachibana’s composition for their expected additive effect as taught by Cernohous [0063-0064].
As to claim 13, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use Tachibana’s composition to formulate 3D printed articles with the reasonable expectation of success as taught by Cernohous.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0301161 (Cernohous) described hereinabove.
As to claims 2-4, it would have been within the purview of Cernohous’ inventive disclosure [0060], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use a biodegradable polyester such as polylactic acid as the water-soluble polymer for its expected additive effect. Notably, pol(lactic acid) or poly(2-hydroxypropanoic acid) is broadly chemically classified as a polyhydroxyalkanoate.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765