DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Non-Patent Literature (NPL) Cited:
Icotek. KEL-DPU 24Â Heavy-Duty Cable Entry Plates with High Strain Relief, 2017. https://docs.galco.com/techdoc/ictk/kel-dpu24_cp.pdf (Herein, “Icotek”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 11-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JP-2013135720-A (Herein, “Bito”), and further in view of US-20220144115-A1 (Herein, “Hermle”) and Icotek (NPL).
Regarding claim 8, Bito teaches system for cooling a traction battery of a motor vehicle, said system comprising:
a charging port (13);
a traction battery (17) comprising at least one power connector fixed on a surface of a wall of the battery (the Examiner notes that the traction battery of Bito inherently has a power connector fixed on a surface of a wall of the battery to allow connection with cable 19 on the surface of the wall of the battery as depicted in Fig. 1);
at least one electric cable (19) connecting said charging port to said power connector;
a duct (23) arranged around said electric cable
Bito teaches:
a single first cellular cavity (21) arranged around the charging port,
and in fluidic communication with said first cellular cavities (see Fig. 2 of Bito)
Bito is silent on teaching a plurality of cellular cavities.
Hemrle teaches wherein the first cavity comprises a plurality of cellular cavities (Hemrle, See Fig. 2B, Object 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the first cavity of Bito with the first plurality of cellular cavities of Hemrle because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Bito implies a second cavity arranged on a surface of a wall of a battery (see Fig. 1 of Bito which shows connection of 23 to wall of a battery).
Bito teaches wherein the second cellular cavities are arranged around said power connector and in fluidic communication with said duct (see Fig. 1 of Bito).
Bito is silent on comprising a plurality of second cavities.
Icotek teaches a product comprising a second plurality of second cables (see "KEL-DPU 24/13", holes corresponding to "10x 3.2 - 6.3 mm" cables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the second cavity of Bito with the second plurality of cellular cavities of Icotek because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Bito teaches wherein the second cellular cavities are arranged around said power connector and in fluidic communication with said duct (see Fig. 1 of Bito).
Bito teaches wherein the first cavities are configured to receive coolant in the event of thermal runaway of said traction battery (Abstract, "fire extinguishing agent inlet 21 for receiving a fire extinguishing agent").
Bito teaches wherein the second cavities are configured to receive coolant in the event of thermal runaway of said traction battery (Abstract, implied, "the extinguishing agent into the battery case is provided so as to communicate with the inside of the battery case 17").
Bito teaches wherein the duct is configured to receive coolant in the event of thermal runaway of said traction battery ((0018), "the fire extinguishing liquid ... is guided to the battery pack 15 by the fire extinguishing liquid injection pipe 23").
Regarding claim 9, modified Bito teaches the system as claimed in claim 8, wherein
said first cellular cavities are closed by pre-cut membranes (Bito, 21a).
While the Examiner notes modified Bito is silent on the second cellular cavities also comprising pre-cut membranes, the Examiner notes inclusion of the pre-cut membrane of the first cavity of Bito on the second cavity of modified Bito would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filling of the instant disclosure in order to prevent foreign matter from entering the battery (Bito, (0024)) when using the modified plurality of second cavities of Icotek as taught in claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, modified Bito teaches the system as claimed in claim 8, wherein
said first plurality of cellular cavities is formed in a ring (see Fig. 2B of Hemrle, 20) surrounding said charging port (13 of Bito; or, in Hemrle, 4/5).
Regarding claim 12, modified Bito teaches the system as claimed in claim 11, wherein
said first plurality of cellular cavities is uniformly distributed in said ring (see Fig. 2B of Hemrle).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bito teaches the system as claimed in claim 8, wherein
the first cellular cavities are of circular cross section (see 21 in Fig. 2 of Bito).
Additionally, Bito implies the second cellular cavities are of circular cross section (see circular cross section connection pipe 23 in Fig. 1 of Bito).
Regarding claim 14, modified Bito teaches an electric motor vehicle (Bito, (0020), "electric vehicle") comprising: the system as claimed in claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified Bito as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DE-10018249-A1 (Herein, “Bernd”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bito teaches the system as claimed in claim 8.
Modified Bito is silent on the first or second cavities comprising aluminum or steel, respectively.
Hemrle teaches wherein the membranes of said first plurality of cellular cavities are made of aluminum in order to allow for enhanced heat transfer area, durability reliability, compactness, and cost-effectivity, while reducing contact resistance and thermal losses (Hemrle, (0023)).
Modification of the disclosure of modified Bito by replacing the first membranes of modified Bito with first membranes wherein the membranes of said first plurality of cellular cavities are made of aluminum, as taught by Hermle, would benefit the disclosure of modified Bito by allowing for enhanced heat transfer area, durability reliability, compactness, and cost-effectivity, while reducing contact resistance and thermal losses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filling of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified Bito by replacing the first membrane material of modified Bito with first membrane material wherein the membranes of said first plurality of cellular cavities are made of aluminum, as taught by Hermle.
Bernd teaches wherein the membranes of a cable entry plate are made of steel (Bernd, (0016)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the second membrane material of modified Bito with the steel second membrane material of Bernd because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 30, 2024 has been entered. Claims 8-14 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-7 are cancelled in the application.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: EP-4210175-A1 (Herein, “Feneis”), see Mennekes Type 2 connection plug format with cooling lines, see Fig. 2-4; EP-4292867-A1 (Herein, “Iliffe-Moon”), See battery electrical connection plates in Fig. 2-3; US-20210036281-A1 (Herein, “Ligabue”), discloses steel casing (0005), see further electrical battery connections in Fig. 5-6.
/E.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752